Join the Calgary Civic Symphony on October 31, 2021, as they present their take on the music of Halloween, with Trick, Treat, and Triumph!

Mussorgsky’s Night on Bald Mountain sets the stage for the eerie side of the concert before delving further into the horror genre with Herrmann’s Suite from “Psycho.” Franz Liszt’s Totentanz (Dance of Death), with Calgary soloist Lana Henchell, brings the first half to a deadly conclusion with its take on the equality of all as we face death.

Following intermission, the Orchestra returns to the stage to perform Beethoven’s Symphony No.5 in C Minor, Op.67, one of the best-known compositions in classical music and one of the most frequently played symphonies, widely considered one of the cornerstones of western music.

For those who are unable to attend in person, the concert will be live-streamed. Prior registration is required through the Arts Commons website.

The Calgary Civic Symphony was founded in 1975 as Calgary’s volunteer orchestra. Over the years, the Civic has swelled to over 80 musicians. With an interesting diversity in professions, its members come together each week to rehearse complex orchestral works. Under the baton of Artistic Director and Conductor Rolf Bertsch, the Symphony shapes and polishes performances that are truly brilliant! In fact, the Civic is often confused with Calgary’s other—but professional—orchestra.

Calgary Civic Symphony – Trick, Treat, and Triumph:

When: October 31, 2021
Time: 2:30 pm
Where: Jack Singer Concert Hall
Address: 205 8th Avenue SE, Calgary, AB
Phone: 403-294-9494