在哈伯德,新斯科舍省要做的17件事

在哈伯德,新斯科舍省要做的17件事

哈伯茲(Hubbards)哈伯德斯灣(Hubbds Cove)攝影:黛比·馬萊達克(Debbie Malaidack)

哈伯茲灣/照片:黛比·馬萊達克

新斯科舍省哈伯茲有很多事情要做。 距昆士蘭州,克利夫蘭市和福克斯波因特(Fox Point)等令人驚嘆的海灘僅幾步之遙,在拐角處的Aspotogan半島上,等待著柔軟的胡椒色沙灘和Bayswater海灘涼爽清澈的海水。 進入Hubbards後,南岸的其餘地方突然觸手可及:切斯特,馬洪灣,倫嫩堡和利物浦距離103號高速公路僅一小段車程。您甚至可以沿著 朗姆酒賽跑者足跡。

儘管我們從哈利法克斯(Halifax)到哈伯德(Hubbards)都是定期的一日遊,但2020年的大流行給我們家庭帶來了獨特的機會。 有了一些額外的假期時間,而且“無處可去”,我們決定在哈伯德(Hubbards)整整整整一個星期。 在離家這麼近的地方享受海灘度假真是一種榮幸!

這是哈伯德要做的17件事。 當然,還有更多,但是這些是我們最喜歡的景點-包括一些只有當地人知道的秘密!

1.在周六哈伯茲集市上購物

哈伯德市場

哈伯茲穀倉週六早市/照片:海倫·厄利(Helen Earley)

這不是秘密。 哈伯茲集市(跟隨穀倉的路標)是在周六早上度過美好時光的地方,這裡有現場音樂表演,新鮮的蔬菜,肉和魚以及朱利安麵包房的美味糕點。 對於日常的食品購物,Hubbards還擁有一個儲備充足的雜貨店(獨立商店)和一家藥房,幾乎擁有您可能需要的一切。 今年夏天,整個社會都採取了社會隔離措施。 例如,當我們在2020年XNUMX月訪問時,我們注意到Pharmasave的所有員工都戴著口罩。

2.從加蘭特的炸魚薯條中吞掉油膩的海灘食物

哈伯茲新斯科舍省的壯士炸魚和薯條,哈伯茲活動

蓋倫特的炸魚薯條/照片:海倫·厄利

蓋倫特的炸魚和薯條是在與哈伯德露營地相連的哈伯茲灣拐角處一個精心準備的秘密。 但這不僅適用於露營者! 開車去,在“質樸的”野餐桌上吃飯,或帶上您美味又熱又油膩的盛宴到海灘。 價格在這裡可以負擔得起:2顆香料和薯條的含​​稅價格為10.00美元。 (在哈利法克斯(Halifax),您幾乎就不會獲得這麼高的價格!”“薯條”更便宜。 正常情況下,Gallant對面的木棚裡有街機遊戲。 這是哈伯德人的傳統,自吃豆人時代起,他們就有機器在這裡!

3.在金槍魚藍嘗試新菜單

金槍魚藍色餐廳Hubbards

金槍魚藍的新菜單著重於新鮮的當地食材/照片:由金槍魚藍貢獻

根據今年的新所有權,顏色鮮豔的 金槍魚藍色旅館餐廳和碼頭 (海岸俱樂部路167號)經歷了令人振奮的全新更新,歡迎新廚師Jessika Maymi,他的烹飪影響力來自夏威夷,加利福尼亞和內華達州。 梅米(Maymi)的新菜單提供了您想要在海邊用餐的所有食物:雜燴,漢堡和健康的沙拉,重點放在本地企業的可持續原料上。 在露台上用餐或致電外賣。 房間(以前是Dauphinee Inn)也經過了高標準的翻新,以防萬一您想過夜。 (902)857-1790

4.在福克斯波因特海灘浮潛

福克斯波因特海灘哈伯德景點玩樂

我們喜歡Fox Point Beach的水/照片:Helen Earley

在329號高速公路上的哈伯德城外,有一個小型而完美的海灘:福克斯波因特(Fox Point)。 漲潮時,水完全覆蓋了沙子,但退潮時,每個人都有足夠的空間。 到這兒來的人不多,所以海灘很少人滿為患。 這裡沒有救生員或設施,只有美麗的柔軟,適合沙堡的沙子和水晶般清澈的水-是浮潛和潛水的理想選擇。 這裡的水比昆士蘭州或貝斯沃特市高幾度。

5.在黑港乳品廠吃炸冰淇淋

哈伯茲的黑港乳品廠和釀酒廠

Black Harbor Creamery的冰淇淋幸福感/照片:Helen Earley

今年新的 黑港乳品廠 (419高速公路329)從Old Mill Cove小學提供冰淇淋蛋捲。 這座建築物已經存在了70年,但是走進去了–您將不會相信有品位的現代翻新(他們甚至重新使用了舊的學校椅子和黑板!)。 這裡的特色菜是油炸冰淇淋-夏季的一個腐朽秘訣,它將使您的Weight Watchers積分減為零(這是您在Hubbards吃的任何東西都是無積分的事實)。 對於木乃伊和爸爸? 地下室有朗姆酒釀酒廠。 黑港乳品廠的姊妹公司(字面意思是!)是黑港酒廠。

6.在海岸俱樂部享用龍蝦晚餐

哈伯德的海岸俱樂部,黛比·馬萊達克(Debbie Malaidack)

日落時的海岸俱樂部/照片:Debbie Malaidack

岸俱樂部的老闆Rhys Harnish說:“當我的父親在1936年創辦龍蝦晚餐時,他已經經歷了第一次世界大戰,西班牙流感大流行和大蕭條,但是這些都沒有為他準備2020年。” 不幸的是 岸俱樂部 已經被迫取消了2020賽季的周六晚間表演,但龍蝦晚餐仍在每週三,週四,週五,週六和周日4:00 – 7:30舉行。 致電(902)857-9555進行預訂。

7.在美味盤中體驗美食天堂

三個菠菜餛飩,在楓木釉的蘋果煙熏火腿上包裹著絲般的蛋黃,配以鬆脆的地瓜和微青菜

三道菠菜餛飩,在楓樹釉蘋果木煙熏火腿上包裹著絲般的蛋黃,配以鬆脆的地瓜和微型蔬菜/照片:Savary Plate提供

於2020年XNUMX月新推出, 鹹味板 (位於100號高速公路3號地帶的購物中心)提供可以與任何哈利法克斯餐廳媲美的食品,其使命是使用優質的當地食材。 當我們參觀時,店主Alisha Savary正在嘗試將生薑和芝麻黑線鱈漢堡與芥末芥末蔬菜一起使用。 (好極了!)事實上,您可以在大多數菜單項上找到微型綠色(來自Dan的微型綠色)。 Savary甚至在豌豆上放上豌豆芽,聲稱這是與雞肉汁完美搭配的口味。 “我們想證明您可以加油 亦於 同時滋養您的身體。 美味盤子也可以製作出驚人的比薩餅和美味的甜點。 進餐或外賣。 (902)857-1300

8.在Lola的登陸處購物

Lola's Landing,在新斯科舍省哈伯茲購物

蘿拉的著陸-有趣的禮物和小飾品的寶庫/照片:海倫·厄利(Helen Earley)

發現購物狂歡 蘿拉的著陸 (聖瑪格麗特灣路10061號)–禮物和衣服的迷宮,包括一個帶無數令人興奮的玩具,遊戲和小飾品的兒童房。 今年夏天,蘿拉(Lola)擁有最令人驚訝的Dr. Who魅力,小飾品和禮物,這對我們的家庭來說真是太好了! 還有大量的珠寶,帽子,錢包,太陽鏡,老花鏡,書籍……。 女孩度假時想要的一切。 秘密? 莫琳(洛拉)摩爾自己每年參加幾次國內和國際貿易展覽會-她自己購物。 在我們的訪問中,摩爾堅持為客戶提供口罩和洗手液,並禮貌地拿了我們的姓名和電話號碼以用於將來的聯繫人追踪。 我們對這家本地企業為確保客戶安全所做的努力給我們留下了深刻的印象。

9.在哈伯茲海灘放鬆

HUbbards Beach 2016海倫·厄利(Helen Earley)

哈伯茲海灘(Hubbards Beach):白天絢麗,傍晚安寧/照片:海倫·厄利

哈伯茲海灘(Hubbards beach)是該地區著名的鑽石,擁有美麗的白色沙灘,這是孩子們喜歡跳下的有趣的木筏。 白天您必須付費在這裡停車(這是值得的),但是晚上7點以后海灘道路被封閉。 這並不意味著海灘是禁止進入的! 沒有多少游客意識到,到了晚上,您可以在海岸俱樂部(Shore Club)旁停放並免費步行到海灘。 儘管您仍然可以感覺到回到哈利法克斯的人群的能量,但是晚上是一個寧靜的時間,許多鳥兒在對面的沙丘上鳴叫晚間的歌聲。

10.利亞姆·馬瑟斯全輪公園的旋轉技巧

哈伯德的利亞姆·馬瑟斯全輪滑板公園

在利亞姆·馬瑟斯全輪滑板公園騎混凝土浪潮/照片:Helen Earley

利亞姆·馬瑟斯全輪車公園位於昆士蘭海灘之後幾英里(如果您在聖瑪格麗特灣路以西行駛,則在左側),這個社區滑板公園永遠不會進入新斯科舍省道路和夢想者公園嚮導,但是對於喜歡滑板車和滑板的當地住宿者來說,這是一種消除疲勞的好方法。 小型滑冰場維護良好,並擁有方便的維護區域,其中包含擰緊卡車或重新調節手柄所需的所有工具! 滑板公園的後面是一個大球場,籃球場和一條小遠足徑。

11.參觀北美鉤地毯博物館

向您的孩子介紹一些妓女! 的 北美鉤地毯博物館 住在溜冰場(9849 Saint Margaret's Bay Road)對面的前保齡球館。 這座非凡的博物館於2013年由已故的休·康羅德(Hugh Conrod)和他的妻子蘇珊(Suzanne)開館,吸引了來自美國和加拿大的遊客。 有趣的事實:康羅德(Conrod)曾在達特茅斯(Dartmouth)的哈利法克斯先驅報(Halifax Herald Ltd.)擔任局局長21年,一次還擔任旅遊副部長。 北美鉤地毯博物館將於2020年關閉,但計劃明年夏天再次開放。

12.住在黑點附近的一家時髦的新Air BnB

Black Point Air BnB

Black Point的海濱別墅/照片:由海濱別墅提供

哈伯茲本身有很多Air BnB和鄉村小屋,但我們真的很喜歡這一間, 海濱別墅,在Black Point僅有幾分鐘的路程。 只需花費不到哈利法克斯市區酒店客房的價格,您就可以擁有整個住所,四間臥室可容納13人,是多家庭旅行或與女孩一起度假的完美之選! 在房子後面,進入鐵軌以進入步道(向西前往哈伯德,向東前往塔塔隆)。 在馬路對面,將腳趾浸入聖瑪格麗特灣。 商業秘密:這家令人驚嘆且價格合理的Air BnB是一家前海濱青年旅館,這就是為什麼它有這麼多床位的原因。

這些年來我們住過的其他地方包括 安克雷奇鄉村小屋, 海灣紅木 (都在海灣內),以及 艾米莉的海邊逃生 (過去的福克斯角)。 這些都是家庭的好地方。

13.聆聽海灣FM的海邊之聲

您知道哈伯茲有自己的廣播電台嗎? 自2010年以來,社區志願者擁有並經營 88.7科夫FM,這是一個很棒的車站! 他們的辦公室和工作室位於聖瑪格麗特海灣路10361號,車站路盡頭,靠近郵局。 在窗口中窺視一下,然後向您喜歡的本地DJ揮手。

14.在Hubbards Cove喝咖啡

哈伯茲灣咖啡

Hubbards Cove Coffee的友善友人/照片:Helen Earley

在廣播電台對面,哈伯德最好的事情之一就是在 哈伯茲灣咖啡 (聖瑪格麗特灣路10360號),這裡還有多種美食,三明治和美食。 嘗試美味的早餐三明治。 您還將在周六早上的HubbardsMarket上品嚐Hubbards Cove Coffee。

15.從Hubbards Cove Rentals租用衝浪板和SUP

租皮划艇可能是哈伯德最好的事情之一。 租用衝浪板,槳板,皮划艇,滑水板,車身板,自行車和水力自行車的地方是 哈伯茲灣出租 (204 329高速公路)。 除租金外,Hubbards Cove還提供來自經驗豐富的教練的槳板和皮划艇課程,以及個人和團體SUP瑜伽課程。 (902)452-3751。

16.參見Hubbards硬件商店的內容

大多數哈伯德居民會在“哈伯德要做的17件事”列表中對自己的本地五金店感到高興,但老實說,這個地方是 這生意! 一個晴天,我們偶然發現了這家商店(100號高速公路3號,即歐文站後面的脫衣舞廳),我們偶然發現了泳池面或充氣玩具,發現他們有 最好的 選擇兒童沙灘玩具,車身板,泳池麵條和沙灘傘。 另外,他們有一堆價格非常優惠的賀卡-碰巧是朋友的周年紀念日,所以他們很好地保存了我的一天。 因此,儘管這不是您通常的假日購物建議,但必須記錄下來,這個地方很酷。 您永遠不會知道在那裡會發現什麼……但是可能正是您所需要的。

17.探索海灣和主教公園

聖盧克斯聖公會教堂,黛比·馬萊達克攝

哈伯茲灣和聖盧克教堂/照片:黛比·馬萊達克

您是否知道哈伯茲灣(9 Yacht Club Rd)是新斯科舍省最小的省立公園? 這是釣魚,游泳和下船或劃皮艇的好地方。 夏季,當地家庭聚集在這裡看戶外電影。 每年,這個海灣都舉辦著名望 世界金槍魚平面比賽,其中包括全天候家庭燒烤。

在拐角處是主教公園,那裡有一個小涼亭,位於美麗的聖盧克英國國教教堂的監視下,該教堂於1850年舉行了首次儀式。如果您願意,可以漫步在這座教堂的墓地。 它揭示了哈伯茲(Hubbards)迷人的早期歷史,它是新斯科舍省最放鬆的夏季目的地之一。

您是否曾經與家人在哈伯茲度過週末? 您喜歡什麼地方? 請在評論中分享您的建議。

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

本網站使用Akismet來減少垃圾郵件。 了解您的評論如何處理.

17 Things to Do in Hubbards, Nova Scotia

17 Things to Do in Hubbards, Nova Scotia

Things to do in HUbbards photo of Hubbards Cove by Debbie Malaidack

Hubbards Cove/photo: Debbie Malaidack

There are so many things to do in Hubbards, Nova Scotia. Stunning beaches like Queensland, Cleveland and Fox Point are a stone’s throw away, and just around the corner, on the Aspotogan peninsula, the soft pepper-coloured sand and cool, clear waters of Bayswater beach await. Once you’re in Hubbards, the rest of the South Shore is suddenly at your fingertips: Chester, Mahone Bay, Lunenburg and Liverpool are just a short drive down Highway 103. You can even bike there, along the Rum Runners Trail.

Although we have been regular day-trippers from Halifax to Hubbards for many years, the 2020 pandemic gave our family a unique opportunity. With some extra vacation time, and “nowhere to go,” we decided to bunk up in Hubbards for an entire week. What a pleasure it was to enjoy a beach vacation so close  to home!

Here are 17 things to do in Hubbards. There are definitely, more, but these are our favourite spots- including a few secrets that only the locals know!

1. Shop at the Saturday Hubbards Market

Hubbards Market

The Saturday morning market at the  Hubbards Barn/photo: Helen Earley

This is no secret. The Hubbards market (follow signs for The Barn), is a fantastic place to spend your Saturday morning, with live music, fresh veggies, meat and fish, and delicious pastries from Julien’s Bakery. For day to day food-shopping, Hubbards also has a really well-stocked grocery store (the Independent) and a pharmacy, which has just about everything you could ever need. This summer, social distancing measures are in place throughout. For example, when we visited in July, 2020, we noticed that all the staff at Pharmasave wore masks.

2. Devour Greasy Beach Food from Gallant’s Fish n’ Chips

Gallants fish and Chips in Hubbards Nova Scotia,Things to do in Hubbards

Gallant’s Fish n’ Chips/photo: Helen Earley

Gallant’s Fish and Chips is a well-kept secret around the corner of Hubbards Cove, connected to Hubbards Campground.  But it’s not just for campers! Drive up, eat at the “rustic” picnic tables, or take your hot, delicious greasy feast down to the beach. The prices are affordable here: a 2-peice and chips costs $10.00 including tax.  (You would hardly get a fishstick for that price in Halifax!) “Just fries” is even cheaper. During normal times, the wooden shed opposite Gallants has arcade games. This is a Hubbards tradition , they’ve had machines there since the days of Pac Man!

3. Try the New Menu at Tuna Blue

Tuna Blue restaurant Hubbards

The new menu at Tuna Blue has a focus on fresh, local ingredients/photo: contributed by Tuna Blue

Under new ownership this year, the brightly coloured Tuna Blue Inn Restaurant and Marina (167 Shore Club Road) has undergone an exciting new refresh, welcoming new chef, Jessika Maymi, whose culinary influence comes from Hawaii, California and Nevada. Maymi’s new menu features everything you want to eat by the sea: chowders, burgers and healthy salads, with a focus on sustainable ingredients from local businesses. Dine in, on the patio or call ahead for takeout. The rooms (formerly the Dauphinee Inn) have also been refurbished to a high standard, just in case you want to spend the night. (902) 857-1790

4. Snorkel at Fox Point Beach

Fox Point Beach one of many things to do in Hubbards

We love the water at Fox Point Beach/photo: Helen Earley

Just outside of Hubbards on the Highway 329 there is a small, perfect beach: Fox Point. When the tide is high, the water completely covers the sand, but at low tide, there is enough room for everyone. Not too many out-of-towners come this far, so the beach is rarely overcrowded. There are no lifeguards or facilities here, just beautiful soft, perfect-for-sandcastles sand, and crystal clear water – ideal for snorkeling and diving. The water here is several degrees warmer than Queensland or Bayswater.

5. Eat Deep Fried Ice Cream at Black Harbour Creamery

Black Harbour Creamery and Distillery in Hubbards

Ice cream happiness at Black Harbour Creamery/photo: Helen Earley

New this year, the Black Harbour Creamery (419 Highway 329) serves ice cream cones from the Old Mill Cove Elementary School. This building has been here for 70 years, but step inside – you won’t believe the tasteful, modern renovation (they even re-purposed the old school chairs and blackboards!). The specialty here is deep-fried ice cream – a decadent summertime secret that will cost you zero Weight Watchers points (it’s a fact that anything you eat in Hubbards is point-free). And for the Mummies and Daddies? There is a rum distillery in the basement. Black Harbour Creamery’s sister business (literally!) is Black Harbour Distillery.

6. Enjoy a Lobster Supper at the Shore Club

Shore Club in Hubbards by Debbie Malaidack

The Shore Club at sunset/Photo: Debbie Malaidack

Shore Club owner Rhys Harnish says, “When my grand father started the Lobster Suppers back in 1936, he had already lived through World War I, the Spanish Flu pandemic and the great depression, but none of these could have prepared him for 2020.” Unfortunately the Shore Club has been forced to cancel its Saturday night shows for the 2020 season, but the lobster suppers are still on, every Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 4:00 – 7:30. Call (902) 857-9555 for reservations.

7. Experience Foodie Heaven at The Savary Plate

Three spinach ravioli encasing a silky egg yolk on top of maple glazed applewood smoked ham, served with crunchy sweet potatoes and micro greens

Three spinach ravioli encasing a silky egg yolk on top of maple glazed applewood smoked ham, served with crunchy sweet potatoes and micro greens/photo: contributed by the Savary Plate

Newly launched in January 2020,  The Savary Plate (located in the strip mall at 100 Highway 3) serves food that could rival any Halifax restaurant, with a mission to use quality, locally sourced ingredients. When we visited, owner Alisha Savary was experimenting with a Ginger and Sesame Haddock Burger with Wasabi Mustard Greens. (Yum!) In fact, you can find micro-greens (from Dan’s Micro Greens) on most of their menu items. Savary even puts pea shoots on the poutine, claiming it is the perfect taste match to chicken gravy. “We want to demonstrate that you can fuel and nourish your body at the same time,” says Savary. The Savary Plate also makes amazing pizzas, and delectable desserts. Eat in, or Take out.  (902) 857-1300

8. Shop the World at Lola’s Landing

Lola's Landing, shopping in Hubbards Nova Scotia

Lola’s Landing – a treasure trove of interesting gifts and trinkets/photo: Helen Earley

Discover shopping galore at Lola’s Landing (10061 St. Margaret’s Bay Road) – a labyrinth of gifts and clothing, including  a kids’ room with countless exciting toys, games and trinkets. This summer, Lola has the most astonishing collection of Dr. Who charms, trinkets and gifts – a real hit with our family!  There is also a huge selection of jewellery, hats, wallets, sunglasses, reading glasses, books…. everything a girl could want on vacation. The secret? Maureen (Lola) Moore herself attends several national and international trade fairs every year – she shops for everything herself. On our visit, Moore insisted on masks and hand sanitizer for customers, and also politely took our names and phone numbers for future contact tracing. We were very impressed at the efforts of this local business to keep customers safe.

9. Relax at Hubbards Beach

HUbbards Beach 2016 Helen Earley

Hubbards Beach: gorgeous in the daytime, peaceful in the evening/photo: Helen Earley

Hubbards beach is the well-known diamond of the region, with beautiful white sand, a fun raft that kids love to jump from. You have to pay to park here during the day (it’s worth it), but after 7pm the beach road is closed. This doesn’t mean the beach is off-limits! Not many visitors realize that in the evening, you can park up by the Shore Club and walk down to the beach for free.  Although you can still feel the energy of the crowds that have returned to Halifax, the evening is a peaceful time, with  plenty of birds tweeting their evening songs in the sand dunes opposite.

10. Spin Tricks at the Liam Mathers All Wheels Park

Liam Mathers All Wheels Skate Park in Hubbards

Riding a concrete wave at Liam Mathers All Wheels Skate Park/photo: Helen Earley

The Liam Mathers All Wheels Park is located a few miles after Queensland Beach (on the left hand side, if you are travelling west on the Saint Margaret’s Bay Road)  This community skate park is never going to make it into the Nova Scotia Doers and Dreamer’s Guide, but for local staycationers who love to scooter and skateboard, it’s a great way to burn off some steam. The small skate park is well-maintained and has a handy maintenance area with all the tools you will need to tighten your trucks or re-adjust your handles! Behind the skate park is a a large ball field, basketball courts and a small hiking trail.

11. Visit the Hooked Rug Museum of North America

Introduce your kids to some hookers! The Hooked Rug Museum in North America lives in a former bowling alley, just opposite the skate park (9849 Saint Margaret’s Bay Road). This remarkable museum, which sees visitors from all over the USA and Canada, was opened in 2013 by the late Hugh Conrod and his wife Suzanne. Interesting  fact: Conrod was Bureau Chief for the Halifax Herald Ltd. in Dartmouth for 21 years and at one time, also held the position of  Deputy Minster of Tourism. The Hooked Rug Museum of North America  is closed for 2020, but plans to open again next summer.

12. Stay at a Hip New Air BnB in Nearby Black Point

Black Point Air BnB

The Beach House in Black Point/photo: contributed by The Beach House

There are plenty of Air BnBs and cottages in Hubbards itself, but we really love this one, The Beach House, a few minutes away in Black Point. For less than the price of a downtown Halifax hotel room, you can have the whole place to yourself, with four bedrooms sleeping 13 people – perfect for multi-family trips, or grand getaways with the girls! Behind the house, access the rails to trails path (go west for Hubbards, east for Tantallon).  Just across the road, dip your toes in St. Margaret’s Bay. Trade secret: this stunning yet affordable Air BnB is a former seaside youth hostel and that’s why it has so many beds.

Other places we have stayed over the years include Anchorage Cottages, Rosewood on the Cove (both right in the Cove), and Emily’s Seaside Escape (past Fox Point). These are all great places for families.

13. Listen to The Seaside Sounds of Cove FM

Did you know that Hubbards has its own radio station? Since 2010, community volunteers have owned and operated 88.7 Cove FM, and it’s a great station!  Their office and studios are located at 10361 St. Margaret’s Bay Road, at the end of Station Road, near the Post Office. Have a peek in the window, and wave to your favourite local DJ.

14. Sip Coffee at Hubbards Cove

Hubbards Cove Coffee

Friendly folks at Hubbards Cove Coffee/photo: Helen Earley

Opposite the radio station, one of the best things to do in Hubbards is relax with a coffee at Hubbards Cove Coffee (10360 St. Margaret’s Bay Road), which also has a great selection of treats and sandwiches and treats. Try the delicious breakfast paninis. You will also Hubbards Cove Coffee at the Saturday morning HubbardsMarket.

15. Hire Surf Board and SUPs from Hubbards Cove Rentals

Renting a kayak is probably one of the best things to do in Hubbards. The place to hire surfboards, paddle boards, kayaks, skim boards, body boards, bikes and hydro bikes is Hubbards Cove Rentals (204 Highway 329). In addition to rentals, Hubbards Cove offers paddle board and kayak lessons from experienced instructors as well as personal and group SUP yoga lessons.  (902) 452-3751.

16. See What’s in Store at Hubbards Hardware

Most Hubbards residents will chuckle at their local hardware store being included in a list of “17 Things to Do in Hubbards” but honestly, this place is the business! One sunny day, we visited this store (100 Highway 3, i.e. the strip mall behind the Irving Station) on the off-chance that we might find a pool noodle or inflatable toy, and found they had the best selection of children’s beach toys, body boards, pool noodles and beach umbrellas. Plus, they had a stack of really well priced greeting cards – and it happened to be a friend’s anniversary, so they pretty well saved my day.  So although this isn’t  your usual holiday shopping recommendation, it must be put it on record that this place is pretty cool.  You never know what you’ll find there… but it will probably be just what you needed.

17. Explore The Cove, and Bishop’s Park

St Lukes Anglican Church photo by Debbie Malaidack

Hubbards Cove and St. Luke’s Church/photo: Debbie Malaidack

Did you know that Hubbards Cove (9 Yacht Club Rd) is Nova Scotia’s smallest Provincial Park? It’s a great place to fish, swim and launch your boat or kayak.  In summertime, local families gather here for outdoor movies. Annually, this cove hosts the prestigious World Tuna Flat Races, which includes an all-day barbecue for families.

Around the corner is Bishop’s Park, with a small gazebo, under the watch of beautiful St. Luke’s Anglican Church, which held its first service in 1850. If you are so inclined, stroll through the cemetery of this church. It reveals the fascinating early history of Hubbards, one of  Nova Scotia’s most relaxing summer destinations.

Have you ever spent the weekend in Hubbards with your family? What places did you enjoy? Please share your recommendations in the comments.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.