fbpx

耐心......和欣喜:鲸鱼在新斯科舍省的布里尔岛上观看

观赏布里尔岛上的鲸鱼

芬迪湾由新斯科舍省和新不伦瑞克省共享的海岸,拥有世界上最高的潮汐。 布里尔岛小而相对偏远,坐落在海湾的入口处,位于一个名为Digby Neck的薄吐的尖端。 由于其地理位置和自然美景,布里尔岛是加拿大观赏鲸鱼的最佳地点之一。

自由港长岛Digby脖子

自由港,长岛,等待渡轮到布里尔岛

在春季,您可以看到长须鲸,小须鲸和港湾鼠海豚。 在夏季,您可能会看到座头鲸和大西洋白海豚。 还有一些罕见的目击:偶尔的露脊鲸或鲸鱼。 所有芬迪湾观鲸运营商都遵守道德规范,规范他们与鲸鱼的互动方式。

水手巡航赏鲸

水手游轮办公室。 布赖尔岛上的一切都很容易找到。

我们选择了 水手巡游鲸鱼和海鸟游览 因为他们的良好声誉,我们的观鲸之旅。 我们的导游和岛上的终身居民Penny Graham建议我们开始我们的旅行:“看鲸就像丛林野生动物园。 请记住,我们正在访问他们的环境,而不是相反“。 她还补充说,我们无法保证会看到任何鲸鱼。

水手巡航船员

我们7月初的访问恰好发生在鲸鱼种群开始春季从美国海岸的繁殖地迁移到芬迪湾丰富的觅食地时。 虽然我们知道观赏鲸鱼的最佳月份是8月和9月,但我们被告知,前一天,船员们看到了一只非常好玩的小须鲸,他们在船旁边放了一场精彩的表演。 我们希望见到她,或看到座头鲸。 所以我们等了,看着......

观看鲸鱼

我们看着......并等待着。

一个典型的观鲸之旅可以从2-4小时开始,但是在海上眯眼几乎3小时之后,我们的小组只看到了几只海鸟。 我的女儿和我拿出一副纸牌并适当地玩了 去钓鱼 为了打发时间。 我的女儿在我下载的这张优秀地图上绘制了我们的旅程 请点击此处。,在我们旅行之前。

观赏布里尔岛上的鲸鱼

突然,其中一名乘客站起来指向地平线,兴奋地大喊。 我们都站了起来......但事实并非如此。 到3时间过去的时候,我们非常渴望看到一条鲸鱼,每一波和每一个阴影都像鲸鱼。 但每次我们都失望了。 船上阴沉的气氛是显而易见的。 很明显,没有鲸鱼出现。

零食

一路上到岸边供应可口的小点心。

就在3:00pm之后,机组人员开始接受热饮订单并发放饼干。 当我啜饮可能是我尝过的最受欢迎和美味的热巧克力时,我记得当我们办理入住时,办公室里的女孩告诉了我们什么。一杯热饮料和一份点心将在途中送达 回到岸边。 “每个人怎么样?”佩吉用一种响亮,令人难以置信的欢快声音说道:“这样的美好一天要出去,不是吗?” 你可以告诉Penny也很失望。 并准备好称它为一天。

赏鲸Digby鱼翅

但是,就在失去了希望而我们即将放弃的时候,来自彭妮的欢呼声也来了。 “鲸鱼!” - 我们下一阶段的旅程开始了。 当我们在船的一侧跑到另一侧时,很快收集到了聚苯乙烯泡沫塑料杯,试图看到在船附近潜水和在水中游泳的两只鳍鲸。

Petit Passage赏鲸之旅

然后,出现了另外两艘船。 布里尔岛上的旅游运营商紧密结合。 他们彼此分享信息,惠及所有人,但小心不要混淆或扰乱鲸鱼。 几分钟后,有三艘船驶入,每个旅游团都希望鲸鱼靠近他们的船。 鲸鱼轮盘赌!

翅鲸尾巴海伦Earley

我们的导游Penny变得生气蓬勃,告诉我们关于鳍鲸的事实。 当鲸鱼破裂时有一个令人振奋的时刻。 彭妮也很兴奋。 她说,在芬迪湾观鲸的几年中,她从未见过鳍鲸的尾巴......直到现在!

孩子们谈论赏鲸

Whale_lice

在回家的路上,彭妮拿出一些文物来展示乘客。 鲸鱼鲸,浮游生物......和鲸鱼虱子! 她轻松地回答了我们所有与鲸鱼有关的问题。 当我们回到岸边时,彭妮感谢我们的团队,并建议我们今天可能会学到一件重要的事情:有时在布里尔岛观看鲸鱼就是耐心!

Helen Earley是哈利法克斯的作家。 海伦和她的女儿是Mariner Cruises Whale和Seabird Tours的客人

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
4 条评论
  1. 2020年5月25日
    • 2020年5月25日
  2. 2020年2月25日
    • 2020年5月25日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Patience…and Exhilaration: Whale Watching on Brier Island, Nova Scotia

Whale Watching on Brier Island

The Bay of Fundy, with a coast shared by Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, has the highest tides in the world. Small and relatively remote, Brier Island sits at the mouth of the bay, on  the tip of a thin spit called Digby Neck. Due to its location and natural beauty, Brier Island is one of the top places in Canada to go whale watching.

Freeport Long Island Digby Neck

Freeport, Long Island, waiting for the ferry to Brier Island

During the spring, you can expect to see fin whales, minke whales and harbour porpoises. In summer, you may see humpback whales and Atlantic white-sided dolphins. There are some rarer sightings too: the occasional right whale or pilot whale. All Bay of Fundy whale-watch operators stick to a code of ethics that governs how they interact with the whales.

Mariner Cruises Whale Watching

Mariner Cruises office. Everything on Brier Island is easy to find.

We chose Mariner Cruises Whale and Seabird Tours for our whale watching tour because of their excellent reputation. Our tour guide, and lifelong resident of the island,  Penny Graham advised as we began our tour: “Whale watching is just like a jungle safari. Remember that we are visiting their environment, not the other way around”.  She also added that there was no guarantee we would see any whales at all.

Mariner Cruises crew

Our visit in early July happened just as the whale population begins its spring migration from the breeding grounds off the US coast to the to the rich feeding grounds in the Bay of Fundy.  Although we knew that the best months for whale watching are August and September, we had been told that one day earlier, the crew had seen a very playful Minke whale, who put on a great show beside the boat. We hoped to meet her, or see a humpback. And so we waited, and watched…

Watching for Whales

We watched…and waited.

A typical whale watching tour can be from 2-4 hours in length, but after nearly 3 hours of squinting at the sea, our group had seen nothing more than a few seabirds. My daughter and I took out a deck of cards and played, appropriately, Go Fish to pass the time. My daughter plotted our journey on this excellent map, which I downloaded here, in advance of our trip.

Whale Watching on Brier Island

Suddenly, one of the passengers stood up and pointed toward the horizon, shouting excitedly. We all stood up…but it was nothing. By the time 3 hours had passed, we were so desperate to see a whale that every wave and every shadow looked like a whale. But each time we were disappointed. The sombre mood on the boat was palpable. It was clear that there were no whales coming out to play.

snacks

A welcome little snack is served on the way into shore.

Just after 3:00pm, the crew began taking orders for hot drinks and giving out cookies. As I sipped on what is possibly the most welcome and delicious hot chocolate I have ever tasted (everything tastes so good on the sea!) I remembered what the girl in the office had told us when we checked in. A hot drink and a snack would be served on the way back into shore. “How’s everyone?”, said Peggy in a loud, unconvincingly cheerful voice:  “such a nice day to be out, isn’t it?”. You could tell Penny was disappointed too. And ready to call it a day.

Whale Watching Digby Fin Whale

But then, just as hope was lost and we were about to give up, the shout came from Penny. “Whale!” – and the next stage of our journey began. Styrofoam cups were quickly collected as we raced and stumbled from one side of the boat to the other, trying to get a view of the two fin whales which were diving and swimming in the water near the boat.

Petit Passage Whale Watching Tours

Then, out of nowhere two other boats appeared. Tour operators on Brier Island are close knit. They share information with each other, benefiting all, but are careful not to confuse or disturb the whales. For several minutes three boats were in view, each tour group hoping that the whale would come up close to their boat. Whale roulette!

Fin Whale tail Helen Earley

Our tour guide, Penny became animated, telling us facts about the fin whale. There was an exhilarating moment when the fin whale breached. Penny was exhilarated too. She said that in all her years of whale watching on the Bay of Fundy, she has never seen a fin whale’s tail… until now!

Kids Talk Whale Watching

Whale_lice

On the way home, Penny took out some artifacts to show the passengers. Whale baleen, plankton..and whale lice! She answered all our whale-related questions with ease.  As we came back into shore, Penny thanked our group and suggested that perhaps we learned one important thing today: sometimes Whale watching on Brier Island is all about patience!

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based writer. Helen and her daughter were guests of Mariner Cruises Whale and Seabird Tours

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
4 Comments
  1. May 6, 2016
    • May 7, 2016
  2. February 1, 2016
    • May 7, 2016