Эй, Ландлубберс! Вы полюбите водный круиз по берегам реки Уотертон

Солнце заглядывало к краю огромного облака, бросая MV International в теплое дневное свечение. Мотор грохотал внизу, когда ветер закручивал наши волосы, почти крадя наше дыхание. Один из моих детей посмотрел на меня и посмотрел на меня.

Круиз по воде Уотертон (Семейный отдых Калгари)

Нет ничего особенного, как быть на воде, будь то океан, река или озеро, а когда вы окружены изысканными пейзажами Верхнего Уотертон-Лейка, на что можно жаловаться ?! Кроме того, мы получили уникальный опыт пересечения в Соединенные Штаты и Национальный парк ледника, не очищая обычаи. (Это было непросто для нас.)

Мой муж, дети 3, и я были наслаждаясь бегством в Национальный парк Уотертон-Лейкс и изюминкой поездки станет двухчасовой круиз на лодке, предлагаемый Компания Waterton Shoreline Cruise Company, Одно дело - посетить место, но это приятно обнаружить место.

Лодка

Круиз The Waterton Shoreline отправляет вас в живописный круиз из Уотертон-Виллидж в Козловую гору, в Национальный парк Ледник, Монтана, на борту MV International. Судно удобно устроено с наружным и внутренним сидением и находится в эксплуатации с 1927, за исключением двух исключений. Один год, во время Второй мировой войны, лодка была состыкована из-за нормирования бензина и в 1954, эллинг рухнул, а International понесла некоторые убытки.

Круиз по воде Уотертон (Семейный отдых Калгари)

Международный МВД в Козловце, Монтана

Наш круиз был укомплектован тремя членами экипажа, включая капитана с опытом 25, и нас развлекали и воспитывали один из членов экипажа на этом пути. Было ясно, что наш гид, выросший в Уотертоне, любил этот район. Он говорил с беззаботной теплотой и страстью, давая нам массу информации о парке.

Что нужно знать: на борту «Интернационала» нет санузлов, и это почти час для занятий в Goat Haunt. Итак, вы знаете, планируйте соответственно.

Пейзаж

Каждый раз так часто мне нравятся мои «воспитательные» переживания. Дело не в том, что я надеюсь на результаты Международного Бакалавра, просто для того, чтобы немного расширить их горизонты. Иногда (часто) это встречается с сопротивлением. Вот почему я люблю такие виды деятельности, как этот круиз; мы так много узнали о ландшафте и районе Уотертона Все прекрасно провели время!

Круиз по воде Уотертон (Семейный отдых Калгари)

Все, кто любит круиз на лодке - Фото: Благотворительность

Расположенный на высоте 4200, верхнее озеро Уотертон - самое глубокое озеро в Скалистых горах Канады. Его крутые края, похожие на ванну, рассказывают о воздействии ледника, который его создал. В Уотертоне сейчас остаются только снежные поры, но в соседнем Национальном парке ледника в Монтане есть активные ледники 26.

Наш гид указал на уникальные горные образования, такие как Sawtooth Ridge, который был сформирован, когда ледники с каждой стороны отступили, создавая захватывающий горный пик. Когда мы приблизились к Козе Ханта, наш гид указал на гору. Кливленд, который является самым высоким пиком в национальном парке Уотертон-Лейкс или Национальном парке ледника в 10 466 футах.

Круиз по воде Уотертон (Семейный отдых Калгари)

Mt. Кливленд слева; Sawtooth Ridge на крайнем правом углу. Фото: Благотворительность

Мы увидели, как скалы действительно могут складываться и узнавать о так называемом Льюис-Надземном (где более древний докембрийский рок был вытолкнут на младший мелский камень из-за тектонического давления). Геологи приезжают сюда, чтобы изучить землю «вверх тормашками». »

Круиз по воде Уотертон (Семейный отдых Калгари)

Геологически интересный пример скалы. Увлекательный, верно ?! Фото: Благотворительность

Что нужно знать: держитесь за свою шляпу. Уотертон является вторым самым ветхим местом в Альберте. (Crowsnest Pass является первым.) Порывы ветра более 100 км / час не редкость.

Приключение!

В 1932 Национальный парк «Уотертон-Лейкс» и Национальный парк «Ледник» образовали первый Международный парк мира. Два Парка тесно сотрудничают, особенно по таким важным задачам, как борьба с лесными пожарами. Наша лодка остановилась на границе между двумя странами, где вы могли разглядеть маркер на очистке деревьев.

Круиз по воде Уотертон (Семейный отдых Калгари)

Мой вид пересечения границы - Фото: Благотворительность

Мы наслаждались возможностью высаживаться в Коа-Хаунте, Монтана, даже не мигая паспортом. (Из-за одной особенно изнурительной таможенной линии, мои дети теперь имеют очень неблагоприятные мнения о пересечении границы, большое спасибо, аэропорт Торонто.) Любой, кто хочет остаться за пределами стандартного полчаса остановки круиза в Козе Haunt, должен будет очистить таможню и однако, идентификация. Наш полчаса в Монтане был потрачен, пропуская камни, в какой-то момент мои дети всегда будут помнить, что «в США есть лучший пропуская камни! »Что бы ни делало их счастливыми, я думаю.

Круиз по воде Уотертон (Семейный отдых Калгари)

Развлечения с камнями и водой - Фото: Благотворительность

В нашем круизе не было остановки в походе на озеро Крипт, но наш гид указал на тропу в Crypt Landing. Этот уникальный поход был оценен National Geographic как один из всемирных трасс 20 Most Thrilling. Начиная с 15-минутной поездки на лодке (которая может быть организована с Waterton Cruises), поход проходит четырьмя захватывающими водопадами, поднимается по стальной лестнице и змеям через узкий туннель длиной 60. После короткой прогулки по краю скалы (к счастью, с помощью троса для безопасности) вы доберетесь до красивого озера Крип.

Помимо удовольствия от воды и порывов ветра, хватающих вашу шляпу, обязательно следите за дикой природой в своем круизе. Лысые орлы, оспы, медведи, горные козы и лоси могут быть замечены вдоль края озера или вдоль горных склонов. В нашем круизе мы увидели молодого лысого орла, и, когда круиз свалился, кто-то заметил негромкого медведя, который не спеша по краю воды. Наш капитан маневрировал лодкой ближе к медведю, и нам нравилось наблюдать, как он наблюдает за нами в течение нескольких минут.

Что нужно знать: подумайте о том, чтобы принести пару биноклей, чтобы лучше увидеть увлекательную дикую природу.

Круиз по воде Уотертон (Семейный отдых Калгари)

Посещение местного медведя - Фото: Благотворительность

Получив нашу (безопасную!) Встречу с медведем, Интернационал медленно продвинулся в гавань. Раздутый ветром и наполненный волнением обо всем, что мы видели и сделали, дети прыгнули с лодки, готовые к следующему приключению. И, конечно же, ужин.

Наслаждайтесь своим круизом: www.watertoncruise.com
Посетите Национальный парк Уотертон-Лейкс: www.mywaterton.ca www.pc.gc.ca

Автор хотел бы поблагодарить Waterton Shoreline Cruise Co. за организацию своей семьи. Все высказанные мнения являются ее собственными.

Вот еще несколько статей, которые, по нашему мнению, вам понравятся!

Хотя мы делаем все возможное, чтобы предоставить вам точную информацию, все детали событий могут быть изменены. Пожалуйста, свяжитесь с администрацией, чтобы избежать разочарования.

Hey, Landlubbers! You’ll Love the Waterton Shoreline Boat Cruise

The sun peered around the edge of a massive cloud casting the M. V. International in a warm afternoon glow. The motor rumbled below as the wind swirled our hair, nearly stealing our breath. One of my kids looked across the bench at me and beamed.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

There’s nothing quite like being on the water, be it ocean, river, or lake, and when you’re surrounded by the exquisite scenery of Upper Waterton Lake, what’s there to complain about?! Plus, we were getting the unique experience of crossing into the United States and Glacier National Park, without clearing customs. (This was disproportionately exciting for us.)

My husband, 3 kids, and I were enjoying a getaway to Waterton Lakes National Park and the highlight of the trip would turn out to be the two-hour boat cruise offered by the Waterton Shoreline Cruise Company. It’s one thing to visit a place, but it’s a delight to discover a place.

The Boat

The Waterton Shoreline Cruise takes you on a scenic cruise from Waterton Village to Goat Haunt, in Glacier National Park, Montana, aboard the M. V. International. The vessel is comfortably arranged with outdoor and indoor seating and has been in service since 1927, with only two exceptions. One year, during WWII, the boat was docked due to the gasoline rationing and in 1954, the boathouse collapsed and the International sustained some damages.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

The M. V. International at Goat Haunt, Montana

Our cruise was manned by three crewmen, including a captain with over 25 years experience, and we were entertained and educated by one of the crew members along the way. It was clear that our guide, who grew up in Waterton, loved the area. He spoke with light-hearted warmth and passion, giving us a wealth of information about the park.

Things to know: There are no bathroom facilities aboard the International and it’s nearly an hour to facilities at Goat Haunt. So, you know, plan accordingly.

The Landscape

Every so often, I like to inflict “educational” experiences on my children. It’s not that I’m hoping for International Baccalaureate results, just to expand their horizons a little. Occasionally (frequently), this is met with resistance. That’s why I love activities like this cruise; we learned so much about the landscape and Waterton area and everyone had a great time!

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

Everyone loving the boat cruise – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Located at 4200 feet elevation, Upper Waterton Lake is the deepest lake in the Canadian Rockies. Its steep edges, much like a bathtub, tell of the glacier action that formed it. Only snow packs are left in Waterton now, but there are 26 active glaciers in neighbouring Glacier National Park in Montana.

Our guide pointed out unique mountain formations, such as Sawtooth Ridge, that was formed when glaciers on each side retreated, creating a fascinating mountain peak. As we approached Goat Haunt, our guide pointed out Mt. Cleveland, which is the highest peak in either Waterton Lakes National Park or Glacier National Park, at 10 466 feet.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

Mt. Cleveland on the left; Sawtooth Ridge on the far right. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

We saw how rocks can actually fold and learned about the so-called Lewis Overthrust (where older pre-Cambrian rock was thrust onto younger Cretaceous rock due to tectonic pressure.) Geologists come here to study the land of the “upside-down mountains.”

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

A geologically interesting example of a rock fold. Fascinating, right?! Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Things to know: Hold on to your hat. Waterton is the second windiest place in Alberta. (Crowsnest Pass is the first.) Wind gusts of over 100 km/hr are not uncommon.

The Adventure!

In 1932, Waterton Lakes National Park and Glacier National Park formed the first International Peace Park. The two Parks work closely together, especially on such important tasks as fighting wildfires. Our boat paused for a moment at the boundary between the two countries, where you could make out a marker in the tree clearing.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

My kind of border crossing – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

We enjoyed being able to disembark at Goat Haunt, Montana, without even flashing a passport. (Due to one particularly gruelling customs line, my kids now hold very unfavourable opinions about crossing the border, thank you very much, Toronto airport.) Anyone wanting to stay beyond the standard half hour cruise stop at Goat Haunt would have to clear customs and provide identification, however. Our half hour in Montana was spent skipping rocks, in a moment of time my kids will always remember as “The USA has the best skipping rocks!” Whatever makes them happy, I guess.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

Fun with rocks and water – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Our cruise did not include a stop at the Crypt Lake hike, but our guide pointed out the trailhead at Crypt Landing. This unique hike has been rated by National Geographic as one of the World’s 20 Most Thrilling Trails. Beginning with a 15-minute boat ride (which can be arranged with Waterton Cruises), the hike passes by four spectacular waterfalls, climbs a steel ladder, and snakes through a narrow, 60-foot long tunnel. After a short jaunt along the edge of a cliff (thankfully, with the aid of a cable for security), you arrive at the beautiful Crypt Lake.

Besides the fun of being on the water and the wind gusts grabbing your hat, be sure to watch out for wildlife on your cruise. Bald eagles, ospreys, bears, mountain goats, and moose may be spotted along the lake’s edge or along the mountain slopes. We saw a young bald eagle on our cruise, and just as the cruise was winding down, someone spotted a black bear having a leisurely meal along the water’s edge. Our captain manoeuvered the boat closer to the bear and we enjoyed watching him watch us for a few minutes.

Things to know: Consider bringing a pair of binoculars for a better glimpse of fascinating wildlife.

Waterton Boat Cruise (Family Fun Calgary)

Visiting a local bear – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

After enjoying our (safe!) encounter with the bear, the International slowly made it’s way back into the harbour. Windblown and filled with excitement about all we had seen and done, the kids skipped off the boat, ready for our next adventure. And, of course, dinner.

Enjoy your own cruise: www.watertoncruise.com
Visit Waterton Lakes National Park: www.mywaterton.ca and www.pc.gc.ca

The author would like to thank the Waterton Shoreline Cruise Co. for hosting her family. All opinions expressed are her own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *