樂觀主義者山

我有一個秘密……我討厭滑雪。 請不要告訴我的孩子。 這種厭惡與我缺乏技能或害怕在雪和速度引發的一些壯觀災難中四肢扭曲無關,也與這項運動本身無關(我每 10 分鐘觀看 4 分鐘的奧林匹克速降比賽)年,就像所有其他敬畏上帝的加拿大人一樣)。 一點也不。 我責怪我一生都生活在光禿禿的大草原(沒有山丘)上,間歇性地生活在溫和的沿海地區(沒有雪)。 我只是缺乏經驗,這就是為什麼當我和我的丈夫決定在加拿大腹地的心臟地帶撫養我們的孩子時,我決定他們將獲得必要的經驗,以充分利用漫長而漫長的冬季。

多年來,我們盡職盡責。 我們帶孩子們在桌山滑雪(新聞快訊。除非你的背部非常強壯,否則 2 歲的孩子可能對這項運動來說太小了)。 我們在令人驚嘆的 Wapiti Ski Hill and Board 度假村過夜,最後前往加拿大落基山脈進行了一些山下活動……我們有照片來證明這一點! 微笑的臉龐,紅潤的臉頰,穿著豐滿雪衣的孩子們在令人眼花繚亂的白色背影前豎起大拇指……那些珍貴的照片沒有顯示出我遭受的持續膝蓋傷害,也沒有為無數小時提供公正帶著 3 個狡猾的孩子在後座開車去遙遠的滑雪目的地。 所有這一切都表明,當我聽說薩斯卡通計劃開發 Optimist Hill Winter Recreation Area 時,我非常激動!

樂觀主義者山在因感冒、流感和輕微的運動承諾進行了體面的轉變之後,上週末我們的日曆上出現了一個罕見的免費周六,我們決定利用這一點。 “誰想去樂觀山?” 我問過,這一次,我們家的決定是一致的。 我們穿好衣服,在 10 點鐘到了山上。我不能說這是否是常態,但在這一天沒有排隊,不到 10 分鐘我們就完成了文書工作並有我們的纜車票和設備租賃。

帶著一點狡猾的哄騙,我,這個不情願的滑雪者,說服了整個工作人員,雪管將是我們首次訪問山上的完美活動,計算出一項在法律上不需要頭盔的活動對我這個人來說肯定更安全地理背景。 仍然當我們登上魔毯時,一種熟悉的興奮和恐懼的混合讓我的胃翻騰起來。 像往常一樣,我的孩子們沒有任何猶豫的感覺,所以我慷慨地允許他們進行試運行。 隨著'這將是史詩般的! 我會把你打到底! 看這個媽媽! 我所有三個珍貴的後代都將命運交到上帝的手中,跳上他們的試管,並通過一些物理學奇蹟毫髮無損地滑到了山腳下。

輪到我了。

“走下山會很跛腳嗎?” 我問老公。

“是的親愛的。”

好的。 你可以這樣做. 我自己執教。 “所以,我只是坐在那個東西里?” 我問年輕的服務員。

“”是的。“

“就像我的膝蓋一樣?”

“沒關係,媽媽。”

好的。 3 – 2 – 1. 然後我正在做。 我騎著雪管。 這很有趣! 令人振奮! 它是…… S&(%,我要向後退!然後加速!哇!而且……我又面向前方了!那更好。完全可行。快速但可行。哇!我想。我很好。我想!哇!嗖!空氣的速度快得足以在我的耳朵裡發出聲音。而且……快停下來!我已經安全到達了停車墊,儘管透過我眼鏡上的冰雪霧霾看不到任何東西。好玩嗎,媽媽?”

“是的!” 而且,隨著我的初學者神經得到解決,我認為下一次運行甚至可能是真的。

樂觀主義者山我們在山上上下山走了十幾次,孩子們開始用我和我丈夫的膝蓋,以更快的速度跋涉到魔毯。 我滿意地意識到,這項活動是他們可以很容易地與朋友一起做的事情,而無需太多父母的指導。 總是贏! 另一個勝利是我自己越來越放鬆和意外享受雪管。 它絕對比平底雪橇更溫和,並且具有電梯的額外好處,可以完成所有艱苦的上坡工作。 時間一分一秒地過去,我們在小木屋裡享用了短暫的午餐時間,享用了食堂的熱巧克力和打包的野餐午餐。 孩子們渴望更多,我發現我分享他們的觀點。

當我放鬆到白天時,我想知道我的享受感是否有一天會延伸到高山滑雪。 在我的最後一次跑步中,當我面對眼前不可能出現的斜坡時,我的眼睛裡陽光明媚,我有目的地爬進我的管子,我被帶到了一個遙遠的時間和地點…… 這是 1992 年。法國阿爾貝維爾。 我前往 Roc de Fer 球場的起跑旗。 我是 Kerrin Lee-Gartner,唯一擋在我和奧運金牌之間的就是斜坡、雪地和將我與競爭對手區分開來的毫秒數。 風吹過我的臉。 我的頭髮在我身後飄散,風使世界安靜下來,只有高山空氣在我耳邊呼嘯而過。 我越過終點線,瞥了一眼時鐘,人群變得瘋狂……

參觀樂觀山:

小時: 週一至週五:下午 4 點至晚上 9 點週末和節假日:上午 10 點至晚上 9 點
地点:: 迪芬貝克公園
網站: www.optimisthill.ca/

Family-Fun, Snow Tubing and Olympic Gold at Optimist Hill

Optimist Hill

I have a secret… I hate skiing. Please don’t tell my kids. This aversion has nothing to do with a lack of skill on my part or fear of having limbs twisted off in some spectacular calamity instigated by snow and speed nor does it have anything to do the sport itself (I watch 10 minutes of Olympic downhill every 4 years just like every other god-fearing Canadian). Not at all. I blame the fact that I’ve spent my life living on the bald prairies (no hills) intermittently spaced with living in mild coastal areas (no snow). I just lack experience which is why, when my husband and I made the decision to raise our young in the heart of Canada’s hinterland, I was determined they would be given the experiences necessary to make the best of the long,                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  long winter season.

Over the years, we’ve done our due diligence. We took the kids skiing at Table Mountain (Newsflash. Unless you have a very strong back, 2-year-olds are perhaps a bit too young for the sport). We overnighted at the amazing Wapiti Ski Hill and Board Resort and finally made the big trip to the Canadian Rockies for some down-the-mountain action… and we have the pictures to prove it! Smiling faces, rosy cheeks, kids in plump snow suits giving the thumbs up in front of a blinding white back drop… What those precious photographs don’t show are the persistent knee injuries I have incurred, nor do they do justice to the countless hours spent driving to far-away ski destinations with 3 wily kids in the back seat. All of this to say that I was thrilled when I heard that Saskatoon was planning on developing the Optimist Hill Winter Recreation Area!

Optimist HillAfter putting in a decent shift with colds, flus and minor sports commitments, a rare free Saturday appeared on our calendar this past weekend, and we decided to take advantage. “Who wants to go to Optimist Hill?” I asked and, for once, our family’s decision was unanimous. We suited up and made it to the hill for opening time at 10. I can’t speak as to whether this is the norm, but on this particular day there were no lines, and in less than 10 minutes we had filled out our paperwork and had our lift tickets and equipment rentals.

With a little crafty cajoling, I, the reluctant skier, convinced the whole crew that snow tubing would be the perfect activity for our inaugural visit to the hill, calculating that an activity not legally requiring a helmet must certainly be safer for a person of my geographical background. Still as we ascended the magic carpet, a familiar mix of excitement and dread made my stomach turn over. My kids, as usual, did not share in any feelings of hesitation so I graciously allowed them the privilege of doing the trial run. With shouts of ‘This is gonna be EPIC! I’ll beat you to the bottom! and Watch this MOM!’ all three of my precious offspring put their fate in God’s hands, hopped onto their tubes and by some miracle of physics slid to the bottom of the hill unscathed.

My turn.

“Would it be lame to walk back down the hill?” I ask my husband.

“Yes, dear.”

Okay. You can do this. I coach myself. “So, I just sit in the thing?” I ask the teenage attendant.

“Yes.”

“Like with my knees?”

“It doesn’t matter, Mam.”

Okay. 3 – 2 – 1. And then I’m doing it. I’m riding the snow tube. And it’s fun! It’s exhilarating! It’s… S&(%, I’m going backwards! and accelerating! Whoa! and… I’m back facing forward again! That’s better. Totally doable. Fast but doable. Whee! I think. I’m fine. I think! WHEEE! WHOOSH! The air is sailing by fast enough to make a sound in my ears. And… rapid stop! I have reached the stopping mats unharmed though I cannot see anything through the haze of snow and ice on my glasses. “Wasn’t it fun, Mom?”

“YEA!” and, with my beginner nerves worked out, I think it may even be true on the next run.

Optimist HillWe make our way up and down the hill a dozen or so more times, and the kids start to lap me and my husband, making the trek to the magic carpet with much greater speed. I realize with some satisfaction that this activity is something they would be able to do with friends quite easily without much parental guidance. Always a win! Also a win is my own increasing relaxation and unexpected enjoyment of snow tubing. It is decidedly gentler than tobogganing and has the added bonus of the lift doing all the gruelling uphill work. The hours tick by, and we enjoy a brief lunch hour in the chalet with hot chocolate from the canteen and a packed picnic lunch. The kids are eager for more, and I find I share their sentiment.

As I relax into the day, I wonder if my feelings of enjoyment might someday extend to downhill skiing. On my final run as I face the impossibility of the slope in front of me with the sun bright in my eyes, I climb with purpose into my tube and I am transported to a time and place far away… It is 1992. Albertville, France. I make my way to the starting flags at Roc de Fer course. I am Kerrin Lee-Gartner and the only thing that stands between me and Olympic Gold is the slope, the snow and the milliseconds that will separate me from my competitors. The wind whips at my face. My hair streams out behind me as the wind silences the world to nothing but the whoosh of alpine air in my ears. I cross the finish line, glance at the clock, and the crowd goes wild…

Visit Optimist Hill:

Hours: Monday – Friday: 4 – 9pm Weekends & Holidays: 10am – 9pm
Where: Diefenbaker Park
Website: www.optimisthill.ca/

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
No Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.