威尔士王子塔国家历史遗址(Martello塔)

威尔士王子塔马泰洛塔

威尔士王子Martello塔,哈利法克斯/照片:Mapio.com

威尔士王子塔当地人称为 马泰洛塔:是在哈利法克斯角普莱森特公园南端巡回演出中受欢迎的一站。 威尔士王子塔是最古老的 Martello塔 在北美。

在Point Pleasant公园周围竖立的堡垒和电池主要是为了防止敌舰进入哈利法克斯港或进入城市西侧后方的西北臂。在1792中,立即发生法国攻击的威胁在哈利法克斯的英国军队有可能在港口降落,那个夏天,电池就建立在这一点上。 在接下来的三十年里,Point Pleasant堡垒形成了哈利法克斯港防御的第一线。 在1796-97,爱德华公爵肯特公爵下令建造一座Martello塔,该塔位于该点后面的高地上,这个位置能够保护点电池。 威尔士王子塔以爱德华的大哥命名,是一个用石头砌成的深蹲圆形结构,几乎是它的三倍宽。 最初的结构允许在屋顶上安装六个枪,在第二层安装四个枪。 第二层用于营房使用,底层用于存放。 在接下来的七十年中进行了一些修改。

在1866中,军方以999年租赁的方式向该市提供每年租用一先令的租金。

Point Pleasant Park现在用于各种娱乐目的,为家庭散步或健康慢跑提供了一个美丽的地方。 在季节,你可以看到当地戏剧团的戏剧, 莎士比亚在海边最后在Black Rock沙滩上的售货亭里摆放着美味的冰淇淋。

威尔士王子塔(Martello Tower)详情:

地址: 在点喜乐公园,哈利法克斯
电话: (902)426-5080
网站: http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/ns/prince/natcul.aspx

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Prince of Wales Tower National Historic Site (Martello Tower)

 

Prince of Wales Tower Martello Tower

Prince of Wales Martello Tower, Halifax/Photo: Mapio.com

The Prince of Wales Tower, known locally as The Martello Tower: is a popular stop on a tour around the South End of Halifax’s Point Pleasant Park. The Prince of Wales tower is the oldest Martello tower in North America.

The forts and batteries erected around Point Pleasant Park were primarily intended to prevent enemy ships from getting into the Halifax Harbour or into the North West Arm, which runs behind the west side of the city.In 1792, the threat of an immediate French attack alerted the British military in Halifax to the possibility of a landing in the harbour and, that summer, batteries were built on the point. For the next thirty years, the Point Pleasant forts formed the first line of the Halifax Harbour defences. In 1796-97, Edward, Duke of Kent, ordered construction of a Martello tower to be built on high ground behind the point, a location capable of defending the point batteries. The Prince of Wales Tower, named after Edward’s eldest brother, is a squat, round structure built of stone, almost three times as wide as it is high. The original construction allowed for six mounted guns on the roof and four guns on the second storey. The second storey was intended for barrack use and the ground floor for storage. Several modifications were made over the next seventy years.

In 1866, the military offered the park to the city on a 999-year lease for an annual rent of one shilling.

Point Pleasant Park is now used for a variety of recreational purposes, offering a beautiful location for a family walk or a healthy jog. In season, you can see a play from local theatre group, Shakespeare by the Sea, ending with a delicious ice cream at the kiosk on Black Rock beach.

Prince of Wales Tower (Martello Tower) Details:

Address: In Point Pleasant Park, Halifax
Phone:  (902) 426-5080
Website: http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/ns/prince/natcul.aspx

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates