番茄和蜜蜂在Tsawwassen

我们本周末开始了一次驾驶冒险,发现自己位于Tsawwassen的远处,就在Boundary Bay附近。 低陆平原的一个可爱的部分! 我们去寻找Earthwise Society的番茄节。 我很高兴我们去了!

Earthwise Society通过教育和社区外展活动促进可持续发展。 这个工作农场位于南三角洲的边界湾,他们同时经营 Earthwise花园Earthwise农场.

来自Earthwise Society的西红柿星期六的活动有很多景点 - 其中最大的一个是出售400lbs的传家宝西红柿。 我们带回了价值11的华丽西红柿......斑马,巧克力条纹,甜橙罗马,以及其他我遗憾忘记的名字。 说说美味!

IMG_6119此次活动还包括在cobb烤箱中烹制的口水扁平的扁面包。 我们吞食了香肠/番茄/鸡蛋大饼和苹果/番茄/肉桂版。 有机柠檬水也很天堂。

IMG_6120随着我们的肚子饱满,我们参加了蜜蜂之旅。 我确实学到了很多东西! 您是否知道一个健康的蜂巢(上图中只有一个方框)拥有60,000蜜蜂? 是的,六万! 一个健康的蜂王将在每天1,500和3,000鸡蛋之间放置! 工人蜜蜂最多生活在6周。 他们确实自杀了; 你可以通过它的翅膀告诉一只“老”工蜂,它们已经完成了蹂躏。 最令人着迷/可怕的事实是,城市蜜蜂比农村蜜蜂做得更好。 由于杀虫剂和农民现在不在其田地边缘留下草料(草和灌木丛),蜜蜂无法生存。 然而,在城市环境中的蜜蜂可以进入持续开花的花园。 我已经准备好在我们的后院建立一个蜂巢!

我们的男孩们喜欢学习蜜蜂,我们购买了一些蜂蜜,我们吞下了西红柿,淋上了我尝过的最好的柠檬注入的橄榄油,然后我们带回了一大袋新鲜采摘的玉米。 我正在为明年的日历做标记; 我们无法错过Earthwise Society的番茄节2015。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

Tomatoes and Bees in Tsawwassen

We went on a driving adventure this weekend and found ourselves in the far reaches of Tsawwassen, just past Boundary Bay.  What a lovely part of the Lower Mainland!  We had gone in search of the Earthwise Society’s Tomato Fest.  I’m so glad we went!

Earthwise Society promotes sustainability through education and community outreach initiatives.  This working farm is based in South Delta’s Boundary Bay and they operate both the Earthwise Garden and Earthwise Farm.

tomatoes from Earthwise SocietyThe Saturday event had a number of attractions – the biggest of which was the sale of 400lbs of heirloom tomatoes.  We brought home $11 worth of gorgeous tomatoes…zebra, chocolate stripe, sweet orange roma, and others whose names I’ve sadly forgotten.  Talk about delicious!

IMG_6119The event also featured drool-worthy flatbreads being cooked in the cobb oven.  We gobbled up both the sausage/tomato/egg flatbread and the apple/tomato/cinnamon version.  The organic lemonade was also rather heavenly.

IMG_6120With our tummies full we joined the honey bee tour.  I sure learned a lot!  Did you know that a healthy hive (just one of the boxes pictured above) holds 60,000 bees?  Yes, sixty thousand!  A healthy queen bee will lay between 1,500 and 3,000 eggs EACH DAY!  Worker bees live, at most, for 6 weeks.  They literally work themselves to death; you can tell an “old” worker bee by its wings, they are completed ravaged.  The most fascinating / horrifying factoid is that urban bees do much better than rural bees.  Due to pesticides and the fact farmers now don’t leave forage (grasses and scrub) along the edges of their fields the bees are not surviving.  However, bees in an urban setting have access to gardens that are in continual bloom.  I’m nearly ready to set up a hive in our backyard!

Our boys enjoyed learning about the bees, we purchased some of their honey, we gobbled up tomatoes drizzled in the best lemon-infused olive oil I’ve ever tasted, and we brought home a massive bag of freshly picked corn.  I am marking my calendar for next year; there is no way we are going to miss out on Earthwise Society’s Tomato Fest 2015.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *