fbpx

摄政运河上的小威尼斯到卡姆登:在伦敦我们永远都不会有安宁的一天

伦敦的小威尼斯。 Helen Earley的照片

小威尼斯到摄政运河上的卡姆登/照片:海伦Earley

水淹没在我们的运河船的船体上,船的最大允许速度为每小时4英里。 鼻子压在平板玻璃窗上,我的家人看着世界走过:温柔的垂柳,石桥,带铁门的大砖房,骑自行车的人,涂鸦的奇怪泼溅,甚至是坐在画架上的平静长裙的女人,画一幅水彩画。 和船 - 这么多船!

作为伦敦家庭度假的一部分,我的丈夫和我和我们的两个孩子,年龄在9和4,正在经历一个秘密,和平,神奇的伦敦,从小威尼斯到卡姆登镇, 。

在帕丁顿车站,我们沿着Hammersmith和City Line的路标行驶,找到一个标有“小威尼斯”的出口。 这是一个出口,并不是很多国际旅客在通过希思罗 - 帕丁顿网络的途中看到的,所以我们已经觉得我们正在冒险。

小威尼斯到摄政运河上的卡姆登/照片:海伦Earley

一旦我们退出,我们就会发现自己处于一个令人兴奋的新发展中 帕丁顿中心,这个区域旨在为繁忙的伦敦人带来一流的餐厅,大量的长椅,鲜花和艺术品,带来工作与生活的平衡。 甚至还有一套乒乓球桌,在继续我们的旅程之前,我们可以简单地使用它们。

伦敦动物园的小威尼斯:一个秘密,Helen Earley的和平之旅

帕丁顿中心/照片:海伦·Earley

我们已经注意到,沿着摄政运河或其拖车道行驶的方式实际上有很多种(这就是所谓的拖曳路径,因为在过去的日子里,运河船被马匹拖曳)。 游客和当地人可以漫步,坐水上出租车,租一辆 桑坦德自行车,甚至尝试新的 GoBoat - 船上配有舷外马达和野餐桌。

GoBoats:观看摄政运河/照片的最新方式: GoBoat网站

帕丁顿中心是小威尼斯之后。 这是摄政运河与大联盟运河的交汇处。 它如此迷人和安静,我们几乎感觉不到我们在伦敦市中心。 在我们身后是伦敦最繁华地区之一的街道, 梅达韦尔曾见过许多贵族和名流居民,包括企业家和商人理查德布兰森,以及流行明星罗比威廉斯,诺埃尔加拉格尔和比约克。

小威尼斯拥有一个迷人的盆地,拥有令人惊叹的柳树和一些迷人的餐饮场所。 Waterside咖啡厅 是我们旅程之前为孩子们准备的一杯咖啡或“冰棒”(冰棍)的好地方。

迈克尔在小威尼斯的水边咖啡厅购买冰棒,海伦·Earley的照片

在Waterside咖啡馆的冰棍:照片:Helen Earley

由于前往卡姆登镇的旅程持续50分钟(或大约30分钟到动物园),我们建议在登船前访问浴室。 咖啡厅没有便利,但方便的是,有一些公共厕所约5分钟步行路程。

小威尼斯的Waterside Cafe,Helen Earley拍摄

Waterside Cafe,小威尼斯/照片:Helen Earley

在小威尼斯,很难错过标志 伦敦水上巴士,只接受信用卡。 如果您要去动物园,您必须从Waterbus购买您的动物园门票(即不要预先购买动物园门票)。 今天,我们实际上预订了动物园门票(回想起来,这是一个错误!),所以我们决定一路前往卡姆登,然后继续步行前往动物园。

小威尼斯到摄政运河上的卡姆登/照片:海伦Earley

小威尼斯到摄政运河上的卡姆登/照片:海伦Earley

伦敦水上巴士有三艘船: 米尔顿, 英仙座 。 我们的船长和导游告诉我们, 英仙座 是由建造泰坦尼克号的同一家航运公司制造的。

每个水上巴士都有一名船长和一名导游,他们也收集门票。 有些船只有音频评论。 如果没有评论,请索取说明工业革命期间运河生活史的一些信息表。

小威尼斯到摄政运河上的卡姆登 - 伦敦水上巴士 - 海伦•Earley拍摄的照片

伦敦水上巴士/照片:Helen Earley

在划船成为休闲活动之前,运河上的生活很艰难。 在早期的1800的摄政运河手挖土墩和铲子作为替代道路,这是颠簸,缓慢和不可靠(蒸汽火车时代尚未到来)。 使用运河系统,勤劳的船长或者“号码人员”将在全国各地渡轮和其他物资。 通常,妻子和孩子会加入他们,生活在船前的一个小房间里。

望着伦敦水上巴士的窗户,Helen Earley的照片

伦敦水上巴士/照片:Helen Earley

伦敦水上巴士有足够的座位(但请记住 - 50分钟之旅没有浴室!)必须留意小孩子,他们可能会试图将手臂或头部伸出窗外。 这是非常危险的,因为墙壁和隧道突然出现在船的一侧,而在另一侧,有通过的交通,包括其他驳船,不熟练的船长GoBoats,甚至新奇的船只,如 音乐船。

在音乐船海伦Earley的光着膀子的家伙

基于Camden的音乐船/照片:Helen Earley

米尔顿 短暂地停下来,让那些在后门购买动物园门票的乘客下车 ZSL(伦敦动物学协会)伦敦动物园。 在这个时候,一个年轻的家庭没有注意到“在你登机前有一个小小的警告!”简单地躲进灌木丛然后重新登船!

伦敦动物园非常值得一游。 我们最喜欢的景点是企鹅游泳池和爬虫馆,那里拍摄了哈利波特和魔法石的第一幕场景!

伦敦动物园的后门/照片:Helen Earley

伦敦动物园的后门/照片:Helen Earley

我们现在不是在动物园停留,所以我们只是坐下来放松,享受其余的旅程。 以我们正在前进的速度,有足够的时间来观看世界过去的事情,以及沿着拖曳路线发生的事情。 事实上,伦敦人只是在做他们每天在伦敦的事情,但对我们加拿大人来说,我们传递的每一个场景都是外国和令人兴奋的。

孩子们很着迷,作为慢性观察者,我们在天堂。

伦敦摄政运河生活摄影:Mike Barker

沿着摄政运河/照片的路径再过一天:Mike Barker

At 卡姆登镇随着船停靠在一个令人印象深刻的国际食品市场旁边,气氛变得非常令人兴奋,我们从Nasi Goreng到热狗找到了一切。 伦敦在迎合多样化口味方面相当出色,而这个市场放纵所有人,包括素食主义者。

伦敦水上巴士停泊在卡姆登镇照片由海伦Earley

停泊在卡姆登镇/照片:Helen Earley

当我们在这个最酷的市场上吃面条和啜饮冰沙时,我们反映出我们刚刚和伦敦一家人一起度过了伦敦的一大部分时光,不用面对火车,巴士,人群或排队!

今天下午,我们发现了一个秘密,安静的伦敦。

沿摄政运河缓慢的生活/照片:海伦·Earley

沿摄政运河缓慢的生活/照片:海伦·Earley

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Little Venice to Camden on the Regent’s Canal: A Peaceful Day Out in a London We Never Knew Existed

London's Little Venice. Photo by Helen Earley

Little Venice to Camden on the Regent’s Canal/photo: Helen Earley

The water laps up against the hull of our canal boat, which is puttering along at its maximum permitted speed of 4 miles per hour. Noses pressed against flat glass windows, my family watches the world go by: gentle weeping willows, stone bridges, grand brick mansions with iron gates, cyclists, the odd splash of graffiti and even a calm, long-skirted woman seated at a easel, painting a watercolour. And boats – so many boats!

As part of a family holiday in London, my husband and I and our two kids, aged 9 and 4, are experiencing a secret, peaceful, magical London that we never knew existed, on a journey from Little Venice to Camden Town, by water.

At Paddington Station, we follow the signs to the Hammersmith and City Line, and find an exit marked “Little Venice”. This is an exit that not many international travellers see on their way through the Heathrow-Paddington network, so already we feel like we’re on an adventure.

Little Venice to Camden on the Regent’s Canal/photo: Helen Earley

As soon as we exit we find ourselves in an exciting new development called Paddington Central, an area designed to offer busy Londoners a work-life balance with excellent restaurants, plenty of benches, flowers and art. There is even a set of table-tennis tables, which we amuse ourselves with briefly, before continuing our journey.

Little Venice to the London Zoo: A Secret, Peaceful Journey by Helen Earley

Paddington Central/photo: Helen Earley

Already we notice that there are actually many ways to travel along the Regent’s Canal or its towpath (it’s called a towpath because, in the days gone by, canal boats were towed by horses). Tourists and locals can stroll, take a water taxi, rent a Santander bike, or even try the new GoBoat – a  boat with an outboard motor and a picnic table.

GoBoats: the newest way to see the Regent’s Canal/Photo: GoBoat Website

After Paddington Central is Little Venice. This is where the Regent’s Canal meets the Grand Union Canal. It’s so charming and quiet, we hardly feel that we are in central London. Behind us are streets of one of London’s poshest areas, Maida Vale, which has seen many aristocratic and celebrity residents including entrepreneur and businessman Richard Branson, and pop stars Robbie Williams, Noel Gallagher and Björk.

Little Venice boasts an attractive basin with stunning willow trees and some charming places to eat and drink.  The Waterside Cafe is a sweet place for a quick cup of coffee or an “ice lolly” (popsicle) for the kids before our journey.

Michael buys an ice lolly at the Waterside Cafe in Little Venice, photo by Helen Earley

An ice lolly at the Waterside Cafe/photo: Helen Earley

Since the journey to Camden Town lasts 50 minutes (or about 30 minutes to the Zoo) we take the recommendation to visit the bathroom before we board our vessel. There are no conveniences in the cafe, but conveniently, there are some public toilets about 5 minutes’ walk away.

Waterside Cafe in Little Venice, photo by Helen Earley

Waterside Cafe, Little Venice/photo: Helen Earley

In Little Venice, it’s hard to miss the signs for the London Waterbus, which only accepts credit cards. If you you are going to the Zoo, you must buy your Zoo ticket from the Waterbus (i.e. don’t pre-buy Zoo tickets). Today, we actually have pre-booked zoo tickets (in retrospect, a mistake!), so we decide to go all the way to Camden, and then continue on to the zoo by foot.

Little Venice to Camden on the Regent's Canal/photo: Helen Earley

Little Venice to Camden on the Regent’s Canal/photo: Helen Earley

The London Waterbus has three vessels in its fleet: Milton, Perseus and Gardenia. Our skipper and guide tells us that the Perseus was made by the same shipping company that built the Titanic.

Each Waterbus has a skipper and a guide, who also collects tickets. There is an audio commentary on some boats. If there is no commentary, ask for the information sheet which explains some of the history of canal life during the industrial revolution.

Little Venice to Camden on the Regent's Canal - the London Waterbus - photo by Helen Earley

The London Waterbus/photo: Helen Earley

Before boating became a leisure activity, life on the canals was hard. In the early 1800’s the Regent’s canal was hand-dug with picks and spades as an alternative to roads, which were bumpy, slow and unreliable (the age of steam train was yet to come). Hard-working captains, or “number ones” would ferry and other supplies across the country, using the canal system. Often, wives and children would join them, living in a tiny room at the front of the boat.

Looking out the window of the The London Waterbus, photo by Helen Earley

The London Waterbus/photo: Helen Earley

The London Waterbus has plenty of seating (but remember – no bathroom for the 50-minute journey!) It is essential to keep an eye on small children, who might be tempted to stick their arms or heads out of the window. This is extremely dangerous because on one side, walls and tunnels appear suddenly; on the other side of the boat, there is passing traffic including other barges, the inexpertly skippered GoBoats, and even novelty boats like The Music Boat.

Shirtless guys on The Music Boat Helen Earley

The Camden-based Music Boat/photo: Helen Earley

Milton stops briefly to drop off passengers who have bought zoo tickets off at the back door of the ZSL (Zoological Society of London) London Zoo.   At this time, a young family who did not heed the warning to “have a wee before you board!” duck into the bushes briefly and then re-board the boat!

The London Zoo is well worth a visit. Our favourite attractions were the Penguin Pool and the The Reptile House, where one of the first scenes of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was filmed!

The back door to the London Zoo/photo: Helen Earley

The back door to the London Zoo/photo: Helen Earley

We aren’t stopping at the zoo right now, so we just sit back and relax and enjoy the rest of the journey. At the speed we are going, there is plenty of time to watch the world pass by, and so much happening along the towpath. In reality, it’s just Londoners just doing their everyday London thing, but to us suburban Canadians, every scene we pass is foreign and exciting.

The kids are fascinated, and as chronic people-watchers, we are in heaven.

London Regent's Canal Life photo by Mike Barker

Just another day along the towpath of the Regent’s Canal/Photo: Mike Barker

At Camden Town, the atmosphere becomes truly exciting as the boat moors right next to an impressive international food market, where we find everything from Nasi Goreng to hot dogs. London is pretty fantastic at catering to diverse tastes, and this market indulges all, including vegans.

The London Waterbus Moored at Camden Town photo by Helen Earley

Moored at Camden Town/photo: Helen Earley

As we munch on noodles and sip smoothies in this coolest of markets, we reflect that we have just spent a good part of the day in London with our family, without facing one train, one bus, one crowd or one queue!

This afternoon, we have discovered a secret, quiet London.

A slow life along the Regent's Canal/photo: Helen Earley

A slow life along the Regent’s Canal/photo: Helen Earley

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *