西摩山的教训和家庭乐趣

在西摩山滑雪我希望我滑雪。 我没有,而且随着岁月的流逝,我越来越愿意冲下山来。 但我不想让我那些吓人的猫的态度影响我的孩子。 虽然有竞争力的滑雪不是愿望(至少现在还没有),但我希望我的孩子们能够舒适地滑下那些为大温哥华提供背景的美丽山脉。

在冬季的第一天,我们从帕克盖特购物中心跳下穿梭巴士,然后前往顶部 西摩山。 我的丈夫长大了滑雪,几十年前我与2见面时,这个可怜的家伙的滑雪习惯受到严重影响。 但是因为这个妈妈不滑雪,所以爸爸要让孩子们下山。 我们决定在孩子们单独的私人滑雪课之前上山。 我们的想法是,如果男孩们在他们的腰带下跑了几圈,他们可能会对他们的课程感到更加自信。 我们的理论对一个孩子有效,对另一个孩子没有那么大(不是因为父母经常会怎么做?)。

早上的时间花费在绿色跑道上(Goldie Meadows和花盆),并支持魔毯。 提示:越早到达,等待魔毯的时间越短。 下午在课上度过。 我们的男孩是6和8岁,建议他们有私人课程。 虽然我认为他们的能力非常相似,但滑雪教学专家绝对是正确的。 我的8岁能够比6岁更快地进步。 尽管如此,在2时间内,两个孩子都从兔子山上毕业,自信地走下蓝色路线。

Mt Seymour的滑雪课程男孩们很喜欢他们的导师,我们最年轻的人和Michaela一起工作,我们的长子与Mike合作。 私人滑雪课程的亮点包括:

  • 学习如何正确地改变方向,而不是使用滑雪板的边缘
  • 使用飞机胳膊帮助改变方向
  • 第一次乘坐升降椅
  • 从兔子山推进到蓝色跑道
  • 第一次夜间滑雪
  • 大大提高了滑雪的信心和热情

Mt Seymour成功举办家庭滑雪日的秘诀:

  • 如果你没有冬季轮胎(雪花轮胎),你不能开车去西摩山。 帕克盖特购物中心有一个非常方便的穿梭巴士。 每种方式的成本为$ 6。
  • 如果你想包装自己的食物,欢迎你这样做。 这座山在主小屋的楼下提供了一个叫威士忌杰克的吃饭空间。
  • 如果你不喜欢吃自己的食物,那么三峰山庄的所有食物都有,从美味和馅辣椒薯条到汤,沙拉,三明治等等。 还有热饮。
  • 对于任何家庭目的地而言,情况总是如此,您越早到达人群越小。 这座山在9am开放,1pm的人群明显膨胀。
  • 向孩子们注册课程。 如果爸爸妈妈可以滑雪,给自己的自由去探索西摩山所提供的所有东西,同时让孩子们接受专业培训。 如果父母无法滑雪(像我一样),就可以在Goldie Meadows顶部欣赏奇妙方便的“家长观看小屋”。 虽然没有座位,但头顶有一个屋顶,它提供了一个避开寒冷的地方,并关注着你的孩子。

滑雪因昂贵而闻名。 但是像这样的交易 西摩山的3Ski通票,参与这项运动变得更容易管理。 3Ski通票每人起价为$ 99。 如果您有兴趣参加夜间滑雪,您可以获得3傍晚电梯票和设备租赁服务,可以在任何一天6pm之后使用,只需$ 99(节省$ 104)。 如果白天滑雪更适合您的步伐,您可以获得相同的套餐,但价格会跳到$ 189(节省$ 97)。

当我的孩子第二天早上醒来时,口中的第一句话是“早上好,妈妈”,“我们今天能回到西摩山去做更多的滑雪吗?”我觉得这个妈妈最好开始节省滑雪费用装备和赛季的传球。 我觉得我最好还是克服了对滑雪的恐惧,或者我将在未来的家庭滑雪日落后。

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIcWWGFoxRQ&feature=youtu.be

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Lessons & Family Fun at Mt Seymour

Skiing at Mount SeymourI wish I skied. I don’t and as the years keep passing my willingness to hurtle down a mountain wane ever more. But I don’t want my scaredy-cat attitude to influence my kids. While competitive skiing isn’t an aspiration (at least not yet), I’d like my kids to feel comfortable gliding down the gorgeous mountains that provide the backdrop to Metro Vancouver.

On the first day of Winter, we hopped the shuttle from Parkgate Mall and traveled to the top of Mt Seymour. My husband grew up skiing, and since meeting me 2 decades ago, the poor guy’s skiing habit has been severely impacted. But since this mom doesn’t ski, it is up to dad to get the kids down the hill. We decided to get up the mountain well before the boys’ individual private ski lessons. Our thinking was if the boys had a few runs under their belts they may feel a bit more confident in their lessons. Our theory worked for one kid, not so much for the other (isn’t that how things always go with parenting?).

The morning hours were spent repeatedly going down green runs (Goldie Meadows and Flower Basin) & back up the magic carpet. Tip: the earlier you arrive the shorter the wait for the magic carpet. The afternoon was spent in lessons. Our boys are 6 & 8 years old and the recommendation was for them to have individual private lessons. While I thought there were very similar in ability, the ski-teaching experts were absolutely correct. My 8 year old was able to progress faster than the 6 year old. Nonetheless within 2 hours both kids had graduated from the bunny hill to confidently getting down blue runs.

Ski lessons at Mt SeymourThe boys loved their instructors, our youngest worked with Michaela and our eldest was partnered with Mike. Highlights from their private ski lessons include:

  • learning how to properly change direction and not use the edges of their skis
  • using airplane arms to aid in direction change
  • riding the chair lift for the first time
  • advancing from the bunny hill to blue runs
  • night skiing for the first time
  • a massive increase in confidence & eagerness for skiing

Tips for a successful family ski day at Mt Seymour:

  • if you don’t have winter tires (tires with the snowflake) you can’t drive up to Mt Seymour. There is a wonderfully convenient shuttle bus that picks up from Parkgate Mall. The cost is $6 per person each way.
  • if you want to pack your own food, you are welcome to do so. The mountain has provided an eating space downstairs in the main lodge called Whiskey Jack.
  • if you don’t feel like schlepping your own provisions, the Three Peaks Lodge has everything from delicious & filling chilli fries to soups, salads, sandwiches and more. There are hot drinks available too.
  • as is always the case with any family destination, the earlier you arrive the smaller the crowds. The mountain opens at 9am and by 1pm the crowds noticeably swelled in size.
  • register the kids for lessons. If mom & dad can ski, give yourself the freedom to explore all that Mt Seymour has to offer while getting the kids expert training. If the parents can’t ski (like me) enjoy the wonderfully convenient “Parent Viewing Hut” right at the top of Goldie Meadows. While there aren’t seats, there is a roof over your head and it offers a place to escape the cold & keep an eye on your kid.

Skiing has the reputation for being expensive. But with deals like Mt Seymour’s 3Ski Passes, participating in the sport becomes a lot more manageable. The 3Ski Passes start at $99 per person. If you are interested in night skiing you can get 3 evening lift tickets & equipment rentals that can be used after 6pm on any day for just $99 (savings of $104). If daytime skiing is more your pace, you can get the same package but the price jumps to $189 (a savings of $97).

When my kids woke up the next morning the first words out of their mouths were “good morning, Mom”, it was “can we go back to Mt Seymour today and do more skiing?” I think this momma better start saving up for ski gear & season’s passes. I think I best get over my fear of skiing too or I’m going to be left behind on future family ski days.

https://youtu.be/GIcWWGFoxRQ

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *