2018年 九月

“小鸡、鹅和鸭子最好快点,当我在萨里带你出去的时候,当我带你去萨里的时候,边缘在上面!!” 

当他们在沃特顿村的海滨道路上急转弯时,所有三个孩子都在唱着歌,你猜对了,萨里(定义:轻型四轮马车,两个座位朝前)。 更准确地说,我和我丈夫和我们的三个孩子在萨里骑马 自行车, 从帕特的沃特顿租来的。 谢天谢地,这是街上安静的一天(还有,谢天谢地?!),孩子们很快就没有足够的呼吸来唱歌,因为他们所有的精力都需要继续踩自行车。

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

从 Pat 的照片来源租用萨里自行车:Charity Quick

我们刚到 沃特顿湖国家公园 因为从卡尔加里开车只有几个小时,所以我几乎将其视为“住宿”的迷你度假胜地。 我们很快就发现我们已经离开了大城市的喧嚣,我们很快就会享受到无与伦比的宁静和放松的山区体验。

生活在卡尔加里,我们往往是山区。 举世闻名的班夫国家公园就在我们家门口,卡尔加里的许多人每天都能瞥见群山。 但沃特顿湖国家公园是艾伯塔省闪亮的明珠,落基山脉中最小的国家公园。 公园位于阿尔伯塔省的西南角,紧靠美国和不列颠哥伦比亚省的边界,从大草原升起到落基山脉的精致山峰,几乎是一个令人吃惊的过渡。 虽然公园很小,面积只有 505 平方公里,但风景和野生动物资源丰富,并以其华丽的湖泊链而闻名。 该公园成立于 1895 年,并于 1932 年与蒙大拿州的冰川国家公园一起成为第一个国际和平公园的一部分。

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

在我们美丽的乘船游览山羊鬼屋 - 照片来源:Charity Quick

在过去的几年里,野火影响了沃特顿湖国家公园,尤其是 2017 年的基诺大火。2018 年,沃特顿的城镇上空笼罩着浓烟,发布了野火疏散警报。 700 公顷的野火(并且还在增长)距离边界溪谷只有几公里之遥。 值得庆幸的是,在公园下雨后,疏散警报于 27 年 2018 月 XNUMX 日解除,沃特顿湖国家公园全面开放供游客前来游玩!

即使有 2017 年毁灭性的野火和今年来自 Boundary Creek Valley 的威胁,沃特顿仍能营造出宁静祥和的氛围。 在忙碌的秋天,我感觉自己仿佛走进了一扇门,能够体会到家庭生活中的乐趣。 村庄的气氛邀请您以您最需要的任何顺序玩耍和休息,或休息和玩耍。 我不想破坏结局,但我会:沃特顿是放松山地体验的绝佳去处!

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

湾岸酒店度假村及水疗中心

九月的一个温暖的下午,我们滚进了村子,阳光洒在湖面上。 我们住在 湾岸酒店度假村及水疗中心,位于上沃特顿湖的边缘。 旅馆位于湖畔,地理位置优越,您可以将车停在任何您想去的地方漫步。 它拥有质朴的风格和实用的舒适感,人行道两旁排列着令人印象深刻的色彩鲜艳的花篮。 我们的家庭套房很宽敞,有两张大床和两张双人床,还有咖啡机、冰箱和微波炉的便利。 最好的部分是打开我们的露台门,通往舒适的阳台,配备椅子,向湖面打招呼。

卸下所有行李后,我们在阳台上吃了一顿快餐,一边欣赏美景,一边计划着我们的下一步旅行。

玩具

您可能想坐在宁静舒适的露台上,欣赏美景。 或者沿着街道走,沿途停下来享用露台午餐或饮品。 带上一本书,在露营地附近标志性的加拿大公园红色椅子上放松一下。 这些听起来对我来说是完美的演奏方式。

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

一个人可以做梦。 图片来源:慈善快报

像这些声音一样令人愉快,带着三个孩子,没有必要让自己感到沮丧,所以我把书收起来了。 该地区有许多令人难以置信的徒步旅行,尽管在你去之前检查一下,因为有些已经因为野火而关闭。 我们决定开始一些温和的活动。

我们的第一站是 帕特的沃特顿燃气和自行车租赁,在那里我们遇到了乔丹,我们从那里租了萨里自行车的微笑的老板。 这是游览村庄并感受该地区的完美方式。 我们骑着自行车(老实说,有时是推着车)绕着村庄和卡梅伦瀑布拍了几张照片。 这还有一个额外的好处,就是让孩子们感到疲倦,这总是一个崇高的目标。

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

沃特顿村美丽、宁静的街道。 图片来源:慈善快报

后来我们 踏上了沃特顿游轮 与沃特顿海岸线游轮公司。 这个 2 小时的体验在沃特顿湖向南行驶,穿过国际边界到达冰川国家公园,并在蒙大拿州的山羊闹鬼地方停留。 我们的船上指南充满了有关湖泊、沃特顿、野生动物以及与冰川国家公园的国际和平公园协议的信息。 凭借美丽的风景和瞥见野生动物的机会,这次旅行为我们提供了沃特顿湖的广阔而迷人的画面。

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

没有什么比在水上更惬意了——图片来源:Charity Quick

如果您想要更亲密的湖泊体验(不,我们没有落入其中),您可以从乐于助人的酒店租用独木舟、皮划艇或立式桨板 布莱克斯顿公司 在翡翠湾。 我们将我们五个人分成两艘独木舟,以便在海湾周围安静地划桨。 嗯,我们周围的环境很平静。 在我自己只有基本知识的情况下尝试教孩子们如何划桨,嗯,很有趣。 但谢天谢地,这个避风的地方安全地免受风和波涛汹涌的水的影响,我们只会说划独木舟从来没有看起来那么轻松。 这是一件好事,我们实际上不需要去任何地方。

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

翡翠湾的“放松”——图片来源:Charity Quick

沃特顿村有几家餐馆和几家甜点或冰淇淋店。 我们在 沃特顿的维也纳人; 孩子们在头韵中找到了一定的乐趣。 餐厅提供美味的热狗或烟熏,根据您的喜好添加。 甚至还有一条不吃肉的沙拉三明治狗。 但红薯薯条是赢家,因为它们简直是我吃过的最好的。 外面又热又脆,里面又软又香。 可口的。

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

可口的! 图片来源:慈善快报

晚饭后,我们出去寻找巧克力。 韦尔奇的巧克力店 刚做完几个软糖品种的样品盘,仍然那么新鲜和温暖,我不得不向厨师保证,如果她早点卖给我,我会小心不要烫伤自己。 这是结束一天的完美方式。

沃特顿湖国家公园(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)

以软糖=胜利结束一天。 图片来源:慈善快报

你的家人喜欢做什么? 无论您是希望休息和放松,还是希望取悦任何人,您都可以在沃特顿湖国家公园找到它。 在令人振奋的风景中,娱乐和家庭活动非常丰富。 秋天转瞬即逝,今年不要让它溜走而不充分利用它! 让沃特顿在您忙碌的家庭生活中为您提供一个轻松的周末。

参观沃特顿湖国家公园: www.mywaterton.ca 和 www.pc.gc.ca

作者要感谢沃特顿湖国家公园接待她的家人。 所有表达的意见都是她自己的。

Make the Most of Alberta’s Fall: Eat, Stay, and Play in Waterton Lakes National Park

“Chicks and geese and ducks better scurry, when I take you out in the surrey, when I take you out in the surrey with the FRINGE on TOP!!” 

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

All three kids were singing at the top of their lungs as they swerved and careened down the waterfront road of Waterton Village in, you guessed it, a surrey (definition: a light 4-wheeled carriage with 2 seats facing forward). More accurately, my husband and I were riding with our three kids in surrey bikes, rented from Pat’s Waterton. Thankfully, it was a quiet day on the streets and (also, thankfully?!), soon the kids didn’t have enough breath to sing, as all their energies were required to keep pedalling the bikes.

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

Renting Surrey Bikes from Pat’s Photo Credit: Charity Quick

We had just arrived in Waterton Lakes National Park for a mini-getaway that I was viewing almost as a “staycation,” since the drive from Calgary is only a few hours. It quickly became apparent that we had left the big city bustle behind and we were soon to enjoy a mountain experience of unparalleled peace and relaxation.

Living in Calgary, we tend to be mountain-rich. The world-famous Banff National Park is on our doorstep and many people in Calgary catch a glimpse of the mountains every day. But Waterton Lakes National Park is Alberta’s sparkling jewel, the smallest National Park in the Rocky Mountains. Located in the southwestern corner of Alberta, tucked up against the US and BC borders, the park rises from the prairies to the exquisite peaks of the Rocky Mountains, in an almost startling transition. Although the park is small, measuring only 505 km², it is replete with scenery and wildlife and is known for its gorgeous chain of lakes. The park was established in 1895 and in 1932, it also formed part of the first International Peace Park with Glacier National Park in Montana.

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

On our beautiful boat cruise to Goat Haunt – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Wildfires have affected Waterton Lakes National Park in the last couple years, notably the Kenow fire in 2017. In 2018, a wildfire evacuation alert was issued, as plumes of smoke towered over the townsite in Waterton. The 700-hectare wildfire (and growing) was only kilometres away in the Boundary Creek Valley. Thankfully, the evacuation alert was lifted on August 27, 2018, after rain fell on the park, and the Waterton Lakes National Park is fully open for visitors to come and enjoy!

Even with the devastating wildfire of 2017 and this year’s threat from Boundary Creek Valley, Waterton offers an atmosphere of peaceful tranquillity. I felt like I had stepped through a door in my busy fall and was able to appreciate the fun things about family life. The mood of the Village invites you to play and rest, or rest and play, in whatever order you most need. I don’t want to spoil the ending, but I will: Waterton is a brilliant getaway for a relaxing mountain experience!

Stay

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

Bayshore Inn Resort and Spa – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

We rolled into the village on a warm September afternoon when the sunshine broke into beads of light on the surface of the lake. We were staying at the Bayshore Inn Resort and Spa, located on the edge of Upper Waterton Lake. The Inn is ideally located on the lakefront, plus, you can park your car and stroll everywhere you want to go. It’s furnished with rustic touches and practical comfort and the walkways are lined with impressive flowering baskets of brilliant colour. Our family suite was spacious, with two queen and two double beds, plus the convenience of a coffeemaker, fridge, and microwave. The best part was opening our patio door to the comfortable balcony, equipped with chairs, and greeting the lake.

Once all the bags were unloaded, we ate a quick lunch on the balcony while admiring the view and planned the next step of our getaway.

Play

You might want to sit in the peaceful comfort of your patio, appreciating the view. Or make your way down the street, stopping for a patio lunch or drink along the way. Bring a book and relax in the iconic Parks Canada red chairs near the campsite. These sound like perfect ways to play for me.

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

Rest . . . or play! Photo Credit: Charity Quick

As delightful as these sound, with three kids in tow, there was no point in setting ourselves up for frustration, so I put my book away. There are many incredible hikes in the area, although check before you go, as some have been closed due to the wildfires. We decided to set out for some mildly active fun.

Our first stop was Pat’s Waterton Gas and Cycle Rental, where we met Jordan, the smiling owner from whom we rented the surrey bikes. This was the perfect way to tour the village and get a feel for the area. We pedalled (and to be honest, sometimes pushed) our way around the Village and to Cameron Falls for a few pictures. This had the added benefit of tiring the kids, always a lofty goal.

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

The beautiful, serene streets of Waterton Village. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Later we embarked on a Waterton Cruise with the Waterton Shoreline Cruise Company. This 2-hour experience travels south on the Waterton Lakes, crossing the international border to Glacier National Park and stopping at Goat’s Haunt in Montana. Our guide on the boat was filled with information about the lakes, Waterton, wildlife, and the International Peace Park agreement with Glacier National Park. With beautiful scenery and the chance to catch of glimpse of wildlife, the tour gave us a broad, attractive picture of Waterton Lakes.

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

There’s nothing like being on the water – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

If you want a more intimate lake experience (no, we didn’t fall in), you can rent a canoe, kayak, or stand-up paddleboard from the helpful Blakiston and Company in Emerald Bay. We divided the five of us between two canoes for a peaceful paddle around the bay. Well, the environment around us was peaceful. Trying to teach the kids how to paddle when I have only a rudimentary knowledge myself was, um, interesting. But this sheltered spot was safely protected from the wind and choppy water, thankfully, and we’ll just say canoeing is never as effortless as it seems. It’s a good thing we didn’t actually need to go anywhere.

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

“Relaxing” in Emerald Bay – Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Eat

Waterton Village has a handful of restaurants and several dessert or ice cream shops. We ate supper at Wieners of Waterton; the kids found a certain enjoyment in the alliteration. The restaurant offers gourmet hot dogs or smokies, topped just how you like it. There’s even a falafel dog for the meat-free. But the sweet potato fries were the winner, as they were simply the best I’ve ever tasted. Hot and crispy on the outside and soft and full of flavour on the inside. Delicious.

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

Delicious! Photo Credit: Charity Quick

After supper, we went out in search of chocolate. Welch’s Chocolate Shop had just finished making a sample tray of several fudge varieties, still so fresh and warm I had to promise the cook I would be careful not to burn myself if she sold it to me early. It was the perfect way to end the day.

Waterton Lakes National Park (Family Fun Calgary)

Finishing the day with fudge = win. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

What does your family enjoy doing? Whether you’re hoping for rest and relaxation or active fun to please anyone, you can find it in Waterton Lakes National Park. Recreational and family activities are plentiful amidst the inspiring scenery. Fall is so fleeting, don’t let it slip away this year without making the most of it! Let Waterton give you a relaxing weekend in the middle of your busy family life.

Visit Waterton Lakes National Park: www.mywaterton.ca and www.pc.gc.ca

The author would like to thank Waterton Lakes National Park for hosting her family. All opinions expressed are her own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *