在霍利斯元素早餐,在康沃利斯公园玩乐:在哈利法克斯与孩子们一个完美的周日早晨

康沃利斯公园哈利法克斯

一个完美的星期天早上与孩子们合影:Helen Earley

良好的服务是当主厨出面问你是否喜欢自助餐,然后在离开时协助你穿上外套; 当你订购的一壶茶被正确地使用时,用沸腾的热水和锅内的茶包(不要放在纸质信封里,坐在你的碟子上),或者当男士发现这是你丈夫的特殊日子,并谨慎地询问至于生日男孩是否想要一块特殊的生日蛋糕来跟随他的培根和鸡蛋。

良好的服务是当女服务员注意到你的双手满满小孩时,若有所思地将咖啡杯和眼镜放在远离危险的地方,并且在整餐过程中忠实地清理食物,清空谷物盒和半食用糖包桌子和小猴子一样快,可以弄得一团糟。

康沃利斯公园游乐场

Cornwallis公园的火车主题游乐场/ photo:Helen Earley

尽管 霍利斯的元素 在哈利法克斯精心设计的周日下午早午餐中享有盛名,我们更喜欢在早餐时间出现,当早餐价格接近一半时,您可以享用全套冷热自助早餐,以及所有孩子喜欢的东西吃:鸡蛋,香肠,麦片,松饼,冰沙和华夫饼。 在Elements,5-12的孩子吃半价,五岁以下的孩子吃免费,所以实际上, 吉姆 或者 男性尊称,在贝德福德高速公路沿线–我们通常的出没之处。

这个星期天,在特别的生日早餐之后,我们带孩子们去了VIA Rail火车站,这个火车站位于30秒钟左右,在另一边 威斯汀新斯科舍酒店。 (如果您有一个2岁以下的孩子,他们会喜欢连接这两个建筑物的坡道。)由于几乎是空的,所以我们凝视着火车,进行了即兴的寻宝活动(“谁可以成为第一个寻宝者?找到时钟?谁能成为第一个找到船的人?”)然后穿过马路到康沃尔利斯公园(Cornwallis Park)经过改建的火车主题游乐场。

爱德华康华利斯公园雕像哈利法克斯

爱德华康华利斯:一个有争议的人物/照片:海伦Earley

远离附近的喧嚣 海港市场,在...的影子里 那个有争议的雕像 (在他创立哈利法克斯的同一年,康沃尔利斯还下令向谋杀米克马克人的人悬赏“剥头皮宣言”),这个小操场提供了攀爬架,隧道和两张滑梯的绝佳城市体验:宽大,经典的金属滑轨和柔和的螺旋形。 今年春天的新事物是,几条设计为火车车厢的公园长椅沿着一条人造的轨道坐着,是完美的孩子可以跨越的地方,或者供父母坐在那里。

马路对面是巴林顿街大西洋超市。 在老公看着孩子们玩耍的时候,我考虑了一些要领,但是我坐在那些长椅上玩得很开心,我抵制了购买牛奶和卫生纸的冲动。

在美妙的早餐后,在游乐场度过美好时光后,我不想毁掉完美的星期天早上。

游乐场康沃利斯公园哈利法克斯

康沃利斯公园内的火车主题游乐场/照片:海伦·Earley

 

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Breakfast at Elements on Hollis, Fun in Cornwallis Park: A Perfect Sunday Morning with Kids in Halifax

Cornwallis Park Halifax

A perfect Sunday morning with Kids/photo: Helen Earley

Good service is when the head chef comes out to ask you if you enjoyed the buffet and then assists you with your coat when it’s time to leave; when the pot of tea you ordered is served properly, with boiling hot water and the tea bag inside the pot (not in a paper envelope, sitting on your saucer), or when the maître d discovers it’s your husband’s special day, and discreetly enquires as to whether the birthday boy would like a special piece of birthday cake to follow his bacon and eggs.

Good service is when the waitress, noticing that you’ve got your hands full with young kids, thoughtfully moves the coffee cups and glasses away from danger, and throughout the meal, dutifully clears food, empty cereal boxes and half-eaten sugar packages from the table just as fast as the little monkeys can make a mess.

Cornwallis Park Playground

The train-themed playground at Cornwallis Park/photo: Helen Earley

Although Elements on Hollis is well-known in Halifax for their elaborate Sunday afternoon brunch, we prefer to turn up at breakfast-time, when for nearly half the price of the brunch, you can get a full hot and cold buffet breakfast, with all the things kids like to eat: eggs, sausages, cereal, muffins, smoothies and waffles. At Elements, children aged 5-12 eat half price, and kids under five eat free, so in fact, it’s only slightly more expensive than a morning out at Jim’s or the Esquire, along the Bedford Highway – our usual haunts.

This Sunday, after the special birthday breakfast, we took the kids to the VIA Rail train station, which is located about 30 seconds away, on the other side of the Westin Nova Scotian Hotel. (If you have a child under 2 years old, they are going to love the ramp that connects these two buildings.) It was virtually empty, so we peered out at the train and had an impromptu treasure hunt (“who can be the first to find a clock? who can be the first to find a ship?”) before heading across the street to a revamped train-themed playground in Cornwallis Park.

Edward Cornwallis Park Statue Halifax

Edward Cornwallis: a controversial figure/Photo: Helen Earley

Away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Seaport Market, in the shadow of that controversial statue (In the same year that he founded Halifax, Cornwallis also ordered a ‘scalping proclamation’ with a bounty for anyone who murdered a Mi’kmaq person), this small playground offers a pretty good city experience with climbing frames, a tunnel and two slides: a wide, classic metal slide and a gentle spiral. New this spring, several park benches designed as train carriages sit along a faux-track, perfect kids to leap across, or for parents to sit on.

Across the road is the Barrington Street Atlantic Superstore. I considered dashing in for a few essentials while hubby watched the kids play, but I was having such a nice time just sitting on those benches, that I resisted the urge to buy milk and toilet paper.

After a fantastic breakfast, and a lovely time at the playground, I didn’t want to ruin the perfect Sunday morning.

Playground Cornwallis Park Halifax

Inside the train-themed playground at Cornwallis Park/Photo: Helen Earley

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.