在过去的几天里,我们不得不和我四岁的儿子自我隔离。 他班上有一个孩子对Covid测得阳性。 这意味着我们待在家里以确保其他人的安全,并等待我们是否出现Covid症状。 老实说,我第一次听到这个消息时并不高兴。 我不希望在房子里感到无聊。 大流行的忧郁打击了我,但我制定了计划。 为了让我度过这几天,我想每天进行一两次活动。 他们中有些人工作了。 其中一些没有。 这是我们在孤立的日子里一直在做的事情。 与我将分享的活动混合在一起,我们还进行了Pre K在线会议,书籍,更多手工艺品,放映时间和户外活动。 SHA给出了我们的隔离日期。 他们通过学校寄了一封信,它从接触日期开始。

我们选择的大多数手工艺品和活动都是用我们家里已有的物品完成的,因为我们不能出去买东西。 我们很幸运,因为我们也有两个人为我们提供物品。

第一天

这是一个轻松的日子,一个令人惊讶的简单工艺想法。 我们使用卫生纸卷,锡纸,工艺眼睛和在工艺部分中发现的任何其他适用于机器人的东西制作了机器人。 (我的橱柜里满是一双眼睛。)我们俩都很有趣,而且它们看上去很可爱。 我会向所有喜欢机器人的孩子强烈推荐这种工艺。 只需保存您的厕纸卷,您便大功告成!

第二天

在第二天,我们在外面呆了很多时间,所以我们决定制作一座雪火山。 这很简单。 您使用醋,小苏打,洗洁精和食用色素。 把它放在雪地里,倒入醋。 我儿子很喜欢它,最后也开车穿过它。 我们确实得洗他的手套,因为它们有浓烈的醋味!

雪火山

第三天

我们的主要活动是大量准备工作。 我认为这有点令人失望。 我们决定制造一个激光束忍者陷阱,让我的儿子爬行和跳跃。 我们用房子里的东西做到了。 原来是生日快乐彩带,当我们用光了这些彩带时,我们只是用了画家的胶带。 我儿子经历过的前两次真的很喜欢,但是随着他变得更加兴奋,我们更多的“激光束”从墙上掉了下来。 可以肯定地说,它并没有持续很长时间。 您需要的只是拖缆(或类似的东西)和磁带。

忍者陷阱

第四天:

我喜欢这个。 前一天晚上,我将一些玩具用水浸入松饼罐中,并将其冻结。 第二天,我儿子出去了,把他们锤了! 他爆炸了,我也爆炸了。幸运的是,他对我用自己的玩具出去玩的感觉还不错。 (他通常想要新的。)您所需要的只是小玩具,水和一些要冷冻的东西。我选择了松饼罐,因为它更大。

第五天

另一个有趣的。 我把纸贴在地板上。 连续三个。 在每一行中,我都增加了脚和手。 这有点容易。 当我完成后,他必须每排都要把手放在脚上,脚放在脚上。 他玩得很开心。 不幸的是,即使我把胶带粘得很好,它也只用了一天半。 您只需要纸,记号笔和胶带。 我用了画家胶带。

第六天

我们需要另一项外部活动。 这是最简单的。 彩色的冰。 那天早上,我把食用色素放在冰上,到下午就准备好了。 我儿子度过了愉快的时光。 我们加了挖土机和自卸车,他发了爆炸。 他还用它来跳怪物卡车。 您所需要做的就是食用色素和水! 您可以制作冰雕,也可以只用它们玩。

第七天 

我们尝试将咖啡过滤器扎染。 看着颜色融合在一起很有趣,但是我不喜欢这种结果。 我们只是为滤镜上了一半的颜色,如果我再做一次,我会选择较亮的颜色并为整个对象上色,而不是仅上一半。 我们还没有对他们做任何事情。 我本来打算将它们原样悬挂在窗户上,但是稍后我们可能会将它们变成孔雀。 如您所见,它们最终并没有完美。 但这并不重要。 我的儿子喜欢为它们着色,也喜欢将它们浸入水中并看着所有颜色混合在一起。 您所需要做的就是咖啡过滤器,标记物和水。

下午我们做了一次科学实验。 我们将一些牛奶和食用色素放在一起,然后我的儿子在上面加了洗洁精的q尖笔。 结果真的很酷。 我们尝试了不同的颜色,我们俩都喜欢它。 您需要的只是牛奶,食用色素,棉签和洗洁精。

我们也很幸运,因为今天妈妈在我们的门挡上送给儿子一个非常有趣的东西。 她制造了这些惊人的针织车。 他爱他们! 他们让他忙了一段时间。 我儿子喜欢想象力游戏,所以这些家伙对他来说很完美。 他给他们起名为Mini和Ben。

第八天

我们又度过了成功的一天。 早上,我们进行了味觉测试挑战。 我给他尝试了不同的东西,他不得不猜测他在吃什么。 除了柠檬汁,他都喜欢。 我只是使用了所有可用的东西,但可能会使用其他选项再次尝试。 我们吃了吃喝玩乐,小熊爪,里斯的碎片,柠檬汁,枫糖浆和泡菜汁。

下午我们很幸运,因为我的朋友过去两天都去了。 她给了我一个装满我儿子惊人活动的书包。 他甚至还有皮纳塔! 我们在参加Pre K在线课程后做到了这一点,他几乎无法抑制自己的兴奋!

我也想分享我们的感官烘焙师。 我们使用烤炉,这样他就不会撒东西,因为我们有一个备用的。 我的朋友送了通心粉。 我们还使用羽毛和泡沫物品。 您可以使用手头上的任何东西。 我们也曾经用过沙子。 他通常与挖掘机一起独立玩半小时到一个小时。

第九天

这也是我们孤立的最后一天。 直到正面测试几天后,我们才知道他的同学。

我的朋友放下了惊人的隔离包装,其中一项活动是制作软糖熊。 为了制作这些食品,我们使用了一大汤匙的明胶(包装中含有正确的数量),水,果冻和硅胶软糖小熊模具。 这些都在我们的包装中。 她还通过短信发送了说明。 我们将半杯冷水与明胶混合,然后使其溶解。 我们再加了四分之一杯冷水。 全部混合后,我们用微波炉加热约一分钟,使其温度升高。 我们添加了jello包并将其混合。 然后我们填充模具! 我们让它冷却约四个小时。 学龄前儿童很难等那么长时间。 (对我来说。)更具体的说明也可以在网上找到。

我们手边还有一些图书馆工艺品,以及我已购买但尚未使用的其他工艺品。 它们随附所有说明以及胶合,剪切或着色所需的一切。 它们非常有用,如果有机会,我将始终抢购一些。 您永远不知道何时需要手工艺品。

自我隔离九天。 在大流行开始时,我们这样做的时间更长,这次更顺利了。 很好是因为我知道结帐的时间,并且因为我的伴侣在家里帮助我。 我们得以生存,但不仅得以生存,我们还大笑,玩耍并进行了许多活动。 我知道,如果再次发生,我们将生存。 我们还通过无Covid隔离实现了这一目标。 这就是我最感激的。 我希望如果您陷入孤立状态,其中一些活动将帮助您度过难关。 即使我们不呆在家里,我们也可能会再次使用其中一些。 尽管我很高兴能在一起度过这段时间,但我也很高兴回到萨斯卡通所提供的所有活动中!

We had to self isolate with my four-year-old son for the past few days. There was a child in his class that tested positive for Covid. This means we stay home to keep others safe and wait to see if we have Covid symptoms. I’ll be honest, I was not happy when I first heard the news. I was not looking forward to being bored in the house. The Pandemic blues hit me, but I made a plan. To get me through these days, I wanted to do one or two activities a day. Some of them have worked. Some of them have not. This is what we’ve been up to during our days in isolation. Mixed in with the activities I will share, we also had Pre K online meetings, books, more crafts, screen time, and outside play. Our isolation dates were given to us by SHA. They sent a letter through the school, and it started from the date of exposure.

Most of the crafts and activities that we chose were done with items we already had in our house because we couldn’t go out and buy anything. We were lucky because we had two people drop items off for us as well.

Day One

This was an easy day, and a surprisingly easy craft idea. We made robots using toilet paper rolls, tin foil, craft eyes, and any other things we found in my craft section that would work on the robots. (I have a whole container of eyes in my cupboards.) We both had fun and they turned out to be pretty cute. I would highly recommend this craft to any robot loving kid. Just save your toilet paper rolls, and you’re all set!

Day Two

On day two we spent quite a bit of time outside so we decided to make a snow volcano. This one is pretty easy. You use vinegar, baking soda, dish soap, and food colouring. Put it in the snow, and pour in the vinegar. My son loved it and ended up driving his toys through it as well. We did have to wash his mitts after because they had a strong vinegar scent!

snow-volcano

Day Three

Our big activity was a lot of prep work. In my opinion, it was a bit of a letdown. We decided to make a laser beam ninja trap for my son to crawl and jump through. We did it with what we had in the house. It turned out to be Happy Birthday streamers, and when we ran out of that, we just used the painters’ tape. My son really enjoyed it the first two times he went through, but as he got more excited, more of our “laser beams” came off the wall. It’s safe to say it didn’t last long. All you need are streamers (or something like that) and tape.

