哪里站起来Paddleboard-5

站立冲浪板运动(SUP)是世界上发展最快的运动,而在埃德蒙顿,这是有充分理由的。 这很容易,学习曲线很低,而且大多数人可以在没有以前的经验或教训的情况下第一次跳板。 这也是一项很棒的家庭运动,因为当孩子们在沙滩上玩耍时,父母可以在水上嬉戏。 建立信心之后,您也可以开始将孩子带离您的董事会。 在第一次尝试使用SUP的15分钟内,我就能让儿子坐在板前板上划桨,我们喜欢在浅水游泳区一起划桨。 学龄儿童和青少年也可以尝试在较短的板上自己划桨,这使SUP成为全家共同参加的一项伟大运动。

在您游览第一个湖之前,您需要使自己装备好板,桨和PFD。 选择木板作为新手的基本经验法则是越大越好。 板越宽越长,您将越稳定,可以安全放置在板上的重量也就越大。 虽然一个10英尺长的木板对于一个较小的成年人来说可能足够大,但对于其他与您一起骑行的家庭成员或较大的配偶轮流使用木板,它可能没有足够的浮力。 我建议初次使用时,木板长度至少为11至12英寸,中心宽度至少为31-33英寸。

常规产品的 勒杜克船俱乐部  在城市南部Leduc镇的Telford湖上租用木板。 这是第一次尝试SUP的好方法,而无需租用板子并将其运输到您选择的目的地。

要在埃德蒙顿市本身的市区范围内靠近家站立冲浪板,请尝试冬宫公园的主池塘或Rundle公园的池塘。 埃德蒙顿划桨中心协会在Rundle Park经营独木舟/皮划艇中心,但否则,您将不得不在埃德蒙顿众多户外商店之一中租借SUP套件并将其运输到您的站点。

对于喜欢露营的家庭,请尝试在周末租用一块木板,然后将其带到受欢迎的海滩目的地,如鸥湖,鸽子湖或西尔万湖。 保证您将成为海滩上最受欢迎的家庭,因为每个人都想借菜板并带孩子们去游泳区游览。 甚至孩子们也会乞求尝试在板上划桨,可能会让您惊讶于他们的平衡和技巧。

无论您选择在哪里划桨,都应该知道早晨始终是最好的划桨时间,并且下午大风可以吹拂大湖。 建议您在第一次尝试平衡和划桨技术的平静天气下尝试SUP。 许多湖泊也有摩托艇通行,因此在学习或与儿童划船时​​建议紧贴海岸。

祝好运并玩得开心点! 我希望今年夏天能在当地的一个湖泊上看到你。

Stand Up Paddleboarding in Edmonton

Where to Stand Up Paddleboard-5

Stand up Paddleboarding (SUP) is the fastest growing sport around the world right now for good reason.  It’s easy, there’s a low learning curve, and most people can jump on a board their first time out with no previous experience or lessons.  It’s also a great family sport because parents can take turns out on the water while the children play at the beach.   Once you build up a bit of confidence, you can also start taking the kids out with you on your board.  I was able to paddle with my son sitting on the front of my board within 15 minutes of trying SUP for the first time and we enjoy paddling together around shallow swimming areas.  School-aged kids and teens will also be able to try paddling by themselves on a shorter board making SUP a great sport for the whole family to participate in together.

Before you visit your first lake, you’ll need to get yourself equipped with a board, paddle, and PFD.  The basic rule of thumb for choosing a board as a novice paddler, is the bigger the better.  The wider and longer your board, the more stable you will be and the more weight you will be able to safely place on your board.  While a 10’ board may be big enough for a smaller adult, it might not have enough buoyancy for an additional family member riding with you or a larger spouse taking turns with the board.  I recommend getting a board that’s at least 11 to 12’ in length and 31-33” in center width when you first get started.

The Leduc Boat Club  rents boards on Telford Lake in the town of Leduc just south of the city.  This is a great way to try SUP for the first time without having to rent and transport a board to your chosen destination.

For paddling close to home within the city limits of Edmonton itself, try the main pond in Hermitage Park or the ponds in Rundle Park.  The Edmonton Paddling Centre Society operates a canoe/kayak centre in Rundle Park but otherwise, you will have to rent a SUP package at one of the many outdoor stores in Edmonton and transport it to your site.

For families that like camping, try renting a board for a weekend and take it with you to popular beach destinations like Gull Lake, Pigeon Lake, or Sylvan Lake.  Guaranteed you will be the most popular family on the beach as everybody wants to borrow the board and take the kids for tours around the swimming area.  Even the kids will be begging to try their hand at paddling on the board and may surprise you at their balance and skill.

Wherever you choose to paddle, know that mornings are always the best time to paddle and that strong winds can pick up on big lakes in the afternoon.  It is recommended that you try SUP on a calm day when you are first trying to work on your balance and paddling technique.  Many lakes also see motor boat traffic so it is advised to stick close to shore when learning or paddling with children.

Good luck and have fun!  I hope to see you out on one of the local lakes this summer.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
4 Comments
  1. March 27, 2015
    • March 27, 2015
    • January 6, 2017
      • January 9, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.