今年夏天在哈利法克斯与孩子一起做的10件事

今年夏天在哈利法克斯与孩子一起做的10件事

哈利法克斯与孩子们在一起的活动

哈利法克斯有很多有趣的事情要做–很难知道从哪里开始! 今年夏天在哈利法克斯和孩子们一起做的10件事必不可少。

1.向西奥多·拖船问好(和再见?)

他的正式名字是 西奥多二世,他是一艘停泊在哈利法克斯港(Halifax Harbour)的真人大小,完全可操作的拖船。 他是在电视节目Theodore Tugboat的鼎盛时期建造的,该剧在CBC和PBS上播出了多年。 现在,尽管许多人忘记了电视节目,但每个人都知道西奥多。 今年,西奥多(Theodore)停靠在贝德福德海滨(Bedford Waterfront),并且只能在海浪中使用(对不起,双关语),而且-确实是个恐怖的消息- 他也要出售! 我们希望并祈祷我们最喜欢的Halifax图标找到新所有者。

2.参观加拿大最古老的儿童书店伍兹莱斯

在德累斯顿街(Dresden Row)的春天花园路(Spring Garden Road)旁, 属于woozles 是一家专门为儿童开设的小巧但令人愉快的书店。 Woozles每年都会庆祝其生日,夏季则在哈利法克斯公共花园里读书。 如果您不知道Woozle是什么,它是AA Milne的Winnie the Pooh书中的虚构人物。 哈利法克斯中央图书馆距离酒店仅一箭之遥。

3.爬上波浪

与孩子们一起在哈利法克斯(Halifax)最好的事情之一就是在旅游局前的海滨爬上波浪(The Wave)。 这座始建于1988年的蓝色水泥结构引人注目,高约4米,看起来像是一条很大的蓝色舌头。 您真的不应该去爬浪,但是每个人都可以。 提示:如果脱掉袜子,您会得到更好的牵引力(只要脚不太出汗–哈哈)。 潜艇游乐场是整个儿童游乐区,在哈利法克斯(Halifax)木板路上可以看到很多有趣的东西。

4.在探索中心与科学互动

发现中心 是哈利法克斯下雨天的好地方。 这个互动式科学中心有5个不同的区域:能源,健康,飞行,海洋和儿童专用,以及位于较低楼层的旅行展览。 博物馆的亮点包括圆顶剧院(Dome Theatre),当然还有著名的泡泡机,它从其位于巴灵顿街的旧位置开始跟随中心。 哈利法克斯经典!

5.在Bud Spud Chip Truck上吃有史以来最好的炸薯条

如果想在纸袋中放些咸味,夏天的美味,可以选择 拨开切屑切屑卡车, 自1977年以来,它就一直在Spring Garden Road的完全相同的位置-在前哈利法克斯市图书馆的前面提供炸土豆(如果需要,可以加盐和醋)。 图书馆移动时,切屑卡车停了下来。 今年夏天,在哈利法克斯和孩子们一起吃美味,腻腻的炸薯条袋是最好的事情之一。

6.在达特茅斯贵格会博物馆观看鲸鱼眼球

大警报! 这个血淋淋的眼球被安置在达特茅斯最古老的房子里,达特茅斯是楠塔基特(Nantucket)捕鲸人建造的,装在一个罐子里,在一块不起眼的布下面,以防万一有人太恶心。 的 达特茅斯奎克博物馆 是哈利法克斯最鲜为人知的景点之一。 这是一个很小的博物馆,反映了达特茅斯的早期历史-下次您在达特茅斯时,值得一游。 (注意:一位读者告诉我们,这个博物馆目前关门-出发前请检查!)

7.走进莫斯科·刘易斯故居,新斯科舍省美术馆

这个小房子(实际上是一个扫帚橱柜的大小)是新斯科舍省的情人,民间艺术家莫德·刘易斯(Maud Lewis)和她的丈夫在新斯科舍省马歇尔敦的家。 她去世后,整个结构被移至新斯科舍省美术馆作为永久展览。 可能会让孩子们感兴趣的是,寻宝者仍在寻找这位海事艺术家的原创画作。 例如,在2017年, 在旧货店里发现的莫德·刘易斯画作,售价为$ 45,000!

8.在大西洋海事博物馆与鹦鹉梅林聊天

啊,梅林! 我们是如此爱你! 有传言说,自大流行开始以来,16岁的彩虹金刚鹦鹉(他是大西洋海事博物馆的官方吉祥物)实际上就一直很孤单,所以他期待着再次见到游客。 但是您可以在任何一天访问Merlin 说话的鹦鹉Merlin网络摄像头。 有趣的事实:Merlin的网络摄像头实际上是新斯科舍省最早的公共网络摄像头之一!

9.参观世界上最古老的地鼠龟古斯

96岁的古斯(Gus)是哈利法克斯(Halifax)最受欢迎的人物之一,也是世界上已知最古老的地鼠龟。 他的日常工作包括下午3:30在Mu周围洗牌自然史的精华 在夏日大街上,然后是一小群孩子,抓着生菜叶子。 在阳光明媚的日子里,可以在博物馆的前草坪上看到他,三叶草上mun着。 每年八月,格斯(Gus)的生日都会在博物馆举行儿童派对来庆祝。 受欢迎的礼物包括浆果,生菜或香蕉。

10.在哈利法克斯下议院滑板公园闲逛

哈利法克斯下议院滑板公园是在哈利法克斯度过早晨或下午的最佳方式之一。 这是一个友好的地方,各个年龄段的孩子似乎都互相尊重并共享空间。 有适合各个年龄段和能力的碗和坡道,并且可以同时在公园内停放滑板车和BMX自行车。 (上方)还有一个不错的防溅垫,可保持凉爽。

在附近,可以去游乐场,当然也可以去哈利法克斯椭圆形体育馆,在这里您可以滑旱冰,旱冰鞋,踏板车或在平坦的大跑道上骑自行车。 滑冰后我们最喜欢做什么? 前往Dee Dee的冰淇淋(位于Cornwallis街的顶部),享受凉爽的享受。

您今年夏天有什么计划? 我们很想知道! 在评论中告诉我们。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

10 Essential Things to do in Halifax with Kids This Summer

10 Essential Things to Do in Halifax with Kids This Summer

Things to do in Halifax with kids

There are so many fun things to do in Halifax – it’s hard to know where to start! How about this list of 10 essential things to do in Halifax with kids this summer.

1. Say Hello (and Goodbye?) to Theodore Tugboat

His official name is Theodore II, and he is a life-sized, fully operational tugboat moored in Halifax Harbour. He was built during the heyday of the television show, Theodore Tugboat, which aired for many years on CBC and PBS. Now, although many have forgotten the TV show, everyone knows Theodore. This year, Theodore is docked at the Bedford Waterfront, and is only available for a wave (pardon the pun), and – scary news indeed – he is also for SALE! We are hoping and praying that our favourite Halifax icon finds a new owner.

2. Visit Woozles, Canada’s Oldest Children’s Bookstore

 Just off Spring Garden Road, on Dresden Row, Woozles is a small but delightful bookstore devoted solely to children. Woozles celebrate its birthday annually, and have readings in the Halifax Public Gardens in the summer. In case you didn’t know, what a Woozle is, it’s a fictional character from A. A. Milne’s Winnie the Pooh book. The Halifax Central Library is a stone’s throw away.

3. Clamber up The Wave

One of the best things to do in Halifax with kids is to climb up The Wave, at the waterfront in front of the Tourist Office.  Created in 1988, this strangely attractive blue cement structure, which stands at nearly 4 meters tall, looks like a great big blue tongue. You’re not really supposed to climb the Wave, but everyone does. Tip: you will get better traction if you take your socks off (as long as your feet aren’t too sweaty – ha ha). This whole area is great for kids, with the Submarine Playground, and plenty of interesting things to look at on the Halifax boardwalk.

4. Interact with Science at The Discovery Centre

The Discovery Centre is a great place to go on a rainy day in Halifax. This interactive science centre has 5 distinct areas: Energy, Health, Flight, Ocean and Just for Kids, plus a travelling exhibit on the lower floor. Highlights of the museum include the Dome Theatre and of course the famous bubble machine, which followed the centre from its old location on Barrington Street. A Halifax classic!

5. Eat the Best French Fries ever at Bud the Spud Chip Truck

For pure salty, summer deliciousness in a paper bag, head for the Bud the Spud chip truck, which has been serving fried potatoes (with salt and vinegar if you like) since 1977 in the exact same location on Spring Garden Road – in front of the former Halifax city library. When the library moved, the chip truck stayed. Eating a delicious, greasy bag of french fries is one of the best things to do in Halifax with kids this summer.

6. See a Whale Eyeball at The Quaker Museum, Dartmouth

Gross alert! This gory eyeball is housed in the oldest house in Dartmouth built by Whalers from Nantucket, in a jar, underneath a modesty cloth, in case anyone is too disgusted. The Dartmouth Quaker Museum is one of Halifax’s lesser-known and quirkiest attractions. It’s a tiny museum, reflecting Dartmouth’s very early history – and well worth a visit next time you are in Dartmouth. (Note: a reader told us this Museum is closed at the moment – check before you go!)

7. Peer Into Maud Lewis’ House, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

This tiny house (literally, the size of a broom cupboard), was home to Nova Scotia’s sweetheart, folk artist Maud Lewis, and her husband in Marshalltown, Nova Scotia. After her death, the entire structure was moved the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia as a permanent exhibit. Children might be intrigued to know that treasure hunters still seek original paintings by this Maritime artist. For example, in 2017, a Maud Lewis painting found in a thrift store, sold for $45,000!

8. Chat with Merlin the Parrot at the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic

Ah, Merlin! We love you so! Rumour has it that the 16 year old Rainbow Macaw, who is the official mascot of the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, has actually been quite lonely since the pandemic began, so he’s looking forward to seeing visitors again. But you can visit Merlin any day on the Merlin the Talking Parrot Webcam.  Interesting fact: Merlin’s webcam is actually one of the first public webcams in Nova Scotia!

9. See Gus, the World’s Oldest Living Gopher Tortoise

96 year-old Gus is one of Halifax’s best-loved personalities, and the oldest known living gopher tortoise in the world. His daily routine includes a 3:30 pm shuffle around the Museum of Natural History on Summer Street, followed by a small group of children, clutching lettuce leaves. On sunny days, he can be seen on the museum’s front lawn, munching on clover. Gus’ birthday is celebrated in August each year with a children’s party at the museum. Popular gifts include berries, lettuce or bananas.

10. Hang Out at the Halifax Commons Skate Park

The Halifax Commons Skate Park is one of the best ways to spend the morning or afternoon in Halifax. This is a friendly place, where kids of all ages seem to respect each other and share the space. There are bowls and ramps for all ages and abilities, and skateboards scooters and BMX bikes are all allowed on the park at the same time. There’s also a nice splash pad (above) to stay cool.

Nearby, check out the playground, and of course, the Halifax Oval, where you can roller skate, roller blade, scooter or cycle on a large, flat track. Our favourite thing to do after a skate? Head to Dee Dee’s Ice cream (Top of Cornwallis Street) for a cool treat.

What are your plans for this summer? We’d love to know! Tell us in the comments.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.