17 choses à faire à Hubbards, Nouvelle-Écosse

17 choses à faire à Hubbards, Nouvelle-Écosse

Choses à faire à HUbbards Photo de Hubbards Cove par Debbie Malaidack

Hubbards Cove / photo: Debbie Malaidack

Il y a tellement de choses à faire à Hubbards, en Nouvelle-Écosse. De superbes plages comme le Queensland, Cleveland et Fox Point sont à quelques pas, et juste au coin de la rue, sur la péninsule d'Aspotogan, le sable doux de couleur poivrée et les eaux fraîches et claires de la plage de Bayswater vous attendent. Une fois que vous êtes à Hubbards, le reste de la Rive-Sud est soudain à portée de main: Chester, Mahone Bay, Lunenburg et Liverpool ne sont qu'à quelques minutes de route de la route 103. Vous pouvez même y faire du vélo, le long de la Rum Runners Trail.

Bien que nous soyons des excursionnistes réguliers d'Halifax à Hubbards depuis de nombreuses années, la pandémie de 2020 a offert à notre famille une occasion unique. Avec un peu de temps de vacances supplémentaire et «nulle part où aller», nous avons décidé de dormir à Hubbards pendant une semaine entière. Quel plaisir de profiter de vacances à la plage si près de chez nous!

Voici 17 choses à faire à Hubbards. Il y en a certainement plus, mais ce sont nos endroits préférés, y compris quelques secrets que seuls les habitants connaissent!

1. Magasinez au marché Hubbards du samedi

Marché de Hubbards

Le marché du samedi matin à la grange Hubbards / photo: Helen Earley

Ce n'est pas un secret. Le marché Hubbards (suivez les panneaux indiquant The Barn), est un endroit fantastique pour passer votre samedi matin, avec de la musique live, des légumes frais, de la viande et du poisson et de délicieuses pâtisseries de Julien's Bakery. Pour les courses quotidiennes, Hubbards a également une épicerie très bien approvisionnée (The Independent) et une pharmacie, qui a à peu près tout ce dont vous pourriez avoir besoin. Cet été, des mesures de distanciation sociale sont en place partout. Par exemple, lors de notre visite en juillet 2020, nous avons remarqué que tout le personnel de Pharmasave portait des masques.

2. Dévorez la nourriture grasse de plage de Gallant's Fish n 'Chips

Gallants fish and chips à Hubbards en Nouvelle-Écosse, Choses à faire à Hubbards

Gallant's Fish n 'Chips / photo: Helen Earley

Gallant's Fish and Chips est un secret bien gardé au coin de Hubbards Cove, relié au camping Hubbards. Mais ce n'est pas seulement pour les campeurs! Montez en voiture, mangez sur les tables de pique-nique «rustiques» ou prenez votre délicieux et gras festin gras jusqu'à la plage. Les prix sont abordables ici: un 2 pièces et des chips coûte 10.00 $ taxes comprises. (Vous auriez à peine un poisson pour ce prix à Halifax!) «Juste des frites» est encore moins cher. En temps normal, le hangar en bois en face de Gallants propose des jeux d'arcade. C'est une tradition Hubbards, ils ont des machines là-bas depuis l'époque de Pac Man!

3. Essayez le nouveau menu chez Tuna Blue

Restaurant de thon bleu Hubbards

Le nouveau menu de Tuna Blue met l'accent sur les ingrédients frais et locaux / photo: contribution de Tuna Blue

Sous un nouveau propriétaire cette année, les couleurs vives Tuna Blue Inn Restaurant et Marina (167 Shore Club Road) a subi un nouveau rafraîchissement passionnant, accueillant le nouveau chef, Jessika Maymi, dont l'influence culinaire vient d'Hawaï, de Californie et du Nevada. Le nouveau menu de Maymi propose tout ce que vous voulez manger au bord de la mer: des chaudrées, des hamburgers et des salades saines, en mettant l'accent sur des ingrédients durables provenant d'entreprises locales. Dînez sur la terrasse ou appelez à l'avance pour emporter. Les chambres (anciennement le Dauphinee Inn) ont également été rénovées à un niveau élevé, juste au cas où vous voudriez passer la nuit. (902) 857-1790

4. Plongée en apnée à Fox Point Beach

Fox Point Beach l'une des nombreuses choses à faire à Hubbards

Nous adorons l'eau à Fox Point Beach / photo: Helen Earley

Juste à l'extérieur de Hubbards sur l'autoroute 329, il y a une petite plage parfaite: Fox Point. Lorsque la marée est haute, l'eau recouvre complètement le sable, mais à marée basse, il y a assez de place pour tout le monde. Il n'y a pas trop de hors-tours qui viennent aussi loin, donc la plage est rarement surpeuplée. Il n'y a pas de sauveteurs ni d'installations ici, juste un beau sable doux et parfait pour les châteaux de sable et une eau cristalline - idéal pour la plongée en apnée et la plongée. L'eau ici est plusieurs degrés plus chaude que celle du Queensland ou de Bayswater.

5. Mangez de la crème glacée frite à Black Harbor Creamery

Crèmerie et distillerie Black Harbor à Hubbards

Le bonheur de la crème glacée à Black Harbor Creamery / photo: Helen Earley

Nouveau cette année, le Crèmerie Black Harbor (419, autoroute 329) sert des cornets de crème glacée de l'école élémentaire Old Mill Cove. Ce bâtiment existe depuis 70 ans, mais entrez à l'intérieur - vous n'en croirez pas la rénovation de bon goût et moderne (ils ont même redéfini les vieilles chaises et les tableaux noirs!). La spécialité ici est la crème glacée frite - un secret d'été décadent qui ne vous coûtera aucun point Weight Watchers (c'est un fait que tout ce que vous mangez à Hubbards est sans point). Et pour les momies et les papas? Il y a une distillerie de rhum au sous-sol. L'entreprise sœur de Black Harbor Creamery (littéralement!) Est la distillerie Black Harbor.

6. Savourez un souper de homard au Shore Club

Shore Club à Hubbards par Debbie Malaidack

Le Shore Club au coucher du soleil / Photo: Debbie Malaidack

Rhys Harnish, propriétaire du Shore Club, a déclaré: «Lorsque mon grand-père a commencé les soupers au homard en 1936, il avait déjà vécu la Première Guerre mondiale, la pandémie de grippe espagnole et la grande dépression, mais aucun de ceux-ci n'aurait pu le préparer pour 2020.» Malheureusement, Shore Club a été contraint d'annuler ses spectacles du samedi soir pour la saison 2020, mais les soupers au homard sont toujours en cours, tous les mercredi, jeudi, vendredi, samedi et dimanche de 4h00 à 7h30. Appelez le (902) 857-9555 pour réserver.

7. Découvrez le paradis des gourmets à l'assiette Savary

Trois raviolis aux épinards enveloppant un jaune d'oeuf soyeux sur un jambon fumé au bois de pommier glacé à l'érable, servi avec des patates douces croquantes et des micro-verts

Trois raviolis aux épinards enrobant un jaune d'oeuf soyeux sur un jambon fumé au bois de pommier glacé à l'érable, servi avec des patates douces croquantes et des micro-verts / photo: contribution de l'assiette Savary

Nouvellement lancé en janvier 2020, L'assiette Savary (situé dans le Strip Mall au 100 Highway 3) sert des plats qui pourraient rivaliser avec n'importe quel restaurant d'Halifax, avec pour mission d'utiliser des ingrédients locaux de qualité. Lors de notre visite, la propriétaire Alisha Savary expérimentait un hamburger d'aiglefin au gingembre et au sésame avec des feuilles de moutarde au Wasabi. (Miam!) En fait, vous pouvez trouver des micro-verts (des Micro Greens de Dan) sur la plupart de leurs éléments de menu. Savary met même des pousses de pois sur la poutine, affirmant que c'est le goût parfait pour la sauce au poulet. «Nous voulons démontrer que vous pouvez alimenter et nourrissez votre corps en même temps », dit Savary. L'assiette Savary fait également d'incroyables pizzas et de délicieux desserts. Mangez sur place ou à emporter. (902) 857-1300

8. Magasinez le monde à Lola's Landing

Lola's Landing, shopping à Hubbards Nouvelle-Écosse

Lola's Landing - un trésor de cadeaux et de bibelots intéressants / photo: Helen Earley

Découvrez le shopping à gogo sur Lola's Landing (10061 St. Margaret's Bay Road) - un labyrinthe de cadeaux et de vêtements, y compris une chambre pour enfants avec d'innombrables jouets, jeux et bibelots passionnants. Cet été, Lola a la plus étonnante collection de breloques, bibelots et cadeaux Dr. Who - un vrai succès auprès de notre famille! Il existe également une vaste sélection de bijoux, chapeaux, portefeuilles, lunettes de soleil, lunettes de lecture, livres…. tout ce qu'une fille pourrait vouloir en vacances. Le secret? Maureen (Lola) Moore elle-même participe chaque année à plusieurs salons nationaux et internationaux - elle fait ses courses pour tout elle-même. Lors de notre visite, Moore a insisté sur les masques et le désinfectant pour les mains pour les clients, et a également pris poliment nos noms et numéros de téléphone pour la recherche de contacts futurs. Nous avons été très impressionnés par les efforts de cette entreprise locale pour assurer la sécurité des clients.

9. Détendez-vous à Hubbards Beach

HUbbards Beach 2016 Helen Earley

Hubbards Beach: magnifique le jour, paisible le soir / photo: Helen Earley

La plage de Hubbards est le diamant bien connu de la région, avec un beau sable blanc, un radeau amusant dont les enfants adorent sauter. Il faut payer pour se garer ici pendant la journée (ça vaut le coup), mais après 7h la route de la plage est fermée. Cela ne signifie pas que la plage est interdite! Peu de visiteurs se rendent compte que le soir, vous pouvez vous garer près du Shore Club et vous rendre à la plage gratuitement. Bien que vous puissiez encore ressentir l'énergie des foules qui sont revenues à Halifax, la soirée est un moment paisible, avec de nombreux oiseaux tweetant leurs chansons du soir dans les dunes de sable d'en face.

10. Spin Tricks au parc Liam Mathers All Wheels

Liam Mathers All Wheels Skate Park à Hubbards

Surfer sur une vague de béton au Liam Mathers All Wheels Skate Park / photo: Helen Earley

Le Liam Mathers All Wheels Park est situé à quelques kilomètres après Queensland Beach (sur la gauche, si vous voyagez vers l'ouest sur le chemin Saint Margaret's Bay). Ce skate park communautaire ne fera jamais partie des Doers and Dreamer's de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Guide, mais pour les staycationers locaux qui aiment le scooter et le skateboard, c'est un excellent moyen de se défouler. Le petit skate park est bien entretenu et dispose d'une zone d'entretien pratique avec tous les outils dont vous aurez besoin pour resserrer vos camions ou réajuster vos poignées! Derrière le skate park se trouve un grand terrain de balle, des terrains de basket et un petit sentier de randonnée.

11. Visitez le Hooked Rug Museum of North America

Présentez à vos enfants quelques prostituées! le Musée du tapis crochu en Amérique du Nord vit dans un ancien bowling, juste en face du skate park (9849 Saint Margaret's Bay Road). Ce musée remarquable, qui accueille des visiteurs de partout aux États-Unis et au Canada, a été inauguré en 2013 par feu Hugh Conrod et son épouse Suzanne. Fait intéressant: Conrod a été chef de bureau du Halifax Herald Ltd. à Dartmouth pendant 21 ans et a également occupé le poste de ministre adjoint du tourisme. Le Hooked Rug Museum of North America est fermé pour 2020, mais prévoit de rouvrir l'été prochain.

12. Restez dans un Hip New Air BnB à Black Point à proximité

Black Point Air BnB

The Beach House à Black Point / photo: contribution de The Beach House

Il y a beaucoup d'Air BnB et de chalets à Hubbards même, mais nous aimons vraiment celui-ci, The Beach House, à quelques minutes à Black Point. Pour moins que le prix d'une chambre d'hôtel au centre-ville d'Halifax, vous pouvez avoir toute la place pour vous, avec quatre chambres pouvant accueillir 13 personnes - parfait pour les voyages en famille ou les grandes escapades avec les filles! Derrière la maison, accédez aux rails du chemin des sentiers (allez à l'ouest pour Hubbards, à l'est pour Tantallon). Juste en face, plongez les orteils dans la baie St. Margaret. Secret commercial: cette superbe mais abordable Air BnB est une ancienne auberge de jeunesse en bord de mer et c'est pourquoi elle dispose de tant de lits.

D'autres endroits où nous avons séjourné au fil des ans comprennent Cottages à Anchorage, Palissandre sur l'anse (tous deux en plein Cove), et L'évasion balnéaire d'Emily (passé Fox Point). Ce sont tous d'excellents endroits pour les familles.

13. Écoutez The Seaside Sounds of Cove FM

Saviez-vous que Hubbards a sa propre station de radio? Depuis 2010, les bénévoles de la communauté possèdent et exploitent 88.7 Cove FM, et c'est une super station! Leurs bureaux et studios sont situés au 10361, chemin St. Margaret's Bay, au bout du chemin Station, près du bureau de poste. Jetez un œil à la fenêtre et saluez votre DJ local préféré.

14. Sirotez un café à Hubbards Cove

Café Hubbards Cove

Des gens sympathiques à Hubbards Cove Coffee / photo: Helen Earley

En face de la station de radio, l'une des meilleures choses à faire à Hubbards est de se détendre avec un café au Café Hubbards Cove (10360 St. Margaret's Bay Road), qui propose également un grand choix de friandises, de sandwichs et de friandises. Essayez les délicieux paninis du petit déjeuner. Vous dégusterez également le café Hubbards Cove au HubbardsMarket du samedi matin.

15. Louez une planche de surf et des SUP auprès de Hubbards Cove Rentals

La location d'un kayak est probablement l'une des meilleures choses à faire à Hubbards. L'endroit où louer des planches de surf, des planches à pagaie, des kayaks, des planches de skim, des planches de bodyboard, des vélos et des vélos électriques est Locations de vacances à Hubbards Cove (204 route 329). En plus des locations, Hubbards Cove propose des cours de paddle et de kayak avec des instructeurs expérimentés ainsi que des cours de yoga SUP personnels et en groupe. (902) 452-3751.

16. Voir ce qui est en magasin sur le matériel Hubbards

La plupart des résidents de Hubbards riront de leur quincaillerie locale en étant inclus dans une liste de «17 choses à faire à Hubbards» mais honnêtement, cet endroit est les affaires! Un jour ensoleillé, nous avons visité ce magasin (100 Highway 3, c'est-à-dire le centre commercial derrière la station Irving) au hasard que nous puissions trouver une nouille de piscine ou un jouet gonflable, et nous avons découvert qu'ils avaient le les meilleurs sélection de jouets de plage pour enfants, bodyboards, nouilles de piscine et parasols. De plus, ils avaient une pile de cartes de vœux à très bon prix - et il s'est avéré que c'était l'anniversaire d'un ami, alors ils m'ont bien sauvé la journée. Donc, bien que ce ne soit pas votre recommandation habituelle de magasinage des Fêtes, il faut le noter que cet endroit est plutôt cool. Vous ne savez jamais ce que vous y trouverez… mais ce sera probablement exactement ce dont vous avez besoin.

17. Explorez The Cove et Bishop's Park

Photo de l'église anglicane St Lukes par Debbie Malaidack

Hubbards Cove et St. Luke's Church / photo: Debbie Malaidack

Saviez-vous que Hubbards Cove (9, chemin Yacht Club) est le plus petit parc provincial de la Nouvelle-Écosse? C'est un endroit idéal pour pêcher, nager et lancer votre bateau ou votre kayak. En été, les familles locales se réunissent ici pour des films en plein air. Chaque année, cette crique accueille le prestigieux Courses mondiales de thon, qui comprend un barbecue toute la journée pour les familles.

Au coin de la rue se trouve Bishop's Park, avec un petit belvédère, sous la surveillance de la belle église anglicane St. Luke, qui a tenu son premier service en 1850. Si vous êtes si enclin, promenez-vous dans le cimetière de cette église. Il révèle la fascinante première histoire de Hubbards, l'une des destinations estivales les plus relaxantes de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Avez-vous déjà passé le week-end à Hubbards avec votre famille? Quels endroits avez-vous apprécié? Veuillez partager vos recommandations dans les commentaires.

Voici d'autres articles que nous pensons que vous aimerez!

Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour vous fournir des informations précises, tous les détails de l'événement sont sujets à changement. S'il vous plaît contacter l'établissement pour éviter toute déception.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaitra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les spams. Découvrez comment sont traitées les données de vos commentaires..

17 Things to Do in Hubbards, Nova Scotia

17 Things to Do in Hubbards, Nova Scotia

Things to do in HUbbards photo of Hubbards Cove by Debbie Malaidack

Hubbards Cove/photo: Debbie Malaidack

There are so many things to do in Hubbards, Nova Scotia. Stunning beaches like Queensland, Cleveland and Fox Point are a stone’s throw away, and just around the corner, on the Aspotogan peninsula, the soft pepper-coloured sand and cool, clear waters of Bayswater beach await. Once you’re in Hubbards, the rest of the South Shore is suddenly at your fingertips: Chester, Mahone Bay, Lunenburg and Liverpool are just a short drive down Highway 103. You can even bike there, along the Rum Runners Trail.

Although we have been regular day-trippers from Halifax to Hubbards for many years, the 2020 pandemic gave our family a unique opportunity. With some extra vacation time, and “nowhere to go,” we decided to bunk up in Hubbards for an entire week. What a pleasure it was to enjoy a beach vacation so close  to home!

Here are 17 things to do in Hubbards. There are definitely, more, but these are our favourite spots- including a few secrets that only the locals know!

1. Shop at the Saturday Hubbards Market

Hubbards Market

The Saturday morning market at the  Hubbards Barn/photo: Helen Earley

This is no secret. The Hubbards market (follow signs for The Barn), is a fantastic place to spend your Saturday morning, with live music, fresh veggies, meat and fish, and delicious pastries from Julien’s Bakery. For day to day food-shopping, Hubbards also has a really well-stocked grocery store (the Independent) and a pharmacy, which has just about everything you could ever need. This summer, social distancing measures are in place throughout. For example, when we visited in July, 2020, we noticed that all the staff at Pharmasave wore masks.

2. Devour Greasy Beach Food from Gallant’s Fish n’ Chips

Gallants fish and Chips in Hubbards Nova Scotia,Things to do in Hubbards

Gallant’s Fish n’ Chips/photo: Helen Earley

Gallant’s Fish and Chips is a well-kept secret around the corner of Hubbards Cove, connected to Hubbards Campground.  But it’s not just for campers! Drive up, eat at the “rustic” picnic tables, or take your hot, delicious greasy feast down to the beach. The prices are affordable here: a 2-peice and chips costs $10.00 including tax.  (You would hardly get a fishstick for that price in Halifax!) “Just fries” is even cheaper. During normal times, the wooden shed opposite Gallants has arcade games. This is a Hubbards tradition , they’ve had machines there since the days of Pac Man!

3. Try the New Menu at Tuna Blue

Tuna Blue restaurant Hubbards

The new menu at Tuna Blue has a focus on fresh, local ingredients/photo: contributed by Tuna Blue

Under new ownership this year, the brightly coloured Tuna Blue Inn Restaurant and Marina (167 Shore Club Road) has undergone an exciting new refresh, welcoming new chef, Jessika Maymi, whose culinary influence comes from Hawaii, California and Nevada. Maymi’s new menu features everything you want to eat by the sea: chowders, burgers and healthy salads, with a focus on sustainable ingredients from local businesses. Dine in, on the patio or call ahead for takeout. The rooms (formerly the Dauphinee Inn) have also been refurbished to a high standard, just in case you want to spend the night. (902) 857-1790

4. Snorkel at Fox Point Beach

Fox Point Beach one of many things to do in Hubbards

We love the water at Fox Point Beach/photo: Helen Earley

Just outside of Hubbards on the Highway 329 there is a small, perfect beach: Fox Point. When the tide is high, the water completely covers the sand, but at low tide, there is enough room for everyone. Not too many out-of-towners come this far, so the beach is rarely overcrowded. There are no lifeguards or facilities here, just beautiful soft, perfect-for-sandcastles sand, and crystal clear water – ideal for snorkeling and diving. The water here is several degrees warmer than Queensland or Bayswater.

5. Eat Deep Fried Ice Cream at Black Harbour Creamery

Black Harbour Creamery and Distillery in Hubbards

Ice cream happiness at Black Harbour Creamery/photo: Helen Earley

New this year, the Black Harbour Creamery (419 Highway 329) serves ice cream cones from the Old Mill Cove Elementary School. This building has been here for 70 years, but step inside – you won’t believe the tasteful, modern renovation (they even re-purposed the old school chairs and blackboards!). The specialty here is deep-fried ice cream – a decadent summertime secret that will cost you zero Weight Watchers points (it’s a fact that anything you eat in Hubbards is point-free). And for the Mummies and Daddies? There is a rum distillery in the basement. Black Harbour Creamery’s sister business (literally!) is Black Harbour Distillery.

6. Enjoy a Lobster Supper at the Shore Club

Shore Club in Hubbards by Debbie Malaidack

The Shore Club at sunset/Photo: Debbie Malaidack

Shore Club owner Rhys Harnish says, “When my grand father started the Lobster Suppers back in 1936, he had already lived through World War I, the Spanish Flu pandemic and the great depression, but none of these could have prepared him for 2020.” Unfortunately the Shore Club has been forced to cancel its Saturday night shows for the 2020 season, but the lobster suppers are still on, every Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 4:00 – 7:30. Call (902) 857-9555 for reservations.

7. Experience Foodie Heaven at The Savary Plate

Three spinach ravioli encasing a silky egg yolk on top of maple glazed applewood smoked ham, served with crunchy sweet potatoes and micro greens

Three spinach ravioli encasing a silky egg yolk on top of maple glazed applewood smoked ham, served with crunchy sweet potatoes and micro greens/photo: contributed by the Savary Plate

Newly launched in January 2020,  The Savary Plate (located in the strip mall at 100 Highway 3) serves food that could rival any Halifax restaurant, with a mission to use quality, locally sourced ingredients. When we visited, owner Alisha Savary was experimenting with a Ginger and Sesame Haddock Burger with Wasabi Mustard Greens. (Yum!) In fact, you can find micro-greens (from Dan’s Micro Greens) on most of their menu items. Savary even puts pea shoots on the poutine, claiming it is the perfect taste match to chicken gravy. “We want to demonstrate that you can fuel and nourish your body at the same time,” says Savary. The Savary Plate also makes amazing pizzas, and delectable desserts. Eat in, or Take out.  (902) 857-1300

8. Shop the World at Lola’s Landing

Lola's Landing, shopping in Hubbards Nova Scotia

Lola’s Landing – a treasure trove of interesting gifts and trinkets/photo: Helen Earley

Discover shopping galore at Lola’s Landing (10061 St. Margaret’s Bay Road) – a labyrinth of gifts and clothing, including  a kids’ room with countless exciting toys, games and trinkets. This summer, Lola has the most astonishing collection of Dr. Who charms, trinkets and gifts – a real hit with our family!  There is also a huge selection of jewellery, hats, wallets, sunglasses, reading glasses, books…. everything a girl could want on vacation. The secret? Maureen (Lola) Moore herself attends several national and international trade fairs every year – she shops for everything herself. On our visit, Moore insisted on masks and hand sanitizer for customers, and also politely took our names and phone numbers for future contact tracing. We were very impressed at the efforts of this local business to keep customers safe.

9. Relax at Hubbards Beach

HUbbards Beach 2016 Helen Earley

Hubbards Beach: gorgeous in the daytime, peaceful in the evening/photo: Helen Earley

Hubbards beach is the well-known diamond of the region, with beautiful white sand, a fun raft that kids love to jump from. You have to pay to park here during the day (it’s worth it), but after 7pm the beach road is closed. This doesn’t mean the beach is off-limits! Not many visitors realize that in the evening, you can park up by the Shore Club and walk down to the beach for free.  Although you can still feel the energy of the crowds that have returned to Halifax, the evening is a peaceful time, with  plenty of birds tweeting their evening songs in the sand dunes opposite.

10. Spin Tricks at the Liam Mathers All Wheels Park

Liam Mathers All Wheels Skate Park in Hubbards

Riding a concrete wave at Liam Mathers All Wheels Skate Park/photo: Helen Earley

The Liam Mathers All Wheels Park is located a few miles after Queensland Beach (on the left hand side, if you are travelling west on the Saint Margaret’s Bay Road)  This community skate park is never going to make it into the Nova Scotia Doers and Dreamer’s Guide, but for local staycationers who love to scooter and skateboard, it’s a great way to burn off some steam. The small skate park is well-maintained and has a handy maintenance area with all the tools you will need to tighten your trucks or re-adjust your handles! Behind the skate park is a a large ball field, basketball courts and a small hiking trail.

11. Visit the Hooked Rug Museum of North America

Introduce your kids to some hookers! The Hooked Rug Museum in North America lives in a former bowling alley, just opposite the skate park (9849 Saint Margaret’s Bay Road). This remarkable museum, which sees visitors from all over the USA and Canada, was opened in 2013 by the late Hugh Conrod and his wife Suzanne. Interesting  fact: Conrod was Bureau Chief for the Halifax Herald Ltd. in Dartmouth for 21 years and at one time, also held the position of  Deputy Minster of Tourism. The Hooked Rug Museum of North America  is closed for 2020, but plans to open again next summer.

12. Stay at a Hip New Air BnB in Nearby Black Point

Black Point Air BnB

The Beach House in Black Point/photo: contributed by The Beach House

There are plenty of Air BnBs and cottages in Hubbards itself, but we really love this one, The Beach House, a few minutes away in Black Point. For less than the price of a downtown Halifax hotel room, you can have the whole place to yourself, with four bedrooms sleeping 13 people – perfect for multi-family trips, or grand getaways with the girls! Behind the house, access the rails to trails path (go west for Hubbards, east for Tantallon).  Just across the road, dip your toes in St. Margaret’s Bay. Trade secret: this stunning yet affordable Air BnB is a former seaside youth hostel and that’s why it has so many beds.

Other places we have stayed over the years include Anchorage Cottages, Rosewood on the Cove (both right in the Cove), and Emily’s Seaside Escape (past Fox Point). These are all great places for families.

13. Listen to The Seaside Sounds of Cove FM

Did you know that Hubbards has its own radio station? Since 2010, community volunteers have owned and operated 88.7 Cove FM, and it’s a great station!  Their office and studios are located at 10361 St. Margaret’s Bay Road, at the end of Station Road, near the Post Office. Have a peek in the window, and wave to your favourite local DJ.

14. Sip Coffee at Hubbards Cove

Hubbards Cove Coffee

Friendly folks at Hubbards Cove Coffee/photo: Helen Earley

Opposite the radio station, one of the best things to do in Hubbards is relax with a coffee at Hubbards Cove Coffee (10360 St. Margaret’s Bay Road), which also has a great selection of treats and sandwiches and treats. Try the delicious breakfast paninis. You will also Hubbards Cove Coffee at the Saturday morning HubbardsMarket.

15. Hire Surf Board and SUPs from Hubbards Cove Rentals

Renting a kayak is probably one of the best things to do in Hubbards. The place to hire surfboards, paddle boards, kayaks, skim boards, body boards, bikes and hydro bikes is Hubbards Cove Rentals (204 Highway 329). In addition to rentals, Hubbards Cove offers paddle board and kayak lessons from experienced instructors as well as personal and group SUP yoga lessons.  (902) 452-3751.

16. See What’s in Store at Hubbards Hardware

Most Hubbards residents will chuckle at their local hardware store being included in a list of “17 Things to Do in Hubbards” but honestly, this place is the business! One sunny day, we visited this store (100 Highway 3, i.e. the strip mall behind the Irving Station) on the off-chance that we might find a pool noodle or inflatable toy, and found they had the best selection of children’s beach toys, body boards, pool noodles and beach umbrellas. Plus, they had a stack of really well priced greeting cards – and it happened to be a friend’s anniversary, so they pretty well saved my day.  So although this isn’t  your usual holiday shopping recommendation, it must be put it on record that this place is pretty cool.  You never know what you’ll find there… but it will probably be just what you needed.

17. Explore The Cove, and Bishop’s Park

St Lukes Anglican Church photo by Debbie Malaidack

Hubbards Cove and St. Luke’s Church/photo: Debbie Malaidack

Did you know that Hubbards Cove (9 Yacht Club Rd) is Nova Scotia’s smallest Provincial Park? It’s a great place to fish, swim and launch your boat or kayak.  In summertime, local families gather here for outdoor movies. Annually, this cove hosts the prestigious World Tuna Flat Races, which includes an all-day barbecue for families.

Around the corner is Bishop’s Park, with a small gazebo, under the watch of beautiful St. Luke’s Anglican Church, which held its first service in 1850. If you are so inclined, stroll through the cemetery of this church. It reveals the fascinating early history of Hubbards, one of  Nova Scotia’s most relaxing summer destinations.

Have you ever spent the weekend in Hubbards with your family? What places did you enjoy? Please share your recommendations in the comments.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.