我有参观的记忆 George C. Reifel 候鸟保护区 在小学实地考察。 自从我上次访问以来,轻松地过去了 2 年。 今年夏天,我们带着两个年幼的儿子(5 岁和 7 岁)去鸟类保护区,度过了一个非常可爱的下午。

George C. Reifel 候鸟保护区位于拉德纳社区以西的 Westham 岛。 它由近 850 英亩的管理湿地、天然沼泽和位于弗雷泽河河口中心的低矮堤坝组成。 对于数百万在太平洋沿岸每年迁徙期间寻求觅食和休息区的鸟类来说,鸟类保护区的位置非常理想。 这是一个保护野生动物及其栖息地免受伤害的地方,它毗邻数英里的平坦沼泽地和威瑟姆岛的农田。

我们带了零食、水、双筒望远镜、太阳镜和帽子。 我们舒适的步行鞋和一些零钱(购买鸟种),我们准备好了。 前台为我们提供了鸟食和地图。 步行可能需要 30 分钟或您喜欢的时间。 有许多路径可供参观,无数鸟屋可供欣赏,数百只鸭子、鹅、鹤和其他羽毛朋友可以拍照,还有百叶窗可以窥视。 在我们整个 2 小时的访问期间,我们的孩子们都玩得很开心。

George C Reifel 候鸟保护区步行的主要目的地是了望塔。 塔楼高约 3 层,可一览无余的湿地景观,直通大海。 智者的话,因为塔是由金属网制成的,所以穿裙子不是最好的主意(是的,我很难学到这一点)。

整个圣殿散落着许多长椅。 大约 3/4 的路程,你会发现一个可爱的码头,里面有很多座位。 我们享受了温暖的阳光野餐,聆听鸟儿的声音,看着它们漂浮在我们下方的水中。

George C Reifel 候鸟保护区我们参观的亮点是看到一只刚出生的鹤和它的父母。 这些鸟在人们周围非常舒适,让游客可以合理地接近它们。 当然,每个人都需要尊重鸟类是野生的,保护区是它们的家,我们只是游客。 一位热情的志愿者和我们同时在看鸟。 她提供了关于鹤和庇护所的社交活动的有趣信息。 如果您看到志愿者,我强烈建议您让他们参与对话。 多么丰富的信息和有趣的事实!

Reifel候鸟保护区:

日期: 每周开放 6 天(星期一休息)
时间: 上午 9 点至下午 4 点(最后入场时间为下午 4 点;每个人必须在下午 5 点前离开)
联系地址: 5191 Robertson Road, Delta (Westham Island)
方向: 圣所位于三角洲市拉德纳以西 13 公里处。 10 号和 17A 号高速公路交叉口以西。 从 Ladner 出发,沿 Ladner Trunk Road(10 号高速公路)向西行驶至 47A Avenue 并继续行驶至 River Road。 沿着 River Road 向西行驶 3 公里,过桥到 Westham 岛。 沿着主干道走到尽头,有一个指示牌向左指向 Sanctuary 的车道入口大门。 沿着车道 1 公里到达 Sanctuary 停车场和设施。
联系电话: 604-946-6980
网站: www.reifelbirdsanctuary.com

A Slice of Natural Heaven Found at the Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary

 

George C Reifel Migratory Bird SanctuaryI have memories of visiting the George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary on an elementary school field trip. Easily 2 decades have passed since my prior visit. This summer we took our two young sons (aged 5 & 7) to the bird sanctuary and enjoyed a thoroughly lovely afternoon.

The George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary is situated on Westham Island, just west of the community of Ladner. It consists of nearly 850 acres of managed wetlands, natural marshes and low dykes in the heart of the Fraser River Estuary. For the millions of birds seeking feeding and resting areas during their annual migrations along the Pacific Coast, the Bird Sanctuary is ideally located. It is a place where wildlife and their habitats are protected from harm, and it lies next to miles of flat marshland and the farmland of Westham Island.

We brought snacks, water, binoculars, sunglasses and hats with us. Our comfy walking shoes and a bit of spare change (to purchase bird seed) and we were ready to go. The reception desk equipped us with the bird food and a map. The walk can take 30 minutes or as long as you like. There are many paths to visit, countless bird houses to admire, hundreds of ducks, geese, cranes & other feather-friends to snap pictures of, and blinds to peer out. Our kids were thoroughly entertained during our entire 2-hour visit.

George C Reifel Migratory Bird SanctuaryThe main destination of the walk is the lookout tower. Approximately 3 stories tall, the tower offers uninterrupted views of the wetlands straight out to the ocean. Word to the wise, as the tower is made of a metal mesh, wearing a skirt isn’t the best idea (and yes, I learned that one the hard way).

There are many benches scattered throughout the sanctuary. About 3/4s of the way around you will find a lovely dock with plenty of seating. We enjoyed a warm sunshine picnic listening to the birds and watching them float in the water below us.

George C Reifel Migratory Bird SanctuaryThe highlight of our visit was seeing a newly born crane and its parents. The birds are surprisingly comfortable around people and allow visitors to get reasonable close to them. Of course, every needs to respect the fact the birds are wild and the sanctuary is their home and we are merely visitors. A passionate volunteer was watching the birds at the same time as us. She offered up fascinating information about the cranes and the social goings on at the sanctuary. If you see a volunteer, I highly recommend engaging them in conversation. What a fount of information &  fun facts!

Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary:

Dates: open every day including holidays
Time: 9am – 4pm (last entry at 4pm; everyone must leave by 5pm)
Address: 5191 Robertson Road, Delta (Westham Island)
Directions: The Sanctuary is 13 km west of Ladner in the Municipality of Delta. West of the intersection of Highways 10 and 17A. From Ladner, follow Ladner Trunk Road (Highway 10) west to 47A Avenue and on to River Road. Follow River Road westward for 3 km and cross the bridge to Westham Island. Follow the main road to where it ends and there is a sign pointing left towards the driveway entrance gates of the Sanctuary. Follow the driveway 1 km to the Sanctuary parking lot and the facilities.
Phone: 604-946-6980
Website: www.reifelbirdsanctuary.com

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *