我的家人很喜欢 露营 我们尽可能地做到尽量多。 虽然我们喜欢冒险和广泛,但有时候我们只想离开这个城市,而不是永远地开车去做。 幸运的是,对于我们来说,在这个城市的2小时车程内有许多极好的露营地,这些露营地非常壮观,非常适合家庭出游,并且通常都是很棒的地方。

但是,在我开始谈论一些亲密的露营地和我们的一些最爱之前,我想谈一谈私人营地和政府经营的营地(省公园或国家公园)之间的区别。 我的家人更喜欢政府露营地而不是私人露营地,但是两者都有其优点和缺点。

政府营地提供令人难以置信的风景,教育计划,远足路径,合理的洗手间设施,基本但维护良好的场所,不同营地之间的服务水平几乎没有差异。 无论您去安大略省的国家公园露营地还是艾伯塔省的露营地,您都将获得大致相同的服务质量。 私人营地不能提供相同的一致性:您可以从仅是一块粗糙的污垢现场,从一些堆满火堆的岩石堆砌成的场地,到配有有线电视和热水浴池的设备齐全的铺好的地面,或介于两者之间的任何东西,都能得到任何东西。 从本质上讲,它们是胡扯,您必须做更多的研究才能知道您得到了什么。 请记住,私人营地和公共营地中提供全面服务的站点之间的间隔较小,因此隐私性也较小。

私人营地还倾向于通过永久性地补充其业务; 每周,每月或每年向个人出租或出售给他人使用的网站。 通常,这些都是面向家庭的发展。 人们买了很多拖车,因为它比别墅便宜,他们可以和家人一起去那里。 但是,在某些露营地中,永久性地段用作负担得起的住房,周围有很多可疑的人(想想看拖车公园男孩)。 另一个不利的方面是,正如我们最近所经历的那样,业主经常会竖立不同的围栏,摆放花盆,安装草坪装饰品或总体上以使公园看起来像是杂物房的方式来装饰他们的场地。 这些物品通常会阻碍他们进入拖车现场,从而难以操纵。

选择一个露营地就像出去吃饭。 政府的露营地就像在麦当劳吃饭:可能不是美食家,但您总是知道自己会得到什么。 私人营地类似于当地的精品餐厅。 食物可能真是太棒了,但是您不知道在到达订单之前就已经知道要做什么。

说到承诺,预订总是一件好事,尤其是在漫长的周末。 国家公园的预订系统不错,但我喜欢 阿尔伯塔公园 系统。 它具有所有露营地的照片和360度全景虚拟视图。 您可以看到距垃圾场,主要道路等有多近,以及您的场地是否可以容纳您的单位。 话虽如此,它通常不给露营地指明方向,我觉得这很烦人。 私人露营地的范围广泛,从网上预定到电话服务参差不齐。 请记住,似乎没有人(无论是私人的还是公共的)都无法制作出合理比例的营地地图; 这些站点总是看起来更大,更远,然后它们实际上是……

如承诺的,这里有一些关于卡尔加里的2小时车程的露营地。

Mount Kidd RV公园和露营地 是一个私人营地,可在加拿大落基山脉提供全年的卡纳纳斯基斯露营。 它可以容纳从帐篷到大型RV的所有物品,并且提供完备的服务,没有连接场所。 其他设施包括网球场,儿童游乐区,儿童戏水池,河边野餐场所,铺好的自行车道,步行道和圆形剧场。 还有一个儿童手工艺和活动时间。 不幸的是,热水浴缸​​无限期关闭🙁

地图和方位:将22x向西带到22,也被称为 牛仔足迹。 停在 Chuckwagon 在特纳谷为 最好。 早餐。 永远! 以AB 549 West为例,这将最终导致你到达Kidd Drive。

留在Calaway公园玩吧 离市区非常近。 这可能不是您露营的首选,但它确实吸引人的是它靠近公园。 至少您可以醒来欣赏山景,并且距加拿大西部最大的户外家庭游乐园仅几步之遥!

地图和方位:在1号高速公路上向西行驶。在Springbank Road出口下,向南行驶至公园。

老麦克唐纳农场 在Stettler附近的布法罗湖南岸。 好的,所以也许这是距镇区近3个小时的路程,但绝对值得一游。 这个设施有适合露营房车帐篷的露营地和许多不同的团体露营地(如果您想与大批朋友或家人一起露营,绝对值得)。 提供全面服务,部分服务和无服务的站点。 老麦当劳(Old MacDonald's)也有卡丁车,宠物动物园,四处走动的“火车”和美丽的海滩。 甚至反露营者梅利莎(Melissa)去年也喜欢在旧麦克唐纳(Old MacDonald's)逗留。 (这可能是由于该处的卡布奇诺吧)。

方向: 沿2号高速公路向北行驶,然后在12号高速公路上向东行驶,到达Alix,然后在601号高速公路上向东行驶(左)。沿路标指示前往度假村。

3营地在 隧道山 是另一个绝佳选择,主要是因为它享有令人叹为观止的风景,并且靠近班夫(甚至还有通往露营地的公交车),尽管我们个人不喜欢隧道山村II的景点。 关于国家公园的妙处是,您每天需要支付$ 8.80的消防许可证,并且它们提供您可以燃烧的所有木材。 因为我们经常和其他家庭一起去,所以我们通常只获得一张许可证,然后我们都坐在同一堆篝火旁几个小时。 缺点是没有游乐场。

地图和方位:在1号高速公路上向西行驶,到达班夫,在第一个出口下。 在隧道山路标处左转。

阿斯彭海滩省立公园 包括鸥湖沿岸的Brewers和Lakeside露营地。 啤酒厂在其美丽的海滩上拥有一个巨大的游乐场。 景点很可爱,位置很棒。 一年,我们完全下雨了,所以我们借此机会开车去埃德蒙顿一个多小时,在商场购物。

地图和方位:沿2号高速公路直行,然后沿12号高速公路向西行驶。

弓谷省立公园 是我必须驾驶过一千次却从未意识到在那里的那个。 它位于Las Des Arcs以东,坐落在Kananaskis国家。 加尔莫尔(Canmore)和班夫(Banff)紧邻,在附近的那条河上,并且他们有有趣的解释程序。 我比一次旅行了解了更多种类的松鼠……

地图和方位:从1号高速公路向西行驶,到达40号高速公路(Seebe)出口。 也称为1x,因为这是1号公路和旧的1A号公路之间的连接道路。 通往露营地的路就在您的左手边,几乎是在您离开后立即到达。 我第一次去这里是我开车经过,直到我达到1A才意识到。

Bow Valley省公园露营地的孩子们

海伦和比利在弓谷省立公园的露营地玩耍

温德姆 - 卡斯特兰省立公园 是阿尔伯塔省另一个很棒的露营地,但先到先得,所以周末早点出门肯定很有意义。 C圈有一个不错的运动场,周围有大约7个场地,是一个开放的场地,因此我们很喜欢在这里建立营地。 如果您喜欢钓鱼或涉水,也可以很方便地进入河中,但要小心,因为在夏天开始时河水又高又快。 但是,八月份的价格要低得多,当我的孩子发现一些泥泞时,我们确实非常喜欢它……露营地到处都有萨斯卡通灌木丛,孩子们有个球采摘浆果作为零食。

地图和方位:沿22x高速公路向东行驶,然后沿24高速公路向南行驶。当您越过Bow河上的桥时,这是您的第一个权利。

Helen and Billy在Wyndham Carseland Provincial Park的Bow River河边玩耍

我的孩子们在温德姆卡塞兰省立公园的Bow River发现的泥土里玩耍

正如我所说,这些只是我们去过或听过的一些。  www.gorving.ca 有一个很棒的“查找营地”工具,可以使用!

因此,如果您觉得有必要离开市区,但又不想走得太远,请尝试其中之一!

快乐露营!

fbpx

Camping around Calgary: Great Campgrounds Close To Calgary

My family loves camping and we try to do as much of it as possible. While we like to venture far and wide, there are times when we just want to get out of the city and not drive forever to do it. Fortunately for us all there are many great campgrounds within a 2 hour drive of the city that are totally spectacular, really family friendly and just generally great places to be.

But before I start talking about some of the close ones and a few of our favorites, I wanted to talk about the differences between privately owned campgrounds and government run (Provincial Parks or National Parks) campgrounds. My family prefers the government campgrounds over private campgrounds, but both have their pros and cons.

Government campgrounds offer incredible scenery, educational programs, hiking paths, reasonable washroom facilities, basic but nicely maintained sites and little variation in the level of service between different campgrounds. Whether you go to a National Park campground in Ontario or one in Alberta, you know you will get generally the same level and quality of service.  Private campgrounds do not offer the same consistency: you can get anything from a site that is merely a roughed out patch of dirt with some rocks ringing the fire pit to fully serviced, paved lots with cable TV and hot tubs, or anything in between. Essentially they are a crap shoot and you have to do a little more research to know what you are getting. Keep in mind that fully serviced sites, in both Private and Public campgrounds have less spacing between then, and therefore less privacy.

Privately owned campgrounds also tend to supplement their business with permanent sites; sites that are leased or sold to people for their exclusive use, either on a weekly, monthly or annual basis.  Often these are very family oriented developments.  People buy a trailer lot because it’s cheaper than a cottage and they can go there with their family. However there are some campgrounds where permanent sites are used as affordable housing and there are very questionable people hanging around (think Trailer Park Boys).  The other downside to this, as we experienced recently is owners will often erect different fences, put out flower pots, install lawn ornaments or generally decorate their sites in a way that makes the park look like a hodge podge. These items will often impede access to the trailer sites, making it difficult to maneuver.

Picking a campground is like going out to eat.  Government campgrounds are like eating at McDonald’s: it may not be gourmet but you always know what you are going to get. Private campgrounds are akin to a local boutique restaurant; the food may turn out to be phenomenal, but you have no clue what you’ll get until your order has arrived and now you are committed.

Speaking of commitment, reservations are always a good thing to have, especially on a long weekend.  The reservations system for the National Parks is good, but I love the Alberta Parks system. It has photos and 360 degree panoramic virtual views of all the campsites. You can see how close to the dump, main road, etc you are and if your site will accommodate your unit. Having said that, it doesn’t usually give directions to the campgrounds, which I find annoying. Private campgrounds range from great online reservations to spotty telephone service.  And keep in mind that no one (neither private or public) seems capable of making a campground map that is to a reasonable scale; the sites always look bigger and farther apart then they really are…

As promised, here are some campgrounds about a 2 hour drive of Calgary.

Mount Kidd RV Park and Campground is a private campground that offers year-round Kananaskis camping in the Canadian Rockies. It can accommodate everything from tents to massive RV’s and has both fully serviced and no hook up sites. Other amenities include tennis courts, children’s play areas, a kids wading pool, riverside picnic sites, paved bicycle path, walking paths, and an amphitheater. There is also a craft and activity hour for children. Unfortunately, the hot tub is closed indefinitely 🙁

Directions: Take 22x west to 22, also known as Cowboy Trail.  Stop at the Chuckwagon in Turner Valley for the Best. Breakfast. Ever! Take AB 549 West and this will eventually lead you to Mount Kidd Drive.

Stay and Play at Calaway Park is extremely close to the city.  This may not be your first choice to camp, but it does have its appeal a for proximity to the park. At least you can wake up with a view of the mountains and be just a short walk away from Western Canada’s Largest Outdoor Family Amusement Park!

Directions: Go west on Highway 1.  Take the Exit for Springbank Road and head south to the park.

Old MacDonald’s Farm is on the  south shore of Buffalo Lake near Stettler.  Okay, so maybe this one is almost 3 hours from town but it’s certainly worth the trip. This facility has campsites suitable for tents to RV’s and many different group sites (definitely worth it if you like to go camping with large groups of friends or family).  Full service, partial service and unserviced sites available.  Old MacDonald’s also has go karts, a petting zoo, a ‘train’ that goes around, and a beautiful beach.  Even Melissa, the anti-camper, enjoyed her stay at Old MacDonald’s last year. (It might have been due to the cappuccino bar on the premises).

Directions: Take Hwy 2 North, then East on Highway 12 to Alix then East (left) on Highway 601.  Follow the signs to the resort.

The 3 campgrounds at Tunnel Mountain are another great choice mostly for the amazing views and proximity to Banff (there is even a transit bus that runs to the campground) although we personally don’t like the sites at the Tunnel Mountain Village II.  The great thing about national parks is you pay $8.80 per day for a fire permit and they provide all the wood you can burn.  Because we often go with other families, we usually only get one permit and we all sit around the same fire for hours on end.  The downside is there are no playgrounds.

Directions: Head West on Highway 1 to Banff, take the first exit.  Turn left at the Tunnel Mountain Road Signs.

Aspen Beach Provincial Park includes the Brewers and Lakeside campgrounds on the shores of Gull Lake.  Brewers has a huge playground right on its wonderful beach.  The spots are lovely and the location is great.  One year we got totally rained out, so we took the opportunity to drive a little over an hour into Edmonton to spend the day at the mall.

Directions:  Go straight up Highway 2, then west on Highway 12.

Bow Valley Provincial Park is one that I must have driven by a thousand times and never realized was there. It is just east of Lac Des Arcs and nestled in Kananaskis country.  Close proximity to Canmore and Banff are a plus, the river is nearby and they have entertaining interpretive programs.  I learned more than I ever wanted to know about the different types of squirrels on one trip…

Directions: West on Highway 1 to the Highway 40 (Seebe) Exit.  Also known as the 1x because this is a connector road between Highway 1 and the old Highway 1A.  The road to the campground is on your left hand side, and is almost immediately after you exit.  The first time I went here I drove right past it and didn’t realize it until I hit 1A…

Kids in Bow Valley Provincial Park Campground

Helen & Billy playing at our campsite in Bow Valley Provincial Park

Wyndham -Carseland Provincial Park is another great Alberta campground, but it’s first come first serve so it definitely makes sense to go out early for the weekend. Loop C has a great playground and open field bordered by about 7 sites so that is where we like to set up our camp. There is also great access to the river if you like fishing or wading, but watch out because the river is high and fast at the beginning of the summer.  However, in August it is a lot lower and we did enjoy it immensely when my children found some mud… There are Saskatoon bushes everywhere in the campground and the kids had a ball picking the berries for snacks.

Directions: Take Highway 22x East, then South on Highway 24.  It is your first right as soon as you cross the bridge over the Bow River.

Helen and Billy Playing in the mud by the Bow River in Wyndham Carseland Provincial Park

My kids playing in the mud they discovered by the Bow River in Wyndham Carseland Provincial Park

As I said, these are just a few of the ones we have been to or heard about.  www.gorving.ca has a great “Find a Campground” tool that you can use!

So if you feel the need to get out of the city, but don’t want to go too far, give one of these a try!

Happy Camping!

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
9 Comments
  1. August 12, 2014
  2. April 13, 2014
  3. July 18, 2011
    • July 19, 2011
  4. July 18, 2011
  5. July 17, 2011
  6. July 16, 2011
  7. July 3, 2011
  8. June 29, 2011

With virtually all events cancelled, Family Fun Calgary has switched our focus to at-home and online events and activities. Click COVID-19 on the menu for a list of AWESOME family-fun opportunities that your family can enjoy during this time of isolation.