Ninja Trap

Day Four:

I liked this one. The night before, I stuck some toys in a muffin tin with water and froze them. The next day, my son went outside and hammered them out! He had a blast and so did I. Luckily, he was okay with the fact that I used his own toys for him to get out. (He usually wants new ones.) All you need is little toys, water, and something to freeze it in. I chose the muffin tin because it was bigger.

Day Five

Another fun one. I taped papers on the floor. Three in a row. In each row, I added feet and hands. It was kind of an easy twister. When I was done, he had to go on each row putting his hand on the hands and feet on the feet. He had a lot of fun. Unfortunately, even though I had the paper taped down well, it only lasted a day and a half. All you need is paper, a marker, and tape. I used painters tape.

Day Six

We needed another outside activity. This was easiest. Coloured ice. That morning, I put food colouring in the ice, and it was ready by the afternoon. My son had a great time with it. We added in diggers and a dump truck, and he had a blast. He also used it for monster truck jumps. All you need for this is food colouring and water! You can make ice sculptures or just use them to play.

Day Seven 

We tried to tie-dye coffee filters. It was interesting to watch the colours blend in, but I don’t love the result. We just coloured half of the filter, and if I did it again, I would choose brighter colours and colour the entire thing instead of just half. We haven’t done anything with them yet. I had planned to hang them on the window as they are, but we might make them into peacocks at a later date. As you can see, they didn’t end up perfect. That doesn’t really matter though. My son loved colouring them, and he also loved dipping them into the water and watching all the colours mix together. All you need for this are coffee filters, markers, and water.

We did a science experiment in the afternoon. We put some milk and food colouring together, and then my son put in a q-tip with dish soap on it. The result was really cool. We tried different colours, and both of us loved it. All you need is milk, food colouring, q-tips, and dish soap.

We were also lucky because my mom dropped off something really fun for my son on our doorstop this day. She made these amazing knitted vehicles. He loves them! They kept him busy for quite a while. My son loves imagination play so these guys were perfect for him. He named them Mini and Ben.

Day Eight

We had another successful day. In the morning, we did a taste test challenge. I gave him different things to try, and he had to guess what he was eating. He liked it all except the lemon juice. I just used anything we had available, but will probably try it again with different options. We had skittles, bear claws, Reece’s Pieces, lemon juice, maple syrup, and pickle juice.

We were very lucky in the afternoon because my friend did a drop off for our last couple of days. She gave me a bag full of amazing activities for my son. He even had a pinata! We did that after his Pre K online class, and he could barely contain his excitement!

I also wanted to share our sensory roaster. We use a roaster so he doesn’t spill things out, and because we had a spare one. My friend sent over coloured macaroni. We also use feathers and foam items. You can use anything you have on hand. We’ve used sand before as well. He usually plays independently for a half-hour to an hour with his diggers.

Day Nine

This was also our last day in isolation. We didn’t find out about his classmate until a few days after the positive test.

My friend dropped off the amazing quarantine package, and one of the activities was gummy bear making. To make these, we used a tablespoon of gelatine,  (the package came with the correct amount), water, jello, and a silicone gummy bear mold. These were all in our package. She also sent the instructions in a text message. We mixed half a cup of cold water with the gelatine, and let it dissolve. We added another quarter cup of cold water. After it was all mixed in, we microwaved for about a minute so it was warmer. We added the jello package and mixed it. Then we filled the molds! We let it chill for about four hours. It is VERY hard for a preschooler to wait that long. (And for me.) More specific instructions can be found online as well.

We also had some library crafts on hand, as well as some other crafts I had purchased but not used yet. They come with all the instructions and everything you need to glue, cut or colour. They are very useful, and I will always grab/buy some if I have the chance. You never know when you need a craft.

Nine days in self-isolation. We did this at the start of the pandemic for longer, and this time it went more smoothly. It was nice because I knew when it would end, and because my partner was home to help me. We survived, but not only did we survive, we also laughed, played, and did a lot of activities. I know we will survive if it happens again. We also made it through the isolation Covid-free. That’s what I am most grateful for. I hope if you get stuck in isolation some of these activities will help you get through it. We’ll probably be using some of them again even if we aren’t stuck at home. While I am full of gratitude for the time together, I am also excited about getting back to all the activities Saskatoon has to offer!