计划南瓜雕刻派对

我们正计划今年为我们男孩的生日聚会举办南瓜雕刻聚会。 南瓜种子,南瓜内脏,带刀的孩子,可能出什么问题了? 我希望,如果我计划在这次聚会上大放异彩,每个人的手指都将毫无伤痕,我们的房子不会闻起来像葫芦的内部。

南瓜雕刻派对首先,南瓜! 并非所有南瓜都是一样的。 有些适合烹饪(糖南瓜),有些适合装饰(灰姑娘,白色和蓝色南瓜)。 但是,在雕刻南瓜时,您需要外皮较薄的南瓜,以使其更易于观察。 我们联系了 Eagle Acres Dairy,在兰里堡(Fort Langley),他们推荐使用Zeus或Fieldtrip南瓜来简化雕刻过程。 同样,雕刻南瓜的内部往往更少,更少的浓密感,这是我书中的一大胜利。 就像其他水果和蔬菜一样,有一些选择最佳南瓜的技巧:

  1. –拿起南瓜并点击。 您应该听到空心的声音。
  2. –南瓜上一致的颜色很重要,没有划痕,瘀伤或黑斑的情况也是如此。 别忘了把南瓜放在地上看它是否站起来。 我们都曾尝试雕刻滚动南瓜,这很有趣!
  3. 感觉 –如果您觉得有任何其他的葫芦,请推南瓜的底部。 底部不结实意味着南瓜不是新鲜的,可能很快就会烂掉。
南瓜雕刻派对

在兰利堡鹰英亩乳制品厂的多彩南瓜

在考虑雕刻工具时,请注意客人的技能水平。 如果有人参加,为什么不参加南瓜装饰派对呢? 跳过锋利的工具,然后进行油漆,火花和粘贴式装饰。 用卫生纸把南瓜包起来,加些谷歌眼神,然后就得到了南瓜木乃伊。 借助标记笔,孩子们可以在南瓜上绘制面孔,蜘蛛,漩涡,鬼影或其他任何设计。 但是,如果您的雕刻聚会包括8岁以上的孩子,那么将会涉及雕刻。 设置个人雕刻工具包–玻璃梅森罐子里的工具看起来很可爱–这样每个人都可以轻松进入。 生活中的每个人都不可能在同一天晚上雕刻南瓜,所以请借一些工具。 除非您举办年度雕刻派对,否则谁将成为数十个雕刻工具套件的骄傲所有者?

南瓜雕刻派对

现在要问一个大问题:肠胃还是不肠胃? 您是否有自己的房屋和理智(因为您知道会发牢骚),并且只是预先清洗了南瓜并亲自对付内脏? 还是用屠夫的纸盖住桌子,用旧的床单盖地板,并告诉孩子们卷起袖子去拿呢? 无论选择哪个选项,请务必保存南瓜种子。 一个绝妙的技巧–用盐水煮开仍然附着在南瓜膜上的种子。 煮沸有助于将种子与南瓜肠分离。 种子饱满起来,开始用沸水煮一点,这样一旦将它们放入烤箱,烘烤就使种子变得酥脆。

雕刻完之后,孩子们将饿了。 你可以做比萨。 你可以做热狗。 您可以做各种适合儿童的食物。 今年,我想我们将有一个辣椒吧! 一锅大吨位的辣椒-不是浇头,因为这些配料放在辣椒的底部-那么底部呢? 迷你热狗,炸薯条,一袋玉米片和面食。 加上奶酪,酸奶油和葱的常用配料。 我认为我们已经把南瓜弄得一团糟,辣椒变得更糟了。

您的孩子的生日临近重大假期吗? 您是否将假日主题纳入他们的庆祝活动? 在下面的评论部分让我们知道。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
标签:,

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Planning A Pumpkin Carving Party

We are planning a pumpkin-carving party for our boys’ birthday party this year. Pumpkin seeds, pumpkin innards, kids with knives, what could possibly go wrong? I’m hoping if I plan the heck out of this party everyone’s digits will remain unscathed and our house won’t smell like the inside of a gourd.

Pumpkin carving partyFirst up, the pumpkins! Not all pumpkins are created equal. Some are great for cooking (sugar pumpkins), some are great for decorating (Cinderella, white and blue pumpkins). But when it comes to carving pumpkins you want a pumpkin that has a thinner rind making it easier to saw into. We contacted Eagle Acres Dairy, in Fort Langley, and they recommended their Zeus or Fieldtrip pumpkins for carving ease. Also, carving pumpkins tend to have fewer, less goopy, insides which is a big win in my books. Just like every other fruit and vegetable, there are tips for selecting the best pumpkin:

  1. Listen – pick up the pumpkin and tap it. You should hear a hollow sound.
  2. Look – consistent colouring on the pumpkin matters, as does an absence of scratches, bruises or dark spots. Don’t forget to put your pumpkin on the ground to see if it stands up. We’ve all experienced trying to carve a rolling pumpkin – not fun!
  3. Feel – push on the bottom of your pumpkin, if you feel any give look for a different gourd. A non-sturdy bottom means the pumpkin isn’t fresh and may soon begin to rot.
Pumpkin Carving Party

Colourful pumpkins at Eagle Acres Dairy, Fort Langley

When considering carving tools look at the skill level of your guests. If littles are attending, why not make it a pumpkin-DECORATING party? Skip the sharp tools and go for paint, sparkles, and stick-on decorations. Wrap your pumpkin in toilet paper, add some google-eyes and you’ve got a pumpkin-mummy. With sharpie markers kids can draw faces, spiders, swirls, ghosts, or any other design onto their pumpkin. But if your carving party includes kids over the age of 8 there is going to be carving involved. Set up individual carving kits – tools in glass mason jars look cute – so that everyone has easy access. There’s no way everyone in your life is carving pumpkins on the same night, so ask to borrow some tools. Unless you are hosting an annual carving party, who needs to be the proud owner of dozens of carving tool kits?

Pumpkin carving party

And now to the big question: to gut or not to gut? Do you have your home and your sanity (cuz you know there’s going to be whining) and just pre-clean the pumpkins and deal with the innards yourself? Or do you cover the table in butcher’s paper and the floor in old sheets, and tell the kids to roll up their sleeves and get to it? Regardless of which option you select, be sure to save the pumpkin seeds. A great trick – boil the seeds, still attached to the pumpkin membrane, in salt water. The boiling helps separate the seeds from the pumpkin guts. The seeds plump up and start cooking a bit in the boiling water so that once you pop them in the oven, the roasting puts a nice crunch on the seeds.

After all the carving the kids are going to be hungry. You can do pizza. You can do hot dogs. You can do all sorts of kid-friendly food. This year I think we are going to have a Chilli Bar! A huge pot of chilli with tons of – not toppings because these go on the bottom of the chilli – so bottoms? Mini hot dogs, french fries, bags of corn chips, and pasta. Plus the usual toppings of cheese, sour cream, and green onions. I figure we’ve embraced the mess with the pumpkins, how much worse can chilli get.

Do you have kids with birthdays close to a major holiday? Do you incorporate the holiday theme into their celebration? Let us know in the comment section below.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *