城市里的一块草原! 在Silverspring游览草原萨斯卡通

我是萨斯卡通的长期居民,我甚至是狂热的户外爱好者。 这就是为什么当我的孩子坚持要我们去旅行时,我感到非常惊讶 草原。 草原? 我听说的唯一'草原'是6国家公园数小时之遥! 很明显,我的两个大孩子在一次长达一天的实地旅行中并不在那里。

草原萨斯卡通好奇,总是为了新的东西,本周末,我们把孩子们放在车里,他们指示我们把车停在Silverspring的Mother Theresa学校。 从这里开始,这是一跳,跳过,只是一步一步穿过篱笆,我们到达了 Meewasin宝藏! 惊喜! 草原不是小小的宝石! 这是一个完整的34亩未受破坏的原生草原草原,坐落在城市中! 鼓舞人心的时代愿景,草原萨斯卡通是本地羊茅,开花和无花植物,树木,鸟类,动物和昆虫栖息地的天堂! 在我们度过的那个小时里,我们知道我的有限知识无法识别山雀,麻雀,鹿和一些猛禽。

我的孩子们刚从实地考察中出发,也能够将我们带到位于LeMay Crescent附近的Konihowski路附近的一块壮观的化石。 这个巨大的奶油色岩石突出位于道路附近的步行道上,充满了数百万年前容易识别的昆虫和贝壳的印记。 我们也被相对多岩石的地形和随机放置的巨大的巨石所吸引,这些巨石覆盖着美丽的地衣种类,我们从标牌上收集到的,表明了多年前10,000冰川的融化。 在整个散步过程中,孩子们也兴奋地指出了草原家乡的各种动物(土狼,鹿和兔子)的粪便,这是我发现的鞋子上不太吸引人的宝藏。

草原萨斯卡通与完整未受破坏的草原美景形成鲜明但令人着迷的对比,是几个圆锥形帐篷状结构的升起,它由不知名的源头建立,分散在一些小屋中。 我们的孩子被迫踏入每一个人的内心,我承认他们确实为照片做了一个有吸引力的背景!

我们探索,野餐(**没有垃圾桶***),并享受在草原萨斯卡通经过一个美丽的阳光明媚的下午! 这些时代和地点让我想起生活在一个微妙但壮观的自然美景的地方是多么幸运。 我们在那里度过的90奇数分钟足以满足我们三岁孩子的兴趣,但还不足以完全探索公园。 我们期待很快回去!

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

A Little Piece of Prairie in the City! Visit Grasslands Saskatoon in Silverspring

I’m a long-term resident of Saskatoon and I’m even an avid outdoor enthusiast. That’s why it came as a quite a surprise when my kids insisted that we make a trip to Grasslands. Grasslands? The only ‘grasslands’ I’d heard of was the national park 6 hours away! Obviously not the place my two older children had been there on a day-long field trip.

Grasslands SaskatoonCurious and always up for something new, this weekend we loaded the kids up in the car where they directed us to park at Mother Theresa School in Silverspring. From here, it was a hop, skip, and a mere step through a break in the fence and we’d arrived at the Meewasin treasure! Surprise! Grasslands is no small gem! It is a full 34 acres of unspoilt native prairie grassland nestled right into the city! Inspiring visions of times past, Grasslands Saskatoon is a haven of a habitat for native fescue grasses, flowering and non-flowering plants, trees, birds, animals and insects! In the hour we spent there, we were privy to sightings of chickadees, sparrows, deer, and a number of birds of prey that my limited knowledge could not identify.

My kids, fresh off a field trip, were also able to direct us to a spectacular fossil rock located just off Konihowski Road near LeMay Crescent. This substantial cream-coloured rock prominently located on the walking path near the road is full of easily identifiable imprints of insects and shells from millions of years ago. We were also fascinated by the relatively rocky terrain and the randomly placed larger boulders covered with  beautiful species of lichen which, we gathered from signage, were indicative of the melting of glaciers some 10,000 years ago. Throughout the walk, the kids were also excited to point out scat from the various animals (coyotes, deer, and rabbit) that call Grasslands home, a treasure I found far less appealing on my shoe.

Grasslands SaskatoonThe stark but fascinating contrast to the complete unspoilt beauty of Grasslands is the rising of several teepee-like structures, erected by sources-unknown, scattered throughout some of copses. Our kids were compelled to set foot inside every single one, and I’ll admit they did make an attractive backdrop for a photo-op!

We explored, picnicked (**there are no garbage cans***), and otherwise enjoyed passing a beautiful sunny afternoon at Grasslands Saskatoon!  Times and places like these remind me how lucky we are to live in a place of subtle but spectacular natural beauty. The 90 odd minutes we spent there were enough for our three-year-old’s interests but not enough to explore the park in its entirety. We look forward to going back soon!

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.