fbpx

艾伯塔省劇院項目2019-2020季節

艾伯塔劇院項目Logo(卡爾加里家庭娛樂中心)

艾伯塔省劇院項目是一家非營利性專業劇院公司,在瑪莎·科恩劇院(Martha Cohen Theatre)演出。 他們製作各種高質量的戲劇,通常側重於加拿大的戲劇創作,其中一些是為兒童設計的。 傳統上,他們會為聖誕節製作特別適合家庭的影片。 今年(2019年) 獅子,女巫和魔衣櫥。

這就是為什麼會出現的 2020 / 21賽季:

少年迪克:九月16 - 十月3,2020

“莎士比亞的理查三世的高額悲劇和政治戲劇被運送到當代高中的走廊上。 劇中出色,有魅力的反英雄人物是迪克。 由於厭倦了因腦癱而被欺負,他決定在高風險的學生會選舉中切斷無情的權力之路。 在使用最好的朋友巴克的輪椅的幫助下,他試圖勾引學校中最受歡迎的女孩,同時推翻當選為學生會主席的看好的埃迪。 迪克極其敏銳的機智,魅力和說服力完全發揮了戲劇的爆炸性作用。 《少年迪克》最初在紐約公共劇院首映,獲得好評和好評。 與莎士比亞劇團和Hit&Myth Productions聯合製作,這標誌著Mike Lew的《 Teenage Dick》在加拿大首映。”

新魔術谷遊樂園:21年1月2020日至XNUMX月XNUMX日

“布雷頓角的一輛拖車成為兩個童年朋友聚會的地方-他們已經25年沒有見面了。 激烈的海上慶祝活動(包括音樂,飲料和笑聲)最終消失了,老朋友開始面對他們倆都努力擺脫的秘密。 Siminovich獎和總督獎得主Daniel MacIvor創作了一部有趣而美麗的戲劇,講述了記憶的時長和局限性。 它最初是在塔拉貢劇院生產的,在全國各地引起了熱烈歡迎,並受到了好評。”

小飛俠:十一月17 - 十二月27,2020

“對於我們的年度假期製作,艾伯塔省劇院計劃將把另一個永恆的文學幻想帶入舞台。 來年,這是對JM Barrie鍾愛的經典作品《彼得潘》的全新改編,飛快地改編,由同一支創意團隊組成,在創紀錄的《獅子》,《女巫》和《衣櫥》中,納尼亞共和國光榮地活了下來。 彼得潘帶著點點小精靈的灰塵,帶著三個頑皮的孩子參加了一次冒險的冒險,其中充滿了頑皮的迷途孩子,嗜血的鱷魚和一群咆哮的海盜-由傳奇的胡克船長率領。

棒棒:二月3 - 20,2021

“一位年輕的黑人警察射擊了一個沒有武裝的黑人孩子。 這個故事成為熱門影片,而熱門影片也將成為一部預算巨大的電影,而Lila –就是這一切的核心–不想與它有任何關係。 當白人劇作家敲門時,接a而來的是被洗劫一空的兒童明星,將扮演電影的主角,不尋常的角色集合試圖通過在Lila客廳中間對劇作進行諷刺的閱讀來彌合他們之間的差異。 憑藉無畏和敏銳的機智,凱特·桑德勒(Kat Sandler)的頭條sat諷式社會諷刺藝術探索了藝術,身份以及我們如何體驗非我們自己的經歷。”

脫衣服:3月17 - 27,2021

“這是由充滿活力的卡爾加里戲劇藝術家路易絲·凱斯莫爾(Louise Casemore)創作和表演的搞笑,發自內心的個展,探討了一個簡單但令人困惑的問題:您如何處理用過的婚紗? 接下來的是實時零浪費拍賣,因為Casemore體現了每個選擇放開婚紗的新娘。 每個女人都有一個獨特而動人的故事,講述Casemore在每個角色之間的變化。 《脫衣服》是由艾伯塔省劇院項目委託和開發的全球首演。 這是一部充滿幽默感和內心深處的個人劇本,還有許多動態互動驚喜。”

歌舞表演:推遲至14年2月2021日至XNUMX月XNUMX日

“在八次獲得托尼獎之後,卡巴雷特(Cabaret)探索了柏林Kit Kat俱樂部的過度和衰敗,因為1920年代即將結束,在那個時候一切皆有可能-直到不可能。 難忘的莎莉·鮑爾斯(Sally Bowles)將以大膽,沉浸式和近距離的製作吸引觀眾進入柏林地下世界。 在瑪莎·科恩劇院(Martha Cohen Theatre)全新沉浸式座椅配置的中心,一個龐大的酒吧頂部設有9個演出的所有樂器,這一獨特的製作將為音樂劇院經典中最受人喜愛的遊戲之一增添新的共鳴。 大劇院的這部電影由丹尼斯·加恩胡姆(Dennis Garnhum)執導,這個名字在卡爾加里的觀眾中眾所周知。 Garnhum說:“音樂劇是在一個燦爛的社會變成一個可怕的世界的背景下進行的。” “自由受到限制,而獨特成為威脅。””

艾伯塔劇院項目:

哪裡: 瑪莎·科恩劇院
地址: 220 9 Ave SE,卡爾加里,AB
網站: www.atplive.com

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

fbpx

Alberta Theatre Projects 2019-2020 Season

Alberta Theatre Projects Logo (Family Fun Calgary)

Alberta Theatre Projects is a not-for-profit, professional theatre company that plays in the Martha Cohen Theatre. They produce a wide range of high-quality plays, often focusing on Canadian playwriting, some of which are designed for children. They traditionally perform a specifically family-friendly production for Christmas. This year, 2019, the production was The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

Here’s what’s coming up for the 2019/20 season.

Old Stock: A Refugee Love Story: February 5 – 16, 2020

“Humorously dark story-theatre with a high-energy concert, Old Stock debuted in Halifax and has become an international sensation, also enjoying a wildly popular seven-week run Off-Broadway. The play tells the true story of Hannah Moscovitch’s great-grandparents, who landed on Pier 2 as Jewish Romanian immigrants to start a new life. Dark and hilarious, Old Stock is a genre-bending folk tale, woven together in a concert of brash, rollicking, joyful Klezmer Folk music.”

Audience Considerations: Suggested for ages 14+

Actually: February 26 – March 15, 2020

“The winner of the Ovation Award in Los Angeles for best new play, Actually takes place on the contemporary campus of Princeton University, and tells the story of two very different Freshmen. Amber comes from a well to do Jewish family. Tom is a young African American man raised in poverty, the first in his family to attend university. The two meet one night at a frat party, hit it off, share some laughs and a few too many drinks. Precisely what happens next is the devastating, complex question at the heart of this riveting new drama. Tom and Amber both plead their case in a direct address to the audience, each defending their own very different versions of events.”

Audience Considerations: Suggested for ages 16+

Cowgirl Up: April 15 – May 3, 2020

“Joyce, Effie and BB are cowgirl goddesses on Mount Olympus who lament what they see down on earth. It’s a cowboy’s world. Cocky steer-ropers have stolen the spotlight for long enough. The goddesses decide to use their considerable supernatural powers to give rise to a Cowgirl Revolution. When they discover Cassidy Clark, a talented, charismatic loner from Okotoks, Alberta, they know they have found the barrel racer poised to lead their cause. The three goddesses appear to her one day, offering her all the gifts she will need to earn her first buckle at the Canadian Finals Rodeo championship. We follow Cassidy atop her trusty mare, Starbright, as she rises to the top of the circuit, throwing back shots of Jack Daniels and two-stepping along the way. Cassidy wrestles with her new-found fame, and just how far she will push herself and Starbright in pursuit of their dream.” 

Audience Considerations: Suggested for ages 12+

Here’s what’s coming up for the 2020/21 season:

Teenage Dick: September 16 – October 3, 2020

“The high stakes tragedy and political drama of Shakespeare’s Richard III are transported to the hallways of a contemporary High School. The play’s brilliant, charismatic anti-hero is Dick. Tired of being bullied for his cerebral palsy, he decides to cut a ruthless path to power in a high-stakes student council election. Aided by his wheelchair using best-friend Buck, he seeks to seduce the most popular girl in school while overthrowing bullish Eddy from his station as student council president. Dick’s razor-sharp wit, charm and persuasion are in full force right up to the play’s explosive conclusion. Teenage Dick originally premiered at New York’s Public Theatre to critical and popular acclaim. Produced in association with The Shakespeare Company and Hit & Myth Productions, this marks the Canadian premiere of Mike Lew’s Teenage Dick.”

New Magic Valley Fun Town: October 21, – November 1, 2020

“A trailer in Cape Breton becomes the setting for a reunion between two childhood friends – who haven’t seen each other in 25 years. A rollicking Maritime celebration – complete with music, drinks and laughter – eventually winds down, and the old friends begin to confront the secrets they’ve both tried so hard to leave behind. A funny, beautiful play about the length and limits of memory, New Magic Valley Fun Town was created by Siminovich Prize and Governor General Award-winner Daniel MacIvor. Originally produced at Tarragon Theatre, it has played to sell-out crowds and rave reviews across the country.”

Peter Pan: November 17 – December 27, 2020

“For our annual holiday production, Alberta Theatre Projects will bring another timeless literary fantasy to life onstage. This coming year, it’s a new, high-flying, swashbuckling adaptation of J.M. Barrie’s beloved classic, Peter Pan, featuring the same creative team that brought Narnia gloriously to life in the record-breaking The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. With a touch of pixie dust, Peter Pan takes the three Darling children on a daring adventure filled with mischievous lost kids, blood-thirsty crocodiles and a crew of snarling pirates – led by the legendary Captain Hook.”

Bang Bang: February 3 – 2o, 2021

“A young, black cop shoots an unarmed black kid. The story becomes a hit play, and the hit play is about to become a big-budget film, and Lila – the cop at the heart of it all – doesn’t want anything to do with it. When the white playwright comes knocking at her door, followed by a washed-up child star slated to play the film’s lead, the unusual collection of characters try to bridge their differences by staging a farcical reading of the play in the middle of Lila’s living room. With irreverence and razor-sharp wit, Kat Sandler’s ripped-from-the-headlines social satire explores art, identity and how we engage with experiences that aren’t our own.”

Undressed: March 17 – 27, 2021

“This hilarious, heartfelt solo show, written and performed by dynamic Calgary theatre artist Louise Casemore, explores a simple but confounding question: What do you do with a used wedding dress? What follows is a real-time zero waste auction, as Casemore embodies each of the brides who have chosen to let their wedding gown go. Each woman has a unique, moving story to tell as Casemore morphs from character to character. Undressed is a world premiere, commissioned and developed by Alberta Theatre Projects. It is a deeply personal play full of humour and heart, with more than a few dynamic interactive surprises.”

Cabaret: April 14 – May 2, 2021

“The winner of eight Tony awards, Cabaret explores the excesses and decadence of Berlin’s Kit Kat Club as the 1920’s draw to a close – a time where everything was possible – until it wasn’t. The unforgettable Sally Bowles will draw audiences into the Berlin underworld with a daring, immersive and up-close production. Featuring a cast of 9 – all playing instruments atop a sprawling bar at the centre of a new immersive seating configuration in the Martha Cohen Theatre, this unique production will add a new resonance to one of the most beloved titles in the music theatre canon. This Grand Theatre production is directed by Dennis Garnhum, a name well known to Calgary audiences. “This musical is set against a backdrop where a brilliant society becomes a scary, scary world,” said Garnhum. ‘Freedoms become restricted and being unique becomes a threat.'”

Alberta Theatre Projects:

Where: Martha Cohen Theatre
Address: 220 9 Ave SE, Calgary, AB
Website: www.atplive.com

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The COVID-19 situation is rapidly changing, and many events are being cancelled with little notice. Family Fun Calgary does not organize any events, as such, we aren’t responsible for the cancellations. We will do our utmost to keep our readers informed. As always check with the venue before you leave home.