fbpx

讓我們認識你! YYC小型企業簡介介紹:創建兒童節

YYC小型企業簡介(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

COVID-19危機以歷史的方式顛覆了我們的世界,給卡爾加里的小型企業帶來了逆境風暴。 這些企業中的許多企業現在都在為生存而進行著艱苦的鬥爭,而未來也不確定。 儘管艾伯塔省政府已宣布了暫定的“重新入境”措施,但Family Fun Calgary希望藉此機會介紹和採訪我市的一些當地企業。 讓我們彼此了解! 您永遠不會知道什麼是YYC小型企業資料會成為您的新收藏。

今天,我們正在與“曼迪音樂”中的曼迪·莫里斯交談。 曼迪開始了 創建兒童節 國際兒童節閉幕後於2019年開始。 今年,音樂節已經在網上舉行,曼迪(Mandy)在這裡告訴我們。 (Psst!節日是13年2020月XNUMX日!)

創建兒童節(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

告訴我們有關創造兒童節的信息

創建孩子藝術協會是一個嶄新的非營利性組織,在我於2019年2019月首次成功製作的首個創建孩子節之後,於2020年100月成立。我們為卡爾加里的孩子和家庭提供藝術體驗。 我們的主要目標之一是舉辦兒童節。 今年,它看起來比我想像的要不同! 我們將通過Zoom和Facebook完全在線託管Create Kids Fest XNUMX。 我們與孩子們合作,為孩子們完成了每一項舉措。 今年,我們有一個青年委員會共同致力於創建一個藝術項目,該項目適合一張紙,可以在家中完成。 他們想出了“鹿達拉”。 我們XNUMX%由志願者經營,我們擅長通過藝術激發孩子們及其家人的興趣!

創建兒童節(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

創業的靈感是什麼? 您是從哪裡獲得第一個想法的?

在過去的十年中,我一直擔任表演者和音樂教育者。 我以“與曼迪同樂”的形式為孩子們表演爵士樂,我的職業生涯使我遍及加拿大西部。 我最喜歡玩的地方之一是節日。 我認為,音樂節是建立社區以及將歌迷與他們以前所不知道的藝術家聯繫起來的重要組成部分。 我在梅迪辛哈特(Medicine Hat)長大,在童年時最喜歡的一些回憶是在當地的節日中舉行的,例如梅迪辛哈特(Medical Hat)爵士音樂節(Medical Hat Jazz Fest),每年都會在公共汽車總站的頂部舉辦一場舞蹈。

2018年夏季,卡爾加里國際兒童節宣布將不再運營。 我被毀了。 那個節日是卡爾加里孩子們的文化和社區的基石。 我對科迪·哈欽森(Kodi Hutchinson)感到失望,他回答:“好吧,我想您只需要自己開始。” 然後我做到了。

創建兒童節(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

您最大的遺憾是什麼? 您最大的驕傲還是成功?

我沒有任何遺憾,但是一路上我犯了錯誤,這給了我很多學習和成長的機會。

我為自己的團隊以及他們對藝術和下一代的承諾而感到自豪。 我們的董事會由五位成員組成,他們都有不同的生活經歷,我們的志願者團隊正在努力實現這一願景。 他們是支持,勤奮和友善的。 沒有他們,就不可能創建2020年兒童節。

通常一天對您來說會是什麼樣? 現在呢?

我的大部分工作是作為承包商,因此每天都有所不同。 我盡我所能保持早晨。 我花時間記日記,練習,做瑜伽,walk狗和整理家庭辦公室周圍的東西。 我一直在家工作,所以並沒有改變。 下午到來之後,我通常會在計算機,電話或與當地藝術家,組織和孩子們舉行的會議上花費幾個小時。 有時我在排練或合作,其他時候我在圖書館,博物館和學前班表演或舉辦研討會,或者我忙於管理工作。 然後我晚上在奇努克音樂學院(Chinook Music of Music)擔任音樂老師,通常在8或9歲左右結束。在COVID-19流行之前,我還將在周末在加拿大青年人教書,並與屬於音樂的孩子們進行彩排。曼迪的表演和錄音。

您如何適應COVID-19危機,現在社區如何為您提供支持?

我從未想像過我會舉辦一個在線音樂節,但是我們來了! 如果您想幫忙,可以在 createkids.ca/捐贈。 您絕對應該參加我們在13月XNUMX日舉行的研討會和音樂節! 有關信息,請訪問 createkids.ca/events.

創建兒童節(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

謝謝,曼迪(Mandy)向我們介紹了有關音樂節的更多信息,我們祝您本週末一切順利! 你可以找到 創建兒童節 on Facebook or 您可以點擊此處跟蹤訂單狀況。.

YYC小型企業概況介紹是一個“家庭娛樂卡爾加里”系列,其中將包含編輯隨機選擇的企業,這些企業是出於興趣和好奇心而自行決定的。


尋找更多有關如何在COVID-19危機期間讓孩子忙碌的提示嗎? 找到我們最好的想法,活動和靈感 在這裡!

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

fbpx

Let’s Get to Know You! Introducing YYC Small Business Profiles: CREATE KIDS FEST

YYC Small Business Profile (Family Fun Calgary)

The COVID-19 crisis has turned our world upside-down in historical ways, bringing a storm of adversity to small businesses in Calgary. Many of these businesses are now in a critical fight for survival and the future is uncertain. Although tentative “re-entry” measures have been announced by the Alberta government, Family Fun Calgary would like to take the opportunity to introduce and interview some of the local businesses in our city. Let’s get to know each other! You never know what YYC Small Business Profile might become your new favourite.

Today we’re talking to Mandy Morris, from Music With Mandy. Mandy started the Create Kids Fest that began in 2019, after the International Children’s Festival closed down. This year, the festival has gone online and Mandy is here to tell us about it. (Psst! The festival is on June 13, 2020!)

Create Kids' Fest (Family Fun Calgary)

Tell us about the Create Kids Fest

Create Kids Arts Society is a brand-new, non-profit organization that was founded in October 2019 after the success of the inaugural Create Kids Fest that I self-produced in May 2019. We provide art experiences for kids and families in Calgary. One of our primary objectives is to present a children’s festival. This year it looks different than I had ever imagined it would! We are hosting Create Kids Fest 2020 completely online via Zoom and Facebook. Every initiative we have is done for kids in collaboration with kids. This year we had a youth committee work together to create an art project that fits on one piece of paper that can be done at home. They came up with “Dara the Deer.”  We are 100% volunteer-run and we excel at inspiring kids and their families through the arts!

Create Kids Fest (Family Fun Calgary)

What was the inspiration for starting this venture? Where did you get your first idea?

I have spent the past decade working as a performer and music educator. I perform jazz for kids as “Music with Mandy” and my career has taken me throughout Western Canada. One of my favourite venues to play in are festivals. I believe that festivals are an important part of building a community and connecting fans with artists that they wouldn’t have otherwise known. I grew up in Medicine Hat and some of my most fond childhood memories were at local festivals, like the Medicine Hat Jazz Fest that would host a dance on top of the bus terminal every year.

In the summer of 2018, the Calgary International Children’s Festival announced that they would no longer be operating. I was devastated. That festival was a cornerstone of culture and community for Calgary kids. I shared my disappointment with Kodi Hutchinson who replied, “Well, I guess you’ll just have to start your own.” Then I did.

Create Kids Fest (Family Fun Calgary)

What has been your biggest regret? Your greatest pride or success?

I don’t have any regrets but I have made mistakes along the way which has given me lots of opportunities to learn and grow.

I am most proud of my team and their commitment to the arts and the next generation. Our board is made up of five members who all have different life experiences and we have a team of volunteers who are working hard to bring the vision to life. They are supportive, hard-working, and kind. Create Kids Fest 2020 wouldn’t be possible without them.

What would a typical day look like for you normally? What about now?

Most of my work is as a contractor, so every day is a little different. I do my best to keep my mornings to myself. I use the time to journal, practice, do yoga, walk my dog, and tidy up around the home office. I’ve always worked from home so that has not changed. Once the afternoon hits, I usually spend a few hours on the computer, on the phone, or in meetings connecting with local artists, organizations, and kids. Sometimes I’m rehearsing or collaborating, other times I’m performing or presenting workshops at libraries, museums, and preschools, or I’m busy getting caught up on admin work. Then I work as a music teacher at Chinook School of Music during the evenings, usually ending around 8 or 9. Before COVID-19 hit, I would also teach on the weekends at the Young Canadians and hold rehearsals with kids who were part of Music with Mandy performances and recordings.

How have you adapted to the COVID-19 crisis and how can the community support you at this time?

I would have never imagined that I would be producing an online festival, but here we are! If you’d like to help you can donate at createkids.ca/donate. And you should definitely attend our workshops and festival which are taking place on June 13! Information is available at createkids.ca/events.

Create Kids Fest (Family Fun Calgary)

Thanks, Mandy, for telling us a little bit more about the festival and we wish you the best of luck this weekend! You can find Create Kids Fest on Facebook or HERE.

Introducing YYC Small Business Profiles is a Family Fun Calgary series that will contain a random selection of businesses chosen at the discretion of the editor for interest and curiosity.


Looking for more tips on how to keep your kids occupied during the COVID-19 crisis? Find our best ideas, activities and inspiration here!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *