艾伯特福德的EcoDairy愛牛奶? 在弗雷澤谷外出時,一定要留出時間參觀 EcoDairy。 EcoDairy與溫哥華的《科學世界》合作,向遊客介紹牛奶是如何從奶牛進入冰箱的水罐的。

我們參觀了紅色穀倉,裡面有新鮮農產品,美味的冰淇淋和熟食三明治。 今年夏天初,我們進行了EcoDairy的首次參觀。 巡演以10分鐘的視頻開始,該視頻說明瞭如何照料奶牛和生產牛奶。 這部卡通視頻很有趣,可以娛樂成人和孩子。

之後,它就關到穀倉了。 眾所周知,牛不是世界上最乾淨的動物。 EcoDairy的穀倉非常乾淨,這在很大程度上要歸功於pooper-scooper。 只要擁抱媽媽和爸爸,孩子們就會對這種裝置著迷。 車輪鏟將穀倉整齊地上下擺放,將牛谷置於穀倉末端的一個槽中。 令人印象深刻的是,EcoDairy回收了大部分奶牛的“禮物”。

艾伯特福德的EcoDairy當您在穀倉中游覽時,您可能會遇到一頭非常有趣的母牛(令人沮喪的是,母牛的名字使我不知所措)。 你不能錯過她,她是向她的背上扔乾草的人。 不要站得太近,否則也可能會弄花灑水。 如果您給牛足夠的時間,它們可以使他們娛樂起來,因此不要著急。 我們有一隻感興趣的牛,跟隨我們進行了巡迴演出,並非常友好地展示了牛刷。 一旦牛對它進行摩擦,這項出色的發明就開始旋轉硬毛刷子(想想老式洗車刷子)。 母牛可以調整身體,以撓撓背部,側面和頭部。 我要一個!

參觀穀倉後,您進入觀察室。 從這裡您可以看到工作中的自動擠奶器。 我的男孩們特別喜歡這樣的事實,如果我在擠奶機上擠奶的時間太長,機器會用水沖動腳使其移動。 奶牛因擠奶而獲得獎勵。 一些母牛想要額外的對待。 但是,這台機器足夠聰明,可以確定是否應該對特定的母牛進行擠奶。 如果母牛過早進入機器,水會炸破母牛的腳,然後踩出貪婪的母牛。

艾伯特福德的EcoDairy觀看完擠奶後,我們鼓勵您探索大廳中的互動展示。 當您漫步時,導遊將為您提供他們的維塔拉牛奶樣品。 它很美味!

互動式顯示屏可讓客人嘗試擠奶,了解它們與各種動物相比的體重,玩動物的聲音等等。

承認 對於EcoDairy可以在他們的網站上找到。

艾伯特福德的EcoDairy:

日期: 週二至週日(2016年秋/冬)
時間: 上午10點至下午4點(週二至週六); 上午11點–下午4點(星期日)
地址: 1356 Sumas Way,Abbotsford
網站: http://ecodairy.ca/

艾伯特福德的EcoDairy

Up Close & Personal with Cows at EcoDairy in Abbotsford

EcoDairy in AbbotsfordLove milk? When out in the Fraser Valley, be sure to set aside time to visit the EcoDairy. Working in partnership with Vancouver’s Science World, EcoDairy educates visitors about how milk comes from the cow into the jug in your fridge.

We’ve visited the red barn for farm-fresh produce, delicious ice cream and deli sandwiches. Earlier this summer we took our first tour of the EcoDairy. The tour starts with a 10 minute video explaining how cows are cared for and milk is produced. The cartoon-video is hilarious and entertains both adults & kids alike.

After that it is off to the barn. As we all know, cows are not the cleanest animals in the world. The barn at EcoDairy is amazingly clean and that’s in large part thanks to the pooper-scooper. Just embrace it moms & dads, the kids are going to be fascinated by that contraption. The shovel-on-wheels rolls up & down the barn neatly disposing the cow paddies in a trough at the end of the barn. Impressively, EcoDairy recycles a large portion of the cows’ “presents”.

EcoDairy in AbbotsfordAs you tour around the barn you may meet a very funny cow (frustratingly the cow’s name escapes me). You can’t miss her, she’s the one who throws hay onto her back. Don’t stand too close or you may get a hay-shower too. Don’t hurry through the tour, if you give the cows enough time they can be rather entertaining. We had one interested cow who followed us through our tour and very kindly demonstrated the cow-brush. This brilliant invention starts spinning a hard-bristled brush (think old-school car-wash brush) as soon as the cow rubs up against it. The cow can maneuver her body around to get her back, sides & head scratched. I want one!

After touring the barn, you head into observation room. From here you get to watch the robotic milker at work. My boys particularly enjoyed the fact that if I cow loiters in the milking-machine too long, the machine blasts its feet with water to get it moving. The cows are rewarded with a treat for being milked. Some cows want extra treats. However, the machine is smart enough to figure out whether it is time for a particular cow to be milked. If the cow has entered the machine too early, the water blasts the cow’s feet, and out scoots the greedy cow.

EcoDairy in AbbotsfordOnce you’ve had your fill of watching the cows be milked, you are encouraged to explore the interactive displays in the lobby. While you wander, your tour guide will offer you a sample of their Vitala milk. It is delicious!

The interactive displays let guests try milking cows, seeing how much their weigh as compared to various animals, play with animal sounds & much more.

Admission for the EcoDairy can be found on their website.

EcoDairy in Abbotsford:

Date: Tuesdays – Sundays (Fall/Winter 2016)
Time: 10am – 4pm (Tues – Sat); 11am – 4pm (Sun)
Address: 1356 Sumas Way, Abbotsford
Website: http://ecodairy.ca/

EcoDairy in Abbotsford

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *