西南新斯科舍省為期5天的公路旅行

繞著雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸的公路旅行,地圖和圖形顯示了建議的行程

當我們計劃通過布萊爾島到布里爾島的多家庭公路旅行時 南岸 亦於 雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸,我們完全低估了要探索的東西。 這就像遊客擊中布雷頓角,然後嘗試在48小時內全部完成一樣-只是做不到!

但是我們盡了最大的努力,首先從利物浦開車到謝爾本,然後再到圖斯凱特島,在那裡我們在傳統的海棚屋裡過夜。 最後,我們騎車前往布里爾島(Brier Island)賞鯨,將其留在我們最喜歡的Digby Neck露營地。

總的來說,這次旅行持續了五天四夜,但是我們可以輕鬆地花幾天時間。

以下是一個粗略的行程,其中包含旅行提示和住宿地點和活動建議。 我希望您可以使用它來計劃自己的冒險,或者進行為期一周的旅途,或者將行程分解為較小的周末度假。

1.南岸(利物浦至謝爾本)

2.雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸

3.迪格比脖子和布里爾島

我們已經在計劃前往新斯科舍省這個美好,家庭友好的地區的下一個旅程。 到時候那裡見!

__________________________________________________

1.南岸(利物浦至謝爾本)

利物浦混凝土創作

混凝土創作利物浦新斯科舍省

Cosby花園中心後面數百個令人難以置信的,與實物大小一樣的混凝土雕像之一/照片:Helen Earley

我們在開會,開始了我們的多戶探險之旅 具體創作,位於利物浦郊區的考斯比花園中心。 我們聽到過很多關於這個地方的信息,這是雕塑家伊凡·希金斯(Ivan Higgins)進行的一項大型激情項目,其中包括數英畝的樹木繁茂的花園,上面有數百個神奇的栩栩如生的雕塑,除了日期外,大多數都是無題的。 提示:遠離雕塑,走在路上! 儘管孩子們喜歡這個花園,但它不是遊樂場。

皇后縣海灘

卡特海灘的清水/照片:黛比·馬萊達克(Debbie Malaidack)

我們的第二站是 卡特海灘 –可以與加勒比海媲美的海灘。 這裡清澈見底的水很冷,但是沙灘和風景絕對令人驚嘆,還有足夠的空間放下毛巾(停車場是另外一回事!)附近其他我們喜歡的海灘是 薩默維爾海灘,以及位於的海灘 托馬斯·拉德爾省立公園 .

歷史的謝爾本

歷史悠久的謝爾本海濱/照片:新斯科舍省旅遊業,橡子藝術攝影

第一個晚上,我們租了一間美麗的Air BnB公寓, 前往謝爾本的步驟,距海濱僅一箭之遙,而且步行即可到達遊樂場和滑板公園。 這位Air BnB房東在馬路對面還有另一個有趣的地方, 布魯斯之家歷史悠久。 這些屬性的組合在一起可以容納一個很大的群體(最多15人)。

圍繞雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸的公路旅行-謝爾本

在歷史悠久的謝爾本海濱上的家庭野餐/照片:海倫·厄利(Helen Earley)

謝爾本(Shelburne)有許多兒童活動可做,尤其是在歷史悠久的海濱。 在另一趟旅程中,我們將參觀 謝爾本縣博物館 還有Dory商店,孩子們可以在那裡幫助建造dory。 在 羅斯湯普森之家,孩子們可以在18世紀度過一個下午:攪拌黃油,製作蠟燭或撫育花園。 電影迷們很想知道謝爾伯恩(Shelburne)一直是許多大型製作的受歡迎的拍攝地點,包括受歡迎的迷你電視劇 黑人書 (2015)。 檢查優秀 謝爾本博物館 有關家庭活動的更多信息的網站。

黑人保守主義遺產中心

位於謝爾本(Shelburne)外, 黑人保守主義遺產中心 慶祝黑人忠誠主義者的歷史,他們是1783年至1785年間由於美國獨立戰爭(American Revolution)來到美國新斯科舍省的人數最多的非洲裔和非洲人後裔來到新斯科舍省的歷史。 黑人忠誠主義者在新斯科舍省擁有悠久的歷史,這就是一切的起點。

黑人擁護者遺產中心/照片:新斯科舍省旅遊/橡子藝術攝影

__________________________________________________

2.雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸

法國鄉村歷史學院

1755年對阿卡迪亞人的驅逐並沒有削弱該地區阿卡迪亞文化的精神。 佔地17英畝,可俯瞰Pubnico海港, 阿卡迪亞村 (Le Village historique acadien de laNouvelle-Écosse)對1900年代初的阿卡迪亞人的生活進行了歷史重演。 這對於任何新斯科舍人來說都是必須做的,但是對於我省的法語學生而言,這尤其棒。

雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸阿卡迪亞村照片來自旅遊NS橡子藝術

雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸的阿卡迪亞村/照片:新斯科舍省旅遊業,橡子藝術攝影

圖斯克島

體驗文化的最好方法之一就是與當地人閒逛。 但是,如果您不認識任何人怎麼辦? 該解決方案可以在以下位置找到 圖斯凱島之旅,LeBlanc家人將在當天為您介紹他們的船,他們的歌曲,他們的故事,他們的雜燴食譜,甚至是大Tusket島上的家庭小屋,以收養您。

Tusket島之旅每人收費87美元(55歲以下兒童為18美元),絕對是該地區家庭旅行的最佳套餐; 嚮導西蒙·勒布朗(Simon LeBlanc)曾任學校老師,同時還是專業的兒童藝人。 是的,他接受歌曲請求!

雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸之旅-Tusket Island Tours

Tusket Island遊覽:我們經歷過的最適合家庭的遊覽之一/照片:Helen Earley

西蒙的兄弟盧西安(Lucien)為大人提供深海捕魚之旅,包括 一天的鯊魚垂釣之旅 您將在其中誘騙或“鯊魚”鯊魚,將它們標記為漁業和海洋部(DFO),然後將其放回海中。 釣魚憲章起價為每人115美元。 整整1200個小時的一日鯊魚垂釣之旅價格為9美元。

大多數家庭只是去旅行,但是在我們的公路旅行中,我們將體驗提升了一個層次,並租了 圖斯克島上的小屋,到達下午的大霧,然後醒來晴朗的天空。 小屋或“棚戶區”是由勒布朗兄弟建造的,他們是該地區最受尊敬的造船廠之一。

勒圖蘭克在塔斯凱島的海上棚戶區; 造船廠建造的勒布朗兄弟

Tusket島上的小屋或“海棚屋”; 造船廠建造的勒布朗兄弟/照片:Helen Earley

馬維萊特海灘

朝北前往芬威海岸(Mavilette Beach Provincial Park)的芬迪海岸(Fundy Shore) 拜聖瑪麗,是跑步者,衝浪者和游泳者的麥加。 綿延數英里的平坦沙灘非常適合兒童。

馬維萊特海灘

馬維萊特海灘/照片:旅遊局聖瑪麗,喬伊·羅比紹(Joey Robichaud)

__________________________________________________

3.迪格比脖子和布里爾島

鯨灣露營地,迪格比脖子

作為我們在布萊爾島冒險的基地,我們在我們最喜歡的露營地之一鯨灣露營地住了兩晚。 第一天晚上,我們是在圖斯凱島度過了一個忙碌而忙碌的一天,所以來晚了,我們非常感謝鯨魚灣的 租帳篷服務,只要$ 50美元即可在營地準備好帳篷,椅子和盤子鍋碗瓢盆。 甚至裡面的床墊都充氣了!

第二天早上,我們很早起床,準備排隊坐蒂弗頓渡輪。 如果您在觀鯨,我建議您住在該地區的某個地方。 驅車前往布里爾島(Brier Island)的行程包括定時安排的兩條汽車輪渡。 最好放鬆一下,享受旅途,而不是匆忙。

在鯨灣露營地的帳篷租

在鯨灣露營地租用帳篷服務可提供您所需的一切/圖片:Helen Earley

布里爾島水手鯨和海鳥之旅

水手鯨和海鳥之旅 是Brier島上家庭旅行的最佳選擇。 亮點可能包括熱飲和餅乾(在正常情況下!),以及帶有Baleen甚至鯨蝨等道具的教育演示。 在我們的一天中,我們看到了一群似乎在等我們的三隻嬉戲座頭鯨的壯觀表演。

在布萊爾島賞鯨

與水手鯨和海鳥巡遊一起觀鯨/照片:Helen Earley

蒂弗頓就在水上咖啡館上方

賞鯨令人吃驚。 對我們來說很幸運 水上咖啡館 在蒂弗頓的酒店位於最後一條輪渡返回Digby Neck之前。 我們決定在那裡吃晚飯,而不是在營地後面的冷藏箱里四處逛逛。 食物不花哨,但很好吃! 提示:Nor'Easter Burger絕對值得錯過。

蒂弗頓的水上咖啡館

蒂弗頓的水上咖啡館; 試試Nor'Easter漢堡/照片:Helen Earley

莫德·劉易斯複製屋

在返回哈利法克斯的路上,我們在 莫德·劉易斯複製屋,是一位退休的漁民默里·羅斯(Murray Ross)建造和創造的真實比例的複製品,他在小時候就認識莫德·劉易斯(Maud Lewis)為鄰居。 他美麗的房屋重建值得讚賞-他本人就是民間藝術家!

如果您想進一步了解Maud Lewis,電影 莫迪 是青少年和成年人的絕佳入門書,而這本書 莫德·劉易斯的照明生活,為您的家庭收藏錦上添花。

莫德·劉易斯複製屋

我們的青少年準備進入複製品莫德·劉易斯的房子/照片:海倫·厄利

在我們下次前往新斯科舍省西南地區時…

我們等不及要回到該地區了。 下次,我們發誓要探索Pubnicos,並探索更多的Baie Sainte Marie,包括Church Point。 我們還想在Brier Island和Digby Neck周圍進行更多的徒步旅行。

最後,有一個全新的遊覽, 芬迪灣風景區龍蝦之旅,它從Digby Neck延伸出去,並且從女配偶的角度出發,它提供了Balancing Rock的絕佳視野,並且洞察了龍蝦行業!

您去過南岸,雅茅斯和阿卡迪亞海岸或布里爾島嗎? 我們錯過了哪些景點?

請在評論中告訴我們! 🙂

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新
12 個評論
  1. 17年2020月XNUMX日
    • 7-2020-XNUMXTXNUMX:XNUMX:XNUMX
  2. 12年2020月XNUMX日
    • 15年2020月XNUMX日
  3. 12年2020月XNUMX日
    • 15年2020月XNUMX日
  4. 12年2020月XNUMX日
    • 15年2020月XNUMX日
  5. 4年2020月XNUMX日
    • 15年2020月XNUMX日
      • 16年2020月XNUMX日
        • 7-2020-XNUMXTXNUMX:XNUMX:XNUMX

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

本網站使用Akismet來減少垃圾郵件。 了解您的評論如何處理.

A 5-day Road Trip Through Southwestern Nova Scotia

A road trip around Yarmouth and Acadian Shores, map and graphic showing suggested itinerary

When we planned our multi-family road trip to Brier Island via the South Shore and Yarmouth and Acadian Shores, we totally underestimated how much there is to explore. It’s like when tourists hit Cape Breton, and try to do it all in 48 hours  – it just can’t be done!

But we gave it our best shot, first driving from Liverpool to Shelburne, then on to the Tusket Islands, where we spent the night in a traditional sea shanty. Finally, we road-tripped to Brier Island for some whale watching fun, staying at our favourite campground in Digby Neck.

In total, the trip lasted five days and four nights, but we could have easily spent a couple of days more.

Below is a rough itinerary with travel tips and recommendations for places to stay and things to do. I hope you can use it to plan your own adventure, either creating a week-long road trip, or breaking up the itinerary into smaller weekend getaways.

1. The South Shore (Liverpool to Shelburne)

2. Yarmouth and Acadian Shores

3. Digby Neck and Brier Island

We are already planning our next journey to this wonderful, family-friendly region of Nova Scotia. See you there!

__________________________________________________

1. The South Shore (Liverpool to Shelburne)

Concrete Creations, Liverpool

Concrete Creations Liverpool Nova Scotia

One of the hundreds of incredible life-sized concrete statues behind Cosby’s Garden Centre/photo: Helen Earley

We kicked off our multi-family adventure by meeting at Concrete Creations, at Cosby’s Garden Centre on the outskirts of Liverpool. We’d been hearing a lot about this place, a large-scale passion project by Sculptor Ivan Higgins consisting of acres of wooded gardens with hundreds of magical lifelike sculptures, most untitled, apart from a date.  Tip: Stay off the sculptures, and on the paths! Although kids love this garden, it’s not a playground.

The Beaches of Queens County 

Clear water at Carter’s Beach/photo: Debbie Malaidack

Our second stop was Carter’s Beach  – a beach that could rival any in the Caribbean. The crystal clear water here is cold, but the sand and scenery is absolutely stunning, and there is plenty of space to set down your towel (parking is another story!)  Other nearby beaches we love are Summerville Beach, and the beaches at Thomas Raddall Provinical Park .

Historic Shelburne

The historic Shelburne Waterfront/photo: Tourism Nova Scotia, Acorn Art Photography

On our first night, we rented a beautiful Air BnB apartment, Steps to Shelburne, which was a stone’s throw from the waterfront, and also walking distance to a playground and skate park. This Air BnB host has another interesting property, across the road, Bruce House, which is steeped in history. Together, the combination of properties could accommodate a very large group (up to 15 people).

A Road Trip around Yarmouth and the Acadian Shores - Shelburne

A family picnic on the historic Shelburne Waterfront/photo: Helen Earley

There is plenty to do in Shelburne for kids, especially along the historic waterfront. On another trip, we would visit The Shelburne County Museum and the Dory Shop, where kids can help build a dory.  At Ross Thompson House, kids can spend an afternoon in the 18th century: churning butter, making candles, or tending a garden.  Movie buffs will be interested to know that Shelburne has been a popular filming location for many large-scale productions including the popular TV mini-series The Book of Negroes (2015). Check the excellent Shelburne Museums website for more information on family activities.

Black Loyalist Heritage Centre

Located just outside Shelburne, the Black Loyalist Heritage Centre celebrates the history of the Black Loyalists, who arrived in Nova Scotia between 1783 and 1785, as a result of the American Revolution –  the largest group of people of African birth and of African descent to come to Nova Scotia at any one time. The Black Loyalists have a rich history all over Nova Scotia, and this is where it all began.

The Black Loyalist Heritage Centre/Photo: Tourism Nova Scotia/Acorn Art Photography

__________________________________________________

2. Yarmouth and Acadian Shores 

Le Village historique acadien de la Nouvelle-Écosse

The Acadian expulsion of 1755 did not dampen the spirit of the Acadian culture in this region. Located on 17-acres overlooking Pubnico harbour, The Acadian Village (Le Village historique acadien de la Nouvelle-Écosse) offers an historical reenactment of what life was like for the Acadians further along in history, in the early 1900s. This is a must-do for any Nova Scotian, but especially wonderful for students of French in our province.

Yarmouth and Acadian Shores Acadian Village photo from Tourism NS Acorn Art

Acadian Village on the Yarmouth and Acadian Shores/Photo: Tourism Nova Scotia, Acorn Art Photography

Tusket Island 

One of the best ways to experience a culture is to hang out with the locals. But what if you don’t know anyone? The solution can be found at Tusket Island Tours, where the LeBlanc family will adopt you for the day by introducing you to their boat, their songs, their stories, their chowder recipe, and even their family cottage on Big Tusket Island.

The Tusket Island Tour costs $87 per person (or $55 for children under 18), and is definitely the best package tour in the region for families; the guide, Simon LeBlanc, is a former schoolteacher, and also works as a professional children’s entertainer.  Yes, he takes song requests!

A Road Trip around Yarmouth and the Acadian Shores - Tusket Island Tours

Tusket Island Tours: one of the most family-friendly tours we’ve ever experienced/photo: Helen Earley

For the grown-ups, Simon’s brother, Lucien offers deep sea fishing tours, including a day-long shark fishing expedition where you will lure or “chum” sharks, tag them for the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) and return them to the sea. The fishing charters starts at $115 per person. A day-long shark fishing tour is $1200 for a full, 9-hour day.

Most families simply take a tour, but on our road trip, we took the experience up a level and rented the cottage on Tusket Island, arriving in the afternoon fog, and waking up to clear skies.  The cottage, or “shanty” was built by the Le Blanc Brothers, who are among the region’s most respected boat builders.

The LeBlanc's Sea Shanty on Tusket Island; built by boat builders The LeBlanc brothers

The cottage or “sea shanty” on Tusket Island; built by boat builders The LeBlanc brothers/photo: Helen Earley

Mavilette Beach

Heading north toward the Fundy Shore, Mavilette Beach Provincial Park in Baie Sainte Marie, is a Mecca for runners, surfers and swimmers. The miles of flat sand make it perfect for children.

Mavilette Beach

Mavilette Beach/photo: Tourism Baie Sainte Marie, Joey Robichaud

__________________________________________________

3. Digby Neck and Brier Island

Whale Cove Campground, Digby Neck

As a base for our Brier Island adventures, we stayed two nights at one of our favourite campgrounds, Whale Cove Campground. On the first night, we arrived late, having come from a fun and busy day on Tusket Island,  and we were so very grateful for Whale Cove’s Rent a Tent Service, where for $50  your tent, chairs, and plates pots and pans are all ready for you at your campsite. Even the mattresses inside are inflated!

The next morning, we were up early, to get a place in line for the Tiverton ferry. I recommend staying somewhere in the region if you are whale watching. The drive to Brier Island includes two car ferries, which leave on a timed schedule. It’s best to relax and enjoy the journey, rather than rush.

Rent at tent at whale cove campground

The rent a tent service at Whale Cove Campground provides everything you need/ photo: Helen Earley

Mariner Whale and Seabird Tours, Brier Island

Mariner Whale and Seabird Tours is the best tour for families on Brier Island. Highlights can include a hot drink and cookies (under normal circumstances!), and an education presentation with props such as baleen and even whale lice. On our day out, we saw a spectacular display from a group of three playful humpback whales who seemed to have been waiting for us!

Whale Watching at Brier Island

Whale Watching with Mariner Whale and Seabird Cruises/photo: Helen Earley

Just Above Water Café, Tiverton

Whale watching is surprisingly hungry work. Lucky for us, the  Just Above Water Cafe  in Tiverton is located just before the final ferry passage back to Digby Neck. We decided to have supper there, rather than rummage around in our cooler back at the campsite. The food is not fancy, but it’s delicious! Tip: the Nor’ Easter Burger is definitely worth missing the boat for.

Just Above Water Cafe in Tiverton

Just Above Water Cafe in Tiverton; try the Nor’Easter burger/photo: Helen Earley

Maud Lewis Replica House

On our way back to Halifax, we stopped at the Maud Lewis Replica House, a true-to-scale replica built and created by Murray Ross, a retired fisherman who knew Maud Lewis as a neighbour when he was a child. His beautiful reconstruction of the house is to be admired -and he’s something of a folk artist himself!

If you want to know more about Maud Lewis, the movie Maudie is a great introduction for teens and grown-ups, while the book The Illuminated Life of Maud Lewis, makes a nice addition to your family collection.

Maud Lewis Replica House

Our teens ready to enter the replica Maud Lewis house/photo: Helen Earley

On our next trip to Southwestern Nova Scotia…

We  can’t wait to go back to the region. Next time, we have vowed to explore the Pubnicos, and explore more of Baie Sainte Marie, including Church Point. We’d also like to do more hiking around Brier Island and Digby Neck.

Finally, there’s a brand new tour, Bay of Fundy Scenic Lobster Tours, which runs out of Digby Neck, and offers an excellent view of Balancing Rock, as well as an insight into the lobster industry, from the point of view of a female first mate!

Have you been to the South Shore, Yarmouth and Acadian Shores or Brier Island?  What attractions did we miss?

Please tell us in the comments! 🙂

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
8 Comments
  1. September 12, 2020
    • September 15, 2020
  2. September 12, 2020
    • September 15, 2020
  3. September 12, 2020
    • September 15, 2020
  4. September 4, 2020
    • September 15, 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.