fbpx

令人嘆為觀止的風景和快樂的孩子:哥倫比亞冰原的賞心悅目的冒險

哥倫比亞冰原(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

哥倫比亞冰原 將於19年2020月XNUMX日開放,取決於天氣和社交距離。

國家地理將其稱為世界上風景最佳的驅動器之一。 當我們從班夫開車開始我們的短暫旅程時,我們很高興同意 公路93。 這條路向北蜿蜒穿過賈斯珀,穿過厚厚的常青樹林,環繞著綠松石色的湖泊,與落基山脈相形見絀。 我們的目的地是哥倫比亞冰原,我們期待著一種全新的體驗。 經過一個舒適的夜晚 皇家山酒店 在前一天晚上在班夫,咖啡和許多小吃,我們準備探索!

哥倫比亞冰原(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

阿薩巴斯卡冰川照片來源:Charity Quick

哥倫比亞冰原探險之旅 是一個受歡迎的便捷方式,靠近阿薩巴斯卡冰川。 它包括阿薩巴斯卡冰川的冰探索之旅和天空步道的入口,天空步道提供獨特的登山景觀,俯瞰華麗的Sunwapta山谷。 酒店提供往返冰川探索中心的交通服務,方便快捷。

“我太激動了!”

“這真酷!”

“我們在冰川上!”

孩子們表達了我從青少年前和青少年時期沒有想到的興奮程度。 它開始於我們裝載到冰探測器並了解到哥倫比亞冰原供給五個冰川並且是巴黎市的兩倍(或者是班夫大小的43!)。 我們的導遊談到冰原是冰凍的“湖泊”,冰川是從冰原中湧出的冰凍“河流”。 一塊雪花需要五年時間才能變成冰塊,而冰川冰塊會發出明顯冰冷的藍色,因為它的密度更大,而且氧氣的含量遠遠低於冰箱中的冰。

哥倫比亞冰原(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

每張照片都有一個奇怪的東西。 強大的冰探險家。 照片來源:Charity Quick

在實際到達冰路之前,我們不得不從側面冰磧的一側(阿薩巴斯卡冰川消退後留下的一堆泥土)前往。 我們的大型冰探測器沿著北美最陡峭的未鋪砌道路向前傾斜,具有18°坡度和32%等級,並通過輪胎沖洗,以確保一些泥土和岩石不會吸引太陽到冰川,融化它更快。

哥倫比亞冰原(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

我們花了20分鐘在冰川的指定遊客區域徘徊,或者正如我兒子用典型的戲劇所說的那樣,“在移動的冰上嬉戲。”孩子們對冰川的亮點 - 也是我的! - 正在喝冰川水。 乾淨,純淨,冰冷,我最小的孩子用鈴聲宣稱它是SWEET。 她肯定會在未來幾年談論它。 我們拍了照片並重新裝滿了水瓶,然後是時候前往哥倫比亞冰原天空步道了。

哥倫比亞冰原(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

冰爽,美味的冰川水! 照片來源:Charity Quick

乘坐短途巴士前往Skywalk,我們可以一睹Mount Snow Dome山和Sunwapta河,這是世界上唯一的三陸大陸分水嶺。 來自圓頂冰川的水融入Sunwapta河,這些水流入北極,大西洋和太平洋。 一旦我們到達天空步道,即使是最恐懼的孩子也會走到玻璃地板上,距邊緣30米,谷底上方280米。 她不一定高興,但她做到了!

哥倫比亞冰原(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

哥倫比亞冰原天空步道照片來源:Charity Quick

不久,我們帶著裝滿冰川的水瓶,沿著93高速公路返回班夫。 我們在迷你冒險中學到了很多東西!

出發前須知什麼

誰該去?

哥倫比亞冰原探險之旅雖然身體並不繁重,但適合所有年齡段的家庭,儘管我們沒有看到很多幼兒和學齡前兒童。 如果我們的經驗表明,學齡兒童可能會從中獲得最大收益。 這次旅行是輪椅通道,需提前通知。 如果您不熱衷於整個事情,則可以購買哥倫比亞冰原空中漫步的門票。

浴室

旅行中沒有浴室,大約兩個半小時,所以計劃相應。 也許這就是為什麼我們沒有看到任何幼兒。

等待時間

在您的旅行中,您可能會有一些小的等待時間。 我們沒有發現它們很長,但我們也沒有小孩。

邊界

當我們到達冰川時,邊界的重要性給我們留下了深刻的印象。 (我覺得可以從中吸取生命教訓。)冰中的moulins和裂縫可以和200米一樣深; 冰川位於90和300深度之間。 有遊覽可以帶你穿越冰川,但他們是專業人士,所以保持在邊界內。

服裝

冰川並不像我預期的那麼滑,但相當泥濘。 堅固的防水鞋是理想的。 冰川位於海拔高度9800以上的苛刻高山環境中,可能非常寒冷,特別是在風力較大的情況下。 特別是如果你把手浸入冰冷的溪流中,你的鞋子會被淋濕! 我們八月份度過了美好的一天。 天氣晴朗,14攝氏度,但我們被告知冰川的溫度可以達到5°到10°的溫度。

瀑布,陽光普照的山峰和一縷雲彩使這座山成為今夏的精美景觀。 幸運的是,我們住在這樣的美麗隔壁。

哥倫比亞冰原探險之旅 開放至10月18,2020。 他們在4月左右恢復旅遊。 艾伯塔省居民可享受折扣優惠 門票和入場費.

哥倫比亞冰原(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

向她的大姐姐展示它是完全安全的。 (她的姐姐不相信。)圖片來源:Charity Quick

作者要感謝Pursuit主辦了皇家山酒店和哥倫比亞冰原探險之旅。 所有表達的意見都是她自己的。

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

Breathtaking Scenery and Happy Kids: A Rewarding Adventure at the Columbia Icefield

Columbia Icefields (Family Fun Calgary)

National Geographic has called it one of the most scenic drives in the world. We were happy to agree as we drove from Banff to begin our short journey on Highway 93. The road winds its way north to Jasper, through thick stands of evergreens, around turquoise lakes, dwarfed by the Rocky Mountains. Our destination was the Columbia Icefield and we were looking forward to a new experience. After a comfortable night at the Mount Royal Hotel in Banff the night before, coffee, and lots of snacks, we were ready to explore!

Columbia Icefields (Family Fun Calgary)

The Athabasca Glacier Photo Credit: Charity Quick

The Columbia Icefield Adventure Tour is a popular and convenient way to get up-close to the Athabasca Glacier. It includes the Ice Explorer Tour on the Athabasca Glacier and admission to the Skywalk, which offers a unique, mountain-climber perspective over the gorgeous Sunwapta Valley. Transportation to and from the Glacier Discovery Center is included, making it easy and convenient.

“I’m so excited!”

“This is so cool!”

“We’re on the glacier!”

The kids expressed a level of excitement I didn’t expect from my pre-teens and teenager. It began when we loaded into the Ice Explorer and learned that the Columbia Icefield feeds five glaciers and is twice as big as the city of Paris (or 43 times the size of Banff!). Our guide spoke of an icefield as a frozen “lake” and a glacier as the frozen “river” that springs from the icefield. It takes five years for one snowflake to become ice and the distinct icy blue of glacier ice occurs because it is denser and has far less oxygen then, for example, the ice you make in your freezer.

Columbia Icefields (Family Fun Calgary)

There’s a weirdo in every picture. The mighty Ice Explorer. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Before actually arriving on the ice road we had to head down the side of a lateral moraine (the pile of dirt left behind when the Athabasca glacier receded). Our large ice explorer inched its way down the steepest unpaved road in North America, with an 18° slope and a 32% grade, and through a tire wash, to ensure bits of dirt and rock did not attract the sun to the glacier, melting it more quickly.

Columbia Icefields (Family Fun Calgary)

We spent 20 minutes wandering in the designated visitor section of the glacier, or as my son said with typical drama, “romping around on moving ice.” The kids’ highlight of the glacier – and mine, too! – was drinking the glacier water. Clean, pure, and icy cold, my youngest declared it SWEET in ringing tones. She’ll be talking about it for years to come, I’m sure. We took pictures and refilled our water bottles, and then it was time to head to the Columbia Icefield Skywalk.

Columbia Icefields (Family Fun Calgary)

Icy, delicious glacier water! Photo Credit: Charity Quick

On the short bus ride to the Skywalk, we got a glimpse of Mount Snow Dome and the Sunwapta River, the only Triple Continental Divide in the world. Water from the Dome Glacier melts into the Sunwapta River and this water flows to the Arctic, the Atlantic, and the Pacific. Once we arrived at the Skywalk, even the most frightened of our kids walked out on the glass floor 30 metres from the edge and 280 metres above the valley floor. She wasn’t necessarily happy about it, but she did it!

Columbia Icefields (Family Fun Calgary)

Columbia Icefield Skywalk Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Before long, we were taking our glacier-filled water bottles and heading back down Highway 93 to Banff. We learned a lot on our mini-adventure!

What to Know Before You Go

Who Should Go?

The Columbia Icefield Adventure Tour is not physically onerous and is suitable for families of all ages, although we didn’t see many toddlers and preschoolers. School-aged kids would probably get the most out of it, if our experience is any indication. The tour is wheelchair-acccessible, with advance notice. If you’re not commited to the whole thing, you can purchase tickets for just the Columbia Icefield Skywalk.

Bathrooms

There are no bathrooms on the tour, which is about two and a half hours long, so plan accordingly. Maybe that’s why we didn’t see any toddlers.

Wait Times

You may have some minor wait times for buses as you travel through your tour. We didn’t find them long, but we didn’t have small children, either.

Boundaries

The importance of boundaries was impressed upon us as we arrived at the glacier. (I feel like a life lesson could be drawn from this.) There are moulins and crevasses in the ice that could be as deep as 200 metres; the glacier is between 90 and 300 metres deep. There are tours that take you hiking across the glacier, but they’re with professionals, so stay within the boundaries.

Clothing

The glacier was not as slippery as I had expected, but quite slushy instead. Sturdy footwear that is somewhat waterproof is ideal. The glacier, being in a harsh alpine environment at over 9800 feet above sea level, can be quite cold, especially if the winds pick up. And especially if you’ve dipped your hands in the icy stream and your shoes get wet! We visited on a beautiful day in August. It was sunny and 14° Celsius, but we were told that the temperature on the glacier can to 5° to 10° cooler.

Slivers of waterfalls, sun-touched mountain peaks and wisps of clouds made the mountains an exquisite spectacle this summer day. How fortunate we are to live next door to such beauty.

The Columbia Icefield Adventure Tour is open until October 20, 2019. They resume tours around April. Alberta residents get a discount on tickets and admission

Columbia Icefields (Family Fun Calgary)

Showing her big sister that it’s completely safe. (Her sister wasn’t convinced.) Photo Credit: Charity Quick

The author would like to thank Pursuit for hosting the visit to the Mount Royal Hotel and the Columbia Icefield Adventure Tour. All opinions expressed are her own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *