Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Parc Kitchener, photo de Jill Footz

Qu'est-ce qui est noir et rouge et amusant partout?

Abandonner? C'est Kitchener Park and Playground dans le quartier d'Edmonton Oliver!

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Les gros insectes sont les meilleurs! Photo de Jill Footz

J'ai découvert ce joyau du centre d'Edmonton pour la première fois il y a quelques années, lorsque j'ai emmené mes filles à leur premier défilé des K-Days. Ils avaient 18 mois et étaient intrigués par la foule, la musique et la couleur, mais par une journée très chaude, leur patience pour rester debout a duré environ 15 minutes. Je les ai replacés dans notre wagon et me suis dirigé plein ouest depuis l'itinéraire du défilé. Il ne fallut pas longtemps avant que nous ne tombions sur Kitchener Park.

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Le bourdon construit pour deux, photo de Jill Footz

À ce moment-là, mes filles ont couru vers les insectes gonflables. Lors de notre dernière visite, environ trois ans plus tard, la coccinelle et le bourdon géants construits pour deux étaient encore extrêmement populaires.

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Escalade de la toile d'araignée, photo de Jill Footz

Entre les insectes se trouve l'une des structures d'escalade les plus uniques que nous ayons rencontrées dans un parc d'Edmonton. C'est une toile d'araignée qui s'éloigne d'une arche. Chaque côté de l'arc contient des formes géométriques empilées rouges, jaunes et noires. (Ils me rappellent les crics) Ils sont grands, lumineux et parfaitement décalés pour l'escalade.

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Les grimpeurs qui ressemblent à des crics. Photo de Jill Footz

L'élément central du terrain de jeu est une structure sur le thème du train qui rend hommage à l'histoire ferroviaire du quartier d'Oliver. Il existe 5 façons uniques de monter: des escaliers, des plates-formes hexagonales décalées, un mur d'escalade, une échelle torsadée et un poteau d'escalade.

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

5 monte, 2 glisse vers le bas. Photo de Jill Footz

Il existe deux superbes diapositives, une plus petite conçue pour les plus jeunes et une plus grande pour les plus grands. Les barres de piano et les volants ajoutent une touche agréable à la partie supérieure du train, tandis que l'espace situé au-dessous offre un endroit idéal pour un jeu imaginatif, jusque dans le guichet fermé.

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Kitchener Park raconte l'histoire du chemin de fer à Oliver. Photo de Jill Footz

Kitchener Park propose également un vaste parc de pulvérisation. L'équipement est limité, avec quelques pulvérisateurs directionnels, une installation de seau et quelques autres sources d'eau. L'équipement est lumineux et coloré, à base de ciment et parfait pour une journée chaude!

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Parc de pulvérisation de Kitchener. Photo de Jill Footz

Une belle murale décore la petite salle de bain et le vestiaire. Les visiteurs du parc Spray doivent savoir que les installations ne sont pas ouvertes en tout temps - un panneau sur la porte indique qu'elles ne seront déverrouillées que pendant les programmes Green Shack du parc.

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Parc Kitchener, photo de Jill Footz

Le terrain de jeu entier de Kitchener Park est basé sur un revêtement de sol en caoutchouc. Il n'y a pas de sable, mais il y a beaucoup d'herbe et d'arbres de chaque côté de l'aire de jeux. Il y a beaucoup de bancs et de tables de pique-nique autour de l'aire de jeux, et beaucoup d'espace pour les couvertures de pique-nique aussi! Le parc a été mis de côté par des groupes communautaires en 1923 et les arbres ont été fournis par l'Oliver Community League. L'espace entier est un joli refuge au cœur de ce quartier animé d'Edmonton.

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener

Parc Kitchener, photo de Jill Footz

Parc et aire de jeux de Kitchener:

Où : 103 Avenue entre 114 Street et 115 Street, Edmonton
Site Web : www.olivercommunity.com

Fun on the Rails at Kitchener Park and Playground

Kitchener Park and Playground

Kitchener Park, photo by Jill Footz

What’s black and red and fun all over?

Give up? It’s Kitchener Park and Playground in Edmonton Oliver neighbourhood!

Kitchener Park and Playground

Big bugs are the best! Photo by Jill Footz

I first discovered this central Edmonton gem a couple years ago, when I took my daughters to their first K-Days parade. They were 18 months old and intrigued by the crowd and music and colour, but on a very hot day, their patience for standing around lasted all of about 15 minutes. I plopped them back in our wagon and headed due west from the parade route. It wasn’t long before we stumbled upon Kitchener Park.

Kitchener Park and Playground

The Bumblebee built for two, photo by Jill Footz

At that time, my girls raced to the bouncy bugs. At our most recent visit, some three years later, the giant ladybug and bumblebee built for two were still enormously popular playground features.

Kitchener Park and Playground

Climbing the spider web, photo by Jill Footz

Set between the bugs is one of the most unique climbing structures we’ve encountered at an Edmonton Park. It’s a spider web angling away from an arch. Each side of the arch holds stacked red, yellow and black geometric shapes. (They remind me of jacks) They are big, bright and perfectly staggered for climbing.

Kitchener Park and Playground

The climbers that look like jacks. Photo by Jill Footz

The playground’s central feature is a train-themed structure that pays homage to the rail history of the Oliver neighbourhood. There are 5 unique ways to climb up – stairs, staggered hexagonal platforms, a climbing wall, a twisted ladder and a climbing pole.

Kitchener Park and Playground

5 ways up, 2 slides down. Photo by Jill Footz

There are two great slides, a smaller one definitely designed for the younger set, and a bigger one for the bigger kids. Piano bars and steering wheels add nice touches to the upper portion of the train, while the space below offers an ideal spot for imaginative play, right down to the barred ticket window.

Kitchener Park and Playground

Kitchener Park pays history to the railway in Oliver. Photo by Jill Footz

Kitchener Park also offers a spacious spray park area. The equipment is limited, with a couple of directional sprayers, a bucket setup and a few other water sources. The equipment is bright and colourful, based on cement and perfect for a hot day!

Kitchener Park and Playground

Kitchener spray park. Photo by Jill Footz

A beautiful mural decorates the small bathroom and change room building. Spray park visitors should know the facilities aren’t open at all times – a sign on the door says they will only be unlocked during the park’s Green Shack programs.

Kitchener Park and Playground

Kitchener Park, photo by Jill Footz

The entire playground at Kitchener Park is based in rubber park flooring.  There is no sand, but there is plenty of grass and trees on either side of the playground. There are plenty of benches and picnic tables surrounding the play area, and lots of space for picnic blankets too! The parkland was set aside by community groups in 1923 and the trees were provided by the Oliver Community League. The entire space is a lovely refuge in the heart of this busy Edmonton neighbourhood.

Kitchener Park and Playground

Kitchener Park, photo by Jill Footz

Kitchener Park and Playground:

Where: 103 Avenue between 114 Street & 115 Street, Edmonton
Website: www.olivercommunity.com

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.