9在皇家艾伯塔博物馆拥抱您的内心维京人

维京人皇家艾伯塔省博物馆

维京人在这里! 摄影:Jill Footz

维京人在这里! 经过几个月的期待,维京人:超越传奇,新皇家艾伯塔博物馆的首次特色展览向公众开放。 这个非凡的收藏品(它是世界上最大的维京文物巡回展览。)由丹麦国家博物馆租借,将于4月18至10月20,2019向公众开放。

我四岁的双胞胎喜欢新的RAM,但我不确定他们对维京人的表现有何看法。 他们会害怕吗? 无聊? 冷漠? 事实证明我没有什么可担心的 - 维京人:超越传奇是一个令人兴奋的互动展览,所有年龄段的游客都会喜欢。 我们在皇家艾伯塔博物馆挖掘了9的方式来接纳我们内心的维京人:

维京人

充足的照片视频,由Jill Footz拍摄

  1. 自拍照! 在这个时代,不言而喻,你可以在任何展览中捕获令人印象深刻的自拍照,就像这个一样令人惊叹。 在您踏入功能馆之前,一定要停在博物馆大厅的面部镂空板上,看看您作为维京人的样子有多棒!

维京人

发掘维京人的坟墓,由Jill Footz拍摄

2。 挖一个维京人的坟墓 - 维京人队内有11互动站供游客试用。 我们遇到的第一个鼓励我们使用各种工具挖掘骨骼和文物。 我的年轻考古学家不得不多次尝试这个,并使用专门用于任务的所有四个屏幕,以确保他们没有留下任何东西!

维京人

Roskilde 6,Jill Footz摄

3。 罗斯基勒6 - 在展览的所有部分中,37长表Roskilde 6可以说是最令人印象深刻的。 这是迄今为止发现的最长的维京战舰,原始25 +岁木板的1,000%构成了显示器。

维京人

尝试划船,Jill Footz合影

4。 划船 - 抓住桨,给罗斯基勒划船! 我年轻的战士武器很快就累了,但他们不停地再次回到长椅上再试一次!

维京人

建造一个船站,由Jill Footz拍摄

5。 建造自己的船 - 您不会相信建造自己的维京战舰所需的资源量! 看看几个世纪以前的建筑过程。

维京人

你能发现我的小维京人吗? 摄影:Jill Footz

6。 滑入不太舒服的东西 - Viking服装有点儿,很重,很重! Viking Dress展示区有各种尺寸的羊毛斗篷和连衣裙。 这是展览中的一个景点,您可以使用博物馆的设备拍摄照片并发送给自己。 适合全家人拍照!

维京人

Hnefatafl,有人吗? 摄影:Jill Footz

7。 玩维京游戏 - 选择一个对手并尝试Hnefatafl,也称为维京象棋。 你的国王能逃脱对方的士兵吗?

维京人

雕刻你的符文名字,由Jill Footz拍摄

8。 什么名字? - 在计算机中输入您的姓名,点击“雕刻”,您的符文名称将在您出现之前神奇地出现! 这是我孩子们最喜欢的展览部分,我们不得不输入我们所知道的每个人的名字,看看他们的样子!

维京人

把焦虑留在后面,Jill Footz拍摄

9。 把你的酒留在外面! - 在您访问之前,只需提供一些管家细节。 展览内不欢迎食物和酒。 虽然许多展品都是亲自动手的,但请注意不要触及某些文物的标志。 在展览中使用频闪灯。 摄影是受欢迎的,事实上,博物馆设置了一些平板电脑,因此您可以拍摄照片并将其发送给自己。 (分享社交媒体并使用标签#yegvikings。)最重要的是,参观维京人:超越传奇包括入住皇家艾伯塔博物馆,所以你可以看看它和所有其他伟大的博物馆画廊。 (我们可以推荐我们最喜欢的, 儿童画廊,作为你的下一站?)

维京人皇家艾伯塔省博物馆

维京人:超越传奇,Jill Footz合影

维京人:超越传奇:

什么时候:四月18 - 十月20,2019
地点: 皇家艾伯塔博物馆,9810 - 103 A Avenue NW,Edmonton
成本: 包含在博物馆入场
官方网站: royalalbertamuseum.ca

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

9 Ways to Embrace Your Inner Vikings at the Royal Alberta Museum

Vikings Royal Alberta Museum

The Vikings are here! Photo by Jill Footz

The Vikings are here! After months of anticipation, Vikings: Beyond the Legend, the first-ever feature exhibit at the new Royal Alberta Museum is open to the public. The remarkable collection (it’s the largest touring exhibition of Viking artifacts in the world.) is on loan from the National Museum of Denmark and will be open to the public from April 18 to October 20, 2019.

My four-year-old twins LOVE the new RAM, but I wasn’t sure how they’d feel about the Vikings exhibit. Would they be scared? Bored? Indifferent? It turns out I had nothing to fear – Vikings: Beyond the Legend is an exciting, interactive exhibit that visitors of all ages will love. We unearthed 9 ways to embrace our inner Vikings at the Royal Alberta Museum:

Vikings

Ample photo ops, photo by Jill Footz

  1. Selfies! In this day and age it goes without saying that you can capture an impressive array of selfies in any exhibit as amazing as this one. Before you even set foot inside the feature pavilion, be sure to stop by the face cutout boards in the Museum’s lobby to see just how great you’d look as a Viking!

 

 

 

Vikings

Unearth a Viking grave, photo by Jill Footz

2. Dig a Viking grave – There are 11 interactive stations within Vikings for visitors to try out. The first one we came across was one that encouraged us to use a variety of tools to unearth bones and artifacts. My young archaeologists had to try this one several times, and used all four screens dedicated to the task, to ensure they left nothing uncovered!

 

 

Vikings

Roskilde 6, photo by Jill Footz

3. Roskilde 6 – Of all the parts of the exhibit, the 37 metre long Roskilde 6 is arguably the most impressive. It’s the longest Viking warship ever found, and 25% of the original 1,000+ year old wooden planks make up the display.

 

 

 

Vikings

Try rowing, photo by Jill Footz

4. Row their boat – Grab an oar and give rowing the Roskilde a go! My young warriors arms got tired pretty quickly, but they kept racing back to the benches to try again!

 

 

 

Vikings

Build a ship station, photo by Jill Footz

5. Build your own boat – You won’t believe the volume of resources you need to build your own Viking warship! See just what the construction process took centuries ago.

 

 

 

 

Vikings

Can you spot my little Viking? Photo by Jill Footz

6. Slip into something less comfortable – Viking garb was a tad, well, heavy! The Viking Dress display area has woolen cloaks and dresses in a variety of sizes. It’s one of the spots in the exhibition where you can use the Museum’s equipment to snap a photo and send it to yourself. Suit up the whole family and snap a pic!

 

 

 

Vikings

Hnefatafl, anyone? Photo by Jill Footz

7. Play Viking games – Choose an opponent and try your hand at Hnefatafl, also known as Viking chess. Can your king escape the opposing soldiers?

 

 

 

 

Vikings

Carve your Rune name, photo by Jill Footz

8. What’s in a name? – Type your name into the computer, hit “carve” and your Rune name will magically appear before you in stone! This was my kids’ favourite part of the exhibit and we had to type in the names of just about everyone we know to see how they looked!

 

 

 

 

Vikings

Leave the grog behind, photo by Jill Footz

9. Leave your grog outside! – Just a few housekeeping details to mention before you visit. Food and grog aren’t welcome inside the exhibition. While many of the exhibits are hands-on, keep an eye out for signs that request no touching of some artifacts. Strobe lights are used within the exhibition. Photography is welcome and in fact there are a few stations where the museum has set up tablets so you can snap a photo and send it to yourself. (Share on social media and use the hashtag #yegvikings.) Best of all, visiting Vikings: Beyond the Legend is included with admission to the Royal Alberta Museum, so you can check it out along with all the other great Museum Galleries. (May we recommend our favourite, the Children’s Gallery, as your next stop?)

 

Vikings Royal Alberta Museum

Vikings: Beyond the Legend, photo by Jill Footz

Vikings: Beyond the Legend:

When: April 18 – October 20, 2019
Where: Royal Alberta Museum, 9810 – 103 A Avenue NW, Edmonton
Cost: Included with Museum admission
Websiteroyalalbertamuseum.ca

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.