fbpx

嘿,旱鴨子! 你會喜歡沃特頓海岸線遊船

太陽在一片巨大的雲層邊緣窺視著,在溫暖的午後光芒中投射著MV International。 隨著風吹動我們的頭髮,幾乎偷了我們的呼吸,馬達在下面隆隆聲。 我的一個孩子看著我坐在板凳上並且笑了笑。

沃特頓遊船(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

沒有什麼比在水上更好的了,無論是海洋,河流還是湖泊,當你被上沃特頓湖的精緻景色所包圍時,有什麼可抱怨的?! 此外,我們獲得了進入美國和冰川國家公園的獨特體驗,沒有清關。 (這對我們來說非常令人興奮。)

我的丈夫,3孩子,我 享受沃特頓湖國家公園的度假 這次旅行的亮點將是兩小時的遊船之旅 沃特頓海岸線遊輪公司。 參觀一個地方是一回事,但令人高興的是 發現 一個地方。

在船

Waterton Shoreline Cruise遊輪帶您從Waterton村到位於蒙大拿州冰川國家公園的Goat Haunt,乘坐MV International遊船。 該船安裝舒適,配有室內和室內座位,自1927起已投入使用,僅有兩個例外。 有一年,在第二次世界大戰期間,由於汽油配給,船停靠了,在1954,船庫倒塌,國際航空公司遭受了一些損失。

沃特頓遊船(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

蒙大拿州Goat Haunt的MV國際組織

我們的遊輪由三名船員組成,其中包括一名擁有超過25年經驗的船長,我們受到了一名船員的歡迎和教育。 很明顯,我們在沃特頓長大的導遊喜歡這個地區。 他以輕鬆的熱情和激情說話,為我們提供了有關公園的豐富信息。

需要了解的事項:國際上沒有浴室設施,而且距離Goat Haunt設施近一個小時。 所以,你知道,相應地計劃。

景觀

我經常喜歡給孩子們帶來“教育”經歷。 並不是說我希望獲得國際文憑課程的成績,只是為了擴大他們的視野。 偶爾(經常),這會遇到阻力。 這就是為什麼我喜歡這種遊輪的活動; 我們學到了很多關於景觀和沃特頓地區的知識 每個人都玩得很開心!

沃特頓遊船(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

每個人都喜歡乘船遊覽 - 圖片來源:Charity Quick

Upper Waterton Lake位於4200英尺高地,是加拿大落基山脈最深的湖泊。 它的陡峭邊緣,就像一個浴缸,告訴它形成它的冰川作用。 現在只有雪包留在沃特頓,但在蒙大拿州的鄰近冰川國家公園有26活躍的冰川。

我們的導遊指出了獨特的山地形態,如鋸齒嶺,每側冰川退縮時形成,形成一個迷人的山峰。 當我們走近Goat Haunt時,我們的導遊指出了山。 克利夫蘭是Waterton Lakes國家公園或冰川國家公園的最高峰,位於10 466英尺處。

沃特頓遊船(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

公噸。 左邊的克利夫蘭; 最右邊的鋸齒嶺。 照片來源:Charity Quick

我們看到岩石如何實際折疊和了解所謂的劉易斯逆轉(由於構造壓力,較老的前寒武紀岩石被推向較年輕的白堊紀岩石。)地質學家來到這裡研究“顛倒山脈的土地”。 “

沃特頓遊船(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

岩石褶皺的一個地質上有趣的例子。 很有意思,對吧?! 照片來源:Charity Quick

要了解的事情:抓住你的帽子。 沃特頓是艾伯塔省第二個最風的地方。 (Crowsnest Pass是第一個。)超過100 km / hr的陣風並不少見。

冒險!

在1932,沃特頓湖國家公園和冰川國家公園組成了第一個國際和平公園。 兩個公園緊密合作,特別是在對抗野火等重要任務上。 我們的船在兩國之間的邊界停了一會兒,在那裡你可以在樹木清理中找到一個標記。

沃特頓遊船(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

我的過境點 - 圖片來源:Charity Quick

我們很高興能夠在蒙大拿州的Goat Haunt下船,甚至沒有閃過護照。 (由於一條特別艱苦的海關線路,我的孩子們現在對越過邊境抱有非常不利的意見,非常感謝,多倫多機場。)任何想要超出Goat Haunt標準半小時巡航站點的人都必須清關和然而,提供身份證明。 我們在蒙大拿州的半小時花在跳過岩石上,片刻之間,我的孩子們將永遠記得“美國擁有 最好的 跳過岩石!“無論是什麼讓他們開心,我想。

沃特頓遊船(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

有趣的岩石和水 - 圖片來源:Charity Quick

我們的遊輪沒有在地穴湖徒步旅行中停留,但我們的導遊指出了地穴登陸的小道。 這項獨特的徒步旅行被國家地理雜誌評為世界上最令人興奮的20之一。 從15分鐘乘船(可以與Waterton Cruises一起安排)開始,徒步經過四個壯觀的瀑布,爬上一個鋼梯,並穿過狹窄的60英尺長的隧道。 在沿著懸崖邊緣進行短暫的短途旅行後(幸運的是,借助電纜進行安全保障),您將抵達美麗的地穴湖。

除了在水上和陣風抓住你的帽子的樂趣,一定要注意你的遊輪上的野生動物。 沿著湖邊或沿山坡發現禿鷹,魚鷹,熊,山羊和駝鹿。 我們在遊輪上看到一隻年輕的白頭鷹,就在巡航正在逐漸減弱時,有人發現一隻黑熊沿著水邊悠閒地吃飯。 我們的船長將船靠近熊,我們很高興看著他看我們幾分鐘。

要了解的事項:考慮帶一副雙筒望遠鏡,可以更好地瞥見迷人的野生動物。

沃特頓遊船(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

參觀當地熊 - 圖片來源:Charity Quick

在享受了我們(安全!)與熊的相遇之後,國際慢慢地回到了港口。 孩子們被風吹走,充滿了對我們所看到和完成的一切的興奮,孩子們跳下船,為我們的下一次冒險做好準備。 當然還有晚餐。

享受自己的遊輪: www.watertoncruise.com
參觀沃特頓湖國家公園: www.mywaterton.cawww.pc.gc.ca

作者要感謝Waterton Shoreline Cruise Co.主辦她的家庭。 表達的所有觀點都是她自己的。

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

Hey, Landlubbers! You’ll Love the Waterton Shoreline Boat Cruise

The sun peered around the edge of a massive cloud casting the M. V. International in a warm afternoon glow. The motor rumbled below as the wind swirled our hair, nearly stealing our breath. One of my kids looked across the bench at me and beamed.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

There’s nothing quite like being on the water, be it ocean, river, or lake, and when you’re surrounded by the exquisite scenery of Upper Waterton Lake, what’s there to complain about?! Plus, we were getting the unique experience of crossing into the United States and Glacier National Park, without clearing customs. (This was disproportionately exciting for us.)

My husband, 3 kids, and I were enjoying a getaway to Waterton Lakes National Park and the highlight of the trip would turn out to be the two-hour boat cruise offered by the Waterton Shoreline Cruise Company. It’s one thing to visit a place, but it’s a delight to discover a place.

The Boat

The Waterton Shoreline Cruise takes you on a scenic cruise from Waterton Village to Goat Haunt, in Glacier National Park, Montana, aboard the M. V. International. The vessel is comfortably arranged with outdoor and indoor seating and has been in service since 1927, with only two exceptions. One year, during WWII, the boat was docked due to the gasoline rationing and in 1954, the boathouse collapsed and the International sustained some damages.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

The M. V. International at Goat Haunt, Montana

Our cruise was manned by three crewmen, including a captain with over 25 years experience, and we were entertained and educated by one of the crew members along the way. It was clear that our guide, who grew up in Waterton, loved the area. He spoke with light-hearted warmth and passion, giving us a wealth of information about the park.

Things to know: There are no bathroom facilities aboard the International and it’s nearly an hour to facilities at Goat Haunt. So, you know, plan accordingly.

The Landscape

Every so often, I like to inflict “educational” experiences on my children. It’s not that I’m hoping for International Baccalaureate results, just to expand their horizons a little. Occasionally (frequently), this is met with resistance. That’s why I love activities like this cruise; we learned so much about the landscape and Waterton area and everyone had a great time!

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

Everyone loving the boat cruise – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Located at 4200 feet elevation, Upper Waterton Lake is the deepest lake in the Canadian Rockies. Its steep edges, much like a bathtub, tell of the glacier action that formed it. Only snow packs are left in Waterton now, but there are 26 active glaciers in neighbouring Glacier National Park in Montana.

Our guide pointed out unique mountain formations, such as Sawtooth Ridge, that was formed when glaciers on each side retreated, creating a fascinating mountain peak. As we approached Goat Haunt, our guide pointed out Mt. Cleveland, which is the highest peak in either Waterton Lakes National Park or Glacier National Park, at 10 466 feet.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

Mt. Cleveland on the left; Sawtooth Ridge on the far right. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

We saw how rocks can actually fold and learned about the so-called Lewis Overthrust (where older pre-Cambrian rock was thrust onto younger Cretaceous rock due to tectonic pressure.) Geologists come here to study the land of the “upside-down mountains.”

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

A geologically interesting example of a rock fold. Fascinating, right?! Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Things to know: Hold on to your hat. Waterton is the second windiest place in Alberta. (Crowsnest Pass is the first.) Wind gusts of over 100 km/hr are not uncommon.

The Adventure!

In 1932, Waterton Lakes National Park and Glacier National Park formed the first International Peace Park. The two Parks work closely together, especially on such important tasks as fighting wildfires. Our boat paused for a moment at the boundary between the two countries, where you could make out a marker in the tree clearing.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

My kind of border crossing – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

We enjoyed being able to disembark at Goat Haunt, Montana, without even flashing a passport. (Due to one particularly gruelling customs line, my kids now hold very unfavourable opinions about crossing the border, thank you very much, Toronto airport.) Anyone wanting to stay beyond the standard half hour cruise stop at Goat Haunt would have to clear customs and provide identification, however. Our half hour in Montana was spent skipping rocks, in a moment of time my kids will always remember as “The USA has the best skipping rocks!” Whatever makes them happy, I guess.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

Fun with rocks and water – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Our cruise did not include a stop at the Crypt Lake hike, but our guide pointed out the trailhead at Crypt Landing. This unique hike has been rated by National Geographic as one of the World’s 20 Most Thrilling Trails. Beginning with a 15-minute boat ride (which can be arranged with Waterton Cruises), the hike passes by four spectacular waterfalls, climbs a steel ladder, and snakes through a narrow, 60-foot long tunnel. After a short jaunt along the edge of a cliff (thankfully, with the aid of a cable for security), you arrive at the beautiful Crypt Lake.

Besides the fun of being on the water and the wind gusts grabbing your hat, be sure to watch out for wildlife on your cruise. Bald eagles, ospreys, bears, mountain goats, and moose may be spotted along the lake’s edge or along the mountain slopes. We saw a young bald eagle on our cruise, and just as the cruise was winding down, someone spotted a black bear having a leisurely meal along the water’s edge. Our captain manoeuvered the boat closer to the bear and we enjoyed watching him watch us for a few minutes.

Things to know: Consider bringing a pair of binoculars for a better glimpse of fascinating wildlife.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

Visiting a local bear – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

After enjoying our (safe!) encounter with the bear, the International slowly made it’s way back into the harbour. Windblown and filled with excitement about all we had seen and done, the kids skipped off the boat, ready for our next adventure. And, of course, dinner.

Enjoy your own cruise: www.watertoncruise.com
Visit Waterton Lakes National Park: www.mywaterton.ca and www.pc.gc.ca

The author would like to thank the Waterton Shoreline Cruise Co. for hosting her family. All opinions expressed are her own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *