Поврежденная радость Рождества в театре Storybook

[Familyfuncalgary_google_ad][/ Familyfuncalgary_google_ad]

С тех пор, как у меня были дети, я настаивал на том, чтобы Рождество было больше о духе, окружающем сезон, и меньше о «вещах». Я предпринял согласованные усилия, чтобы сделать этот особый курортный сезон более «сделанным», покупка». И именно в этом духе я взял мою свекровь и моего сына в «Большое рождественское приключение» «The Storybook Theatre».

Мой 4-летний сын никогда не играл в спектакле, и я был особенно рад принять его на первое шоу. Мы начали с приятного обеда - тунца от Subway (его выбор!). Я предчувствовал вечер, сказав, что мы едем в театр, поэтому, когда мы приехали в Storybook Theatre, он задавался вопросом, где находится экран. Я сказал ему, что на сцене появятся «настоящие» люди, и он созерцал это в спокойном ожидании (в то время как лопатой попкорна во рту).

Театр Storybook

Наш автопортрет перед началом шоу

Когда огни наконец погасли, и эльфы выскочили через окно, вы могли видеть волнение и удивление в его глазах. Он честно осветил все это время. От начала и до конца он был полностью, 100% пленился и занимался.

Игра была тупой, забавной и занимательной постановкой, которая включала в себя множество причастных зрителей и достаточно взрослых ссылок, которые мешали вам смеяться. Речь шла о неуклюжем маленьком эльфе по имени Бамблс, и суть этой истории состояла в том, чтобы делиться, доброта, говорить правду и общую магию, которая делает Рождество ... хорошо Рождество.

Театр Storybook

Бен позирует с Большим Т Эльфом. Как говорит Бен: «Она босс всех эльфов».

Это конкретное производство было нацелено на аудиторию 3-6, и комментарии, выкрикиваемые из «уст младенцев», были развлечением сами по себе. Больше всего мне нравилось наблюдать за моим сыном. Его реакция была более забавной для меня, чем что-либо еще. Его большие глаза наполнялись ожиданием, когда игра началась. Его забота о эльфах, когда магия исчезла. Его радость и волнение, когда Санта прибыл. Это то, на что я надеялся. И это не разочаровало!

И мне нравится, как в этот момент я вспомнил, что значит быть ребенком снова. Мне нравилось, как, видя, как он верит и видит, что он собрал все части, возродил для меня волшебство Рождества!

Театр Storybook

Бен спрашивает у Санта о северных оленях

Это был фантастический опыт, и я с нетерпением жду января, когда я смогу отвезти его в «Манчестер Адо о ничего» (рассказы, основанные на книгах Роберта Манша). Воспользоваться детскими театральными постановками по всему городу определенно станет тем, что станет частью маршрута нашей семьи.

Вот еще несколько статей, которые, по нашему мнению, вам понравятся!

Хотя мы делаем все возможное, чтобы предоставить вам точную информацию, все детали событий могут быть изменены. Пожалуйста, свяжитесь с администрацией, чтобы избежать разочарования.

Один ответ
  1. 21 декабря 2016

fbpx

The Bumbled Joy of Christmas at Storybook Theatre

[familyfuncalgary_google_ad][/familyfuncalgary_google_ad]

Ever since I’ve had children, I have insisted that Christmas be more about the spirit surrounding the season and less about the “stuff.” I have made a concerted effort to make this particular holiday season more about the “doing” than the “buying”. And it’s in that spirit that I took my mother-in-law and my son to Storybook Theatre’s Bumbles’ Big Christmas Adventure.

My 4-year old son had never really been to a play and I was especially excited to take him to his first show. We started with a nice dinner out – tuna subs from Subway (his choice!). I had prefaced the evening by saying we were going to the theatre, so when we arrived at Storybook Theatre, he wondered where the screen was. I told him there was going to be “real” people acting on the stage and he contemplated that in quiet anticipation (while shoveling popcorn in his mouth.)

Storybook Theatre

Our self portrait before the show began

When the lights finally dimmed and the elves popped through a window, you could see the excitement and surprise in his eyes. He honestly lit up the entire time. From beginning to end, he was completely, 100% captivated and engaged.

The play was a goofy, funny and entertaining production that included a lot of audience involvement and enough adult references that kept you laughing. It was about a clumsy little elf named Bumbles and the heart of the story was about sharing, kindness, telling the truth and the overall magic that makes Christmas… well Christmas.

Storybook Theatre

Ben posing with Big T the Elf. As Ben says "She's the boss of all the elves."

This particular production was aimed at the 3-to-6 year old audience and the comments shouted out from the “mouth of babes” was entertainment in itself. More than anything, I loved watching my son. His reaction was more amusing to me than anything else going on. His big eyes filling with anticipation, when the play started. His concern for the elves when the magic was all gone. His joy and excitement when Santa arrived. It was what I had hoped for. And it didn’t disappoint!

And I love how, in the moment, I remembered what it was like to be a kid again. I loved how, seeing him believe and seeing him put together all the pieces, revived the magic of Christmas for me too!

Storybook Theatre

Ben asking Santa about the reindeer

It was a fantastic experience and I look forward to January, when I can take him to Storybook Theatre’s Munsch Ado About Nothing (stories based on Robert Munsch books). Taking advantage of the children’s theatre productions around the city is definitely something that will become part of our family’s itinerary.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. December 18, 2011

The COVID-19 situation is rapidly changing, and many events are being cancelled with little notice. Family Fun Calgary does not organize any events, as such, we aren’t responsible for the cancellations. We will do our utmost to keep our readers informed. As always check with the venue before you leave home.