YYC小型企業簡介(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

COVID-19危機以歷史的方式顛覆了我們的世界,給卡爾加里的小型企業帶來了逆境風暴。 這些企業中的許多企業現在都在為生存而戰,而前途未卜。 儘管艾伯塔省政府已宣布了暫定的“重新入境”措施,但Family Fun Calgary希望藉此機會介紹和採訪我市的一些當地企業。 讓我們彼此認識! 您永遠不會知道什麼是YYC小型企業資料會成為您的新收藏。

今天,我們正在與Solstice Berry Farm的Rick Gelowitz交談。 我們支付了 去年夏天參觀農場 來一些美味的薩斯卡通,我們正計劃今年回來。 如果您不想去農場,可以在整個卡爾加里地區的農貿市場找到冬至。 他們甚至會烤你的餡餅 你!

Solstice Berry農場參觀(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

告訴我們您的業務:

Solstice Berry Farm是一家家族企業,由家庭經營,始建於1994年。由卡爾加里的兩位計算機極客Rick和Marsha Gelowitz創立,他們以前沒有耕作經驗,我們開始為出口市場種植乾草。乾草去了阿布扎比餵日本奶牛和賽駱駝。 那時我們還養了100隻羊,正在養羔羊。

當乾草市場在2000年代初下降時,我們決定退出乾草市場,我們將精力重新集中在種植世界上我們最喜歡的水果薩斯卡通漿果上! 我們於2003年種植了第一批灌木叢,此後將果園擴大到40英畝。 3英畝的果園專門用於u-pick採摘,其餘的是我們的商業採伐區。 薩斯卡通漿果就是我們所種植的。 我們的主要產品是冷凍的薩斯卡通漿果,因為新鮮季節僅持續三到四個星期,但我們確實在季節內出售新鮮水果。 除了自己種植漿果外,我們還生產一系列增值產品,例如果醬,果凍,糖漿,果汁,油醋汁,燒烤醬和甜點澆頭。 u採摘活動在403月第946週結束時向公眾開放(取決於天氣),因此您可以致電薩斯卡通熱線(4759-XNUMX-XNUMX)了解當前的作物狀況,或訪問我們的網站 www.solsticeberryfarm.com。 您也可以關注我們 Facebook, 推特, or Instagram 有關我們將要訪問的u-pick或任何市場和其他事件的最新信息。

我們位於克雷莫納東南(距離烏鴉隻飛8公里),距卡爾加里西北部的克羅富特僅35分鐘車程。 我們很容易找到,您可以在我們的網站上找到帶有方向的地圖。 在一年的大部分時間裡,只有我和我的妻子(又名Mom&Pop)在農場工作。 在3-4週的收穫季節中,我們確實聘請了一些當地員工,但在大多數情況下,我們兩個人都做了。

你擅長什麼?

我們認為我們種了一些很棒的薩斯卡通漿果! 人們問我們在農場是否種其他水果和/或蔬菜,我們自豪地拒絕! 我們從一開始就決定只專注於種植這些漿果。 我們對薩斯卡通漿果充滿熱情,並希望與大家分享這種營養健康的超級水果。 我們也是正確做事的忠實擁護者,因此我們對這一水果的關注使我們能夠將自己的精力,知識和資源用於種植最甜,最美味的薩斯卡通漿果。

Solstice莓果農場(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

創業的靈感是什麼? 您是從哪裡獲得第一個想法的?

當我們考慮擺脫種草時,我們試圖考慮另一種作物來種。 我不得不讚揚我的妻子瑪莎(Marsha)對種植薩斯卡通的初衷。 我們的花園裡有三個灌木叢,在農場裡,灌木叢似乎真的很喜歡,所以她建議我們種一堆薩斯卡通灌木叢。 她最初想的是一英畝或兩英畝。 是我說:“不,我們把整個地方種在薩斯卡通中。” 您知道,一個典型的傢伙的“大膽或回家”的心態。 。 。 😉

無論如何,經過認真的談判,我們定居在40英畝的土地上,這就是我們進入種植薩斯卡通的方式。 然後,瑪莎前往奧茲學院(Olds College)獲得園藝學證書。 她認為,既然我們將要發展這些東西,我們就會更好地了解它們背後的科學。

您最大的遺憾是什麼? 您最大的驕傲還是成功?

我們最大的遺憾是當我們還年輕的時候才開始創業! 種植農作物,收穫農作物,清潔水果並進行分類,然後再進行一系列增值產品(例如果醬,餡餅,糖漿,果汁等)的工作量很大努力! 大多數人不知道生產一小袋漿果或從我們這裡購買一罐果醬要花費多少工作。 每年,身體上需要做的所有事情都會變得有些困難。 儘管如此,我們仍然喜歡它。

我們為種植營養豐富,健康的食物而感到自豪,並為此感到自豪。 薩斯卡通漿果中的抗氧化劑,纖維和錳,鐵和鈣等礦物質含量高得令人難以置信。 大多數人沒有意識到薩斯卡通漿果的抗氧化劑含量高於藍莓。 我們還從客戶那裡獲得了很多積極的反饋,告知他們他們喜歡我們的果醬,餡餅和所有其他產品。 稱讚使這一切都值得。

Solstice Berry農場參觀(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

通常一天對您來說會是什麼樣? 現在呢?

這取決於您詢問的時間。 冬季通常比較安靜,但是我們會為來年做計劃,在此期間我們會生產一些增值產品。 春天(我們現在正在做的)忙於修剪,施肥,割草,固定設備,更換拖拉機上的油以及其他類似的東西。 夏季,我們忙於我們所有的農貿市場並為收穫做準備。 收穫時間實在是太瘋狂了,因為我們只有3-4週的時間才能將整個農作物摘下,清洗和分類,並且可以新鮮出售或冷凍出售,因此我們可以在今年晚些時候出售它們。 收割完畢後,我們稍作休息,但繼續進入農民市場,直到XNUMX月初。 然後,我們為冬季和聖誕節銷售做準備。 這使我們在聖誕節前一直很忙,然後在接下來的一年中重複整個過程。 ew!

您如何適應COVID-19危機,現在社區如何為您提供支持?

Covid-19顯然在不同程度上影響了我們所有人。 值得慶幸的是,我們一家人都沒有生病,我們仍然健康。 由於我們的大部分收入都來自農貿市場以及我們在卡爾加里及其周圍多個地區的產品銷售,因此我們不得不拭目以待,AHS對農貿市場,商店等的經營做出了決定。過去幾個月的不確定性。

但是隨著我們進入4月份,人們做出了決定,方法也變得更加清晰。 謝天謝地,儘管我們需要在這些市場上改變經營方式,但農貿市場將繼續前進。 每個市場都有略微不同的規則以確保所有人的安全,因此我們不得不調整帳篷和產品的設置方式,以適應新的規則和規定。 那也意味著很多洗手液,抹布和麵罩。 不幸的是,這也意味著我們暫時無法提供任何產品的樣品。 從好的方面來看,我們於XNUMX月XNUMX日在Crossfield開始了我們的第一個市場!

所有農民,包括我們自己在內,都將非常感謝當地社區的支持。 儘管可能不是最便宜的選擇,但考慮一下在當地購買和購買食物還是有幫助的,因為它可以支持當地的農場家庭。 反過來,我們的農民通過購買其他地方企業經營農場所需的商品和服務來支持我們的當地社區。 在危機時期,我們大家相互支持很重要。

順便說一下,我們期待已久的新網站即將就緒,我們對此感到非常興奮! 新的網站將提供有關我們的大量新信息,我們的農場還將擁有一個新的在線商店,這將使客戶可以訂購和支付我們所有產品的費用,我們將在市場上免費提供路邊提貨或在附近交貨卡爾加里。 敬請關注! 我們應該在幾週內啟動新網站。

Solstice Berry農場參觀(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

瑞克,謝謝您向我們介紹了您的業務,並希望您今年夏天一切順利。 你可以找到冬至漿果農場 立即註冊。 您也可以繼續關注他們 Facebook, 推特, or Instagram.

YYC小型企業概況介紹是一個“家庭娛樂卡爾加里”系列,其中將包含編輯隨機選擇的企業,這些企業是出於興趣和好奇心而自行決定的。


尋找更多有關如何在COVID-19危機期間讓孩子忙碌的提示嗎? 找到我們最好的想法,活動和靈感 在這裡!

fbpx

Let’s Get to Know You! Introducing YYC Small Business Profiles: SOLSTICE BERRY FARM

YYC Small Business Profile (Family Fun Calgary)

The COVID-19 crisis has turned our world upside-down in historical ways, bringing a storm of adversity to small businesses in Calgary. Many of these businesses are now in a critical fight for survival and the future is uncertain. Although tentative “re-entry” measures have been announced by the Alberta government, Family Fun Calgary would like to take the opportunity to introduce and interview some of the local businesses in our city. Let’s get to know each other! You never know what YYC Small Business Profile might become your new favourite.

Today we’re talking to Rick Gelowitz from Solstice Berry Farm. We paid a visit to the farm last summer for some delicious saskatoons and we’re planning on heading back this year. If you don’t want to head to the farm, you can find Solstice at farmers markets throughout the Calgary area. They will even bake your pies for you!

Solstice Berry Farm Visit (Family Fun Calgary)

Tell us about your business:

Solstice Berry Farm is a family-owned and family-run farm that has been around since 1994. Started by Rick and Marsha Gelowitz, two computer geeks from Calgary with no prior experience in farming, we started out growing hay for the export market where our hay went to feed Japanese dairy cows and racing camels in Abu Dhabi. We also had 100 head of sheep and were raising lamb at that time.

When the hay market declined in the early 2000’s we decided to exit the hay market and we refocused our energies into growing our favourite fruit in the world, saskatoon berries! We planted our first bushes in 2003 and have expanded the orchard to 40 acres since then. Ten acres of the orchard is dedicated to u-pick and the rest is our commercial harvest area. Saskatoon berries are all we grow. Our primary product is frozen saskatoon berries, as the fresh season only lasts three to four weeks, but we do sell fresh while they are in season. Besides growing the berries themselves, we also make a line of value-added products like jam, jelly, syrup, juice, vinaigrette, BBQ sauce, and dessert topping. The u-pick opens to the public around the end of the 3rd week in July (depending on the weather), so you can call the Saskatoon hotline (403-946-4759) for current crop conditions, or check our website www.solsticeberryfarm.com. You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram for up to date information about the u-pick or any of the markets and other events we will be visiting.

We are located 8 km (as the crow flies) SE of Cremona, which is just a short 35-minute drive from Crowfoot in NW Calgary. We’re easy to find and you can find a map with directions on our website. For most of the year, it is just my wife and I (aka Mom & Pop) working on the farm. We do hire a few local staff during our 3-4 week harvest season, but for the most part, the two of us do it all.

What do you excel at?

We think we grow some pretty awesome saskatoon berries! People ask us if we grow any other fruits and/or vegetables on the farm and we proudly say no! We decided right from the get-go that we would specialize in growing only these berries. We are passionate about saskatoon berries and want to share this nutritious healthy superfruit with everyone. We’re also big believers in doing things right, so our focus on this one fruit allows us to dedicate our energy, knowledge, and resources into growing the sweetest, most delicious saskatoon berries.

Solstice Berry Farm (Family Fun Calgary)

What was the inspiration for starting this venture? Where did you get your first idea?

When we were considering getting out of growing hay, we tried to think of another crop to grow. I have to credit my wife Marsha for the original thought of growing saskatoons. We had three bushes in our garden and the bushes really seemed to like it here at the farm, so she suggested that we plant a bunch of saskatoon bushes instead. She was originally thinking maybe an acre or two. It was me who said, “No, let’s plant the whole place in saskatoons.” You know, a typical guy’s “go big or go home” mentality . . . 😉

Anyways, after some serious negotiation, we settled on 40 acres, and that was how we got into growing saskatoons. Marsha then went to Olds College to get her certificate in horticulture. She figured since we were going to be growing these things we better understand the science behind them.

What has been your biggest regret? Your greatest pride or success?

Our biggest regret was not starting this venture when we were a lot younger! The amount of effort that goes into growing the crop, harvesting it, cleaning and sorting the fruit, and then on top of all that, making a whole line of value-added products like jams, pies, syrup, juice, etc is a LOT of hard work! Most people have no idea how much work goes into producing that small bag of berries or that jar of jam they buy from us. Every year it gets a little tougher on the body to physically do everything that needs to be done. Nevertheless, we still enjoy it.

We take great satisfaction and pride in growing nutritious, healthy food for people to enjoy. Saskatoon berries are incredibly high in antioxidants, fibre, and minerals like manganese, iron, and calcium. Most people do not realize that saskatoon berries are higher in antioxidants than blueberries. We also get a lot of positive feedback from our customers about how much they enjoy our jams, pies and all of our other products. The compliments make it all worthwhile.

Solstice Berry Farm Visit (Family Fun Calgary)

What would a typical day look like for you normally? What about now?

That depends on the time of year you ask. Wintertime is typically quiet, but we do planning for the coming year and we make some of our value-added products during this time. Spring (which is what we’re doing now) is busy with pruning, fertilizing, mowing grass, fixing equipment, changing the oil on the tractors, and other stuff like that. In the summer we get busy with all of our farmers markets and preparing for harvest. Harvest time is really crazy as we only have 3-4 weeks to get the entire crop off, cleaned and sorted, and either sold fresh, or frozen so we can sell them later on in the year. After harvest is done we take a short breather but continue on with our farmers markets until the beginning of October. Then we prepare for winter and Christmas sales. That keeps us busy right up to Christmas and then we repeat the whole thing over for the next year. Whew!

How have you adapted to the COVID-19 crisis and how can the community support you at this time?

Covid-19 has obviously affected all of us to varying degrees. Thankfully, no one in our family has gotten ill and we remain healthy. Since most of our revenue comes from farmers markets and the sales of our products at several locations in and around Calgary, we have had to wait and see what AHS decided with respect to the operations of farmers markets, stores, etc. There was a great deal of uncertainty over the past few months.

But as we progressed into June, decisions were made and the way became clearer. Thank goodness farmers markets will be going ahead, although we have needed to make changes to the way we operate while at these markets. Each market has slightly different rules to keep everyone safe, so we have had to adjust how we set up our tent and products to meet the new rules and regulations. That also means a lot of hand sanitizer, wipes, and face masks. Unfortunately, it also means that we will not be able to provide samples of any of our products for the time being. On the bright side though, we started our first market on June 4th in Crossfield!

All farmers, ourselves included, would greatly appreciate the support of the local community. Thinking about your food purchasing and buying local, even though it may not be the cheapest option, is helpful because it supports local farm families. In turn, we farmers support our local communities by buying the goods and services we need to run our farms from other local businesses. During this time of crisis, it is important for all of us to be supportive of each other.

By the way, our long-awaited new website is just about ready to go and we are super excited about that! The new website will feature a whole host of new information about us and our farm will also have a new online store which will allow customers to order and pay for all of our products and we will provide free curbside pickup at markets or delivery in and around Calgary. Stay tuned! We should be launching the new site within a couple of weeks.

Solstice Berry Farm Visit (Family Fun Calgary)

Thanks, Rick, for telling us a little bit more about your business and we wish you the best of luck this summer. You can find Solstice Berry Farm HERE. You can also follow them on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram.

Introducing YYC Small Business Profiles is a Family Fun Calgary series that will contain a random selection of businesses chosen at the discretion of the editor for interest and curiosity.


Looking for more tips on how to keep your kids occupied during the COVID-19 crisis? Find our best ideas, activities and inspiration here!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *