在艾伯塔航空博物馆翱翔回溯

阿尔伯塔航空博物馆是由一群航空爱好者在二十多年前发起的,他们向埃德蒙顿市议会请愿,让他们接管布拉奇福德球场的历史性衣架。

布拉奇福德球场本身就是一个里程碑。 它以前埃德蒙顿市市长基思亚历山大布拉奇福德(由1924 - 1926提供服务)命名,是加拿大首个获得许可的机场。 市议会授权当时35,000的$ 1929合计创建该机场。

传奇的布什飞行员 打狄更斯Wop May 称为Blatchford Field的家园,该机场在该地区的商业航空工业和提供进入偏远的加拿大北部方面发挥了作用。 在1939中,Blatchford Field在二战期间担任加拿大皇家空军的飞行训练中心。

在2013,Blatchford机场关闭。 埃德蒙顿迅速扩张,推动中城市机场的边界。 该地点对较大的飞机而言是禁止的,并且允许在该地区建造高层建筑。 机场业务与埃德蒙顿国际机场合并,该领域本身正被重新用于住宅社区。

然而,衣架依然存在,并成为阿尔伯塔航空博物馆,其中还有30修复飞机,还有一个研究图书馆和一个Air Cadet博物馆。 这个吊架是加拿大最后一个幸存的吊架,尽管有一些升级和一些安全措施,但它的原始木梁依然可见。

您对艾伯塔航空博物馆的参观始于一个有趣的景象。 小型灌木架的骨架已经在展览会的入口处重建,还有散落的老旧碎片。 它讲述了许多冒着生命危险和失去生命的布什飞行员的故事和荣誉,并向北方提供了物资。

艾伯塔航空博物馆照片Nerissa McNaughton

照片Nerissa McNaughton

你很快就会被带入下一个景象 - 大型木制维克斯海盗IV,它在90中每小时巡航1923英里。 这个7 / 8比例模型是从南通轰炸机指挥博物馆借来的。

B-52 Mitchell是双发引擎轰炸机,它的战时多功能性受到欢迎。 几年来,这个轰炸机在博物馆的恢复海湾里坐着,因为每个细节都经过精心和有条不紊的重新创建。 现在它骄傲地坐在展厅内,作为早期航空奇迹的历史性证明。

艾伯塔航空Musum照片Nerissa McNaughton

照片Nerissa McNaughton

另一方面是时尚的洛克希德F-104 Starfighter,一种带针尖的超声波拦截机。

艾伯塔航空博物馆照片Nerissa McNaughton

照片Nerissa McNaughton

虽然不可能在展厅楼层上碾压许多历史悠久的飞机,但请留出时间参观修复贝尔206直升机正在进行重建的海湾。 在飞行模拟器中尝试您的运气之前,请务必查看Air Cadet博物馆中的不同徽章和制服。

还有一些互动展品。 您可以爬上一小段楼梯,在一架轰炸机后面窥视,坐在旧通勤飞机的客舱内,并在导游的指导下,坐在加拿大军刀的驾驶舱内。

走出室外的显示器将带您到70的老式公务机。 在监督导游的监视下,孩子们可以坐在驾驶舱内玩许多按钮和表盘,因为他们的父母对真皮座椅惊叹不已(即使马桶座圈是皮革!)木镶板和小酒吧设置。 这架优雅的喷气机在机场被遗弃,最终捐赠给博物馆。

这些只是现场有趣的一些。 它的乐趣,全家人可以享受,下雨或闪耀。 要了解更多信息并计划您的访问,请查看 www.albertaaviationmuseum.com并且当你回顾过去和现在的飞机帮助塑造加拿大时,为高飞灵感做好准备。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Soar Back in Time at the Alberta Aviation Museum

The Alberta Aviation Museum was launched more than two decades ago by a group of aviation enthusiasts that petitioned Edmonton’s city council to let them take over a historic hanger at Blatchford Field.

Blatchford Field itself is quite the landmark. Named for former Edmonton Mayor Keith Alexander Blatchford (who served from 1924 – 1926), it was Canada’s first licensed airfield. City Council authorized the then princely sum of $35,000 in 1929 to create the airfield.

Legendary bush pilots Punch Dickens and Wop May called Blatchford Field home, and the airfield was instrumental in the region’s commercial aviation industry and in providing access to the remote Canadian North. In 1939, Blatchford Field served as the Royal Canadian Air Force’s flight training centre during World War II.

In 2013, Blatchford airfield was closed. Edmonton was expanding rapidly, pushing against the borders of the mid-city airport. The location was prohibitive to larger aircraft and to allowing tall structures to be built in the area. Airfield operations were consolidated with Edmonton International Airport and the field itself is being repurposed into a residential community.

However, the hanger remains and has become the Alberta Aviation Museum where 30 restored aircraft are housed, along with a research library and an Air Cadet museum. The hanger is the last surviving one of its kind in Canada, and its original wood beams are still visible despite a little upgrading and a few security measures put into the structure.

Your visit to the Alberta Aviation Museum starts with an interesting sight. The skeleton of a small bush aircraft has been reconstructed at the exhibitions’ entrance, along with scattered and aged debris. It tells the story of, and honours, the many bush pilots that risked and lost their lives opening up, and providing supplies in, the North.

Alberta Aviation Museum Photo Nerissa McNaughton

Photo Nerissa McNaughton

You are quickly taken in with the next sight – the large wooden Vickers Viking IV that cruised a brisk 90 miles per hour in 1923. This 7/8 scale model is on loan from the Bomber Command Museum in Nanton.

One of the favourites on the floor is the B-52 Mitchell, the twin engine bomber made popular by its wartime versatility. For several years this bomber sat in the museum’s restoration bay as each detail was painstakingly and methodically recreated. Now it proudly sits on the showroom floor as a historic testament to the marvels of early aviation.

Alberta Aviation Musum Photo Nerissa McNaughton

Photo Nerissa McNaughton

On the other end of the spectrum is the sleek Lockheed F-104 Starfighter, an ultrasonic interceptor aircraft with a needle nose.

Alberta Aviation Museum Photo Nerissa McNaughton

Photo Nerissa McNaughton

Although it’s impossible to tire of the many historic aircraft on the showroom floor, leave time to visit the restoration bay where reconstruction on a Bell 206 helicopter is in progress. Also be sure to check out the different badges and uniforms in the Air Cadet museum before trying your luck in the flight simulator.

There are a few interactive exhibits too. You can climb a short set of stairs to peek inside the back of a bomber, sit inside the passenger compartment of an old commuter plane, and with guidance from a tour guide, sit in the cockpit of a Canadair Sabre.

Stepping outside to the outdoor displays brings you to an old executive jet from the 70s. Under the watch of a supervising tour guide, children can sit in the cockpit and play with the many buttons and dials, as their parents marvel at the leather seats (even the toilet seat is leather!) wood paneling and small drink bar setup. This classy jet was abandoned at the airport and eventually donated to the museum.

These are just a few of the fun things to on site. Its fun the whole family can enjoy, rain or shine. To learn more and to plan your visit, check out www.albertaaviationmuseum.com, and be prepared for high-flying inspiration as you look back on the past and present aircraft that helped shape Canada.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.