在新斯科舍省茨维克斯湖上的老十点放松一下

老十点标志

新斯科舍省有很多不寻常的Air BnB。 但 老十点 在新奥尔巴尼的Zwickers湖上,新斯科舍省有一些特别之处:私人海滩,迷人的当地历史-以及带有私人甲板的Boler旅行拖车。

登录新斯科舍省Air BnB独特的老十点

10号公路沿线的老十景点/照片:Helen Earley

十点之所以得名,是因为它沿着10号高速公路被发现,是整个1970年代末期和1980年代末的家庭露营地和迷你高尔夫球场,其海滩为当地人提供了游泳的地方。 在周末,一条狭窄的土路将排满要去海滩野餐的家庭的汽车,每年,当地社区将举行一次慈善性的北极熊游泳活动。

新斯科舍省Air BnB独特的老十点沙滩湖

Zwickers湖的沙滩/照片:Helen Earley

现在该物业和海滩是私人的,是莎拉(Sarah)和基思·库查尔斯基(Keith Kucharski)及其家人的家,他们出租了Air BnB的三处物业:一间卧室的小屋,两间卧室的小屋和Boler。

当我们在七月份住在“老十点”时,我们住在一间卧室的小屋里,但与Boler的客人聊天,这对年长的夫妇在他们的第一个假期没有孩子。 当他们在自己的私人甲板上放松,划着皮划艇,扔洗衣机并烧烤时,杰斐逊飞机和甲壳虫乐队的柔和声音浮到我们的机舱。

老十点的红钻,是新斯科舍省的一家Air BnB

Boler的梦想:俯瞰Zwickers湖的红色Boler /照片:Matt McMullen

“布尔人吸引了一定的人群,”莎拉告诉我。 人群中包括喜欢放松的夫妇,当然还有Boler爱好者。 摄影师和Instagram使用者也很喜欢,他们在“老十点”预定了一个夜晚,希望能得到一个不错的照片。

独特的新斯科舍省(Nova Scotia)Air BnB老十点(The Old Ten Spot)屋顶下垂的乡村小屋

一居室小屋:就像住在“营地” /照片:海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

但是,尽管Boler是情侣和Instagrammars的理想之选,但我们的一居室小屋却是家外之家,非常适合一家人。 在老十点就像住在一个朋友的营地。 这里没有钟声,只有开放的横梁,乡村风格的家具(包括双层床)以及无与伦比的床上用品和陶器。 一个不错的感觉是,一叠厚而蓬松的毛巾用来淋浴,外加一套湖边的沙滩毛巾。

老十点(独特的新斯科舍省航空BnB)上设有福米卡桌子的乡村厨房

厨房设备齐全/照片:Helen Earley

厨房区拥有您可以想象到的所有东西-大型冰箱,微波炉和烤面包机,并带有本世纪中叶的古怪风格,例如耐热玻璃碗和牛奶玻璃咖啡杯。 还有一张神话般的镀铬和福米卡厨房餐桌,在我们住宿的第一天早上,我们吃了新鲜的鸡蛋,鸡蛋是由主人赠送的一小撮绿白色和棕色鸡蛋制成的。 稍后我们会见到放置它们的鸡!

新鲜鸡蛋和与鸡交往

在“老十大景点”中,鸡蛋超凡的时间/照片:Helen Earley

但是最重​​要的是Zwickers湖和酒店的海滩-从我们机舱的甲板上可以看到一小条柔软的棕色沙滩。 从我们登记入住的那一刻起,我的孩子就躺在沙滩上,,着脚趾。 不久之后,他们就漂流到木筏上,划着皮划艇。 我们需要的所有东西都在海滩上等着我们–皮划艇,儿童皮划艇,桨,救生衣。 在我们的最后一个早晨,我儿子和我借用了全尺寸的独木舟,准备了美丽的日出桨。

从木筏在新斯科舍省茨维克湖跳入水中

在我们度假的大部分时间里,孩子们都在水里//照片:海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

就附近的景点而言 安纳波利斯罗亚尔奥克劳恩农场动物园 不到45分钟的路程(朝着不同的方向)。 在从哈利法克斯出发的旅程中,我们沿着101号公路穿过安纳波利斯山谷,创造了一个迷你公路旅行。回家的路上,我们沿着10号公路向南行驶,然后沿103号公路返回哈利法克斯,沿着 南岸 新斯科舍省。

Boler看上去很棒,但是对于一个忙碌的家庭来说,这是不正确的,因为他们脚步沙沙地往返湖中,每半小时就有小声乞讨小吃。 因此,现在,在“老十点”度过了轻松的家庭假期之后,我不禁梦见了一个周末 经过反复的改良试验, 孩子们。

我正在打包我的杰斐逊飞机CD。 布尔人在呼!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
4条评论
  1. 23年2020月XNUMX日
    • 15年2020月XNUMX日
  2. 23年2020月XNUMX日
    • 15年2020月XNUMX日

Chilling Out at The Old Ten Spot on Nova Scotia’s Zwickers Lake

The Old Ten Spot Logo

There are plenty of unusual Air BnBs in Nova Scotia. But The Old Ten Spot on Zwickers Lake in New Albany, Nova Scotia has something special: a private beach, a charming local history – and a  Boler travel trailer, with its own private deck.

Sign for The Old Ten Spot, a unique Nova Scotia Air BnB

The Old Ten Spot, along Highway 10/photo: Helen Earley

The Ten Spot, so named because it is found along Highway 10, was a family campground and mini-golf course throughout the late 1970’s and 1980’s, and its beach provided a place for locals to swim. On weekends, the small dirt road would be lined with the cars of families coming for a beach day picnic, and annually, the local community would hold a charity polar bear swim.

Sandy lake beach at The Old Ten Spot, a unique Nova Scotia Air BnB

The sandy beach at Zwickers Lake/photo: Helen Earley

Now the property and beach is private, the home of Sarah and Keith Kucharski and their family, who rent out three Air BnB properties: a one-bedroom cottage, a two-bedroom cottage,  and the Boler.

When we stayed at The Old Ten Spot in July, we stayed in the one bedroom cottage, but chatted with the Boler guests, an older couple on their first vacation without kids. As they relaxed on their private deck, paddled kayaks, played washer toss, and barbecued, the soft sounds of Jefferson Airplane and The Beatles floated up to our cabin.

A red boler at The Old Ten Spot a unique Nova Scotia Air BnB

Boler Dreams: The red Boler overlooking Zwickers Lake/photo: Matt McMullen

“The Boler attracts a certain crowd,” Sarah tells me. The crowd includes couples who like to chill, and of course Boler enthusiasts. It’s also a hit with photographers and Instagrammers, who book a night at The Old Ten Spot, hoping to get a cool shot.

Rustic cabin with sagging roof at The Old Ten Spot, a unique Nova Scotia Air BnB

The one-bedroom cabin: like staying “at the camp”/photo: Helen Earley

But while the Boler is perfect for couples and Instagrammars, our one-bedroom cottage was a home away from home – perfect for a family. Being at the Old Ten Spot is like staying at a friend’s camp. No bells and whistles here –  just open beams, rustic well-loved furniture (including a bunk bed) and unmatched bedding and crockery. A nice touch was a stack of thick, fluffy towels for the shower,  plus a set of beach towels for the lake.

The rustic kitchen with formica table at the The Old Ten Spot, a unique Nova Scotia Air BnB

The kitchen was well equipped/photo: Helen Earley

The kitchen area had everything you could imagine – a full-sized fridge, microwave and toaster oven, with quirky mid-century accents such as Pyrex bowls and milk glass coffee cups. There was also a fabulous chrome and Formica kitchen table, where on the first morning of our stay we ate fresh eggs, from a small punnet of green white and brown eggs left as a welcome gift by our host. Later we would meet the chickens who laid them!

Fresh eggs and socializing with chickens

An egg-traordinary time at The Old Ten Spot/photo: Helen Earley

But the highlight was Zwickers Lake and the beach at the property – a small strip of soft brown sand that can be seen from the deck of our cabin. From the moment we checked in, my kids were down at the beach, dipping their toes.  It wasn’t long before they were swimming out to the raft and paddling in kayaks. Everything we needed was there waiting for us on the beach – kayaks, kids’ kayaks, paddles, lifejackets. On our last morning, my son and I borrowed the full-sized canoe for a beautiful sunrise paddle.

jumping into the water from a raft at Zwicker's lake in Nova Scotia

The kids were in the water for most of our vacation//photo: Helen Earley

In terms of nearby attractions, Annapolis Royal, and Oaklawn Farm Zoo are less than 45 minutes away (in different directions). On our journey from Halifax we created a mini road trip by travelling through Annapolis Valley along the 101. On our way home, we completed a the loop by driving south down Highway 10, then back to Halifax along the 103, exploring the South Shore of Nova Scotia.

The Boler was fabulous to look at, but it wouldn’t have been right for a busy family with sandy feet running to and from the lake, and little voices begging for snacks every half hour. So now, after a relaxing family vacation at The Old Ten Spot, I can’t help dreaming about a weekend away without the kids.

I’m packing my Jefferson Airplane CDs. The Boler is calling!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
4 Comments
  1. August 23, 2020
    • September 15, 2020
  2. August 23, 2020
    • September 15, 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.