讓我們認識你! 介紹莫妮卡老師並跳入音樂

小型企業簡介-跳入音樂

COVID-19危機以歷史的方式顛覆了我們的世界,給大溫哥華地區的小型企業帶來了逆境風暴。 這些企業中的許多企業現在都在為生存而進行著艱苦的鬥爭,而未來也不確定。 儘管卑詩省政府已宣布重新開放措施,但Family Fun Vancouver還是想藉此機會介紹和採訪我市的一些當地企業。 讓我們彼此了解! 歡迎來到#SmallBusinessSaturday系列。

今天我們正在和來自 跳入音樂。 Monica Lee在溫哥華社區學院會見了她的商業夥伴Orith,同時完成了 當代音樂文憑課程 在2000年,他們成為了快速的朋友,一起學習和練習樂器,從此他們的生活就交織在一起。 Orith和Monica都在傳奇的東溫哥華音樂俱樂部The Libra Room中與他們的樂隊共存了十多年,然後在2019年永久關閉。在成立了自己的音樂公司並成為母親之後,他們開始與跳入音樂。 莫妮卡(Monica)和奧里斯(Orith)對音樂教育有著堅定的熱情。 他們渴望通過音樂和運動激發兒童及其家庭的生命。

告訴我們您的業務:

跳入音樂是一家由兩名母親經營,規模較小,獨立的企業,從事幼兒音樂教育。 我們提供了一種獨一無二的音樂和運動程序,可以使父母和孩子參與,教育和娛樂。 我們的課程在6個月至4歲的兒童中激發創造力,同時使他們獲得樂趣並建立信心。 我們在溫哥華和溫哥華島的科威奇山谷提供親自編程。 隨著Covid 19的發布,我們所有的面對面課堂都被暫停了,因此,現在我們提供在線課程,覆蓋全球家庭。

通過Covid 19,我(又名Monica老師)目前正在通過我在“ Facebook的活 自XNUMX月鎖定以來。

我喜歡在音樂中找到樂趣,在演奏音樂中找到樂趣,在冒險和即興創作中變得愚蠢。 我喜歡通過表現出與生俱來的錯誤感(我非常健忘)來慶祝人類,並在發生錯誤時公開嘲笑自己。 我認為以身作則教導孩子很重要,讓他們看到我們從反複試驗中學到東西,並且一路上我們經常需要其他人的幫助……就像我需要他們讓我想起我忘記的事情一樣……(我忘記了每集都一樣的東西……冒泡! 我善於分享自己對所教音樂的感受和激情。

創業的靈感是什麼? 您是從哪裡獲得第一個想法的? 

作為一名年輕的音樂家,教學音樂的想法從來都不是我的長期目標,但是有一天,我被要求以替代教學的方式來教朋友。 我很不情願地參加了演出。 我立即被這個過程所吸引,發現我不僅喜歡與孩子們一起工作,而且我喜歡分享我的知識,並看到它轉化為與我一起工作的人的有益實踐。 我想創建一個基於音樂學和文化教育的程序! 在溫哥華社區學院的薩爾瓦多·費雷拉斯(Salvador Ferreras)博士任教期間,我在世界音樂研究領域表現出色,並且看到這可以分享知識,促進對多種文化的理解和接受。 我堅信,我們彼此見面和聆聽的次數越多,我們對彼此的傳統和習俗就會越寬容和接受。

我的搭檔Orith已經開始啟動Jump Into Music,並在她搬到溫哥華島時要求我加入。 我們開發了長達24個月的課程,探討了來自世界各地的音樂流派和原籍國。 該計劃從溫哥華的每週3個課程擴展到每週11個課程,然後增加了合同製老師Lisa Beth Dery的服務,每週增加14個課程,覆蓋了溫哥華地區的180個家庭。

您最大的遺憾是什麼? 您最大的驕傲還是成功? 

我最大的遺憾是沒有更快地掌握計算機知識。 我依靠他人來幫助我建立虛擬聯繫多年了。 在過去的幾個月中,我已經大大提高了計算機素養,這是一個大開眼界。 因此,我認為這也是我最大的驕傲或成功。 我的在線課程已經覆蓋了數千個家庭。 Facebook告訴我,我的程序的影響範圍為149萬,其中20萬個人直接與我的帖子進行互動,“贊/跟隨者”頁面在幾個月內從300擴展到2000。 我和LIVE在一起的家庭多達200個,並在《 跳入音樂 頁。 我已經學會瞭如何更新WordPress網站,還學會瞭如何使用流媒體軟件和實時虛擬聲音軟件,以及如何在與小孩分享音樂的同時盡情地提升我的頁面。 生活已經發生了真正的改變。 對我而言,Covid-19鎖定裝置的襯裡有很多銀色。

跳入音樂通常一天對您來說會是什麼樣? 現在呢? 

早在5月份,就在封鎖之前,我像過去5年一樣在社區中心任教。 在把我的兩個孩子帶他們的父親送往學校的途中,我坐上了紅色的小汽車,朝12個方向之一駛向城市各地。 我連續兩節課,每節課有15-50個孩子,有一個或兩個大人陪同。 根據計劃,上課時間為XNUMX分鐘,但通常要花一個小時。 上課的最後是野生動物的爪子印章,每個孩子都會上來,並告訴我那天他們是哪種動物。 由於許多孩子還很小,所以有時我會提出一些建議,例如:“也許您是一隻松鼠,沿著籬笆奔跑或直奔樹上……哦,我很想成為一隻松鼠!” ……或者,“你是狐狸,住在樹下嗎? 多麼美好的生活地方!” 或“您是嬰兒熊,依on在媽媽的熊上嗎?”。 到處都有一系列的擊掌聲,通常與媽媽或看護者進行幾次交談,他們可能會用耳朵或與他們的孩子生活有關的一些保證或支持。 在許多方面,我都將自己視為社區延伸到年輕父母的角色。 帶孩子的最初幾年通常很辛苦,有時孩子發育遲緩。 值得慶幸的是,在很多情況下,我已經能夠聯繫並幫助直屬家庭提供支持,並且看到了巨大的變化。 我喜歡每天在社區外與家人和孩子們交流,通過有趣的娛樂材料激發音樂探索的靈感。

我選擇/創造這份工作是因為我想每天都在我的孩子那裡。 我想創造一個工作,這樣我們就可以避免課後照料,並優先安排家長照料和活動教育活動,例如每週上課的游泳課,音樂課,美術課。 我一輩子都有孩子,所以從一開始就對我來說是一個優先事項。 我非常感謝Jump Into Music讓我倆工作愉快,並在我的孩子成長過程中花了很多時間。

由於封鎖和Covid-19,我的社區中心工作結束了。 實際上,鎖定課程的第一周是春假,我預定了一周的補習班,因為我在700月初生病了,錯過了一周的補習班。 我為家人感到難過並冒險,決定在周五那週去Facebook直播並進行虛擬課堂。 我向100人的郵件列表發送了一條消息,並在Facebook上發送了一些消息。 驚人地超過XNUMX個家庭出現了! 我發誓要在下週回來。

那個週末,我在星期一分享了“預定直播”的帖子。 超過4500人點擊了該鏈接! 不幸的是,我不了解該技術,並且該鏈接從未生效! 我確實設法開始了另一個鏈接,並且有130多個鏈接在那裡。 在接下來的5周中,我繼續每週10天(週一至週五)上午6點進行現場直播,隨後有多達200個家庭與我一起直播。 意見是巨大的,重播甚至更多。 某些劇集被觀看了多達3.4K次。 自從首次自發的Facebook LIVE以來,我學到了很多東西。 我已經購買了照明設備,麥克風,為流媒體平台付費,購買了新計算機……在過去的幾個月中,我比以往任何時候都對技術有了更多的了解。

現在,我已經出版了40多集,一些重複的流派或原籍國主題,然後最近又添加了新內容,例如甲殼蟲樂隊專輯,音樂之聲專輯,《我們愛拉菲》專輯和生日專輯。 大多數情況下,我們都會在直播中慶祝一三歲生日。 我裝飾,我們唱了幾首特別的歌,包括我最初的生日歌,然後吹滅了虛擬蠟燭,這些蠟燭是我每個孩子年齡的手指。

與每天在社區裡教兩個小時相比,在家中播放電視節目花費的時間要多得多,但是我正在接觸世界各地的家庭,並真正度過了自己的一生。

您如何適應COVID-19危機,現在社區如何為您提供支持?

我認為以上回答類型涵蓋了除社區支持元素之外的大多數問題。 在封鎖開始之初,在播出的第一周,家庭開始要求經濟上的支持。 很難弄清楚該怎麼做。 值得慶幸的是,其他企業也在做類似的事情,一些父母與我分享了這些東西,並給了我指導。 一位家長鼓勵我啟動Patreon頁面,其他人要求我發送電子轉賬。 來自美國的家庭要求使用PayPal鏈接。 因此,我設置了它們! 的支持是壓倒性的。 隨著生活開始開放,我的人數減少了實時取景和捐贈。 這是可以理解的。 我也一直在減少演出,並慢慢地看待我的業務從長遠來看如何可持續發展。 當我們處於真正的封鎖狀態時,全世界的目光都在線上。 那是狂野的西部,我和牧群一起奔跑。 我現在正在計劃夏季的幾個月,每週一次,甚至每兩週一次,每週一次,“ Get Together Facebook Lives”,並展望XNUMX月份以及它將帶來什麼。 我計劃按照邦妮·亨利博士的建議去那兒。 隨著在線新市場的發展,我肯定會繼續進行現場直播,如果可能的話,可能每週一次在社區中進行親自授課。 任何事情都可能發生,隨著數周和數月的前進,我期待發現它。

如果此時有興趣支持Monica Lee和Jump Into Music的人,最好的方法是收聽 Facebook直播跟著她 Facebook (@jumpintomusictogether), Instagram (@jumpintomusic)和 Twitter (@ JumpIntoMusic4U)。 所有鏈接和信息都可以在其網站上找到 www.jumpintomusic.ca


“ YVR小型企業資料”簡介是“溫哥華家庭娛樂”系列,其中包含編輯隨機選擇的感興趣和好奇心選擇的企業。

尋找更多有關如何在COVID-19危機期間讓孩子忙碌的提示嗎? 找到我們最好的想法,活動和靈感 查看更多!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

Let’s Get to Know You! Introducing Teacher Monica and Jump Into Music

Small Business Profile - Jump Into Music

The COVID-19 crisis has turned our world upside-down in historical ways, bringing a storm of adversity to small businesses in Metro Vancouver. Many of these businesses are now in a critical fight for survival and the future is uncertain. Although re-opening measures have been announced by the BC government, Family Fun Vancouver would like to take the opportunity to introduce and interview some of the local businesses in our city. Let’s get to know each other! Welcome to the #SmallBusinessSaturday series.

Today we are talking to Teacher Monica from Jump Into Music. Monica Lee met her business partner, Orith, at Vancouver Community College while completing the Contemporary Music Diploma Program in 2000. They became fast friends studying and practicing their instruments together and their lives have been intertwined ever since. Both Orith and Monica held residencies with their individual bands at the legendary East Vancouver music club, The Libra Room, for over a decade before it permanently closed its doors in 2019. After starting their individual music companies and becoming mothers, they began a partnership with Jump Into Music. Monica and Orith share an unwavering passion for music education. They aspire to inspire children and their families to come alive through music and movement.

Tell us about your business:

Jump Into Music is an Early Childhood Music Education small, independent, business run by two mothers. We offer a one-of-a-kind music and movement program that engages, educates, and entertains both the parent and child. Our classes inspire creativity while having fun and building confidence in little ones 6 months to 4 years old. We offer in person programming in Vancouver and the Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island.  With Covid 19, all our in-person classes have been suspended so now we are offering classes online reaching families all over the world.

With Covid 19, I, aka Teacher Monica, am currently offering classes with my development of the ‘Get Together’ on Facebook Live since the lockdown in March.

I love to find the joy in music, the play in playing music, and the silly in taking risks and improvising. I love to celebrate our humanity by showing my innate fallibility (I am very forgetful) and laughing at/with myself openly when mistakes happen. I think it’s important to teach children by example and let them see that we learn from trial and error and that we often need others to help us along the way…like I need them to remind me of what I have forgotten…(I forget the same thing every episode…bubbles! Lol). I am good at being in the moment sharing my feelings and passions about the music I teach.

What was the inspiration for starting this venture? Where did you get your first idea? 

The idea of teaching music was never in my long term goal as a young musician, but one day, I was asked to substitute-teach for a friend. I reluctantly took the gig. I was immediately taken with the process and found not only did I love working with children, I loved sharing my knowledge and seeing it translated into rewarding practice for the people with whom I worked. I wanted to create a program that I wanted to go to that was grounded in musicology and cultural education! I excelled at World Music Studies while studying under Dr. Salvador Ferreras at Vancouver Community College and saw this has a way to share knowledge and foster understanding and acceptance of diverse cultures. I believe strongly that the more we see and listen to each other the more tolerant and accepting we can be of each other’s traditions and practices.

My partner Orith had already started Jump Into Music and asked me to come on board when she moved to Vancouver Island. We developed the 24 months worth of curriculum exploring both genres and country of origin styles of music from all over the world. The program expanded from 3 classes a week in Vancouver to 11 classes a week and then with the addition of contracted-teacher, Lisa Beth Dery, to 14 classes a week reaching 180 families in the Vancouver area.

What has been your biggest regret? Your greatest pride or success? 

My biggest regret is not becoming more computer literate sooner. I relied on others to help me connect virtually for years. Over the last few months I have expanded my computer literacy so much and it has been a big eye opener. I think this is therefore also my greatest pride or success. My online classes have been reaching thousands of families. Facebook tells me my program has a reach of 149K with 20K individuals interacting directly with my posts and the page Likes/Followers expanding from 300 to 2000 in months. I have had up to 200 families on LIVE with me and have published over 40 episodes on the Jump Into Music page.  I have learned how to update my WordPress site, I have learned how to use streaming software and live virtual sound software, and how to promote my page all the while having a ton of fun sharing music with little children.  It has been life changing truly. For me there have been a lot of silver in the lining of the Covid-19 lockdown.

Jump Into MusicWhat would a typical day look like for you normally? What about now? 

Way back in Jan, before the lock down, I was teaching in community centres as I have in the past 5 years. After sending my two children on their way to school with their dad I got in my little red car and headed in one of 5 directions to various locations around the city. I ran two consecutive classes with 12-15 kids in each and with one or two adults accompanying them. Classes are supposed to be 50 mins according to the program but they usually go the full hour. Class ends with wild animal paw print stamps where each child comes up and tells me what kind of while animal they are that day.  As many of the children are very young, sometimes I make suggestions like .. “Maybe you are a squirrel, running along the fence or straight up the tree…oh I would love to be a squirrel!” …or, “are you a fox, living under a tree?  What a great place to live!” or “Are you a baby bear, snuggling on mama bear?”.  A series of high fives all around and usually a few conversations with moms or caregivers who could use an ear or some reassurance or support related to life with their child. In many ways I see my role as community outreach to young parents.  The first few years with your child are often very hard and sometimes children are developmentally delayed. I have thankfully been able to connect and help direct families to support in many cases and seen remarkable changes. I love being out in the community connecting daily with families and children inspiring musical exploration with engaging educational material in an entertaining way.

I chose/created this job specifically as I wanted to be there for my kids every day. I wanted to create a job so we could avoid after-school care and prioritize parent care and activity education activities like swimming lessons, music lessons, art classes to happen during the week. I had my children later in my life, so this has been a priority for me from the get go. I am so grateful that Jump Into Music has allowed me to both have a joyful job and spend a lot of time with my kids as they are growing up.

With the lockdown and Covid-19 my community centre job ended.  In fact the first week of lock down was Spring Break and I had a week of make-up classes booked as I had been sick earlier in Feb and missed a week of classes.  I felt badly for the families and took a risk and decided to go Live on Facebook that week on Friday and do the class virtually. I sent out a message to my 700 person mailing list and a few messages on Facebook. Amazingly over more than 100 families showed up! I vowed to be back the following week.

That weekend I shared a post for a “Scheduled LIVE” on Monday.  Over 4500 people clicked the link! Unfortunately I did not understand the technology and that link never went live! I did manage to start another link and more than 130 were on there with me. I continued to run live broadcasts 5 days a week (Mon – Fri) at 10am for the following 6 weeks with up to 200 families participating with me live.  The views were enormous and the replays even more. Some episodes have been viewed up to 3.4K times. I have learned a lot since the first spontaneous Facebook LIVE. I have bought lighting, microphones, pay for a streaming platform, bought a new computer… I have learned more about technology in the last few months than I ever have before.

Now I have published over 40 episodes, some repeated genres or country of origin topics and then more recently adding new content like a Beatles special, a Sound of Music Special, a We Love Raffi special and a Birthday special.  Most days we celebrate a birthday or three on the Live Broadcast.  I decorate, we sing a few special songs including my original birthday song, and blow out the virtual candles that are my fingers for the age of each child.

Running a TV show from my home takes considerably more time than teaching two hours a day in the community but I am reaching families around the world and truly having the time of my life doing it.

How have you adapted to the COVID-19 crisis and how can the community support you at this time?

I think the above answer kind of covers most of this question other than the community support element.  At the start of the lockdown and with the first week of broadcasts families started asking to support me financially. It was hard to figure out how to do this. Thankfully other businesses were also doing similar things and some parents shared those with me and gave me direction. One parent encouraged me to start a Patreon page and others asked to send me e-transfers. Families from the US asked for a PayPal link. So I set them up! The support has been overwhelming. As life has started to open up my numbers have gone down on live views and in the donations.  This is understandable. I have also been producing fewer shows and slowly looking at how my business can be sustainable in the long run. When we were in true lockdown the worlds eyes were online. It was the wild west and I was running with the herd. I am now planning the summer months with only once a week or even bi weekly Get Together Facebook Lives and looking to September and what that will bring. I plan to follow Dr. Bonnie Henry’s recommendations and go from there. With the development of this new market online I will continue with the Live broadcast for sure, likely once a week with in person classes in the community once it is safe.  Anything could happen and I look forward to discovering it as the weeks and months move forward.

If people are interested in supporting Monica Lee and Jump Into Music at this time the best way is to tune in to a Facebook live stream, follow her on Facebook (@jumpintomusictogether), Instagram (@jumpintomusic) and Twitter (@JumpIntoMusic4U). All links and information can be found at their website www.jumpintomusic.ca


Introducing YVR Small Business Profiles is a Family Fun Vancouver series that will contain a random selection of businesses chosen at the discretion of the editor for interest and curiosity.

Looking for more tips on how to keep your kids occupied during the COVID-19 crisis? Find our best ideas, activities and inspiration here!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates