西摩山夏令營:兒童生態探險

你知道西摩山是否擁有令人驚嘆的生態探險夏令營? 每一天都是不同的,每個年齡段都經歷了一個特別創建的程序,但這裡是每個年齡段所能達到的一般概述:西摩山夏令營

西摩山(Mt Seymour)為2020年夏令營組織了三個有趣的主題。 主題可以交替使用。

生存營: 西摩生存營將教學員生存的基本知識。 了解有關食用植物,房屋掩體,熊吊,指南針導航,信號等的更多信息。 上週五,由露營者來展示他們已經掌握了新技能,並能夠調查為他們創造的情景。 聽起來很刺激,很有趣!

神秘任務營: 線索,未解之謎和陰謀。 有沒有想過為什麼它叫神秘湖或神秘峰? 露營者將面臨挑戰,要跳出思維框,走到那裡去探索美麗的山脈地形。 到本週末,露營者將需要解決所有的奧秘並破解密碼! 您認為您的孩子可以應付嗎???

初級生態學家營: 您的孩子是真正的自然愛好者嗎? 如果是這樣的話,西摩山初級生態學家營就適合他們。 花一周的時間對自然環境有更深入的了解。 看看公園裡發現的最大的岩石小生物。 到本週末,露營者將對西摩山崎the的地形有了更深入的了解和喜愛。

2020年新品! 海天營地: 西摩山生態探險營地正在與加拿大海洋大使合作建立這個新營地。 這個生態意識營地適合8至12歲的兒童。 具有環保意識的營員(8至12歲)將時間分散在海洋和山頂之間。 花了幾天的時間來探索槳板上的海岸線和潮汐生態系統; 其他日子是在西摩山(Mt Seymour)參加的初級自然主義者計劃,該計劃的重點是通過探索和娛樂來了解山區生態系統。 該營地僅開放兩個星期。

在主題營中,露營者按年齡劃分:

開拓者(年齡5-7) 通過遊戲和結構化的免費遊戲來探索山峰。 這個年齡段的旅行可能不像他們年長的同齡人那麼遠,但他們同樣有趣! 開拓者們花時間唱歌,聽故事,並在他們的日記中記錄所有的山景和聲音(也被稱為他們的冒險日誌)。 你的野營者將通過教育框架的遊戲了解關於野生動物的很多事情,並且很可能會創建一個令人敬畏的垃圾庇護所“堡壘”。 這個年齡段探索了這座山脈更密集的探索小徑網絡,並經常爬上短而精美的迪基峰。

森林監護人(年齡8和9) 有機會以不適合開拓者的水平進行學習和探索,但不像山地遊騎兵那麼激烈。 其目的是通過遊戲和發現來教導您的露營者敬仰並尊重他們周圍的生活世界。 無論如何,Mt Seymour難民營領導人都會提供機會練習新學到的技能,例如如何使用指南針或如何從熊上安全地懸掛食物。 這個群體常年喜歡的是去神秘湖的徒步旅行,那裡的“池塘學”和尋找涼爽的水生昆蟲可以持續數小時。

山區遊騎兵(年齡10-12) 比開拓者和森林守護者更長時間的徒步旅行。 編程融合了諸如植物識別和住房建設等硬技能,以及適合年齡的遊戲,如奪旗,確保您的孩子在戶外學習中參與和娛樂。 根據小組的興趣,他們也可能學習結,並深入了解導航。 這個年齡段的徒步旅行包括狗山,北岸搜索和救援小屋以及(偶爾)甚至First Pump Peak!

許多父母想知道營地領袖對營員的比例。 西摩山(Mount Seymour)的14位兒童是滿滿的書,有2位老師,這意味著7:1的比例。 經常有傑出的志願者也參加營地的運行。 請注意,西摩山每週都會舉辦多組由開拓者和森林守護者組成的團體,這意味著您的孩子不一定要與同齡朋友同住,除非事先通知他們。

現在真棒! 您的孩子不僅會獲得一周的戶外生態探險,所有營地參與者都會得到一個西摩山水壺,然後等待……2020/21年的西摩山兒童通行證,這樣他們就可以在整個冬季滑雪! 那有多不可思議?

西摩山夏令營當你每天幫助你的露營包時,這裡有推薦的物品送到西摩山生態探險營:

  • 口哨:附在背包或拉鍊上非常棒
  • 結實的露趾鞋:最好“穿”登山鞋,遠足靴或跑步鞋。 請勿穿涼鞋或橡膠靴(除非用作後備鞋)。
  • 完全換衣服:包括襪子和鞋子。 請打包成一個單獨的袋子,整週留在營地。
  • 防曬:帶帽的帽子,防曬霜,太陽鏡和襯衫可以遮住肩膀是最好的選擇。
  • 可重複使用的水瓶:西摩山今年夏天為每一位露營者提供一次,但請多打一次(min 500ml)。
  • 雨具和溫暖的層:一個防水夾克是必須的,褲子,如果你有他們。 露營者在雨天或陽光下露營,有些早晨可能需要一段時間才能升溫。
  • 大量的無堅果小吃和健康午餐:西摩山是一種對堅果安全/能夠感知堅果的程序,因此請幫助確保每個人都盡可能安全。 作為花生過敏孩子的媽媽,我永遠感謝每個人在保持孩子呼吸方面的支持。 不要忘記很多小吃。 有了新鮮空氣和鍛煉,孩子們比平時更加飢餓。 不想每天打包午餐嗎? 您可以 加上午餐 (整週僅需$ 35)即可獲得您孩子的營地體驗。 西摩山(Mt Seymour)的廚師會花時間用新鮮的食材和當地食材烹製有益健康的便當餐。 具有特殊飲食需要的冒險活動將給予個人關注和替代食物選擇。
  • 舒適的背包:孩子們負責攜帶所有自己的物品(上面列出的)。 確保他們攜帶的背包是一個可以成功攜帶的背包。
  • 藥物:將要求父母填寫醫療表格。 孩子負責帶給他們所需的藥物。
  • 可選項目:驅蟲劑,輕質長袖棉質T恤和褲子,便宜的相機
  • 露營者將有一個cubby存儲營地期間的物品。
  • 沒有電子設備或諸如iPod,便攜式遊戲,交易卡,玩具之類的外部干擾物。 手機將留在家裡的小房間裡。

西摩山的生態冒險夏令營聽起來像是不容錯過的體驗! 這些景點將很快填滿,因此請立即上網並儘快註冊。 您可以註冊 請點擊這裡,.

在2018 Mt Seymour介紹了一個非常方便 夏令營班車服務 來自East Van(Grandview Real Canadian Superstore Gas Bar,以及北溫哥華的兩個地點(Real Canadian Superstore,以及Parkgate社區中心).2019的熱門交通服務.Sun Seymour夏令營穿梭巴士為您節省時間,燃料(這是從底部開始的24 km往返驅動器,每天兩次!),對於所有人來說是最環保的選擇,只需$ 55(5-day訓練營)或$ 44(4-day訓練營)一周。

西摩山夏令營:

蜜棗:2020年XNUMX月和XNUMX月
:9am – 4pm(節假日除外)
哪裡:西摩山度假村
地址:北溫哥華1700 Mt Seymour路
網站www.mtseymour.ca/summer-camps

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新
無回應

Did you know that Mt Seymour runs awesome eco-adventure summer camps? Every day is different, and every age group experiences a specifically created program but here is a general overview of what each age group can expect to get up to:Mt Seymour Summer Camps

Mt Seymour has put together three fascinating themes for their 2020 summer camps. The themes are available on an alternating schedule.

Survival Camp: Seymour Survival Camp will teach participants the basics of survival. Learn about edible plants, building shelters, bear hangs, compass navigation, signalling and much more. Come Friday it’s up to the campers to show they’ve acquired new skills and can SURVIVE the scenario created for them. Sounds thrilling and fun!

Mystery Quest Camp: Clues, unsolved puzzles, and intrigue. Ever wondered why its called Mystery Lake or Mystery Peak? Campers will be challenged to think outside of the box and get out there to explore the beautiful mountain terrain. By week’s end the campers will have needed to solve all the mysteries and crack the codes! Do you think your kid can handle it???

Junior Ecologist Camp: Is your child a true nature lover? If so the Mt Seymour Junior Ecologist Camp is for them. Spend a week gaining a deeper understanding of the natural environment. Look at the tiniest mountain critters to the largest rock formations found in the park. By the end of the week, campers will have developed a greater understanding, and affection, for the rugged terrain of Mt Seymour.

NEW for 2020! Sea to Sky Camp: Mt Seymour Eco Adventure camps is partnering with Ocean Ambassadors Canada for this new camp. This eco-conscious camp for ages 8-12. Ec-conscious campers (aged 8-12 years) split their time between the ocean and then mountain top. Some days are spent exploring the shoreline and tidal ecosystems on paddleboards; other days are at Mt Seymour taking part in the Junior Naturalist program which focuses on getting to know the mountain ecosystem through exploration and play. This camp is only available for two weeks.

The campers are divided up by age in the themed camps:

Trailblazers (ages 5-7) explore the mountain through games and structured free play. This age group might not travel quite as far as their older counterparts, but they have just as much fun! Trailblazers spend their days singing songs, listening to stories and recording all of the mountain sights and sounds in their journals (also known as their Adventure Logs). Your camper will learn a great deal about wildlife through educationally framed games and most likely build an awesome debris shelter “fort”. This age group explores the mountain’s closer network of Discovery trails and often climbs the short, but awesome, Dinkey Peak.

Forest Guardians (ages 8 and 9) are given the opportunity to learn and explore at a level not suited to the Trailblazers, but not quite as intense as the Mountain Rangers. The aim is to teach your camper to revere and respect the living world around them through games and discovery. At every turn the Mt Seymour camp leaders provide opportunities to practice newly learned skills such as how to use a compass or how to hang food safely from bears. A perennial favourite with this group is the hike to Mystery Lake, where “pondology” and the hunt for cool aquatic insects can last for hours.

Mountain Rangers (ages 10-12) go on longer treks than both the Trailblazers and Forest Guardians. The programming mixes hard skills like plant identification and shelter building, with age-appropriate games like Capture the Flag that are sure to keep your child engaged and entertained in outdoor learning. Depending on the interests of the group they might also learn knots and go much more in depth into navigation. Hikes for this age group include Dog Mountain, the North Shore Search and Rescue Cabin and (occasionally) even First Pump Peak!

Many parents wonder about the ration of camp leaders to campers. At Mt Seymour there are 14 children in a fully-booked group, with 2 instructors, meaning there is a 7:1 ratio. Frequently there are stellar volunteers who participate in the running of the camps as well. Please note that Mt Seymour runs multiple groups of both the Trailblazers and Forest Guardians each week, meaning your child may not necessarily be placed with a friend of the same age, unless they are notified in advance.

Now this is awesome! Not only does your child get a week of outdoor eco-adventures, all camp participants get a Mt Seymour water bottle and…wait for it… a 2020/21 Mt Seymour Child’s Season Pass so they can ski all winter long! How incredible is that?!

Mt Seymour Summer CampsWhen helping your camper pack for the day, here are the recommended items to send to the Mt Seymour Eco-Adventure Camp:

  • Whistle: attached to a backpack or a zipper is great
  • Sturdy Close-Toed Shoes: “broken in” hiking shoes, hiking boots or running shoes are best. Please no sandals or rubber boots (unless as back-up footwear).
  • Full Change of Clothes: and that includes socks and shoes. Please pack these in a separate bag to leave at camp throughout the week.
  • Sun Protection: brimmed hat, sunscreen, sunglasses and a shirt that will cover shoulders are best.
  • Reusable Water Bottle: Mt Seymour provides one to every camper this summer, but please do pack an extra (min 500ml).
  • Rain Gear and Warm Layers: a waterproof jacket is a must, and pants if you have them. Campers head outside rain or shine, and some mornings can take a while to heat up.
  • Plenty of Nut-Free Snacks and Healthy Lunch: Mt Seymour is a nut-safe/nut-aware program, so please help keep everyone as safe as possible. As a mom to a peanut-allergy kid, I am forever grateful for everyone’s support in keeping my kid breathing. Don’t forget lots of snacks. With all the fresh air and exercise the kids get hungrier than usual. Don’t feel like packing a lunch every day? You can add on a lunch (for just $35 for the entire week) to your child’s camp experience. The Mt Seymour cooks take the time to prepare wholesome bento meals with fresh ingredients and local produce. Adventures with special dietary needs are given individual attention and alternative food options.
  • Comfortable Backpack: the kids are responsible for carrying all of their own items (the ones listed above). Make sure the backpack they bring is one they can carry successful.
  • Medications: parents will be asked to complete a medical form. The kid’s are responsible for bringing the medications they require.
  • Optional items: insect repellant, a lightweight, long sleeved cotton t-shirt and pants, an inexpensive camera
  • Campers will have a cubby to store items for the duration of camp.
  • No electronic devices or external distractions such as iPod’s, portable games, trading cards, toys etc. Mt Seymour is encouraging technology free and commercial free nature immersion. Cell phones will stay at home base in the cubby.

Mt Seymour’s Eco-Adventure Summer Camps sound like an experience not to be missed! The spots will fill up quickly so hop online and sign up soon. You can register here.

In 2018 Mt Seymour introduced a fantastically convenient summer camp shuttle service from both East Van (Grandview Real Canadian Superstore Gas Bar, and two locations in North Vancouver (Real Canadian Superstore, and Parkgate Community Centre). The popular transportation service is back for 2019. The Mt Seymour summer camp shuttle bus saves you time, fuel (it’s a 24 km roundtrip drive from the bottom, twice a day!), and is the greenest option for all at only $55 (5-day camps) or $44 (4-day camps) for the week.

Mt Seymour Summer Camps:

Dates: July& August, 2020
Times: 9am – 4pm (excluding holidays)
Where: Mt Seymour Resort
Address: 1700 Mt Seymour Road, North Vancouver
Websitewww.mtseymour.ca/summer-camps