南帕德里岛历险记:德克萨斯州的甜蜜一面

位于墨西哥湾德克萨斯州的尖端是南帕德里岛,这是世界上最长的屏障岛。 这个岛长约30英里,南北走向,最宽处只有1 / 2英里,因此非常容易导航。 汽车与沙丘四驱车,自行车和高尔夫球车共用道路,也可以在沙滩上开车。 来自德克萨斯州和墨西哥的家庭几代人都来到这个岛屿。

拥有绵延数英里的原始海岸线和翡翠蓝色海水,目的地的热带,紧凑的自然环境可以方便地前往海滩和海湾活动,餐饮,购物,娱乐和自然景点。


南帕德里岛景点:

当然是海滩! 残疾游客可以通过木板路上的“Mobi-mat”进入海滩,方便轮椅或婴儿车。 客人可以在City of South Padre Island Fire station免费使用海滩轮椅。 在几个海滩上也允许露营。

南帕德里岛 -  Beachmobimat  - 照片Melody Wren

移动式婴儿车使婴儿车和轮椅更容易进入海滩。 照片Melody Wren

这个岛屿的一部分重点是浪费正念。 进入较大的海滩接入点需要支付小额入场费,服务员会为游客提供垃圾袋。 离开时,如果您向看门人出示垃圾,您将获得退款。 没有你自己的垃圾? 拿起别人的并获得退款。

您可以在日落晚餐游船上看到岛屿 Ka Motion帆船冒险 由Sean Slovisky上尉和第一位伴侣Letty主持。 丹尼尔是首席厨师,用新鲜虾的开胃菜来破坏乘客,然后是玉米饼,可以选择烤牛排或鸡肉以及各种自制的莎莎酱。 休闲的氛围 - 海滩男孩悠闲的声音,鲍勃马利和乡村音乐,以及我们小团体之间的轻松聊天。 感觉就像是朋友的晚宴,尽管是在37-ft双体船上。

南帕德里岛日落帆双体船 - 照片Melody Wren

南帕德里岛日落帆 - 照片Melody Wren

和Eddie一起去皮划艇 鹦鹉眼睛水上运动。 在前往Laguna Madre Bay海湾之前,您将出发在房屋和码头两旁的狭窄通道上。 从海洋角度看这个岛屿是一种悠闲的方式。

在此 观鸟与自然中心 显示为什么鸟类来自世界各地的鸟类。 像我们一样带着导游参观,与自然主义教育家Javi Gonzalez一起,热情地分享他对鸟类的了解。 尽管该中心仅开放了十年,但在春季从密西西比河和美国中部的飞行路线迁移过程中,鸟类和鸟类都涌向那里。 木板人行道引导游客穿过50英亩的湿地,这些湿地两旁都是您可以看到的鸟类标志。

南帕德里岛 -  BirdingcenterCasanova  - 照片Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

被列为美国最神奇的观鸟地之一,它是两条迁徙路线的汇合点,密西西比河的飞行路线和穿过美国中心的中央飞行路线。这两个迁徙系统都进入,带来了越过墨西哥湾的鸟类。 随着他们的激素开始,鸟儿等待好风吹过墨西哥湾,然后他们到达岛上,看到德克萨斯州的墨西哥湾沿岸,坠毁,然后前往观鸟中心吃饭和休息。

隔壁是 海龟公司。 最初由岛民伊斯兰福克斯彻(Isla Foxletcher)在1977开始,自从她在家中开展救援和康复治疗后,她被称为“乌龟女士”。 她定期给乌龟讲话,她的后院里有大型的蓝色海龟缸,直到它搬进1999的大中心。 现在持有10-15永久居民龟,他们在那里的原因包括疾病,船只和钓鱼相关的伤害,以及从寒冷的快照进入休克。 凭借90%的发布率,他们有三点授权; 教育,康复和保护。 每小时都有一个信息丰富的话题来维护最初的想法

南帕德里岛 -  SeaTurtleInc1  - 照片Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

在72脚双体船上观看海豚,穿过拉古纳马德雷湾(Laguna Madre Bay) Osprey Cruises 是在阳光明媚的下午花几个小时的另一种方式。 娱乐总监只有12乘客,分享有关海洋生物的详细信息。 拉古纳马德雷湾(Laguna Madre Bay)是世界上第三个最咸的水体,仅次于死海,这是海洋生物丰富的原因,其中包括靠近船只的大西洋瓶颈海豚(Atlantic Bottlenosed Dolphins)。 船员迪伦和哈利推出了一个虾网,并将他们抓住的东西拉到了与乘客分享的地方。 看到一条鱿鱼变成了紫色的水,一条小小的巴西鱿鱼和一只叫做蛇海星的珍贵小海星,这真是十分有趣。

南帕德里岛 -  Jetski  - 照片Melody Wren

你走的越快,你拥有的控制就越多! 照片Melody Wren

乘坐水上摩托艇之旅,打水 鹦鹉眼睛水上运动。 导游Eddie Ruiz通过更加精确的积分向我们讲述了保证,不断提醒我们驾驶 会给我们更多的控制权。 我发现这些建议很难相信,但很快就知道他是正确的,因为他的建议引导我度过了巨大的浪潮。 我驾驶Jetski轻轻缓慢地通过“没有醒来”的通道,这个区域有助于感受到敏感的转向机制。 在我进入海湾之前,我感到非常不稳定和不确定,当我们到达可以打开它的区域时,我的手痒着按下油门。 我达到25和30 mph并且大喊大叫。 当我们越过海湾,与伊莎贝尔港的堤道平行时,我的恐惧重新出现,因为海浪似乎巨大。 但随后艾迪的声音在我耳边响起 “你走得越快,你就越有控制力,” 所以我重新打开它并重新获得控制权。 当我的女儿轮到她时,她很高兴海豚在水中操纵时游过她身边。 喷气滑雪是从完全不同的角度看岛屿的绝佳方式。

南帕德里岛 -  sandyfeet3  - 照片Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

海滩上的创意时间适合任何年龄,所以尝试沙堡课程 桑迪脚。 何塞·桑切斯在Lucinda Wierenga的训练下教授沙堡雕塑两年。 露辛达最初来到南帕德里岛教高中,但一旦她发现了海滩,她开始在1980s教授沙堡教学。 她现在正在世界各地参加沙雕比赛。 南帕德里岛被称为世界沙堡中心。 家庭,公司,学校团体和旅行团都雇佣何塞教授建造沙堡的艺术。 通过这些方法,使用大型水桶和黑桃,大部分过程都是基于科学。 最后的装修包括尖顶,楼梯和拱门,使用各种工具,包括糕点刀,吸管,烤串和画笔。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Adventures on South Padre Island: The Sweet Side of Texas

At the tip of Texas on the Gulf of Mexico is South Padre Island, the longest barrier island in the world.  The island is about 30 miles long, running north and south and only 1/2 mile across at its widest point, making it very easy to navigate. Cars share the road with dune buggies, bicycles and golf carts and are also allowed to drive right up on the beach. Families from Texas and Mexico have been visiting the island for generations.

With miles of pristine shorelines and emerald blue waters, the tropical, compact nature of the destination allows for easy access to the beach and bayside activities, dining, shopping, and entertainment and nature attractions.


South Padre Island Attractions:

The Beaches, of course! Beaches are accessible for disabled visitors with “Mobi-mats” from the boardwalk to make it easy for wheelchairs or strollers. Beach wheelchairs are available to check out for free at the City of South Padre Island Fire station. Even camping is allowed on several of the beaches.

South Padre Island - Beachmobimat - Photo Melody Wren

Mobi-mats make it easier for strollers and wheelchairs to access the beach. Photo Melody Wren

Part of this island’s focus is on waste mindfulness. There is a small admission charge to enter the larger beach access points, and the attendant gives visitors a garbage bag for trash. When leaving, if you present your garbage to the gatekeeper, you get your admission refunded.  No litter of your own?  Pick up someone else’s and get a refund.

You can see the island on a sunset dinner cruise with Ka Motion Sailing Adventure hosted by Captain Sean Slovisky and first mate and wife, Letty. Daniel is the chief cook and spoiled the passengers with appetisers of fresh shrimp, followed by corn tortillas, choices of grilled flank steak or chicken and a variety of homemade salsas. The casual atmosphere-with laid-back sounds of the Beach Boys, Bob Marley and country music, and the easy chatting among our small group. It felt like a friend’s dinner party, albeit on a 37-ft catamaran.

South Padre Island Sunset Sail Catamaran- Photo Melody Wren

South Padre Island Sunset Sail – Photo Melody Wren

Take a kayak out with  Eddie at Parrot Eyes Watersports. You will set out on the narrow channels lined by houses and docks before setting out into the Laguna Madre Bay. It’s a leisurely way to look at the island from a marine perspective.

The Birding & Nature Center shows why birders come to the island from all over the world. Take a guided tour as we did, with Javi Gonzalez, a Naturalist Educator who shares his knowledge about birds with a passion. Even though the Center has only been open for ten years, birds and birders alike flock there during the spring migrations from the Mississippi and Central U.S. Flyways.  The boardwalk guides visitors through the fifty-acre wetlands lined by posted signs of birds you can expect to see.

South Padre Island - BirdingcenterCasanova - Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

Listed as one of the most fantastic birding places in the U.S., it is the convergence of two flyways for migration, the Mississippi flyway and the central flyway through the Center of the U.S. Both migration systems come in, bringing birds crossing the Gulf of Mexico. With their hormones kicking in, the birds wait for a good wind to catapult over the Gulf of Mexico, and they arrive on the island, see the Texas gulf coast, crash, then visit the Birding Center to eat and rest.

Next door is Sea Turtle Inc. Initially started in 1977 by islander Isla Foxletcher who is known as the ‘turtle lady’ since she launched the rescue and rehab in her home. Regularly giving turtle talks, she had large, blue turtle tanks in her backyard until it was moved into the large Center in 1999.  Now holding 10-15 permanent resident turtles, the reasons they are there range from disease, boat and fishing-related injuries to going into shock from cold snaps. With a 90% release rate, they have a three-point mandate;  education, rehabilitation and conservation.  There is an informative talk every hour to uphold the original idea

South Padre Island - SeaTurtleInc1 - Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

Watching for dolphins on a 72-foot catamaran breezing through the Laguna Madre Bay with Osprey Cruises is another way to spend a few hours on a sunny afternoon. With only 12 passengers the Entertainment Director shares detailed information on the marine life. The Laguna Madre Bay is the third saltiest body of water in the world, after the Dead Sea, which accounts for the abundance of marine life, including the Atlantic Bottlenosed Dolphins which came close to the boat. Crew Dylan and Harley put out a shrimp net and pulled in what they caught to share with the passengers for observation only. It was quite interesting to see a squid fish that turned the water purple, a tiny Button squid, and a preciously tiny starfish called a Serpent Starfish.

South Padre Island - Jetski - Photo Melody Wren

The faster you go, the more control you have! Photo Melody Wren

Hit the water with a Jet Ski Water tour with Parrot Eyes Watersports. Guide Eddie Ruiz talked us through the finer points jetskiing with reassurance, reminding us constantly that driving faster would give us more control. I found that advice hard to believe but quickly learned he was right as his counsel guided me through monstrous waves. I drove my Jetski gently and slowly through channels “no wake”, zone which helped get the feel of the sensitive steering mechanism. I felt quite wobbly and unsure until I got into the bay and by the time we reached the zone where we could open it up, my hands were itching to press the throttle down. I was up to 25 and 30 mph and whooping and shouting.  As we crossed the bay, parallel to the causeway from Port Isabel, my fears resurfaced as the waves appeared enormous. But then Eddie’s voice rang in my ears “the faster you go, the more control you have,” so I opened it back up and regained control.  When my daughter had her turn, she was thrilled that dolphins swam beside her as she manoeuvred her way through the water.  Jet Skiing is a wonderful way to see the island from a totally different angle.

South Padre Island - sandyfeet3 - Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

Creative hours on the beach works for any age, so try a sandcastle lesson with Sandy Feet. Jose Sanchez has been teaching sandcastle sculpture for two years after training under Lucinda Wierenga.  Lucinda originally came to South Padre Island to teach high school, but once she discovered the beach, she started a business teaching sandcastle instruction in the 1980s. She now travels the world competing in sand sculpture competitions. South Padre Island is known as the sandcastle centre of the world.  Families, corporations, school groups and tour groups all hire Jose to teach the art of building sandcastles.  Working through the methods, with large buckets and spades, much of the process is based on science. The finishing touches include spires, stairs and archways are done with a variety of tools, including pastry knives, straws, skewers, and paintbrushes.

 

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *