健身是小血汗工厂的家庭事务

小血汗工厂大集体照这是星期天早上。 至少有二十几个成年人挤在尘土飞扬的健身房地板上,试图观看和聆听,因为肌肉发达的金发女郎描述了他们下一个小时会带来什么。 她的讲话被尖叫,呐喊和笑声淹没了,至少有二十几个孩子匆匆穿过相邻的游戏空间。 她停止了句子,她脸上露出严厉的表情,“世界卫生组织将KIDS带到一个健身房?”

然后她大笑起来。

欢迎来到Little Sweatshop的Sunday HIIT课程。 这远非你的典型交叉装箱。 在纸上它是一样的 - 一个垩白的工业体育馆; 水泥与一些橡胶垫和木制平台,用酒吧和架子和壶铃装饰。 但除此之外,这是一个不同于其他地方的地方。

雪莉家族强壮的t恤

Shelley Montemurro经营小血汗工厂。 从头开始 - 她不运行它 - 她活着并呼吸。 她在6am那里,与她的早期鸟类客户争吵。 她整个上午都在那里,当时的客人大多是带着小孩子的妈妈。 她在下午在那里,为舍伍德公园的罗宾汉社团等学校团体和组织提供特别节目。 她周末在那里,打扫健身房,打扫玩具,写薪水。

健身房不是雪莱的工作 - 这些人是她的家人。 她的“Ohana”。 它贴在她的墙上,甚至常常放在她的背心上。 她知道什么时候客户需要一个拥抱,或者对手需要一个高五或者一个快速的踢球 - 有时候都是三个。 有一半时间她几乎给了这些激励信息 - 她以某种方式设法跟上Facebook,Twitter和Instagram。 她回答每一个。 单。 信息。 她自己。 整天。

整天

小血汗工厂开始作为朋友聚集在社区健身房与雪莉一起锻炼。 培训师抱怨。 他们将训练转移到雪莱的车库。 邻居抱怨。 所以雪莱在舍伍德公园北端的一个工业区找到了一个空间,并建立了自己的梦想。 它爆炸了。

小血汗工人线

这一切都是口耳相传。 我的双胞胎大约在6个月大时,当我的朋友告诉我时,我绝对会来尝试他们的健身房。 “这怎么可能有用?”我想。 “我只是应该出现并将我的宝宝放在地板上锻炼一个小时? 没办法!“我一直等到19个月大。 我去了。 他们哭了。 其他妈妈用认识的眼光看着我,并答应我会好起来。

它确实如此。 前几次有泪,但很快它变成了每个人都有趣的郊游。 我仍然被叫去寻找零食和帮助便盆,但这些对于寻找这样一个极具包容性的健身房的特权来说是最小的分心。 在我开始后不久,我注意到我的小“A”试图跳到公园的树桩上。 我非常肯定她在复制我们成年人在课堂上所做的跳跃动作。 我们都在学习,并且越来越强大,这要感谢雪莱的愿景。

Little Sweatshop大多数日子都会提供5-6训练时间,还有一些武术课程(针对儿童和成人),儿童瑜伽甚至冲浪课程。 每个星期天都是受欢迎的HIIT课程。 自由。 为了所有人。 成员。 友。 陌生人。 欢迎所有人。 带上你的孩子。 这是一个不可阻挡的女人的汗水小小的爱情记录,他整天都这样做,更多。

Little Sweatshop免费周日HIIT课程

小血汗工厂星期日免费HIIT班

时间: 周日
时间: 上午9
地点: Little Sweatshop,#180,2301 Premier Way,Sherwood Park
网站: www.littlesweatshop.com

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Fitness is a Family Affair at Little Sweatshop

Little Sweatshop big group photoIt’s Sunday morning. At least two-dozen adults crowd the dusty gym floor, trying to watch and listen as the muscled blonde describes what their next hour will entail. Her speech is drowned out by the shrieking, shouting, and laughing of at least two-dozen children that are rambunctiously running through an adjacent playspace. Mid-sentence she stops, and with a stern look on her face  scorns, “WHO brings KIDS to a GYM???”

Then she bursts out laughing.

Welcome to Sunday HIIT class at Little Sweatshop. It’s far from your typical crossfit box. On paper it’s the same – a chalky, industrial gym; cement with some rubber mats and wooden platforms, decked out with bars and racks and kettlebells. But beyond that, this is a place unlike any other.

Shelley Family Strong tshirt

Shelley Montemurro runs Little Sweatshop. Scratch that – she doesn’t run it – she lives and breathes it. She’s there at 6am, busting her butt with her early bird clients. She’s there throughout the morning, when the clientele is mostly moms with little ones in tow. She’s there in the afternoons, offering special programming for school groups and organizations like Sherwood Park’s Robin Hood Society. She’s there on the weekends, sweeping the gym, cleaning the toys, writing the paycheques.

The gym isn’t a job to Shelley – these people are her family. Her “Ohana”. It’s posted all over her walls, and often even on her tanktop. She knows exactly when a client needs a hug, or a high five or a swift kick in the butt – sometimes all three. Half the time she gives these motivational messages virtually – she somehow manages to keep up with facebook, twitter and instagram. And she answers Every. Single. Message. Herself. All day long.

All Day Long

Little Sweatshop started as friends getting together to workout with Shelley in a community gym. Trainers complained. They moved their workouts to Shelley’s garage. Neighbours complained. So Shelley found a space in an industrial area in the North end of Sherwood Park and built her dream. It exploded.

Little Sweatshop line of people

It’s all word of mouth. My twins were about 6 months old when my friends told me I absolutely HAD to come try their gym. “How could that possibly work?” I thought to myself. “I’m just supposed to show up and plunk my babies on the floor and workout for an hour? There’s no way!” I waited until they were 19 months old. I went. They cried. Other moms looked at me with knowing eyes and promised me it would get better.

And it did. The first couple times there were tears, but soon it became a fun outing for everyone. I still get called away to find snacks and help with the potty, but those are minimal distractions for the privilege of finding such a wonderfully inclusive gym. And shortly after I started, I noticed my little “A” trying to jump onto tree stumps at the park. I am absolutely positive she was copying the box jumps we adults do in class. We were all learning, and getting stronger, thanks to Shelley’s vision.

Little Sweatshop offers 5-6 workout times most days, plus some martial arts classes (for kids and adults), kids’ yoga and even a surf class. Every Sunday is the popular HIIT class. Free. For everyone. Members. Friends. Strangers. Everyone is welcome. Bring your kids. It’s a sweaty little love note of thanks from an unstoppable woman who does this and more all day long.

Little Sweatshop Free Sunday HIIT class

Little Sweatshop Sunday FREE HIIT Class

When: Sundays
Time: 9am
Where: Little Sweatshop, #180, 2301 Premier Way, Sherwood Park
Website: www.littlesweatshop.com

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.