华盛顿队凭借火箭队,过山车队和真正的间谍队

尘土飞扬的旧书开始了! 没有什么能激发孩子们的想象力,比如火箭飞船,密码,自制的堡垒和飞溅的游乐设施。 在华盛顿特区的这五个景点中,您可以找到所有这些以及更多。

历史的奥秘

从圆形大厅的充电大象到宝石和矿物系列中闪闪发光的希望钻石,从古老的恐龙化石到迷人的海洋生物,史密森尼国家自然历史博物馆有成千上万的展品可供探索。 记得抬头 - 你可能会发现一棵树上的豹子或头顶上浮着的巨型鲸鱼。 像所有史密森尼博物馆一样,入口是免费的,但许多机构还有额外的展览和景点,需要额外付费。 在线预订是个好主意。 例如,现场蝴蝶馆在星期二免费,但您需要一张定时门票(可在蝴蝶亭票房购买)。 所有其他日子进入展馆是$ 6 / Adult; $ 5 /孩子。 IMAX影院的演示是$ 9 / Adult; $ 8 /高级; $ 7.50 /青年。

华盛顿特区 - 国家自然历史博物馆的12吨非洲大象看起来准备充电 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

国家自然历史博物馆的12吨非洲大象看起来准备充电 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

大多数史密森博物馆都在11附近开放:00 am和5 pm附近,他们总是很忙。 博物馆餐厅的选择和成本差异很大。 为了降低成本,带来小吃和饮料。 大多数博物馆都免费检查你的外套和背包。 在你走之前在线确认这个选项。 这是一个 所有免费博物馆和国家动物园的名单!

超越无限

新兴的太空探险家将热爱国家航空航天博物馆。 这个巨大的机库形建筑引导游客了解从莱特兄弟到早期飞机设计,喷气式飞机和太空飞行的历史。 许多飞机悬挂在头顶上,这使得在飞行中很容易想象它们。 亮点包括Charles Lindbergh的圣路易斯精神,Amelia Earhart的洛克希德维加,当然还有1903 Wright Flyer。 您还可以穿过Skylab轨道工作室或波音747的鼻子,触摸月球岩石并了解飞行的方式。 每天两次免费导游。 提供飞行模拟器,IMAX电影和天文馆表演,需额外收费。 注意:这个博物馆没有用于外套或背包的储物柜。

华盛顿特区 - 国家航空航天博物馆林德伯格的圣路易斯精神 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

华盛顿特区 - 国家航空航天博物馆林德伯格的圣路易斯精神 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

在建筑物中建造

距离国家广场只有四个街区坐落着一座令人印象深刻的红砖建筑,建于1887以纪念内战的联盟士兵。 模仿意大利米开朗基罗宫殿之后,它令人敬畏的大礼堂将15故事推向了高潮。 巨大的22.8流量计(75英尺)科林斯柱是世界上最高的柱子。 免费历史建筑之旅带您到达私人四楼,从阳台上可欣赏到令人眩目的景色。

回到主楼,在建筑区,2到6的孩子们可以像Bob the Builder一样打扮成安全帽,安全背心和工具箱,并在“工作”剧场中亲自动手。 有很多建筑主题玩具和书籍可供选择。 在二楼,Play Work Build区域充满泡沫形状,从小型乐高积木到巨型积木。 孩子们可以建造城堡,堡垒和桥梁,同时父母从博物馆的历史藏品中重新发现他们内心的孩子和最喜欢的建筑游戏。 其他画廊展出来自世界各地的纸模型; 探索过去和现在的房屋和房屋的照片,电影和物品; 和尖端的建筑技术。

华盛顿特区 - 唯一的限制是你在国家建筑博物馆的想象力 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

唯一的限制是你在国家建筑博物馆的想象力 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

在您离开之前,先看看博物馆商店。 这是该市最好的之一,为儿童和成人提供大量优质游戏,玩具和纪念品。 这是一个非盈利的博物馆,但不是史密森博物馆。 进入大厅是免费的,但展览和游乐区有入场费。 成人入场费为10,儿童和老年人$ 7,两岁以下儿童免费入场。

间谍的极限

据华盛顿报道,华盛顿特区人均间谍数量超过世界其他任何城市 华盛顿。 深入探索这个阴暗的世界 国际间谍博物馆。 你的灌输始于在黑暗的房间里开会,真正的间谍会让你在玩间谍游戏的挑战中下台。 在短片之后,请查看大量真品谍照,包括真正的口红手枪和鞋子手机,并了解它们的特色刺山柑。 了解间谍技术如何用于代码破解和监控以及它如何在网络攻击中使用。

华盛顿特区 - 詹姆斯邦德乘坐国际间谍博物馆 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

詹姆斯邦德乘坐国际间谍博物馆 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

没有什么比一部伟大的间谍电影,在50年债券恶棍展览中你会看到来自詹姆斯邦德系列的超过一百件文物,其中包括邦德的阿斯顿马丁DB5机枪。 在详细的信息显示中花费数小时很容易,但如果您想要到户外,可以添加替代任务。 城市间谍为您提供一个基于GPS的交互式设备,提供视频和音频线索,引导您在华盛顿街头进行一小时的游览。

国际间谍博物馆不玩游戏。 他们的顾问委员会由经验丰富的中央情报局和克格勃特工,密码学专家,情报官员和联邦调查局官员组成,他们确保展品中的所有信息都可以信任。

关闭购物中心

博物馆可以很安静。 吹掉一些蒸汽 六旗美国 游乐园改变步伐。 这个巨大的操场有八个主题领域,包括飓风港。 这座巨大的水上公园拥有巨大的滑梯,一条慵懒的河流,以及世界上最大的波浪池之一。 想要更快? 该公园的八个过山车的范围从Apocalypse,一个倒立的过山车,爆炸和10层的落差,一个叫做The Wild One的经典1917木制过山车。

华盛顿特区 - 在美国六旗游乐场有更多的游乐设施 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

Six Flags America的游乐设施多于Debra Smith

24故事中最新的景点和公园里最高的景点就是 露天秋千 奇迹女人真相套索。 如果您敢于查看它,它有一个很棒的观点。 年轻的孩子们可以在Whistlestop公园和电影城享受温和的骑行体验,如Lope Tunes主题游乐设施,如Pepe LePew的旋转茶杯和Foghorn Leghorn的Tinsel Town火车。 100的总景点包括游乐设施,幻灯片和表演。 不要错过Crazy Horse Saloon的美味南方炸鸡。

距华盛顿仅15分钟车程,公园从4月到12月开放,夏季全天开放,在周末休息。 详情请查看网站。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Washington Wows with Rockets, Rollercoasters and Real Spies

Dusty old books begone! There’s nothing to spark a kid’s imagination like rocket ships, secret codes, homemade forts and splash rides. You’ll find all of these and more at these five kid-pleasing Washington, D.C. attractions.

History’s Mysteries

From the charging elephant in the Rotunda to the glittering Hope Diamond in the Gems and Minerals collection, from ancient dino fossils to fascinating ocean creatures, there are thousands of exhibits to explore at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History. Remember to look up – you might find a leopard in a tree or a giant whale floating overhead. Like all Smithsonian museums, entrance is free, but many institutions have additional exhibitions and attractions that come at a small extra cost.  Online reservations are a good idea.  For instance, the live Butterfly Pavilion is free on Tuesdays, but you’ll need a timed ticket to enter (available at the Butterfly Pavilion Box Office). All other days admission to the Pavilion is $6/Adult; $5/child.  The IMAX Theatre presentation is $9/Adult; $8/Senior; $7.50/Youth.

Washington DC - The 12 ton African elephant at the National Museum of Natural History looks ready to charge - photo Debra Smith

The 12-ton African elephant at the National Museum of Natural History looks ready to charge – photo Debra Smith

Most of the Smithsonian museums open around 11:00 a.m. and close about 5 p.m., and they are always busy. Museum restaurants vary widely by selection and cost. To keep costs down bring snacks and drinks. You can check your coats and backpacks for free at most of the museums. Confirm this option online before you go. Here’s a list of all the free museums and the National Zoo!

To Infinity and Beyond

Budding space explorers will love the National Air and Space Museum. This huge hangar-shaped building guides visitors through the history of flight from the Wright brothers, to early aeroplane design, jet aviation, and space flight.  Many of the planes are suspended overhead which makes it easy to imagine them in flight.  Highlights include Charles Lindbergh’s Spirit of St. Louis, Amelia Earhart’s Lockheed Vega and of course the 1903 Wright Flyer that started it all.  You can also walk through the Skylab Orbital Workshop or into the nose of a Boeing 747, touch a moon rock and learn how things fly. There are free guided tours twice a day. Flight simulators, IMAX films and Planetarium shows are offered at an additional charge. Note: there are no storage lockers for coats or backpacks at this museum.

Washington DC - Lindbergh's Spirit of St Louis at the National Air and Space Museum - photo Debra Smith

Washington DC – Lindbergh’s Spirit of St Louis at the National Air and Space Museum – photo Debra Smith

Building in a Building

Just four blocks from the National Mall sits an impressive red brick building, built in 1887 to honour the Union soldiers of the Civil War. Modeled after an Italian palazzo by Michelangelo, its awe-inspiring Great Hall soars 15 stories up. The roof is supported by enormous 22.8 metre (75 foot) Corinthian columns that are among the tallest in the world. Free historical building tours take you up to the private fourth floor for a dizzying view from the balcony.

Back on the main floor, in the Building Zone, kids ages 2 to 6 can dress up like Bob the Builder with a hard hat, safety vest and toolbox and get hands-on in a “working” playhouse. There are lots of building themed toys and books to choose from too. On the second floor, the Play Work Build area is chock full of foam shapes of everything from tiny Legos to giant building blocks.  Kids can build castles, forts and bridges to their heart’s content while parents rediscover their inner child and favourite building games from the museum’s historical collection. Other galleries have exhibits of paper models from around the world; photographs, films and objects that explore houses and homes past and present; and cutting-edge building techniques.

Washington DC - The only limit is your imagination at the National Building Museum - photo Debra Smith

The only limit is your imagination at the National Building Museum – photo Debra Smith

Take a peek in the museum shop before you leave.  It is one of the best in the city with a great collection of quality games, toys and souvenirs for children and adults. This is a not-for-profit museum but not a Smithsonian museum. There is no charge to enter the Great Hall, but there is an entrance fee for the exhibition and play areas. Adults admission is $10, children and seniors $7 and children under two are free.

The Spy’s the Limit

Washington, D.C. has more spies per capita than any other city in the world, according to the Washingtonian. Take a deep dive into the shadowy world of espionage at the International Spy Museum. Your indoctrination begins with a meeting in a dark room where real spies will give you the lowdown on the challenges of playing the spy game. After the short movie, check out the extensive collection of authentic spy gadgets including an actual lipstick pistol and a shoe phone, and hear about the capers in which they featured. Learn how spy technology has been used in code-breaking and surveillance and how it’s being used today in cyber attacks.

Washington DC - James Bond's ride at the International Spy Museum - photo Debra Smith

James Bond’s ride at the International Spy Museum – photo Debra Smith

There’s nothing like a great spy movie, and you’ll see over a hundred artefacts from the James Bond series in the 50 Years of Bond Villains exhibit, including Bond’s Aston Martin DB5 complete with machine guns. It’s easy to spend hours in the detailed and informative displays, but if you want to get outdoors, you can add an alternate mission. Spy in the City provides you with a GPS based interactive device with video and audio clues that guide you on a one-hour tour through the streets of Washington.

The International Spy Museum is not playing around.  Their advisory board of directors is made up of veteran CIA and KGB operatives, cryptology experts, intelligence officers and FBI officials who make sure that all the information in the exhibits can be trusted.

Off the Mall

Museums can be very quiet.  Blow off some steam at Six Flags America amusement park for a change of pace. This huge playground has eight theme areas including Hurricane Harbour. This massive water park has giant slides galore, a lazy river, and one of the largest wave pools in the world. Want to go faster? The park’s eight roller coasters range from Apocalypse, a stand-up coaster with inversions, explosions and a ten-story drop, a classic 1917 wooden roller coaster called The Wild One.

Washington DC - There's more than rides at Six Flags America - photo Debra Smith

There’s more than rides at Six Flags America – photo Debra Smith

The newest attraction, and the tallest one in the park at 24 stories, is the open-air swing ride Wonder Woman Lasso of Truth. It has a great view if you dare to check it out. Younger kids will enjoy gentle rides in Whistlestop Park and Movie Town with Looney Tunes theme rides like Pepe LePew’s twirling teacups and Foghorn Leghorn’s Tinsel Town Train. There are over 100 total attractions including rides, slides and shows.  Don’t miss the tasty southern fried chicken at the Crazy Horse Saloon.

Located just fifteen minutes from Washington by car, the park is open from April to December, all day during the summer, and on weekends the rest of the year. Check the website for details.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *