凱吉姆庫吉克國家公園的獨木舟之旅

在她最終同意之前,我幾次要求成年女兒伊莎貝拉(Isabella)和我一起去新斯科舍省Kejimkujik國家公園進行一次獨木舟之旅。 我確信她的猶豫和不冷不熱的熱情是我將她加入其中的跡象。

Kejimkujik湖上的早晨照片Darc​​y Rhyno

Kejimkujik湖上的早晨照片Darc​​y Rhyno

當我們到達傑克降落場的公園裝載並發射獨木舟時,我們發現其他人也在做同樣的事情。 父母將小救生衣放在他們的小孩和狗身上。 父母將“獨木舟”,“獨木舟”,“划槳”和“ PFD”帶到了Keji的裝備商Whynot Adventure那裡。 我被帶回了十五年前,那時我們的家人也照做了。 我會把伊莎貝拉的弟弟用串聯皮划艇的弓箭pl一下,劃出槳來看看龍。 隨著年齡的增長,他和我前往曠野的獨木舟旅行,前往新斯科舍省越來越崎and和偏遠的地區。

相反,伊莎貝拉不是戶外活動的人。 她在人與人之間都不是完全舒服的。 像許多年輕女性一樣,她一直對自己的外表保持意識。 當我們準備從其他船上駛下時,我注意到她的裝束與眾不同,並使用自己的公共聲音。

Kejimkujik的Ritchie島上的露營地NP Photo Darcy Rhyno

Kejimkujik的Ritchie島上的露營地NP Photo Darcy Rhyno

在划船到我們在里奇島(Ritchie Island)上的偏遠露營地的湖上,她似乎放鬆了,即使風浪都起了。 我認為情況一定使她感到恐懼。 當我們到達營地並在高鐵杉,松樹和楓樹的樹冠下搭起我們的小帳篷時,我擔心她會發現在“老人”旁邊睡覺很尷尬。 當我們找到外屋時,我擔心她會發現它比謹慎的東西更令人討厭。 加上昆蟲,我們的食物袋要掛著熊,沒有電或自來水,我擔心這對於我敏感,脆弱的女孩來說太過分了。

我再也不會錯了。 我們短暫的曠野之旅使我驚訝於她的私人動機,對自然的驚奇反應,情感生活以及思想過程。

禮來公司的水,Kejimkujik湖照片達西·Rhyno

睡蓮,Kejimkujik湖照片達西·Rhyno

大自然就是魔術

伊莎貝拉(Isabella)在渥太華的大學裡度過了暑假,在那裡她正在攻讀研究生學位,並與男友一起生活。 他的想法是,她逃離安大略省夏天的高溫,逃到大西洋泡沫,並離開了COVID-19封鎖將他們限制了幾個月的公寓。 她度過了暑假,在遠程工作,查找高中朋友,享受自己喜歡的愛好,縫紉。

當然,一個處於鎖定狀態的悶熱的城市公寓有幽閉恐懼症,但是我想知道一個零個人空間的小帳篷呢? 令我驚訝的是,她最大的擔憂是失去了睡眠。 她這麼說:“如果你打ore,我會殺了你。” “我一直在你身邊。 我見過最壞和最慘的。 我可以享受時間,而不是不斷地開心和興奮地離開。 好累 但是有了你,我就不必那樣做。”

Whynot Adventure的租賃,Keji Photo Darcy Rhyno的裝備者

Whynot Adventure的租賃,Keji Photo Darcy Rhyno的裝備者

設置營地後,我們去了日落槳。 我們滑入臨近的小穆伊斯島(Little Muise Island)後面的風中,那裡的風不會使我們疲憊,讓獨木舟在鏡面光滑的表面上漂流。 島的盡頭是橢圓形的巨石,一對懶人正在釣魚。 而不是打擾他們,我們向東駛向厄爾島。 當我們接近時,我們看到三個獨木舟在卵石灘上被拉起並聽到聲音。 男性的聲音。 年輕人大喊,大笑,並且玩著馬蹄鐵或洗衣機之類的遊戲。 毫無疑問,涉及飲酒。 開玩笑地,我建議我們停下來,和男孩們一起喝啤酒。

“不!” 是伊莎貝拉(Isabella)加快步伐的反應。 她避免這些的原因不是我所期望的。 “我確定他們是好人,但年輕人通常都很吵,而我只是沒有像這樣的小偷小摸的人的社交能量。” 她25歲到40歲。“您必須給自己打幾巴掌,微笑,然後假裝自己想過得開心。 但是我真的只是在考慮我想念的縫製或本可以閱讀的章節。”

伊莎貝拉(Isabella)在Kejimkujik湖上划槳圖片Darc​​y Rhyno

伊莎貝拉(Isabella)在Kejimkujik湖上划槳圖片Darc​​y Rhyno

我想起了社交焦慮如何困擾著她,但後來我想起​​她有時會尋求與自然世界相遇以平息這些焦慮。 大自然從來沒有比國家公園更重要。

她解釋說:“起初,安靜的荒野使我感到壓力,因為發生的事情還不夠。” “我習慣於看YouTube或Netflix或在做其他事情的同時打開收音機。” 她說,我們被日常生活和問題的細節所困擾,我們失去了見識。 似乎違反直覺,但她的焦慮因她的小而消失。 “當我在曠野呆了一段時間時,我意識到我並不那麼重要。 您可能會在這裡度過整個週末,樹木仍然會繼續做他們正在做的事情。 自然不在乎。”

 

營火傳說

回到營地,我們準備晚餐-從零開始,包括玉米餅在內的牛肉炸玉米餅。 她通常不喜歡做飯,但是我們在一起工作時彼此都很喜歡。 當我問她為什麼她最終決定陪我旅行時,她為我帶來另一個驚喜。

“我通常和媽媽一起度過很多時間,因為我們喜歡所有相同的事物-縫紉,購物,挑選彼此的衣服,閒聊。” 她補充說,她的動機與最初把她帶回新斯科舍省的動機混合在一起。 “我因為大流行而回到家,但也因為現在感覺像我是獨子。”

伊莎貝拉(Isabella)在Keji Photo上享受她的炸玉米餅照片Darc​​y Rhyno

伊莎貝拉(Isabella)在Keji Photo上享受她的炸玉米餅照片Darc​​y Rhyno

她的話讓我震驚。 一段時間以來,她的兄弟和女友禁止伊莎貝拉與他們接觸。 有一天,三個是最好的朋友。 接下來,她的名字不被說出來。 後來,他們將他的母親和我放在同一堵牆後面。 聖誕節,生日,母親節,父親節來來去去。 如果與死亡或文件無關,則不允許這樣做。 我們不確定為什麼。

她繼續說道:“我知道你們的努力有多艱辛。” “現在不是時候讓你一個人呆著。 當一個孩子自願缺席時,您必須是兩個孩子。 當您邀請我劃獨木舟時,我就想到了這一點。 通常,您會給他打電話的,而他會去這次旅行的。”

我要擁抱她。 她記得我和弟弟曾經乘獨木舟深入荒野,沿著孤立的水道找到我們的路線,在日落時露營。 我和她正在共享一個小帳篷。 她知道我會感到損失。

我的女兒現在是一個對他人充滿同情心的女人。 她了解自己的情感面貌,因此敏銳地意識到了我們的情感面貌。 她了解保持平整龍骨所需的條件,並且可以以相同的方式衡量我們的需求。 在我們野生的Kejimkujik島上自然而然地種著所有這些樹木,岩石和水,這使她的煩惱成為現實。 她想要我也一樣。

黃昏時,沒有聲音,只有懶人的寂寞電話和篝火的嘶啞。 我問她是否想談一談任何嚴重的事情,因為我知道當她表達自己的煩惱時,煩惱會逐漸消失。

片刻後,她說:“我什麼都沒想。 那是自然的魔力。” 她也不想再談她的兄弟,所以她問我是否有話要說。 她說:“我所處理的事情使我更容易聽到你的聲音。” 所以,我說。 正如我所做的那樣,我的煩惱隨著散落在所有這些樹木之間的湖水的微風逐漸消失。

露營地的日落,Keji照Darcy Rhyno

露營地的日落,Keji照Darcy Rhyno

 

達西·里諾(Darcy Rhyno)

達西·里諾(Darcy Rhyno)是一位屢獲殊榮的旅行作家/攝影師,他在兩次旅行之間躲藏在新斯科舍省南岸的一個小漁村里。 在以下位置查看他的兩個短篇小說集,兩個小說,戲劇,照片和獎項。 darcyrhyno.com.

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新
標籤:

A Wilderness Canoe Trip to Kejimkujik National Park

I ask my adult daughter Isabella several times to join me on a wilderness canoe trip to Kejimkujik National Park in Nova Scotia before she finally agrees. I’m sure her hesitation and lukewarm enthusiasm are signs that I’ve badgered her into it.

Morning on Kejimkujik Lake Photo Darcy Rhyno

Morning on Kejimkujik Lake Photo Darcy Rhyno

When we arrive in the park at Jake’s Landing to load and launch our canoe, we find others doing the same. Moms and dads fit little lifejackets onto their toddlers and their dogs. Parents carry rental canoes and kayaks, paddles and PFDs to the water from Whynot Adventure, the outfitter here at Keji. I’m transported back fifteen years to when our family did the same. I would plunk Isabella’s little brother in the bow of a tandem kayak and paddle out to see the loons. As he grew older, he and I went on wilderness canoe trips to increasingly rugged and remote areas of Nova Scotia.

In contrast, Isabella is not an outdoorsy person. Neither is she entirely comfortable among people. Like many young women, she has always been self-conscious about her looks. As we prepare to cast off from among the other boats, I notice she’s carrying herself differently and using her public voice.

Campsite on Ritchie Island, Kejimkujik NP Photo Darcy Rhyno

Campsite on Ritchie Island, Kejimkujik NP Photo Darcy Rhyno

Out on the lake paddling to our backcountry campsite on Ritchie Island, she seems to relax, even as the wind and waves pick up. I think the conditions must be scaring her. When we reach our campsite and pitch our small tent beneath the canopy of tall hemlock, pine, and maple, I worry she’ll find it awkward to sleep next to “the old man.” When we locate the outhouse, I worry she’ll find it less than discreet and more than disgusting. Add insects, a bear hang for our food pack, the absence of electricity or running water, and I worry it’ll all be too much for my sensitive, fragile girl.

I couldn’t have been more mistaken. Our short wilderness trip reveals much that surprises me about her private motivations, her surprising responses to nature, her emotional life, and her thought processes.

Water lilly, Kejimkujik Lake Photo Darcy Rhyno

Water lily, Kejimkujik Lake Photo Darcy Rhyno

Nature is Magic

Isabella is home for the summer from university in Ottawa where she’s working on a graduate degree and lives with her boyfriend. It was his idea that she escape to the Atlantic bubble away from Ontario’s summer heat and out of the apartment where the COVID-19 lockdown had confined them for months. She’s spending the summer working remotely, looking up high school friends, and enjoying her favourite hobby, sewing.

Sure, a sweltering city apartment in a lockdown is claustrophobic, but what about a tiny tent with zero personal space, I want to know. To my surprise, her biggest concern is losing sleep. “If you snore, I’m gonna kill you,” is how she puts it. “I’m around you all the time. I’ve seen the worst and the grossest. I can enjoy the time rather than constantly trying to come off as happy and excited. It’s exhausting. But with you, I don’t have to do that.”

Rentals at Whynot Adventure, the outfitters at Keji Photo Darcy Rhyno

Rentals at Whynot Adventure, the outfitters at Keji Photo Darcy Rhyno

After we set up camp, we go for a sunset paddle. We slip into the lee behind neighbouring Little Muise Island where the wind won’t tire us and let the canoe drift over the mirror-smooth surface. The island ends in an ellipsis of boulders where a pair of loons is fishing. Rather than disturb them, we turn east toward Ell Island. As we approach, we see three canoes pulled up on a pebble beach and hear voices. Male voices. Young men are yelling, laughing, and playing a game like horseshoes or washers. Undoubtedly, drinking is involved. Jokingly, I suggested we stop in, have a beer with the boys.

“Hard no!” is Isabella’s response as she picks up her paddling pace. Her reasons for avoiding them are not what I expect. “I’m sure they’re nice guys, but young men are usually rowdy, and I just don’t have the social energy for whippersnappers like that.” She’s 25 going on 40. “You have to give yourself a few slaps, put on a smile, and pretend you want to have a good time. But I’m really just thinking about the sewing I’m missing or the chapter I could have read.”

Isabella paddling on Kejimkujik Lake Photo Darcy Rhyno

Isabella paddling on Kejimkujik Lake Photo Darcy Rhyno

I’m reminded of how social anxieties haunt her, but then I recall that she sometimes seeks encounters with the natural world to quell those anxieties. And nature is never more significant than in a national park.

“At first, quiet wilderness stresses me out because there’s not enough going on,” she explains. “I’m used to watching YouTube or Netflix or having the radio on while I do something else.” We get so caught up in the minutia of everyday life and our issues, we lose perspective, she says. It seems counterintuitive, but her anxiety fades because she feels small. “When I’m in the wilderness for a while, I realize I’m not that important. You could be out here for a whole weekend, and the trees are still going to keep doing what they’re doing. Nature doesn’t care.”

 

Campfire Tales

Back at the campsite, we prepare dinner – beef tacos from scratch, including the tortillas. She doesn’t usually like cooking, but we enjoy each other’s company as we work together. She has yet another surprise for me when I ask her why she finally decided to accompany me on this trip.

“I usually spend a ton of time with mom because we like all the same things – sewing, shopping, picking out each other’s outfits, gossiping.” She adds that her motivations were mixed with those that brought her back to Nova Scotia in the first place. “I’m home because of the pandemic, but also because now it feels like I’m an only child.”

Isabella enjoying her taco at Keji Photo Darcy Rhyno

Isabella enjoying her taco at Keji Photo Darcy Rhyno

Her words floor me. For some time, her brother and his girlfriend have forbidden Isabella any contact with them. One day the three were best friends. The next, her name was not to be spoken. Later, they placed his mother and I behind the same wall. Christmas, birthdays, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day have come and gone. If it doesn’t concern death or documents, it’s not permitted. We’re not sure why.

“I know how hard it’s been on you guys,” she continues. “It’s not the time to leave you alone. When one child is voluntarily absent, you have to be two children. I thought about this when you invited me canoeing. Normally, you’d have called him, and he would have gone on this trip.”

I want to hug her. She remembered that her brother and I once went on canoe trips deep into the wilderness, finding our route along isolated waterways, camping at sunset. Sharing a tiny tent as she and I are doing. She knew I’d be feeling the loss.

My daughter is now a woman who empathizes deeply with others. She knows her emotional landscape and is therefore acutely aware of ours. She understands what she needs to keep an even keel and can gauge our needs in the same way. Being in nature with all these trees, rocks, and water on our wild Kejimkujik island is putting her troubles in perspective. She wanted the same for me.

At dusk, there is no sound but the loons’ lonely calls and the crackling of the campfire. I ask if she’d like to talk about any serious matters because I know that when she voices her troubles, they tend to drift away.

After a pause, she says, “I can’t think of anything. It’s that nature magic.” She also doesn’t want to go over old ground yet again about her brother, so she asks if I have anything I want to talk about. “The stuff I’ve dealt with makes it easier for me to hear you out,” she says. So, I talk. As I do, my troubles drift away with the breeze off the lake that’s dissipating among all those trees.

Sunset from the campsite, Keji Photo Darcy Rhyno

Sunset from the campsite, Keji Photo Darcy Rhyno

 

By Darcy Rhyno

Darcy Rhyno is an award winning travel writer/photographer who hides out between trips in a tiny fishing village on Nova Scotia’s South Shore. Check out his two short story collections, two novels, plays, photos and awards at darcyrhyno.com.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates