尋找寶藏,在Atlantica橡樹島度假村尋找家庭樂趣

大西洋橡樹島的孩子們

只要我的孩子們聽說我們可以從早餐桌上看到潛伏在島上的海盜金,他們就會被鉤住。 因此,在我們兩個晚上的3月休息時間,在新斯科舍省Mahone Bay附近的Atlantica Oak Island Resort度過,我的7歲月非常認真地尋找寶藏的證據,而我兩年的2歲的老人剛剛尖叫著“海盜! 海盜! 唉!“他不停地跑過酒店的財產,掠奪任何人對和平或放鬆的希望。

但你知道嗎? 沒有人懷念,因為在3月Break的Atlantica上,有數百名小海盜做著同樣的事情......還有幾十名友好的工作人員確保我們的孩子有史以來最好的March Break。

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel新斯科舍省

我們乾淨,裝飾宜人的房間彌補了酒店的某些區域的日期。 在那裡,我們發現了一些零食,包括免費T恤的優惠券,以及描述所有活動的March Break Camp時間表。

很難決定是否游泳,玩遊戲 巨人遊戲,沉迷於遊戲 滑板車曲棍球 或者只是“穿上T卹”,但在我們的第一個晚上,我們設法完成了所有這四件事!

在Atlantica橡樹島度假村新斯科舍的家庭樂趣在三月假期和復活節假期期間,通常用於婚禮和會議的Atlantica Oak Island酒店的大型會議室被改造成放鬆的家庭友好區域。 當我們參觀時,有一個食堂供應飲料,小吃,比薩餅和熱狗。 在晚上,主宴會廳舉辦了表演和活動,如a 迪斯科, 一個 瘋狂科學 示範和我們最喜愛的魔術師的魔術表演, 令人驚嘆的J先生.

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel新斯科舍省

我們家最喜歡的活動是 海盜照片展位: 一個比生命更大的海盜雕像,站在一張服裝,帽子和珠寶的桌子旁邊。 如果不停下來,就不可能通過海盜。 一天下午,我的兒子花了大約20分鐘在海盜的腳下跳舞,戴著騎士頭盔並揮舞著塑料劍。 一個蹣跚學步的天堂!

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel新斯科舍省家庭散步是探索酒店的理想藉口。 迷你高爾夫球場,一些可憐的網球場和幾個小型遊樂區一直通往Altantica碼頭,在夏季,這裡將充滿當地遊艇民俗和休閒遊艇。

在一群海濱小屋後面,有一個小蘋果園 東海岸Glamping 計劃為他們的“度假村Glamping“今年夏天的體驗。 和觀點? 當然是橡樹島。 神秘本身......

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel新斯科舍省

在我們的家庭散步期間,我們發現了兩件寶物。 第一個 - a 神秘 金屬爐排。 雖然有些人可能會說它看起來像燒烤坑蓋,但沒有證據表明它確實不是真正的海盜船上的碎片! 我們向前台工作人員介紹了我們的發現,他們向我的女兒表示祝賀並拍了照片,通過Twitter電報發送。

我們的第二寶貝? 在我們散步的時候,我們遇到了另一個在一些岩石中發現了一塊紫水晶的家庭。 他們向我們展示了我們在哪裡搜索,並發現了一大片閃閃發光的紫色寶石!

橡樹島新斯科舍孩子們

在我們的最後一個晚上,我們在篝火上加入了一個小組。 當天營地輔導員的同樣努力工作的青少年創造了更多包裹遞送給客人:包含棉花糖的小棕色紙袋,兩個格雷厄姆餅乾和一小塊巧克力。 棍子被分享,手指被舔,我們與我們在哈利法克斯生活中認出的一些鄰居和朋友聊天。 “它如此接近”他們說,“我們每年至少來這裡一次!”

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel新斯科舍省

在我們回到城市的路上,我們停下了進城 馬洪灣, 一個愉快的10-15分鐘驅動器。 馬洪灣在夏季和秋季都處於最佳狀態,冬季感覺有點困,但我們至少發現一個企業全年向年輕遊客求愛。 Amos Pewter提供一次旅遊,並有機會完成你自己的沙灘美元 - 免費! 這是一個非常有趣的經歷,並為我們的收藏提供了另一個寶藏 - 一個可愛的錫砂美元。

在馬洪灣的阿莫斯獎杯

當我們回到哈利法克斯時,我跑到書店,買了幾本關於橡樹島之謎的書。 最適合孩子的書是 橡樹島和尋找埋藏的寶藏 Joann Hamilton-Barry為年輕讀者撰稿,並介紹了一些關於這個謎團的新理論。 (我只希望我們讀過它 之前 我們參觀了!)

橡樹島寶藏書

我還了解到歷史頻道上有一個受歡迎的系列名為 橡樹島的詛咒 - 絕對值得一看!

大西洋橡樹島 度假村距哈利法克斯只有45分鐘,但感覺就像一個世界。 在三月假期和復活節期間,這個豪華的海濱家庭度假村真正讓它的頭髮下來,並全力以赴,以確保家庭有一個非常有趣,輕鬆的三月休息。

我們迫不及待想要回到這個夏天來了解更多關於這個謎團的信息,並體驗一下夏季新斯科舍南岸的樂趣。

海倫Earley是一位哈利法克斯的作家。 她是Atlantica Oak Island Hotel酒店的客人

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新
標籤:

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

本網站使用Akismet來減少垃圾郵件。 了解您的評論如何處理.

Hunting for Treasure, Finding Family Fun at the Atlantica Oak Island Resort

Atlantica Oak Island kids

As soon as my kids heard there might be pirate gold buried on the Island that we could see from our breakfast table, they were hooked. And so, throughout our two-night March Break stay at The Atlantica Oak Island Resort, near Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, my 7 year old searched very seriously for evidence of treasure, while my two year 2-year old just screamed “Pirates! Pirates! Arghhhh!” continuously, as he ran amok the hotel property, pillaging anyone’s hope of peace or relaxation.

But you know what? No one minded, because at the Atlantica over March Break, there were hundreds of little pirates doing the same thing… and dozens of friendly staff making sure that our kids had the best March Break ever.

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel Nova Scotia

Our clean, cheerfully decorated room made up for the fact that some areas of the hotel are dated. There we discovered some treats, including a voucher for a free-t-shirt, and a March Break Camp schedule describing all the activities on offer.

It was hard to decide whether to swim, play Giant Games, indulge in a game of Scooter Hockey or just “get the t-shirt”, but on our first evening, we managed to do all four!

Family Fun at the Atlantica Oak Island Resort Nova ScotiaDuring the March Break and Easter holidays, the large conference rooms of the Atlantica Oak Island hotel, normally used for weddings and conferences, are transformed into relaxed, family-friendly areas. When we visited, there was a canteen serving drinks, snacks, pizza and hot dogs. In the evenings, the main ballroom hosted performances and events such as a Disco, a Mad Science demonstration and a magic show by our favourite magician, The Amazing Mr. J.

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel Nova Scotia

Our family’s favourite activity was the Pirate Photo Booth: a larger-than-life pirate statue, stood next to a table of costumes, hats and jewellery. It was impossible to pass by the pirate without pausing to take a snap. One afternoon, my son spent about 20 minutes dancing around the pirate’s feet, wearing a knights helmet and brandishing a plastic sword. A toddler’s paradise!

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel Nova ScotiaA family walk was a good excuse to explore the hotel property. A mini golf course, some puddly tennis courts and several small play areas led the way to the Altantica Marina, which in the summer, will fill with local yachting folk  and recreational boaters.

Behind  a group of oceanside chalets, there is a small apple Orchard where East Coast Glamping plans to erect some tents for their “Resort Glamping” experience this summer. And the view? Oak Island, of course. The mystery itself….

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel Nova Scotia

During our family walk, we found two items of treasure. The first – a mysterious metal grate. Although some might say it looked like a barbecue pit cover, there was no evidence to suggest that it was not indeed some debris from a genuine pirate ship! We presented our find to the front desk staff who congratulated my daughter and  took a photo to to send over the Twitter airwaves.

Our second treasure? During our walk, we met another family who had found a piece of Amethyst amongst some rocks. They showed us where, we searched, and found a large, sparkly area of purple jewels!

Oak Island Nova Scotia Kids

On our final evening, we joined a group at the bonfire. The same hardworking teenagers who had been camp counsellors that day had created s’more packages to hand out to guests: small brown paper bags containing a marshmallow, two Graham crackers and a small piece of chocolate.  Sticks were shared, fingers were licked, we chatted with some neighbours and friends we recognized from our life back in Halifax. “It’s so close” they said, “we come here at least once a year!”

Atlantica Oak Island Hotel Nova Scotia

On our way back to the city, we stopped into the Town of Mahone Bay, a pleasant 10-15 minute drive. Mahone Bay is at its best in the summer and autumn, and feels a little sleepy in the winter, but we found at least one business which is courting young visitors year-round. Amos Pewter offers a tour and the chance to finish your own Pewter sand-dollar – for free! This was a really interesting experience, and provided another treasure for our collection – a lovely Pewter sand dollar.

Amos Pewter in Mahone Bay

When we got back to Halifax, I raced to the bookstore, and bought a couple of books about the Oak Island mystery.  The best book for kids is Oak Island and the Search for Buried Treasure by Joann Hamilton-Barry, which is written for a young audience, and covers some of the newer theories about the mystery. (I only wish we’d read it before we visited!)

Oak Island Treasure Books

I also learned that there is a popular series on the History Channel called  The Curse of Oak Island – definitely one to watch!

The Atlantica Oak Island Resort is only 45 minutes from Halifax, but it feels like a world away. During the March Break and Easter season, this luxurious seaside family resort really lets its hair down, and pulls out all the stops to ensure that families  have a really fun, relaxed March Break.

We can’t wait to get back to the area this summer to learn more about the mystery, and experience some summer time Nova Scotia South Shore fun.

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based writer. She was a guest of the Atlantica Oak Island Hotel

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.