在西温哥华的顶端 - 美丽而历史悠久的灯塔公园

前往西温哥华。 一定要参观美丽的历史灯塔公园! 在该地区,只有在温哥华低陆平原地区留下唯一的老龄森林之旅是必须的! 一个非常好的地方可以悠闲地漫步,或者是一个快节奏的徒步旅行或者跑步,公园很容易搭乘巴士或汽车(公园入口和免费停车!)。 西温哥华灯塔公园的森林拥抱着您,您可以穿过各种风景秀丽的小径,沿途欣赏令人惊叹的海景!

灯塔Park3

当你住在温哥华,你有家里的客人时,你会用手指交叉,希望醒来时能看到最美丽的城市。 因此,当我们有两个甜蜜的十六岁女孩在春假期间和我们一起住在日本时,我们很高兴有一个阳光灿烂的日子来炫耀我们的家乡和周边地区! 我们只知道我们当天的一站是历史性的 西温哥华的灯塔公园。 我长大后去了这个宏伟的公园,它在我心中占有一个特殊的位置,但任何访问这里的人都可能会发现自己也爱上了这个神奇的地方!西温哥华的灯塔公园 - 暂停反思

当我们在3月阳光明媚的星期六中午前进入打包的停车场时,我们很幸运地找到了一个停车位; 但不要担心 - 即使在繁忙的日子里,人们总是来来往往。 步行,我们从停车场上来走上主要的碎石路,在这个简单的Beacon Lane Trail几分钟后,我们沿着左侧的第二条路径叫做Valley Trail。 南向的路径缓缓向下倾斜,但谨慎的踩踏是可取的,因为狭窄的不均匀扭曲表面上有岩石和根部。 然而,以惊人的速度,我的7岁儿子和10岁的女儿高兴地领先于我们其他人! 世界上没有任何关心,他们互相呼喊,随着访问的青少年,我和我的丈夫落后于他们,进出绿色植物。 在这条道路上,你会觉得自己沉浸在森林保护区里。 和平的绿色环绕着我们,雄伟的树木远远超出我们的头顶。 我们是温哥华低陆平原地区唯一的古老森林。

西温哥华的灯塔公园 - 灯塔,英吉利湾和UBC的景色

在大约10分钟后,Starboat Cove Trail出现在左边; 它很快就走出了两条路,我们中的一半走了一条路,一半走向另一条路。 但无论如何,无论哪种方式都是一个短暂的延伸,将您带到同一个地方 - 一个宁静神奇的西海岸海滩。 当我打字时,我意识到并不是每个人都会觉得嬉闹的狗是安详的,但我们喜欢观赏犬在游戏中的快乐,并获得由太平洋喂养的波光粼粼的深蓝色的优秀背景。 在这水之下,不列颠哥伦比亚大学和UBC捐赠的土地填补了前方开放地平线的中间地带。 在这个海湾的右边是我们爬过的一些崎岖的岩石,而且越走越远,温哥华的城市线越多,就可以看到在右边升起。 在Starboat Cove度过一段时间之后,我们准备爬上山谷径(在短小的Starboat Cove Trail之后再次)到灯塔公园悬崖的顶端,并欣赏更多壮观的景色! 我们仍然向南走,但是山谷步道从海滩一级变得有点爬坡。

西温哥华的灯塔公园 - 停下来欣赏风景

最终重新加入主要的Beacon Lane Trail,我们向左转并向下穿过第二次世界大战期间建造的旧兵营,以容纳驻扎在那里的国防部征召的人员,以调查Burrard Inlet的“敌人”潜艇和船只; 这些建筑现在被加拿大女童军使用。 如果大门是敞开的,你可以沿着一条弯曲的旧车道走过一座旧红屋顶,然后你会看到灯塔从它所居住的岩石露头上升起。 这个现在的灯塔是在1912建造的,当我看到它顶部的传统白色塔楼和明亮的红色灯笼房间时,让我觉得我已经回到了过去。 我们十几岁的日本客人有兴趣拍摄灯塔和阅读纪念牌匾; 我们的7岁和10岁已经在短短几分钟内完成了检查,并准备继续前进!
西温哥华的灯塔公园 - 攀登岩石

我们一路走到主要的小径,向西走过我们左侧的几个大型岩石峭壁,然后决定爬上一个又一个令人印象深刻的灯塔和周围自然区域的景色。 这是一个很好的地方坐下来,全力以赴,喝一些水,并在燕麦棒上咀嚼。 这是我们郊游的顶峰。 当我们深呼吸时,和平的时刻,让我们的眼睛徘徊,我们的耳朵充满了森林鸟类和海浪的声音,满足下面的岩石。

虽然我们继续在西海滩小径上进一步令人沮丧的意见,我们的孩子们的步骤已经放缓。 需要时间到达Beacon Lane Trail,将20分钟上坡'曲折'返回车内。

到灯塔公园的旅行是一个令人耳目一新的当地家庭郊游,是一个非常值得参观的地方!

安妮塔彼得森

BECCEd的Anita Pettersen开始在1992的幼儿保育和教育领域学习和工作,在2014,她获得了加拿大不列颠哥伦比亚省北温哥华卡皮拉诺大学的幼儿教育学位。 她是欧洲移民的女儿,她的形而上学的母亲在温哥华地区长大。 Anita是一位永远的学生,有折衷的学习和工作简历,但作为父母是她最好的经历。 她的家庭冒险带给她如此快乐,下一次的冒险总是在工作中! http://www.anitapettersen.com

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

随着几乎所有活动的取消,温哥华家庭娱乐活动将我们的重点转移到了家庭和在线活动上。 单击菜单上的COVID-19,以获取您的家人在隔离期间可以享受的AWESOME家庭娱乐机会的列表。

At the Tip of West Vancouver – Beautiful and Historic Lighthouse Park

Heading into West Vancouver. Be sure to visit beautiful historic Lighthouse Park! When in the area, a trip to the only old-growth forest left in the Lower Mainland of Vancouver is a must! An awesome place to go for a leisurely stroll, or a swift paced hike or run, the park is easy to access by bus or car (entrance to the park and parking are free!). The forests of West Vancouver’s Lighthouse Park embrace you as you make your way through the varied scenic trails, and reward you at numerous points along the way with stunning ocean views!

Lighthouse Park3

When you live in Vancouver and you have house-guests, you cross your fingers hoping to wake up to the sunshine that shows this beautiful city off best. Therefore, when we had two sweet sixteen year old girls staying with us from Japan over Spring Break, we were thrilled to have a sunny day to show off our hometown and the surrounding areas! And we just knew that one of our stops of the day would be historical Lighthouse Park in West Vancouver. I grew up going to this magnificent park and it holds a special place in my heart, but anyone who visits here is likely to find themselves falling in love with this amazing spot too!Lighthouse Park in West Vancouver-pausing to reflect

As we pull into the packed parking lot before noon on a sunny Saturday in March, we are lucky to find a parking spot right away; but do not worry — even on busy days, people are always coming and going. On foot, we take the main gravel road up and over from the parking lot, and after a few minutes on this easy Beacon Lane Trail we then take the second path on the left side called the Valley Trail. The south-heading path slopes gently downwards, but cautious stepping is advisable as the narrow uneven twisting surface has rocks and roots sticking up all over it. Yet at surprisingly quick speeds my 7 year old son and 10 year old daughter bound ahead of the rest of us with glee! With no cares in the world, they call out to one another and duck in and out of greenery as the visiting teenagers, my husband and I lag behind them.  On this path, you feel like you have been immersed in a forest sanctuary. Peaceful shades of green surround us and majestic trees rise far above our heads. We are in the only old-growth forest left in the Lower Mainland of Vancouver.

Lighthouse Park in West Vancouver-View of Lighthouse, English Bay and UBC

After about 10 minutes the Starboat Cove Trail comes up on the left; it quickly forks out into two paths, and half of us go one way and half of us go the other way. But no matter, either way is a short stretch that leads you to the same place — a serenely magical West Coast beach. As I type this I realize that not everyone may find frolicking dogs serene, but we love to watch the joy of canines-at-play with the bonus of an outstanding background of sparkling deep blue water fed by the Pacific Ocean. Across this water, the University of British Columbia and the UBC endowment lands fill in the middle strip of the open horizon ahead. To the right of this bay are some craggy rocks that we climb, and the further out you go, the more of the Vancouver city-line can be seen rising up on the right. After some time spent in Starboat Cove, we are ready to climb the Valley Trail (after the short Starboat Cove Trail again) to the top of the Lighthouse Park cliffs and to many more spectacular views! We are still heading south, but the Valley Trail becomes a bit of an uphill climb from the beach level.

Lighthouse Park in West Vancouver-Stopping to enjoy the view

Eventually rejoining the main Beacon Lane Trail, we keep to the left and veer down past the old barracks built during World War II to house those enlisted by the Department of Defence that were stationed there to survey the Burrard Inlet for ‘enemy’ submarines and ships; these buildings are now used by the Girl Guides of Canada. If the gate is open, you may walk down a curved old driveway past an old red-roofed house and then you see the lighthouse rising up from the rocky outcrop it dwells upon. This current lighthouse was built in 1912 and makes me feel like I have travelled back in time when I look at its traditional white tower and bright red lantern room on top. Our teenage Japan guests take an interest in photographing the lighthouse and reading a commemorative plaque; our 7 year old and 10 year old have checked it all out in a few short minutes and are ready to keep moving!
Lighthouse Park in West Vancouver-Climbing the rocks

We weave our way up to the main trail and head west past several large rocky cliffs on our left side and decide to climb one for another impressive view of the lighthouse and the surrounding natural area. It is a great spot to sit, to take it all in, to drink some water and munch on granola bars. It is the pinnacle of our outing. The moment of peace as we breathe deeply, and let our eyes wander and our ears fill with the sounds of forest birds and ocean waves meeting the rocks below.

Although we continue on the West Beach Trail to further jaw-dropping views, the steps of our kids have slowed. Time to head up the Beacon Lane Trail for the 20 minute uphill ‘meander’ back to the car.

A trip to Lighthouse Park is a refreshing local family outing and is a remarkable place for out-of-towners to visit as well!

 

Anita Pettersen

 

Anita Pettersen, BECCEd, began studying and working in the field of Early Childhood Care and Education in 1992, and in 2014 she received her degree in Early Childhood Education from Capilano University, North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The daughter of European immigrants, she was raised in the Vancouver area by her metaphysically-minded mother. Anita is a perpetual student with an eclectic study and work resumé, but being a parent is her greatest experience. Her family adventures bring her such joy and the next escapade is always in the works! http://www.anitapettersen.com

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *