移民故事:来自21展望的码头3加拿大移民博物馆的访问

在哈利法克斯(Halifax)21号码头新装修的加拿大移民博物馆,游客可以探索成为加拿大移民,难民或流离失所者的感受。 参观这个非凡的博物馆是一次有意义的经历,尤其是考虑到加拿大政府今年决定接纳25,000名来自叙利亚的难民。 很快,他们的声音将成为加拿大移民故事的一部分。

本着讲故事的精神,从21个不同的角度来描述我们对3号码头的访问:40岁,13岁和7岁。 希望您喜欢分享我们的经验:移民故事码头21哈利法克斯

海伦,40岁。
来自英格兰的移民1975

关于21号码头,令我震惊的一件事是,有些展品不舒服。 位于21号码头的加拿大移民博物馆不仅旨在庆祝我们的移民历史-而且还暴露出耻辱感,例如 Komogata Maru事件,政府政策(连续通道法案)是种族主义和排斥的工具,在这种情况下,锡克教徒的乘客离开了温哥华,被迫返回战乱的印度,尽管事实上每个人都是英国人。

对我来说,第二个更快乐的印象是从博物馆的高层俯瞰乔治岛。 每次看到它,我的心都充满敬畏之情。 站在博物馆导游告诉我们的地方,这么多年以来成千上万的新加拿大人的实际登船地点,这是非常有意义的:他们在加拿大土地上的第一个足迹。 多么令人振奋,多么恐怖……以及在哈利法克斯降落的奇妙之处!  –海伦 

移民故事码头21哈利法克斯

Adrian,13岁。
文化认同:苏格兰

在博物馆里,我注意到的第一件事就是一个空的手提箱。 我们友好的博物馆指导,Elanor说没有任何东西的手提箱代表着没有带来任何东西的人,因为他们一无所有。 除了手提箱外,还有另一个手提箱,还有各种不同类型的东西,例如家庭传家宝,衣服或书本。 Elanor告诉我这是关于你如何包装你的行李箱,因为你不能随身携带任何东西。 她说,许多移民不得不在背后留下很多东西,因为他们没有足够的空间放在一个小手提箱里。

另一件引起我注意的事情是关于1812战争的一件事。 它说,在1812战争期间和之后,约有2000美国奴隶逃到了新斯科舍省和新不伦瑞克省的英国船上。 这个团体被称为黑人难民。 哈利法克斯的许多人都是这一群人的后裔。

总的来说,我在博物馆爆炸了。 如果我有选择,我会回到博物馆去看爱尔兰皇后展览,因为我们没有足够的时间。   –阿德里安

移民故事码头21哈利法克斯露西,7岁
文化认同:英国人 

博物馆很棒! 有很多事情要做,但我们没有做任何事情。 我最喜欢的事情是设计自己的手提箱,而我第二喜欢的事情是打扮成护士! 我想喜欢旅行的人会喜欢博物馆的。 我们很开心.  –露西移民故事码头21哈利法克斯

移民博物馆有很多故事。 许多志愿者和向导本身就是移民,他们的名字和来自的地方都显示在名字徽章上。 一名志愿者自豪地自豪地来到了21号码头!

博物馆的研究中心还为研究人员和档案保管员提供了探索自己家族史的机会:无需预约。

移民故事码头21哈利法克斯

我们在博物馆花了将近3个小时……感觉好像还不够长。 有太多的事情要做,有很多的聆听,有太多的阅读。 如果您与有适当注意力范围的孩子一起旅行,我建议您留出一个整个下午的时间来探访…也许要尽量避免 哈利法克斯海港市场 以后可以享用!

码头21移民博物馆哈利法克斯

作者要感谢21码头的加拿大移民博物馆提供的信息丰富的导游。 我还要特别感谢我的勤奋青年记者:阿德里安和露西。 伟大的工作,家伙!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
标签:

Immigration Stories: A Visit to The Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 from 3 Perspectives

At the newly renovated Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 in Halifax, visitors can explore what it is like to be an immigrant, refugee or a displaced person arriving in Canada. A trip to this remarkable museum is a meaningful experience, particularly in light of the Canadian government’s decision to accept 25,000 refugees from Syria this year. Soon, their voices will become part of the Canadian Immigration story.

In the spirit of storytelling, this account of our visit to Pier 21 is written  from 3 different perspectives: that of a a 40 year old, a 13 year-old, and a 7-year old. I hope you enjoy sharing our experience:Immigration Stories Pier 21 Halifax

Helen, 40 years old.
Immigrant from England, 1975

One thing that struck me about Pier 21 is that some of the exhibits are uncomfortable. The Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 does not aim only to celebrate our immigration history- it also exposes shame, such as that of the Komogata Maru incident, where government policy (The Continuous Passage Act) served as a vehicle for racism and exclusion, in this case against Sikh passengers who were turned away from Vancouver and forced to return to a war torn India despite the fact that every one was a British subject.

A second, happier impression for me, was the view of George’s Island from the upper floors of the museum. My heart fills with awe every time I see it. It was also so meaningful to stand on the spot where our museum guide told us was the actual embarkation point for thousands of new Canadians for so many years: their first footstep on Canadian soil. How exhilarating, how scary…and how wonderful to land in Halifax!  – Helen 

Immigration Stories Pier 21 Halifax

Adrian, 13 years old.
Cultural Identity: Scottish

In the museum the first thing that I noticed was an empty suitcase. Our friendly museum guide, Elanor said the suitcase with nothing in it represented people that brought nothing because they had nothing at all. Beside the suitcase there was another suitcase and there were blocks of different types of things on the, such as family heirlooms, clothes or books. Elanor told me this was about how you pack your suitcase because you couldn’t bring every thing with you. She said many immigrants had to leave a lot of stuff behind because they didn’t have enough room in a small suitcase.

The other thing that caught my eye was a little thing about the war of 1812. It said during and after the war of 1812 approximately 2000 American slaves escaped to Nova Scotia and to New Brunswick aboard British ships. The group became known as the Black Refugees. Many people in Halifax are descended from this group of people.

Overall, I had a blast at the museum. If I had a choice I would go back to the museum to see the Empress of Ireland exhibit because we didn’t have enough time.   – Adrian

Immigration Stories Pier 21 HalifaxLucy, 7 years old
Cultural Identity: British 

The museum was awesome!  There were lots of things to do but we didn’t do everything. My favourite thing was designing your own suitcase and my second favourite thing was dressing up as a nurse! I think people who like travelling would enjoy the museum. We had a great time.  – LucyImmigration Stories Pier 21 Halifax

The Museum of Immigration holds so many stories. Many of the volunteers and guides are immigrants themselves, with their name and the place they came from displayed on a name badge. One volunteer proudly boasts to have come through Pier 21 itself!

There are also opportunities to explore your own family history, with researchers and archivists available in the museum’s research centre a drop-in basis: no appointment necessary.

Immigration Stories Pier 21 Halifax

We spent almost 3 hours at the museum… and it felt like it wasn’t quite long enough.   There was so much to do, so much to listen to, so much to read.  If you are travelling with children who have a reasonable attention span, I would recommend setting aside an entire afternoon for your visit… and perhaps jaunt down to the Halifax Seaport market for a treat afterwards!

Pier 21 Immigration Museum Halifax

The author would like to thank The Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 for the informative guided tour. I would also like to say a special thank you to my diligent junior journalists: Adrian and Lucy. Great job, guys!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.