今年冬天访问卡尔加里中央图书馆的三个理由(永远!)

我一直很喜欢图书馆,拥有各种各样的书籍和无穷无尽的世界。 长大后,我会带着我的兄弟和表兄弟走到我们的小镇图书馆。 我们可以自信地宣称,我们可以在夏天阅读某个书架上的每本书,在书架后面互相傻笑,并在结账台被单一的图书管理员嘘声。 但我们也知道图书管理员是我们提供更多我们喜欢的书籍的倡导者,所以我们小心翼翼地不要太大声。

卡尔加里中央图书馆(Family Fun Calgary)

飙升,光线充足的空间; 照片:Charity Quick

当然,在这个数字时代,时代已经发生了变化,图书馆已经为21st世纪重塑了自己。 我仍然可以从我当地的分公司拿出大量的书籍,杂志,DVD或CD。 但图书馆还提供社交活动,在线课程和娱乐,棋盘游戏和游戏空间,而在卡尔加里,你甚至可以 借用乐器 或者去附近的一辆书车! 图书馆已成为现代化的城市广场,是一个为每个人提供服务的社区中心。

随着我长大的小镇图书馆的记忆,我检查过的图书背面有一位图书管理员盖章,我们第一次去了卡尔加里的新中央图书馆。 卡尔加里中央图书馆拥有240,000平方英尺内饰,4充满光线的地板,以及450,000新书籍和藏品,提供高耸的建筑和舒适的空间。 自从我还是个孩子以来,图书馆已经走过了漫长的道路,我可能会赞美图书馆的美德一段时间。 但对于卡尔加里家庭来说,今年冬天我们只需要3就可以轻松访问新的中央图书馆。

卡尔加里中央图书馆(Family Fun Calgary)

无尽的世界发现; 照片:Charity Quick

对抗小屋发烧

在卡尔加里寒冷的冬日,你应该前往图书馆找一本新书。 蜷缩在一个角落里,抓起一本图画书,或者一起开始一本新的章节书。 花一些时间做一个游戏或拼图,这些游戏或拼图是在众多游戏站之一设置的,或者为您的家人找到完美的程序。 (图书馆甚至提供一些免费托儿服务,如果您有参加成人计划的话。)在冬季,有一个有趣的室内位置参观也是至关重要的,这也是预算友好的。 抵抗客舱发烧,走出家门,并利用公共图书馆。

卡尔加里中央图书馆(Family Fun Calgary)

适合每个人的东西! 照片:Charity Quick

玩!

新的中央图书馆有一个室内游乐设施! 当我小时候在图书馆里嘘声时,我从来没有想到一个地方,孩子们在挑选书籍后可以在室内操场上燃烧一些能量。 对于有小孩的家庭来说,这是一个改变游戏规则的人。 几年前,我的2岁儿子在图书馆里玩的最有趣的是把所有的书都从书架上拉下来。 现在,那些忙碌的幼儿有自己特殊的地方去做他们最擅长的事情。 (我还没弄清楚那是什么,但我知道它涉及噪音和忙碌。)

卡尔加里中央图书馆(Family Fun Calgary)

这不是我儿时的图书馆。 照片:Charity Quick

咖啡

这里有儿童游乐区和父母咖啡馆! LUKE'S咖啡厅位于中央图书馆内(感谢游乐结构不远),提供饮料,含咖啡因的咖啡和小吃。 这是让您度过漫长冬季下午的完美选择。

卡尔加里中央图书馆(Family Fun Calgary)

舒心,发现一些惊人的东西! 照片:Charity Quick

好的,所以当您计划参观当地图书馆时,咖啡,游乐场所和集中供暖可能不是您考虑的第一件事。 发现您自己的三大理由! 图书馆是一个非常好的资源,今年冬天有无数的方式来参观新的中央图书馆。

卡尔加里中央图书馆:

地点: 800 3 Street SE,卡尔加里,AB
网站: www.calgarylibrary.ca

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Three Reasons to Visit the Calgary Central Library This Winter (And Always!)

I have always loved libraries, with their rows of books and the endless worlds to which you could escape. Growing up, I would walk down to our small-town library with my brother and cousins. We would confidently proclaim that we could read every book on a certain shelf over the summer, giggle behind the stacks with each other, and get shushed by the single librarian at the checkout desk. But we also knew that the librarian was our advocate for getting more of the books we liked, so we were careful not to get too loud.

Calgary Central Library (Family Fun Calgary)

Soaring, light-filled spaces; Photo: Charity Quick

Times have changed in this digital era, of course, and libraries have reinvented themselves for the 21st century. I can still take out piles of books, magazines, DVDs, or CDs from my local branch. But libraries also offer social programs, online courses and entertainment, board games and play spaces, and in Calgary, you can even borrow a musical instrument or visit a book truck in your neighbourhood!  Libraries have become the modern town square, a community hub that offers something for everyone.

With memories of the tiny small-town library where I grew up, with its one librarian stamping the due date in the back of the books I checked out, we went to visit Calgary’s New Central Library for the first time. With a 240, 000 square foot interior, 4 storeys of light-filled floors, and 450,000 new books and collections, the Calgary Central Library offers both soaring architecture and cosy spaces. Libraries have come a long way since I was a kid and I could likely extol the library’s virtues for some time. But for Calgary families, we only need 3 easy reasons to visit the new Central Library this winter.

Calgary Central Library (Family Fun Calgary)

Endless worlds to discover; Photo: Charity Quick

Fight Cabin Fever

On a cold Calgary winter day, you should head over to the library to find a new book, of course. Curl up in a corner, grab a picture book, or start a new chapter book together. Spend some time doing a game or puzzle that’s been set up at one of the many play stations or find the perfect program for your family. (The library even offers some complimentary childcare, if there’s an adult program you’d like to attend.) In the winter, it’s vital to have a fun, indoor location to visit that is also budget-friendly. Fight cabin fever, get out of the house, and take advantage of the public library.

Calgary Central Library (Family Fun Calgary)

Something for everyone! Photos: Charity Quick

Play!

The new Central Library has an indoor play structure! When I was a kid being shushed in the library, I never would have imagined a place where kids could burn some energy on an indoor playground after they picked out their books. For families with little ones, this is a game-changer. Years ago, the most fun my 2-year-old son had in the library was pulling all the books off all the shelves. Now, those busy toddlers have their own special place to do what they do best. (I haven’t really figured out what that is, but I do know it involves noise and busyness.)

Calgary Central Library (Family Fun Calgary)

This is not my childhood library. Photos: Charity Quick

Coffee

There’s a play area for the kids and a coffee shop for the parents! LUKE’S Cafe is right inside the Central Library (not far from the play structure, thankfully), and offers drinks, caffeinated and otherwise, and light snacks. It’s the perfect touch to get you through a long winter’s afternoon.

Calgary Central Library (Family Fun Calgary)

Cosy up and discover something amazing! Photo: Charity Quick

Okay, so maybe coffee, play spaces, and central heating aren’t the first things you consider when you’re planning a visit to your local library. Discover your own top three reasons! The library is such a terrific resource, there are countless ways to enjoy your visit to the new Central Library this winter.

Calgary Central Library:

Where: 800 3 Street SE, Calgary, AB
Website: www.calgarylibrary.ca

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *