“想辦法。”

您如何最好地學習新知識? 有人告訴您如何做某事會有所幫助,有人告訴您如何做事會更有幫助。 當我小時候向父親提出問題時,我真的只是想讓他為我解決問題。 但是他的話說“弄清楚”,讓我別無選擇,只能把事情拆開,放回去,學會在框外思考。 他的話仍然在我的腦海中震撼,因為現在我知道這是最好的學習!

當然,體驗式學習也為孩子們帶來了巨大的優勢。 從學到如何使用勺子的幼兒到青少年運用新的專業知識來啟發父母,孩子們都可以通過經驗獲得有意義的,切實的技能。 APEGA認識到了這一點 教育創新獎。 他們的目標是通過對工程和地球科學概念的動手探索和應用來教授課程,從而使艾伯塔省的教育工作者能夠將教育,有意義的經驗整合到課堂中。

這些經驗和項目通常不僅需要偉大的想法和願望,而且APEGA可以為您提供幫助。 最高頒發10萬美元的獎金,以促進課堂上的創新工程和地球科學計劃。 憑藉這些獎項,一年級至十二年級的學生將有機會創造新事物或解決現有問題,學習有益於他們一生的技能。

APEGA創新教育獎(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

獲獎項目

獲獎的標準是什麼? 受益於這些獎項之一的教室將教授工程和地球科學領域的現實和相關應用程序,讓學生有機會影響所選項目的方向。 通過這個由學生主導,動手,有趣的項目,學生將發展他們的思維過程和現實生活技能。 該項目還應該對課堂和整個社區產生積極和可衡量的影響。 過去的項目包括對一台機器進行編程,該機器可以自動將不可回收物品中的可回收塑料分類,或者開發設備以幫助高級中心居民應對日常挑戰。 孩子們將自己應用到一個創新而引人入勝的項目中時,將經歷挑戰和挫折,還將經歷創造性思維和成功。 查看完整清單 倡議標准在這裡.

誰可以申請?

鼓勵所有當前在艾伯塔省1至12年級的學校或學校董事會受僱(並獲得艾伯塔省的執教資格)的教育,行政和支持人員的申請。 收件人必須扮演能夠使他們與一大批學生一起完成計劃的角色,並且必須得到學校或學校董事會的全力支持。 找出 申請表 並在5年2020月2020日之前申請,獲獎者將在XNUMX年XNUMX月啟動他們的項目。

老師,讓您的學生有大膽,大膽的構想以及實現這些構想的機會。 父母,請與您孩子的學校和老師交談,以了解如何為這一難得的機會提供支持。 而且,孩子們,是時候發揮創造力了!

APEGA教育創新獎:

申請截止日期: 5年 2020月 XNUMX日
網站:
 www.apega.ca

fbpx

Learning Through Experience: APEGA Innovation in Education Awards Offer School Grants

“Figure it out.”

How do you best learn something new? Somebody telling you how to do something helps and somebody showing you how to do it is more helpful. When I was a kid and took a problem to my dad, I really just wanted him to fix it for me. But his words, “Figure it out,” left me no choice but to take things apart, put them back together, and learn to think outside the box. His words still ring through my head, because now I know that is learning at it’s best!

Of course, experiential learning gives a huge advantage to kids, too. From toddlers learning how to use a spoon to teenagers applying new expertise to inspire their parents, kids gain meaningful, tangible skills through experience. APEGA recognizes this with their Innovation in Education Awards. Their goal is to enable Alberta educators to integrate educational, meaningful experiences into the classroom by teaching the curriculum through the hands-on exploration and application of engineering and geoscience concepts.

These experiences and projects often take more than just great ideas and desire, and that’s where APEGA can help. Awards of up to $10 000 are granted to promote innovative engineering and geoscience initiatives in the classroom. With these awards, students in grades one to twelve can get the chance to create something new or to solve an existing problem, learning skills that will benefit them for a lifetime.

APEGA Innovation in Education Awards (Family Fun Calgary)

Award-Winning Projects

What are the criteria to win an award? The classroom that benefits from one of these awards will be teaching realistic and relevant applications of the engineering and geoscience fields, with students having an opportunity to influence the direction of the chosen project. With this student-led, hands-on, engaging project, students will develop their thought-processes and real-life skills. The project should also have a positive and measurable effect on the classroom and the larger community. Past projects include programming a machine that automatically sorts recyclable plastics from non-recyclable items or developing devices to help senior centre residents with their daily challenges. The kids will experience challenges and frustrations, but also creative thinking and success as they apply themselves to an innovative and compelling project. See the complete list of Initiative Criteria here.

Who Can Apply?

All educational, administrative, and support staff members currently employed by a grade 1 to 12 school or school board in Alberta (and certified to teach in Alberta) are encouraged to apply. Recipients must be in roles that enable them to complete the initiative with a large group of students and must have the full support of their school or school board. Find the application form and apply by April 5, 2020, with winners launching their project in September 2020.

Teachers, enable your students to shoot for the moon with big, bold ideas and the chance to work these ideas out. Parents, speak to your child’s school and teachers to find out how you can support this fantastic opportunity. And, kids, it’s time to get creative!

APEGA Innovation in Education Awards:

Applications Due: April 5, 2020
Website:
 www.apega.ca

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *