Stand Up Paddleboarding (SUP) est le sport qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide dans le monde pour le moment. C'est facile, la courbe d'apprentissage est faible, et la plupart des gens peuvent sauter sur un tableau dès leur première sortie sans expérience ou leçon. C'est aussi un bon sport familial car les parents peuvent se balader sur l'eau pendant que les enfants jouent à la plage.

Une fois que vous développez un peu de confiance, vous pouvez également commencer à emmener les enfants avec vous sur votre plateau. Les enfants d'âge scolaire et les adolescents pourront essayer de pagayer seuls sur une planche plus courte, ce qui fera du SUP un excellent sport où toute la famille pourra participer ensemble.

Avant de vous rendre à votre première plage, vous devrez vous équiper d'une planche, d'une pagaie et d'un VFI. Heureusement, des planches de SUP peuvent être louées sur de nombreuses plages de English Bay.

Stand up paddle dans la région métropolitaine de Vancouver:

English Bay Plages

Hadden Park - Ce parc a une belle plage sur l'océan et est un endroit populaire pour SUP dans les eaux protégées de English Bay. Essayez SUP Yoga ou prenez une leçon d'introduction à Stand Up Paddle Vancouver. Visitez leur site pour plus d'informations sur les horaires de cours et les prix.

Plage de Jericho - Pour faire l'expérience de la remise en forme dans le plus pur style de la côte ouest, inscrivez-vous à un cours de SUP Fitness Boot Camp sur la plage de Jericho via Windsure Adventure Watersports. Aucune expérience en SUP requise et un forfait de location complet est inclus dans les frais de cours. Pour plus d'informations sur les locations, les leçons d'introduction au SUP ou le camp d'entraînement de SUP fitness, visitez Windsure's site.

Plage de Kitsilano - Près de l'extrémité nord de la plage, vous trouverez Vancouver Water Adventures. Idéal pour le SUP sur la plage pour faire du paddleboard depuis la plage, ils font également du SUP Yoga, du Paddle Fit, des visites et proposent des cours et des locations

Deep Cove, North Vancouver

Abritant le centre de canoë et de kayak de Deep Cove, c'est l'endroit idéal pour commencer une pagaie panoramique sur le fjord Indian Arm entouré des montagnes de la côte de Vancouver. Des locations et des cours sont disponibles à cet endroit, ainsi que des cours de SUP yoga et des camps SUP pour enfants. Pour quelque chose de vraiment spectaculaire, participez à une visite guidée en SUP au lever du soleil et voyez ce que cela fait de pagayer sur une eau aussi lisse que du verre. Pour plus d'informations sur les cours, le SUP yoga, les visites guidées et les courses hebdomadaires de SUP, visitez le Site Web du Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak Centre.

Parc Rocky Point, Port Moody

À la toute fin du Burrard Inlet se trouve le magnifique parc Rocky Point, une destination populaire pour les plaisanciers et les pagayeurs! Avec des eaux calmes et de belles vues, c'est un endroit idéal pour essayer de pagayer. Si vous cherchez des visites, des leçons ou des camps, Rocky Point Kayak est l'endroit où aller et ils vous ont aussi couvert pour toutes les locations d'équipement.

J'espère que vous vous amuserez sur l'eau en famille cet été en essayant un nouveau sport facile et amusant!

Stand Up Paddleboarding in Vancouver

Where to Stand Up Paddleboard-4

Stand up Paddleboarding (SUP) is the fastest growing sport around the world right now for good reason. It’s easy, there’s a low learning curve, and most people can jump on a board their first time out with no previous experience or lessons. It’s also a great family sport because parents can take turns out on the water while the children play at the beach.

Once you build up a bit of confidence, you can also start taking the kids out with you on your board. School-aged kids and teens will be able to try paddling by themselves on a shorter board making SUP a great sport for the whole family to participate in together.

Before you head to your first beach, you’ll need to get yourself equipped with a board, paddle, and PFD. Fortunately SUP boards can be rented at many beaches throughout English Bay and if you plan to visit a location without rentals, you can always go down to Mountain Equipment COOP ahead of time. They offer affordable rates and multi-day packages for families who want to rent a board for a weekend camping trip or family holiday. For more information on rates, visit their website.

Below are some popular places in the Greater Vancouver area where you can try SUP this summer:

English Bay Beaches

Hadden Park – This park has a nice beach area on the ocean and is a popular spot for SUP within the protected waters of English Bay. Try SUP Yoga or take an intro lesson through Stand Up Paddle Vancouver. Visit their website for more information on class schedules and pricing.

English Bay Beach – This is another popular beach for SUP with Ecomarine Paddlesport Centres offering short term SUP rentals right off the beach. Lessons can also be booked in advance including group lessons for the whole family. For more information on where to find Ecomarine on the beach or to book a lesson, visit their website.

Jericho Beach – To experience fitness in true west coast style, sign up for a SUP fitness boot camp class at Jericho beach through Windsure Adventure Watersports. No SUP experience required and a full rental package is included in your class fee. For more information on rentals, intro SUP lessons, or SUP fitness boot camp, visit Windsure’s website.

Kitsilano Beach – Near the north end of the beach you will find Vancouver Water Adventures. Great for SUP on the beach to enjoy paddlebaording from the beach, they also do SUP Yoga, Paddle Fit, tours, and provide lessons and rentals

The Community of White Rock

White Rock to the south east of Vancouver is another popular place to try SUP within a protected bay. Stand Up Paddle Vancouver holds lessons and SUP yoga classes at the White Rock Beach. For more information, visit their website.

Deep Cove, North Vancouver

Home to the Deep Cove Canoe & Kayak Centre, this is the perfect location to start a scenic paddle up the Indian Arm Fjord surrounded by Vancouver’s coast mountains. Rentals and lessons are both available at this location along with SUP yoga classes and SUP kids camps. For something truly spectacular, join a sunrise guided SUP tour and see what it feels like to paddle on water as smooth as glass. For more information on classes, SUP yoga, guided tours, and weekly SUP races, visit the Deep Cove Canoe and Kayak Centre website.

Rocky Point Park, Port Moody

At the very end of the Burrard Inlet is the beautiful Rocky Point Park, a popular destination for boaters and paddlers! With calm waters and beautiful views, this is a great spot to try paddling. If your looking for tours, lessons or camps, Rocky Point Kayak is the place to go and they also have you covered for all equipment rentals.

I hope you have fun on the water as a whole family this summer trying a new sport that’s easy and fun!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. April 19, 2016