在家上课101:与曾去过那里的妈妈的问答

慈善是一个 卡尔加里妈妈 在2017-2018年期间对孩子进行了家庭教育。 她说:“这是一个家庭决定,当时对我们来说是最好的。” 慈善机构记得这次是非常具有挑战性的,也是非常有益的,而且看来,在可预见的将来,许多加拿大父母即将发现自己的家庭教育是什么样。在如此紧张的情况下,突然成为他们孩子的教育者的职位,所以我们认为我们会问一个曾经去过那里的妈妈的问题……

在家上学答:如何开始在家上学?

C: 最好是先问自己为什么要在家上学。 你的目标是什么? 对于某些家庭,这是花时间在一起。 对于其他人,则是要从事某些技能,主题或兴趣。 然后,您可以从那里开始构建。 慢慢开始,找出对您真正重要的内容。 对于我们来说,我们进行了大量阅读,并专注于数学。

答:在兼顾家庭教育和其他职责方面,您最要诀是什么?

C: 即使您不是预定人员,也需要一个预定表。 您需要放手很多事情。 知道您将无法完成所有工作,这没关系。 我们投资的一些最有价值的技能是生活技能,例如做饭和做家务,这有助于平衡我在家完成的其他工作。 这并非易事,当然也不是完美的,但是我们正在收获收益。 现在,星期三晚上是孩子们做饭的夜晚。 他们轮流做谁,但并非总是愿意。

答:您是在教孩子还是自己做孩子?

C: 我认为这取决于年龄和个性。 我的孩子们大部分是在我完成设置后自行完成的。 我们做了C:“上午”,同时阅读和讨论当天的话题。

答:您对他们做了几件事?

C: 许多事。 生活技能。 我们做了笔迹。 我让他们写故事和散文。 我们听了《世界故事》中的音频CD。 我真的很喜欢。 基本上,这是所有内容的简短历史。 我们做了很多阅读和一些数学运算。

你什么时候喝咖啡?

C: 哈! 当他们有屏幕时间或上床睡觉时!

答:家庭学校最大的收获是什么?

C: 自由! 我喜欢负责我们的日程安排。 我们进行了为期4周的公路旅行,看到了很多奇妙的事情,但没人遇到我的情况。 我们睡着了,拜访了人们,并在奥运会前后做了两周的学习。 玩得很尽兴。

答:最大的挑战是什么?

C: 时间。 决定不做什么。 您必须选择。 他们不会在学校学习所有内容,也不会在家学习所有内容,因此您必须确定最重要的内容。 房子永远不会干净或安静也很困难。

答:如果您可以给新手一个建议,那会是什么?

C: 不要尝试做所有事情。 记住,在学校也有很多“浪费”的时间。 学习如何学习和对学习感兴趣比什么都重要。 您的余生都会受到学习态度的影响。 采取整体方法! 基于查询的学习是针对家庭学生的。 找出他们有什么问题和感兴趣的问题,然后找到答案。

在接下来的几个月中,慈善机构将与其他加拿大人一起在家为3个孩子在家上学。 当被问及放学后是否会继续学习时,她只是说:“谁知道?” 如今在许多方面都产生了深远的影响……

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
标签:,
无回应

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Homeschooling 101 : A Q & A with a Mom Who’s Been There

Charity is a Calgary mom who homeschooled her children for 2017 -2018 year. “It was a family decision,” she says, “the best thing for us at the time.” Charity remembers this  time as both very challenging and very rewarding, and it seems that, for the foreseeable future, many Canadian parents are about to find out what homeschooling is like for themselves.. The prospect, no doubt, is daunting for parents who have come into the position of their child’s educator quite suddenly and under such stressful circumstances, so we thought we’d ask a few questions to a Mom who’s been there…

HomeschoolingA: How does one start homeschooling?

C: It’s good to start off asking yourself why you’re homeschooling in the first place. What are you goals? For some families, it’s to spend time together. For others it’s to work on certain skills, subjects or interests. Then you can start building from there. Start slowly and figure out what’s really important to you. For us, we did a lot of reading and focused on Math.

A: What is your top tip for balancing homeschooling with other responsibilities?

C: You need a schedule, even if you’re not a schedule person. And you need to let a lot of things go. Know you won’t get it all done and that’s okay. Some of the most valuable skills we invested in were life skills like cooking and chores which helped with balancing the other work I needed to get done at home. It wasn’t easy and it’s certainly not perfect but we are reaping the benefits. Now, Wednesday night is the kids night to cook. They rotate who does it, but not always willingly. 

A: Do you teach your kids or do they do it mostly themselves?

C: I think this depends on age and personality. My kids did it themselves, mostly, after I got them set up. We did C: ‘morning time’ all together with reading and discussing whatever the day’s topic was.

A: What are a few things that you did with them?

C: Lots of things. Life skills. We did handwriting. I had them write stories and essays. We listened to audio CD’s from the Story of the World. I actually loved that. It’s basically a brief history of everything. We did a lot of reading and some Math.

A: When is your coffee break?

C: Ha! When they have screen time or go to bed! 

A: What is the biggest reward of homeschooling?

C: FREEDOM! I loved being in charge of our schedule. We went on a 4-week road trip, saw amazing things, and no one got on my case. We slept in, visited people and did two weeks of study around the Olympics. So much fun.

A: What is the biggest challenge?

C: Time. Deciding what NOT to do. You have to pick and choose. They don’t learn everything at school, and they won’t learn everything at home either, so you have to decide what’s the most important. It’s can also be tough that the house is never clean or quiet.

A: If you could give a newbie one piece of advice, what would it be?

C: Don’t try to do everything. Remember there is a lot of ‘wasted’ time in school too. Learning how to learn and being interested in learning is more important than anything. The rest of your life is affected by your attitude toward learning. Take a holistic approach! Inquiry-based learning was made for homeschoolers. Finding out what questions they have and that interest them, and then discovering the answers. 

In the upcoming months, Charity will be homeschooling her 3 kids at home alongside the rest of Canadians. When asked if she will continue after school’s back on, she simply says, “Who knows?” A far-reaching sentiment in so many ways right now…

 

 

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:,
No Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.