與孩子一起在新斯科舍省要做的10件事

與孩子一起在新斯科舍省要做的10件事

帶孩子的新斯科舍省景點

哈利法克斯海濱/照片:NS觀光局,Len Wagg

無論您是留在大陸還是前往布雷頓角山脈,您都將在您的家鄉加拿大新斯科舍省遇到友好的人們,價格合理的住宿以及許多活動。 您可以在哈利法克斯港(Halifax harbour)進行海灘,湖泊,賞鯨,垂釣,古董,葡萄酒之旅和市區娛樂等娛樂活動。 從美食角度來說,幾乎每一個轉彎時,您都會被新鮮,美味的海鮮和炸魚薯條卡車所吸引,這是您的不二選擇。 不要忘記品嚐當地的啤酒和葡萄酒-我們這個不起眼的省份正成為侍酒師和啤酒鑑賞家的熱點!

這是在新斯科舍省與孩子一起做的10件事,有很多有用的鏈接(以便您可以提前預訂),還有一些我們多年來撰寫的其他文章的鏈接,因此您可以了解如何期望。

旅途愉快!

1.成為哈利法克斯市區的遊客

與孩子們在新斯科舍省景點玩樂

與孩子一起在新斯科舍省要做的事情:海浪/照片:Helen Earley

您在新斯科舍省首府的第一站應該是不可思議的 哈利法克斯城堡 –城市頂部的軍事要塞。 享受當地的民間藝術 新斯科舍美術館,為新科學預留了一個下午 發現中心。 或者只是花一天時間漫步在海濱的所有市場,售貨亭和娛樂場所。 如果您喜歡冒險,可以租一輛自行車,Segway或 我愛騎自行車。 而且不要忘了哈利法克斯時髦的妹妹達特茅斯,就在海港對面。 您可以花2.50美元乘渡輪前往達特茅斯。

點擊這裡閱讀我們的故事 港口兩側的遊樂場。

2.在21號碼頭探索您的家譜

Pier 21系列

位於21號碼頭 加拿大移民博物館 擁有直到1935年大部分降落的旅客名單和船隻記錄。如果您的家譜中有任何人以移民或難民身份來到加拿大,則可以研究他們的歷史。 別忘了探索博物館本身的優秀展品-一些適合兒童的互動展品。

這個博物館對所有年齡段的人都是夢幻般的。 請點擊 按此 了解我們對21號碼頭的訪問。

3.在佩吉灣過夜

新斯科舍景點

The Breakwater Inn的Shorty夫婦/照片:Helen Earley

美麗 佩吉灣 燈塔是標誌性的海上寶藏。 爬過巨大的花崗岩巨石,在世界上被拍照最多的燈塔之一旁邊拍照。 在Sou'Wester餐廳內,您可以品嚐一塊溫暖的薑餅-這家特色菜。 為什麼不將一日遊變成通宵冒險呢? 對於豪華,留在 海洋石度假村。 對於高檔的,值得Instagram的小屋,請嘗試 燈塔巷小屋,並希望在價格便宜的美景中享受便宜又開朗的汽車旅館住宿,請在 克利夫蒂灣微粒l.

閱讀我們的故事:佩吉的海灣比燈塔還有更多”或查看我們的列表 佩吉灣的住宿地點。

4.在白點海灘度假村放鬆

與孩子一起在新斯科舍省要做的10件事

白點海灘度假村/照片:海倫·厄利

自1920年代以來,美國家庭就一直在新斯科舍省南岸旅行,其中許多人會在當地著名的90歲老人的小屋裡 白點海灘旅館。 在一個包羅萬象的假期中,您彷彿回到了過去,在沙灘上租了一間小屋,在寬敞的飯廳裡用餐,然後寵愛住在岸邊的野兔。 白點海灘(White Point beach)是一次真正神奇的時光倒流,如果您喜歡簡單,夏天的回憶,那是與孩子們在新斯科舍省最好的事情之一。

我們愛上了 White Point早在2014年冬季,但它仍然是我們最喜歡的故事之一。

5.駕駛卡博特步道

與孩子一起在新斯科舍省要做的事情:從凱蒂坎普(Cheticamp)社區與宜人海灣(Pleasant Bay)社區之間進行的眾多look望活動之一,可欣賞布雷頓角高地國家公園(Cater Breton Highlands National Park)卡博特步道(Cabot Trail)的全景

卡博特步道/照片:NS旅遊

駛過布雷頓角(Cape Breton)堤道時,您會感覺自己已經進入了另一個世界。 沿著卡博特步道的行車路線被認為是世界上最好的公路旅行之一,尤其是在秋天樹葉多變的時候。 一路上,發現 布雷頓角高地國家公園中, 亞歷山大格雷厄姆貝爾博物 在Baddeck, 路易斯堡要塞國家歷史遺址。 給您的家人至少四天的時間去探索布雷頓角島(Cape Breton)-短一點,您會失望的。

閱讀我們的指南: 布雷頓角高地國家公園的12種家庭探險方式

6.把腳趾放在沙子裡

與孩子克利夫蘭海灘的新斯科舍省景點玩樂照片Helen Earley

克利夫蘭海灘/照片:海倫·厄利

您距新斯科舍省的海灘僅30分鐘路程,這裡總有一個可以在陽光下放鬆或放鬆的地方。 許多海灘有柔軟的白棕色沙灘。 有些像 希特爾的海灘 在南岸,是一塊沙錢和貝殼的寶庫。 馬提尼克 亦於 勞倫斯敦 海灘非常適合大浪和衝浪。 昆士蘭海灘, 克利夫蘭海灘 亦於 水晶新月 是哈利法克斯附近的當地美食。

7.吞噬龍蝦晚餐

哈伯茲海岸俱樂部

海岸俱樂部:龍蝦晚餐的最佳去處/照片:海倫·厄利

不要離開新斯科舍省,享受傳統的龍蝦晚飯,黃油,涼拌捲心菜和軟麵包卷。 如果您不是專業人士,請不要擔心-將提供所有工具,服務員會愉快地向您展示如何打碎貝殼,並撬出美味的龍蝦肉。 您走得越遠,票價越優惠-試試 哈伯茲的海岸俱樂部 最好的之一(今年,他們正在採用Covid風格)。 如果您在冬天渴望龍蝦,趕快來 南岸龍蝦爬網,每年XNUMX月舉行的休閒烹飪節。

這裡有 在新斯科舍省龍蝦上用餐的5種方式一定會讓您大吃一驚。

8.睡在車裡

火車站Inn Tatamagouche

Tatamagouche火車站酒店,照片:Helen Earley

與孩子一起在新斯科舍省做的最奇怪的事情之一是在新斯科舍省過夜 火車站旅館 位於新斯科舍省北岸的Tatamagouche鎮。 睡在翻新的守車或棚車中,在餐車中享用美味的當地美食。 探索城鎮本身和附近的海岸線,那裡有溫暖的淺水區,非常適合游泳。

9.去觀鯨

與孩子一起在新斯科舍省要做的10件事

在芬迪灣觀鯨/照片:海倫·厄利

賞鯨之旅可以提前預定,也可以偶然預定,具體取決於季節。 嘗試Digby Neck和Brier Island,這是觀看鯨魚和其他海洋生物的絕佳機會。 我們推薦 水手鯨和海鳥巡遊。 別忘了帶上保暖外套和防曬霜。

小貼士:我們最喜歡留在該地區的地方是超級友好 鯨灣營地.

10.品嚐安納波利斯山谷

孩子們蘋果採摘

在安納波利斯山谷,驚嘆米納斯盆地的赤泥灘,那裡的潮汐是世界上最高的。 在宜人的大學城吃午餐 沃爾夫維爾。 十月份,沃爾夫維爾(Wolfville)是一家國際巨頭的古樸之處– 吞食!, 世界上最大的電影和美食節。 當然,簡單地挑選合適的食物是美好的一天。

如果您沒有孩子旅行(我們建議您至少偶爾旅行一次), 沃爾夫維爾魔術釀酒廠巴士 是美好的一天。 “山谷”也贏得了葡萄酒熱點的聲譽。 冰酒或任何起泡酒通常都很美味。

為什麼不告訴我們您最喜歡與孩子們在新斯科舍省做的事情?

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

本網站使用Akismet來減少垃圾郵件。 了解您的評論如何處理.

10 Things to Do in Nova Scotia with Kids

10 Things to Do in Nova Scotia with Kids

Things to do in Nova Scotia with kids

Halifax Waterfront/photo: Tourism NS, Len Wagg

Whether you stay on the mainland, or head to the mountains of Cape Breton, you’ll encounter friendly folks, reasonably priced accommodation, and plenty of things to do in your home province of Nova Scotia, Canada. For play, think beaches, lakes, whale watching, fishing, antiquing, wine tours and downtown city fun along Halifax harbour. Food-wise, you are spoiled for choice with fresh, delicious seafood and fish n’ chip trucks at nearly every turn. Don’t forget to sample the local beer and wine – our humble province is becoming a hotspot for sommeliers and beer-connoisseurs!

Here are 10 things to do in Nova Scotia with kids, with plenty of useful links (so that you can book ahead), and also some links to other articles we’ve written over the years, so you can get an idea of what to expect.

Happy Travels!

1. Be a Tourist in Downtown Halifax

Things to Do in Nova Scotia with Kids: The Wave

Things to Do in Nova Scotia with Kids: The Wave/photo: Helen Earley

Your first stop in Nova Scotia’s capital should be the incredible Halifax Citadel – a military fortification at the top of the city. Enjoy local folk art at The Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, set aside an afternoon for the new science Discovery Centre. or just spend a day strolling through all the markets, kiosks and entertainment along the waterfront. If you’re adventurous rent a bike, Segway or I Heart Bikes. And don’t forget Halifax’s hip little sister, Dartmouth, just across the harbour. You can take a ferry ride across to Dartmouth for $2.50.

Click here to read our story about Playgrounds on both sides of the harbour.

2. Explore your Genealogy at Pier 21

Pier 21 Family

Located at Pier 21, the Canadian Museum of Immigration has passenger lists and ships’ records for most landings up to 1935. If there is anyone in your family tree who came to Canada as an immigrant or refugee, you can research their history. Don’t forget to explore the excellent exhibits in the museum itself – there are some wonderful interactive exhibits for kids.

This museum is fantastic for all ages. Click here to read about our visit to Pier 21.

3. Stay Overnight at Peggy’s Cove

Things to do in Nova Scotia

Mr. and Mrs. Shorty at The Breakwater Inn/photo: Helen Earley

Beautiful Peggy’s Cove lighthouse an iconic Maritime treasure. Clamber across the enormous granite boulders and grab a selfie next to one of the world’s most photographed lighthouses. Inside the Sou’Wester restaurant, treat yourself to a piece of warm gingerbread – the house specialty.  Why not turn your day trip into an overnight adventure? For luxury, stay at The Oceanstone Resort. For upmarket, Instagram-worthy cottages, try Lighthouse Lane Cottages, and for cheap and cheerful motel accommodation with priceless view, book a room at the Clifty Cove Motel.

Read our story: “There’s More to Peggy’s Cove than a Lighthouse” or Check out our list of places to stay at Peggy’s Cove.

4. Relax at White Point Beach Resort

10 Things to Do in Nova Scotia with Kids

White Point Beach Resort/photo: Helen Earley

American families have been travelling to the South Shore of Nova Scotia since the 1920’s and many of them would take a cottage at the locally famous 90 year-old White Point Beach Lodge. For an all-inclusive holiday that feels like you’ve stepped back in time, rent a cottage on the beach, take your meals in the grand dining room, and pet the wild rabbits that live along the shore. White Point beach is a truly magical step back in time, and something one of the best things to do in Nova Scotia with kids, if you love making simple, summer memories.

We fell in love with White Point back in the winter 2014, and it’s still one of our favourite stories.

5. Drive the Cabot Trail

Things to Do in Nova Scotia with Kids: Panoramic views of the Cabot Trail in Cape Breton Highlands National Park from one of the many lookoffs between the communities of Cheticamp and Pleasant Bay

The Cabot Trail/photo: Tourism NS

As soon as you drive across the Cape Breton causeway, you will feel like you’ve entered another world. The drive along the Cabot trail is considered one of the world’s best road trips, especially in the autumn when the leaves are changing. Along the way, discover the Cape Breton Highlands National Park, the Alexander Graham Bell Museum in Baddeck, and the Fortress Louisbourg National Historic Site. Give your family at least four days to explore Cape Breton – any shorter and you will be disappointed.

Read our guide: 12 Ways to Have Fun with the Family Adventures in Cape Breton Highlands National Park

6. Put Your Toes in the Sand

Things to do in Nova Scotia with Kids Cleveland Beach photo Helen Earley

Cleveland Beach/ photo: Helen Earley

You ‘re never more than 30 minutes from a beach in Nova Scotia – there’s always a spot to cool off or relax in the sun. Many of the beaches have soft white-brown sand. Some, like Hirtle’s Beach on the South Shore, are a treasure trove of sand dollars and shells. Martinique and Lawrencetown beaches are great for big waves and surfing. Queensland beach, Cleveland beach and Crystal Crescent are local favourites near Halifax.

7. Devour a Lobster Supper

Shore Club, Hubbards

Shore Club: best place for a lobster supper/photo: Helen Earley

Don’t leave Nova Scotia without enjoying a traditional lobster supper, with melted butter, coleslaw and soft bread rolls. Don’t worry if you’re not a pro – all the tools will be provided and waiters will happily show you how to break the shell, and pry out the delicious lobster meat. The further out of town you go, the better the fare – try the Shore Club in Hubbards for one of the best (this year, they’re doing it Covid-style). If you’re craving lobster in the winter, catch the South Shore Lobster Crawl, a laid-back culinary festival that happens each February.

Here are 5 Ways to Dine on Nova Scotia Lobster that will Definitely Surprise You.

8. Sleep in a Caboose

Train Station Inn Tatamagouche

Train Station Inn, Tatamagouche/photo: Helen Earley

One of the quirkiest things to do in Nova Scotia with kids is to sleep overnight at the Train Station Inn in the town of Tatamagouche on Nova Scotia’s North Shore. Sleep in a refurbished caboose or boxcar and enjoy a delicious local menu in the dining car. Explore the town itself and the nearby coastline for warm, shallow water, great for swimming.

9. Go Whale Watching

10 Things to Do in Nova Scotia with Kids

Whale Watching on the Bay of Fundy/photo: Helen Earley

Whale watching tours can be booked in advance, or by chance, depending on the season. Try Digby Neck and Brier Island for great opportunities to see whales and other sea life. We recommend Mariner Whale and Seabird Cruises. Don’t forget to bring a warm jacket and sunscreen.

Top tip: Our favourite place to stay in this area is the super-friendly Whale Cove Campground.

10. Taste the Annapolis Valley

Kids apple picking

In the Annapolis Valley, marvel at the red mud flats of the Minas Basin, which boasts the highest tides in the world. Have lunch in the pleasant university town of Wolfville. In October, Wolfville is the quaint location for an international giant – Devour!, the world’s largest film and food festival. And of course, simply picking appples is a great day out.

If you’re travelling sans kids (which we recommend, at least once in a while) the Wolfville Magic Winery Bus is a great day out. “The Valley” is also gaining a reputation as a hotspot for wines. Ice wine, or anything sparkling is usually delicious.

Why not tell us some of your favourite things to do in Nova Scotia with kids?

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates