抓住祖父母&走开 - 大棕榈泉和科切拉谷每一代都有一些东西!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

当我们进入棕榈泉国际机场时,我半想知道我们是否在6月内两次访问同一度假目的地的过程中做了正确的事情。 毕竟, 我们第一次去科切拉谷 刚刚发生在五月,现在我们在这里 - 不到11月的一半,已经又回来了! 它看起来多余吗? 如果我上次在48小时到达的时间内预订了我们的往返旅程?

关于这次旅行的一件事当然是不同的 - 我们带来了另一代人! 尽管经验丰富的世界旅行者曾经去过地球上一些最引人注目的目的地,但我的姻亲还没有去过这个特殊的地区,距离他们在阿尔伯塔省的家只只有一个半小时的航班。 我们确信他们会喜欢它,并期待与他们共度时光,让他们享受他们的孙子孙女(哼哼......约会之夜?)并展示我们已经发现的山谷部分。

哇,我们是否有一个好的开始! 好的,说实话,我们花了Day 1买了一些杂货,然后在游泳池里闲逛,试图在我们冬季白色的皮肤上得到一丝色彩。 它 一个很好的开始,虽然可能不是超值的文章。 但是我们真的开始了第十天的2,当时我们最喜欢的是De 并要求 司机和导游 沙漠探险红色吉普旅游与活动。 已经体验过 惊人 圣安地列斯断层吉普车之旅 在我们的最后一次旅行中,这次我们开始了另一个他们最受欢迎的冒险之旅 印度峡谷吉普及徒步旅行。 我们有这样的冒险!

从我们位于Rancho Mirage的酒店开车,De指出了着名的地标(我们开车经过Frank Sinatra的房子!),并向我们讲述了许多住在并参观棕榈泉地区的名人和政客的故事。 你知道吗 肯尼迪被压倒了弗兰克西纳特拉 拒绝留在弗兰克棕榈泉的房子里,从而结束了他们的友谊? 我也不! 我们驱车前往峡谷附近的一个观点,De可以向我们的第一次解释有关创建Coachella山谷的迷人地质历史。 从地质到原住民到好莱坞的大量涌入,我认为没有任何关于棕榈泉历史的东西,德不知道。 然后我们去了峡谷! 印第安峡谷描述了棕榈泉城外五个峡谷的区域:奇诺,棕榈,塔基茨,默里和安德烈亚斯峡谷是阿瓜卡连特第一民族的传统土地的一部分,该地区以其美妙的远足和风景而闻名。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

从顶部顺时针方向:品尝加州枣椰树的果实,一起走进安德烈亚斯峡谷,全家一起,了解安德烈亚斯峡谷,美丽的清澈的水流经峡谷。

我们的第一个峡谷是安德烈亚斯,在那里,De向我们介绍了沙漠绿洲的所有特征,包括让我们品尝加州扇棕榈的果实,这是当地的棕榈树。 尽管我们的多代战队并没有完全接受1的全程徒步旅行,但De确保我们尽最大努力体验峡谷,并让我们彻底了解该地区迷人的历史,其中包括一些色彩缤纷的角色。历史。 流经峡谷的水量是一个很大的惊喜,我们了解到,在春季径流期间,所有的峡谷都可以经历真正的暴雨。 看看下面的照片,看看为什么第一个国家和早期定居者会看到安德烈亚斯峡谷是远离周围沙漠恶劣条件的理想场所。 请记住,当我拍照时,我身后有清洁的清水!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

安德烈亚斯峡谷感到安详 强大。

在前往我们下一站的途中,我们瞥见了大自然的真正力量,当时道路经过一个巨大的岩石的两半之间,在一次暴雨中被分成两半。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

棕榈峡谷路上的分裂岩石。 水是强大的!

我们的最后一站是棕榈峡谷,其中包含北美最大的绿洲之一。 站在峡谷的边缘,俯瞰绿洲令人叹为观止。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

来自峡谷边缘的棕榈峡谷。 北美最大的绿洲之一。

从这里开始,De带领我们徒步短暂徒步到West Fork Falls ......在那里我们看到的不是一滴水! 为什么叫瀑布? 在春季,大部分的小径都是沿着峡谷的径流覆盖,但在秋末,它完全干燥,让我们在湍急的水面上攀爬。 这是神圣的。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

从顶部顺时针方向:德解释地区的地质和峡谷的地形,我们可信赖的红色吉普,完整的零食和冷水,沿着棕榈峡谷的边缘徒步旅行,与娜娜骑着吉普车,沿着西叉路下降。

我们的最终目的地是一个浅洞,被流过的洪流掏空。 可以说,在春天,当水流动时,看到西福克瀑布,现在在我的个人清单上! 在对印第安峡谷地区进行了精彩的介绍之后,我迫不及待想回到地图或指南书,探索更多无数的远足径。 我希望我们可以再试一次 红色吉普之旅 在我们下次访问PS时。 我们还没有去约书亚树国家公园!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

西福克瀑布的'洞' - 用水雕刻100%!

位于兰乔米拉奇中心, 沙漠儿童发现博物馆 拥有一个美丽的现代化校园,可满足每个年龄段的需求。 在我们参观的那天,我们的孩子们开始了几圈户外三轮车赛道,然后突然出现在Clifford主题的探索区域,这对于小孩子来说是完美的(特别是通过幼儿园蹒跚学步),然后进入如何工作空间到试验齿轮,进行平衡挑战,建立乐高车辆在赛道上比赛,享受更多以STEM为导向的活动。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

前往沙漠儿童发现博物馆。

但是最大的建筑(附在入口处)是我们团队关注时间最长的建筑。 从make believe(想想小孩杂货店和兽医诊所)到定格动画,艺术(我间谍 - 有多少东西可以 找到?)和建筑,试验和制作艺术的领域,这是孩子天堂。 然而,正是脑筋急转弯和谜题让我很难将成年人拖走!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

在CDMOD骑三轮摩托赛道 - 这里到处都是美景。

我强烈建议您在与孩子一起游览山谷时查看CDMOD,您还应该了解他们是否正好提供 丢弃和用餐 在你的访问期间。 孩子们在CDMOD玩耍和学习,而你可以在餐厅和商店享受一个晚上 露天娱乐广场!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

参观CDMOD的一些展品,并亲自动手。

尽管已经访问了 棕榈泉空中缆车 在我们的最后一次访问中,我们的孩子们不需要再说一次这样做并向他们的祖父母展示! 乘坐旋转电车的10分钟以及顶部的独特景观使这值得重复访问,虽然我们没有时间徒步参观,但我们已经知道50 +里程远足径 圣哈辛托山国家公园 是迎接峰会的又一个理由。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

穿过另一辆旋转的电车,从棕榈泉空中缆车的顶部观看Coachella山谷。

我们的家人不打高尔夫球。 或者我应该说......我们从未打过高尔夫球 before? 有了这个(见下文) 惊人 的看法 皮特染料高尔夫球场 从我们的阳台 威斯汀使命山度假村别墅,至少不去试一试似乎是一种耻辱。 所以我们联系了 威斯汀高尔夫学院 - 距离酒店仅有几步之遥 威斯汀使命山高尔夫度假村及水疗中心 - 并订了一堂家庭课。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

我们别墅的景观:威斯汀观澜湖的皮特染料高尔夫球场。

尽管我们早上开始,水银已经在上升,所以我们跳上了一个度假村的许多礼貌推车,以便轻松愉快地前往会所。 我们友好的PGA职业教练, 大卫柯蒂斯在那里遇见了我们,并为整个家庭配备了适当的俱乐部,包括左撇子。 在练习场上,他让我们所有的新手都放心,然后走完整个家庭,学习摆动高尔夫球杆的基本知识。 在他的演示和我们的尝试之间,我们都设法学习如何做一个半体面的驱动器,芯片和音调。 由于我们已经知道推杆(迷你高尔夫!),我们现在拥有玩游戏所需的所有技能。 老虎伍兹,看着你的背!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

前面! 其实,她在这里是6岁。 暗笑。

好吧,我们仍然需要大量练习,但现在可以理解为什么人们会迷上这个小小的白球; 这个特殊的家庭期待再次打高尔夫球!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

一起打高尔夫球的家庭......

在我看来,每次愉快的旅行 - 即使是真正的假期 - 至少需要一点点学习。 我们的吉普车之旅和参观儿童发现博物馆提供了这一点,但总有更多空间。 事实证明,另一个在大棕榈泉学习的好地方就是 棕榈泉航空博物馆。 不用担心,孩子们不会抱怨博物馆很无聊...当你可以爬进驾驶舱时,看看弹射座椅的感觉如何,欣赏一系列战斗机,试试你的飞行模拟器和观看珍珠港袭击的立体模型再现,菜单上没有无聊!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

有人说过顶枪? 喷气式飞机在棕榈泉航空博物馆的柏油碎石地面上。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

在棕榈泉航空博物馆探索美国的空中和海战历史。 当然,学习飞翔吧!

这些棕榈泉博物馆由志愿者组成,他们也是退伍军人(包括一些活跃的服务涉及展出的飞机和船只!),这个棕榈泉博物馆收藏了巨大的世界II和韩国/越南时代的飞机和纪念品,在65K平方英尺的机库空间内 在外面的停机坪上。 即使天气很热,我也建议你到外面去看看那里的战斗机,军用车辆和直升机。 户外系列还让您欣赏棕榈泉国际机场跑道的美景,让航空爱好者有另一个不会错过的理由!

博物馆藏品中的许多飞机仍然可以飞行,所以你的手指交叉,以至于你的访问恰好与一个 特别活动 当你可以在空中看到他们,或注册一个 Warbird乘驾 为终极体验! 不要错过17rd机库中的B-3飞行堡垒,如果肚子嗡嗡作响,请在位于其翼楼旁边的优质小餐厅内填饱肚子。 以观点谈午餐!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

不在学校,但仍在学习!

Sunnylands (又名The Annenberg Estate)是慈善家和社会名流Walter和Leonore Annenberg的故居,也是该地区着名的中世纪现代主义建筑的完美典范。 该庄园因为在家中与众多着名的20世纪人物一起出演而闻名,其中包括七位美国总统,英国王室以及鲍勃霍普,弗兰克辛纳屈,吉米斯图尔特,姜罗杰斯等许多好莱坞偶像。 当我们了解到访问权限时 Sunnylands游客中心和花园 是免费的,我们决定这将是在赶上我们的航班回家之前度过一个早晨的完美方式。 它是!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

Sunnylands中心的入口。

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

沉浸在Sunnylands中心和花园的宁静之中。

虽然 历史遗产 从中心看不到中心,该中心拥有引人注目的现代建筑和美丽的雕塑花园,拥有原生植物,步行道和水景。 该 历史悠久的庄园和住宅可以提前预订; 这是非常的 在我们下次访问的事情清单上。

科切拉谷的夜晚很特别。 无论我们是在别墅的甲板上烧烤,还是在热水浴缸里闲逛,在该地区的一家优质餐厅外面吃饭(汤米巴哈马 在棕榈沙漠和 Jackalope牧场 在印第奥是最喜欢的)或徘徊在 VillageFest 棕榈峡谷街道市场位于棕榈泉市中心,我们十一月的夜晚因温暖的气温,明亮的星星和闪烁的灯光而闻名!

3代人如何做出更大的棕榈泉,家庭风格! 〜家庭乐趣加拿大

哦,那些华丽的Coachella Valley夜晚!

所以,回答我自己的问题......我们第一次访问大棕榈泉地区并不是侥幸; 我们喜欢这个地方,我的姻亲也是如此(我认为他们实际上有点惊讶我们设法在1周内收集了多少有趣的同时保留了成人和孩子们 快乐)。 两次访问后,我们 仍然 感觉我们还有很多事情要做 - 然后再做一次 - 我们一定会在正常生活允许的情况下尽快回到科切拉山谷!

非常感谢 大棕榈泉 - 寻找你的绿洲 为了提供一些景点和餐点 威斯汀观澜湖高尔夫学院 为我们的家庭课。 这里表达的意见是我自己的。 上午〜

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2评论
  1. 10年2017月XNUMX日
    • 11年2017月XNUMX日

Grab the Grandparents & Get Away – Greater Palm Springs and the Coachella Valley Have Something for Every Generation!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

As we descended into Palm Springs International Airport, I half wondered whether we were doing the right thing in visiting the same vacation destination twice within 6 months. After all, our first trip to the Coachella Valley  had only just taken place in May and now here we were –  less than halfway through November and already back again! Would it seem redundant? Had I been overeager in booking our return trip within 48 hours of arriving home last time??

One thing about this trip was certainly different – we’d brought another generation with us! Despite being veteran world travelers who have been to some of the most remarkable destinations on earth, my in-laws had yet to visit this particular area, located just a 3-hour flight from their home in Alberta. We were sure they’d enjoy it and were looking forward to spending some time with them, letting them enjoy their grandkids (ahem… date night?) and showing off the parts of the valley that we’d already discovered.

And wow, did we ever get off to a great start! OK, to tell the truth, we spent Day 1 getting some groceries and then lolling about the pool trying to get a hint of colour on our winter-white skin. It was a great start, though perhaps not super article-worthy. But we really got going on Day 2, when we were picked up by De, our favourite and requested driver & tour guide from Desert Adventures Red Jeep Tours & Events. Having already experienced the amazing San Andreas Fault Jeep Tour on our last trip, this time we were headed off on another of their other most popular adventures, the Indian Canyons Jeep & Hiking Tour. And such an adventure we had!

Driving from our hotel in Rancho Mirage, De pointed out notable landmarks (we drove right past Frank Sinatra’s house!), and regaled us with stories about the many celebrities and politicians who have lived in and visited the Palm Springs area. Did you know that JFK snubbed Frank Sinatra by refusing to stay in Frank’s Palm Springs house, thus ending their friendship?? Me neither! We drove to a viewpoint near the canyons from which De could best explain to our first-timers about the fascinating geological history that has created the Coachella Valley. From geological to First Nations to the Hollywood influx, I don’t think there’s anything about Palm Springs history that De doesn’t know. And then we were off to the canyons! Indian Canyons describes an area of five canyons just outside of Palm Springs proper: Chino, Palm, Tahquitz, Murray and Andreas canyons are part of the traditional lands of the Agua Caliente first nations and the area is renowned for its wonderful hiking and scenery.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Clockwise from top: tasting the fruits of the California Date Palm, walking into Andreas Canyon, the whole family together, learning all about Andreas Canyon, the beautiful clear water flowing through the canyon.

Our first canyon was Andreas, where De introduced us to all the features of a desert oasis, including letting us taste the fruits of the California Fan Palm, the native palm of the area. Although our multi-generational clan didn’t feel quite up to the full 1 mile hike, De made sure we experienced the canyon to the best of our abilities and gave us a thorough rundown on the area’s fascinating history, including some colourful characters in its history. The amount of water flowing through the canyon was a big surprise and we learned that during spring runoff, all the canyons can experience truly torrential run off. Check out the photo immediately below to see why first nations and early settlers would have seen Andreas Canyon as an ideal place to get away from the harsh conditions of the surrounding desert. Keep in mind, I had clean clear water flowing just behind me when I took the picture!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Andreas Canyon felt serene and powerful.

En route to our next stop, we caught a glimpse of the true power of nature, when the road passed between two halves of an enormous rock that was split in half during one of those torrential flash floods.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

The split rock on the road to Palm Canyon. Water is powerful!!

Our final stop of the tour was Palm Canyon, which contains one of North America’s largest oases. Standing on the rim of the canyon, overlooking the oasis was breathtaking.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Palm Canyon from the rim of the canyon. One of North America’s largest oases.

From here, De led us on a super short hike to West Fork Falls… where we saw not a drop of water! Why is it called a Falls? During the spring, most of the trail were were walking on is covered by runoff making its way down the canyon, but in the late fall it is entirely dry, allowing us to clamber on rocks polished smooth by rushing water. It was divine.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Clockwise from top: De explaining the geology of the area and topography of the canyons, our trusty Red Jeep, complete with snacks and cold water, hiking along the rim of Palm Canyon, riding in the Jeep with Nana, making our way along West Fork Falls.

Our ultimate destination was a shallow cave hollowed out by the torrents that flow through. Suffice to say that seeing West Fork Falls in the spring, when the water is flowing, is now on my personal bucket list! Having had a wonderful introduction to the Indian Canyons area, I can’t wait to go back with a map or guide book and explore more of the myriad hiking trails. And I hope we can try yet another Red Jeep Tour on our next visit to the PS. We still haven’t made it to Joshua Tree National Park!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

The ‘cave’ at West Fork Falls – carved 100% by water!

Centrally located in Rancho Mirage, the Children’s Discovery Museum of the Desert has a beautiful modern campus and offers something for every age group. On the day we visited, our kids started with a few laps of the outdoor trike track, then popped into the Clifford-themed exploration area that is just perfect for little ones (especially toddling through preschool) and then into the How Things Work Space to experiment with gears, perform balance challenges, build LEGO vehicles to race on the track and enjoy lots more STEM-oriented activities.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Heading into the Children’s Discovery Museum of the Desert.

But the biggest building (attached to the entrance) is what held our group’s attention the longest. From make believe (think kid-size grocery store and vet clinic) to stop-motion animation, art (I Spy – how many things can you find?) and areas for building, experimenting and making art, this is kid-heaven. It was the brain teasers and puzzles, however, that I had a hard time dragging the adults away from!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Riding the trike track at CDMOD – great views are everywhere down here.

I highly recommend checking out CDMOD when you’re visiting the valley with kids and you should also find out if they happen to be offering Drop Off & Dine during your visit. The kids play and learn at CDMOD, while you get to enjoy an evening at the restaurants and shops of The River open air entertainment plaza!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Exploring, hands-on, a few of the exhibits at CDMOD.

Despite having visited the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway on our last visit, our kids needed no convincing to do it again and show it off to their grandparents! The 10-minute ride up in a rotating tram car and exceptional views from the top make this worth repeat visits and, although we didn’t have time for a hike on this visit, we already know that the 50+ miles of hiking trails in Mount San Jacinto State Park are yet another reason to head on up to the summit.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Passing the other rotating tram car, viewing the Coachella Valley from the summit of the Palms Springs Aerial Tramway.

Our family doesn’t golf. Or should I say… we had never golfed before? With this (see below) stunning view of the Pete Dye Golf Course from our balcony at the Westin Mission Hills Resort Villas, it seemed a shame not to at least give it a go. So we got in touch with Westin Golf Academy – located a short walk away on the same property at the Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa – and booked a family lesson.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

View from our villa: Pete Dye Golf Course at Westin Mission Hills.

Despite our morning start, the mercury was already rising, so we hopped on one of the resorts’ many courtesy carts for an easy-breezy trip to the clubhouse. Our friendly PGA pro instructor, David Curtis, met us at there and outfitted the whole family with appropriate clubs, lefties included. Over at the driving range, he put all of us newbies at ease and then walked the whole family through the basics of swinging a golf club. Between his demos and our attempts, we all managed to learn how to do a half-decent drive, chip and pitch. Since we already know about putting (mini golf!), we now have all the skills needed to play the game. Tiger Woods, watch your back!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Fore! Actually, she was 6 years old here. Snicker.

OK, we do still need a whole lot of practice, but can now understand why people get hooked on hitting that little white ball; this particular family is looking forward to golfing again!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

The family that golfs together…

To my mind, every good trip – even a true vacation – involves at least a little learning. Our jeep trip and visit to the children’s discovery museum provided that, but there’s always room for more. Turns out that another great place to do some learning in Greater Palm Springs is at the Palm Springs Air Museum. And don’t worry, there won’t be any grumbling from the kids about museums being boring… when you can climb into a cockpit, see how an ejection seat feels, admire a collection of fighter jets, try your hand at flight simulators and watch a diorama reenactment of the attack on Pearl Harbor, boring is not on the menu!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Did someone say Top Gun?? Fighter jets on the tarmac at Palm Springs Air Museum.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Exploring America’s aerial and naval war history at Palm Springs Air Museum. And learning to fly, of course!

Manned by volunteers who are also veterans (including some whose active service involved the very planes and ships on display!), this Palm Springs museum houses an immense collection of World II and Korea/Vietnam era aircraft and memorabilia within 65K square feet of hangar space and on the tarmac outside. Even if it’s hot, I do recommend you head outside for a peek at the fighter jets, military vehicles and helicopters out there. The outdoor collection also gives you a great view of the runways at Palm Springs International Airport, so aviation fans have another reason not to miss it!

A number of the planes in the museum’s collection are still flyable so cross your fingers that your visit coincides with a special event when you can see them in the air, or sign up for a Warbird Ride for the ultimate experience! Don’t miss the B-17 Flying Fortress in the 3rd hangar and if tummies are rumbling, fill up at the good little cafeteria right beside its port wing. Talk about lunch with a view!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Not at school, but still learning!

Sunnylands (a.k.a. The Annenberg Estate) is the former home of philanthropists and socialites Walter and Leonore Annenberg and a perfect example of the area’s renowned mid-century modernist architecture. The estate is renowned for having played ‘home away from home’ to many notable 20th century figures, including seven U.S. presidents, the British royal family and Hollywood icons like Bob Hope, Frank Sinatra, Jimmy Stewart, Ginger Rogers and many others. When we learned that access to the Sunnylands Visitor Center and Gardens is free, we decided it would be the perfect way to spend a morning before catching our flight home. And it was!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

The entrance to Sunnylands Center.

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Soaking up the serenity of Sunnylands Center and Gardens.

While the historic estate is not visible from the center, the center is notable in its own right for striking modern architecture and beautiful sculptured gardens featuring native plants, walking paths and water features. The historic estate and home can be toured with advance reservations; this is very high on our list of things to do on our next visit.

Evenings in the Coachella Valley are special. Whether we were grilling on the deck of our villa, hanging out in the hot tub, eating outside at one of the area’s excellent restaurants (Tommy Bahama in Palm Desert and Jackalope Ranch in Indio were favourites) or wandering through the VillageFest street market on Palm Canyon Drive in downtown Palm Springs, our November evenings were notable for warm temperatures, bright stars and twinkly lights everywhere!

How 3 Generations Did Greater Palm Springs, Family Style! ~ Family Fun Canada

Oh, those gorgeous Coachella Valley evenings!!

So, in answer to my own question… our first visit to the Greater Palm Springs area was no fluke; we LOVE this place and so did my in-laws (I think they were actually a bit surprised how much fun we managed to pack into just 1 week while keeping both adults and kids super happy). After two visits, we still feel like there’s so much we still want to do – and do again – that we will surely be back to the Coachella Valley as soon as regular life allows!

Many thanks to Greater Palm Springs – Find Your Oasis for providing some attractions and meals and to the Westin Mission Hills Golf Academy for our family lesson. The opinions expressed here are my own. ~am

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. February 10, 2017
    • February 11, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *