新斯科舍省的美人鱼剧院

美人鱼剧院

隐藏在温莎的Gerrish街(一个富有新斯科舍省文化和历史的小镇)的古雅建筑之间,您会发现世界闻名的 新斯科舍省的美人鱼剧院.

温莎镇人口少于4000,拥有自豪的历史和充满活力的文化,远远超出了您所规模的城镇。 作为通往安纳波利斯山谷的东部门户,它还拥有该省最美丽的目的地之一。

温莎可能被称为一日游的运动中心 滑雪马托克 还有几轮高尔夫球 雅芳谷 或者最有名的可能是“曲棍球的诞生地” - 据说曲棍球在温莎自己的长池上的早期1800中起源不起眼。

温莎也因北美最长的农业展览而闻名,Hants County Exhibition在254庆祝其第2019年! 不要忘记年度 南瓜帆船赛 每年10月举行的冒险民间比赛南瓜跨越Pisquid湖。

那就是富豪 美人鱼帝国表演艺术中心。 美人鱼剧院在1972的沃尔夫维尔成立,并迁至位于1987的Gerrish街的现址。 安纳波利斯山谷的这颗宝石因其对儿童文学的改编而获得了国内和国际的赞誉。 他们在19大陆的4大陆演出,所以当他们回到温莎的“家”时,能够在皇家剧院观看演出总是特别的。

饥饿的卡特彼勒

照片:mermaidtheatre.ca - 非常饥饿的毛毛虫

作为自称为木偶爱好者和“落后于沙发”的木偶戏大师,我的5和6岁的孩子们因为我们冒充温莎来表现“真正的交易”而感到非常兴奋。非常饥饿的毛毛虫 其他Eric Carle的最爱”。 当我们进入美丽的皇家剧院时,很容易忘记仅仅几分钟前,我们走在一个有点困倦的新斯科舍省小街上 - 这是三月中旬东海岸的典型特征。 当我们打开剧院门并进入这个雄伟的空间时,就好像我们已经将兔子洞滑入一个全新的世界。

事实证明,这个美丽的剧院仅次于美人鱼剧院的木偶戏的音乐,动作和讲故事的神奇表演。 这个长达一小时的节目吸引了年轻人,年轻人以及介于两者之间的每个人。 美人鱼剧院以其通过黑光和幻想木偶的魔力改编心爱的儿童故事而闻名,继续为世代的观众带来欢乐!

演出结束后,木偶操作者解释了一些木偶艺术,并慷慨地邀请孩子们来到舞台上观看魔术并提出问题。 这是一个令人难忘的木偶戏和想象力的神奇世界。 我们在101上回到城市的时候没有一个沉默的时刻,因为我们的汽车充满了对我们新发现的木偶戏和美人鱼剧院的兴趣。

照片:JS Dinham

美人鱼剧院正准备在温莎的家中进行最后一场演出。 你可以和他们一起参加Marcus Pfister的特别制作, '彩虹鱼'。 这个迷人的故事是即使是最年轻的木偶爱好者的表演艺术令人难忘的介绍。 这个长达一小时的节目还有另外两部Marcus Pfister故事 - '彩虹鱼发现 深海和对立面“。

美人鱼剧院的最新节目, '彩虹鱼',将于5月5th,2019在温莎皇家剧院演出。

彩虹鱼

照片:mermaidtheatre.ca - 彩虹鱼

新斯科舍省的美人鱼剧院

地点: 美人鱼帝国表演艺术中心
地址: 132 Gerrish Street,Windsor
网站: https://www.mermaidtheatre.ca/
Facebook账号: https://www.facebook.com/MermaidTheatre/

Sue Dinham是哈利法克斯的作家。 她是新斯科舍省美人鱼剧院的客人。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
标签:
一个响应
  1. 11-2019-XNUMX

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia

Mermaid Theatre

Tucked between quaint buildings that line Windsor’s Gerrish Street, a town rich in Nova Scotian culture and history, you will find the world-renowned Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia.

The town of Windsor, with a population of less than 4000 people, has a proud history and a vibrant culture that far exceeds what you may expect in a town of its size. As the eastern gateway to the Annapolis Valley, it also boasts one of the most picturesque destinations in the province.

Windsor may be known as a sporting hub for day trips to Ski Martock and rounds of golf at Avon Valley or possibly most renown as ‘The Birthplace of Hockey” – where hockey is said to have gotten its humble origins in the early 1800’s on Windsor’s own Long Pond.

Windsor is also known for the longest running agricultural exhibition in North America with the Hants County Exhibition celebrating its 254th year in 2019! And don’t forget the annual Pumpkin Regatta held each year in October as adventurous folk race pumpkins across Lake Pisquid.

Then there is the regal Mermaid Imperial Performing Arts Centre. The Mermaid Theatre was founded in Wolfville in 1972 and moved to its current location on Gerrish Street in 1987. This gem of the Annapolis Valley has gained national and international acclaim for their adaptations of children’s literature. They have performed in 19 countries, across 4 continents so it is always special to be able to take in a show at the Imperial Theatre when they come back ‘home’ to Windsor.

Hungy Caterpillar

Photo: mermaidtheatre.ca – The Very Hungry Caterpillar

As self-proclaimed puppet lovers and ‘behind-the-sofa’ puppeteer masters, my 5 and 6 year olds were beyond excited to experience the ‘real deal’ as we ventured to Windsor for the performance of ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar and Other Eric Carle Favourites‘. As we entered the beautiful Imperial Theatre, it was easy to forget that mere minutes ago, we were walking down a small street in a somewhat sleepy Nova Scotia town –  typical for much of the East Coast in the middle of March. It was as if we had slipped down the rabbit hole into a whole new world as we opened the Theatre doors and entered this majestic space.

It turns out, the beautiful theatre was second only to the magical performance of music, movement and storytelling by the Mermaid Theatre’s puppeteers. This hour-long show captivated the very young, the young-at-heart and everyone in between. The Mermaid Theatre, famous for their adaptations of beloved children’s tales through the magic of black light and fanciful puppets, continues to delight audiences through generations!

After the show, the puppeteers explained some of the art of puppetry and graciously invited the children to come to the stage to see the magic in action and to ask questions. It was an unforgettable experience in puppetry and in the magical world of imagination. We didn’t have a silent moment on our trek back to the city on the 101 as our car was bubbling with excitement of our new-found love of puppetry and the Mermaid Theatre.

Photo: JS Dinham

The Mermaid Theatre is getting ready for one last performance for the season at home in Windsor. You can join them for a special production of Marcus Pfister’s, ‘The Rainbow Fish’. This enchanting tale is an unforgettable introduction to the performing arts for even the youngest of puppet enthusiasts. The hour-long show also features two other Marcus Pfister tales – ‘Rainbow Fish Discovers and Deep Sea and Opposites‘.

Mermaid Theatre’s newest show, ‘The Rainbow Fish’, will be playing at the Imperial Theatre in Windsor on May 5th, 2019.

Rainbow Fish

Photo: mermaidtheatre.ca – The Rainbow Fish

Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia

Where: Mermaid Imperial Performing Arts Centre
Address: 132 Gerrish Street, Windsor
Website: https://www.mermaidtheatre.ca/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MermaidTheatre/

Sue Dinham is a Halifax-based writer. She was a guest of the Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:
One Response
  1. April 11, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.