fbpx

美味時光旅遊:加拿大歷史遺蹟的美食歷史

孩子們靜靜地坐在收穫桌旁,與家人一起吃飯,談論當天需要做的農活。 這個法國家庭就像在新不倫瑞克省阿卡迪亞村的1700一樣用餐。

一個小男孩和他的家人一起站在房間外面看著他們迷戀。 這與小男孩的家人吃飯的方式截然不同,他有很多問題。

兒童通過感官學習最好,特別是通過品嚐。 以下是加拿大各地的眾多歷史遺跡中的一些,家庭可以了解在加拿大過去生活和用餐的感受。



Site Traditionnel Huron, 魁北克

在我們的歐洲祖先登陸這個大陸的幾個世紀之前,我們的第一民族人民在這片土地上生活得很好,我們的食物歷史旅行應該從那裡開始。 在魁北克的Wendake,一個複製品Huron村讓遊客可以看到過去的傳統生活,當你走過長屋時,不需要想像力。 三個像徵性的火焰總是在長屋的中心燃燒,提供溫暖和烹飪區。 家人可以了解被吃掉的食物並參觀吸煙室,並在冷藏前了解生活。 在Nek8arre餐廳,家庭可以享用以野生野味,魚類,玉米,南瓜和豆類等傳統食材烹製的美食。

這個位于魁北克Wendake的Site Traditionnel的長屋顯示,在長屋中總是點燃三個火,以提供溫暖和烹飪火 -  Photo Jan Feduck

這個位于魁北克Wendake的Site Traditionnel的長屋顯示,在長屋中總是點燃三個火,以提供溫暖和烹飪火 - Photo Jan Feduck

萬斯克文遺產公園, 薩斯喀徹溫省

該文化中心展示了平原土著人民與其土地之間的強烈歷史關係。 漫遊這片土地是為了滿足他們的需求而被獵殺的野牛。 每年六月,在遺產公園(Heritage Park)供應漢族無線月食晚餐,包括野牛,覓食香料,班諾克,蘑菇和帶蒲公英根脆的漿果蜜餞。 它還包括講故事和學習平原人民豐富的文化。 很快將在文化中心引入野牛群。

Eskasoni文化之旅 在Bras d'Or Lakes布雷頓角島。 Mi'kmaq社區提供了一個穿越森林的旅程,其中包括清澈的停留點,顯示Eskasoni地區早期人民的狩獵,釣魚,音樂,遊戲和樹皮棚屋。 家庭可以學習製作四分麵包,並在明火上烹飪。 在步行結束時,遊客可以享用傳統的luskinigan麵包和茶。

休倫的聖瑪麗 是1639的天主教團,已經重建並包括一個複製品Huron Village。 花園展示了休倫人的農業,他們在山上種植玉米,豆類和南瓜。 在餐廳,家人可以享用由這些食材製成的湯,並了解我們的原住民如何在這片土地上生活得如此之好。

孩子們喜歡向這位維京人口譯員提問。  - 照片Jan Feduck

孩子們喜歡向這位維京人口譯員提問。 - 照片Jan Feduck

At L'Anse Aux Meadows國家歷史遺址, 在紐芬蘭,一個維京村的複製品已在考古遺址上重建。 家人可以了解維京人如何到達並在這個定居點中倖存。 在其中一個長屋的火災中,孩子們注意到湯是用種植或覓食的蔬菜烹製而成的。 穿著皮草的“Vikings”將村莊變為現實,孩子們喜歡與角色交談,了解他們的生活方式以及他們如何捕獵和捕魚。

L'Anse Aux Meadows維京長屋的生活展示了烹飪和過去的樂器。  - 照片Jan Feduck

L'Anse Aux Meadows維京長屋的生活展示了烹飪和過去的樂器。 - 照片Jan Feduck

堡壘路易斯堡 國家歷史遺址坐在布雷頓角島上有霧的土地上。 這個法國殖民地使用原始計劃進行重建,以便您在霧中漫步,並看到1740的建築物和人物; 這真的是一次“時間旅行”體驗。 家庭可以觀看幾個家庭的工作廚房以及麵包製作和魚乾。 兩個時期的餐館提供了一個像過去一樣吃的機會。 遊客只需使用錫製勺子,在長桌上吃飯,就可以在普通人的食物上用餐。 更精緻的餐廳提供富人的食物。

一位年輕的學徒貝克開始在Fortress Louisbourg出售士兵麵包 -  Photo Jan Feduck

一位年輕的學徒貝克開始在Fortress Louisbourg出售士兵麵包 - Photo Jan Feduck

在路易斯堡,孩子們可以參加一天或一周的學習經歷。 在古裝中,他們幫助準備食物,用餐並過上路易斯堡兒童的生活。 年齡較大的青少年可以參加學徒計劃,以學習當時的交易和青少年的生活。

一群孩子在Fortress Louisbourg的夏季節目中穿著1700的照片 -  Photo Jan Feduck

一群孩子在Fortress Louisbourg的夏季節目中穿著1700的照片 - Photo Jan Feduck

上加拿大村 在莫里斯堡,安大略省是代表1860s生活的歷史建築群。 家庭可以體驗生活的各個方面,包括農業,園藝,食物準備,麵包烘焙,鍛造金屬以及音樂和娛樂等藝術。 孩子們喜歡在可租用的古裝中漫步街頭。 為期一周的夏季課程旨在為兒童提供1860s的生活體驗。 從擠牛奶到幫助攪拌黃油和烹飪,孩子們可以了解我們吃的食物的真正起源。

上加拿大村的一位驕傲的園丁演示瞭如何種植蔬菜 -  Photo Jan Feduck

上加拿大村的一位驕傲的園丁演示瞭如何種植蔬菜 - Photo Jan Feduck

阿卡迪亞村 在新不倫瑞克省的卡拉凱,代表了加拿大第一批從1770到1949的法國移民的生活。 這是一個鮮為人知的,但這是加拿大歷史的重要組成部分,在這個網站上得到了充分的講述 這裡有四十座歷史悠久的建築,每位服裝解說員都有講述故事或展示技巧。 酒店提供烹飪工作坊,並為兒童提供日間營地。 家庭客人可以在1920s酒店的正宗客棧過夜。酒店內的餐廳供應傳統的阿卡迪亞美食。

君臨 在新不倫瑞克省描繪了1800s鄉村的生活。 工作人員喜歡“讓歷史從歷史書中跳出來”,而且確實如此。 鼓勵每位訪客投入並幫助完成工作。 訪問Cousins是為9-14歲的兒童提供的為期一周的訓練營。 他們經歷了從如何給奶牛擠奶到準備膳食,甚至在一間教室裡上學的經歷。 青少年計劃使他們能夠專注於他們感興趣的領域。 家庭客人可以在King's Head Inn酒店用餐,這是一家古老的驛站酒店,曾為客人提供斯巴達式住宿和美食。 酒店現在是一間餐廳,供應傳統食品,如火雞鍋餅,沙拉,湯,麵包和甜點,如Acadia Sugarpie。 穿著古裝的工作人員確保用餐者正在體驗這頓飯,就像回到1800s一樣。

遺產公園歷史村莊 卡爾加里是加拿大最大的生活歷史遺址。 他們說,有一天,你可以“學會攪拌黃油,與西北騎警一起訓練並嘗試跳過黑腳風格”。 這個歷史悠久的村莊涵蓋了加拿大西部從1860到1950的生活。 家園,農場,商店甚至是水輪河船都將艾伯塔省的歷史變為現實。 夏季為8歲至10歲的兒童提供主題日營。 歷史悠久的住宅內有許多餐飲場所和許多烹飪活動。

在遺產公園的鐵匠鍛造。 照片由Heritage Park提供

Dundurn城堡國家歷史遺址 安大略省漢密爾頓

Dundurn城堡的地下室是用來為艾倫·麥克納布爵士和他的家人在1855做飯的廚房嗎? 這個國家歷史遺址讓我們可以看到這座大廈的生活,這座大廈擁有廣闊的土地和正宗的花園。 由於大多數僕人在莊園的較低層工作,我們可以品嚐加拿大版的“唐頓莊園”。 從廣闊的花園開始,家庭可以看到,學習和幫助在傳統美食花園工作,每天為MacNabs提供豐盛的餐點。 烹飪和園藝計劃,如植物,烘烤,狩獵和飲食; MacNab的廚房; 草莓晚會; 在Dundurn Kitchen的周三除草和不同的聖誕烹飪課程。 孩子們可以帶回家烘焙和吃聖誕餅乾的回憶,同時在MacNabs時品嚐一點生活。

蘭利堡國家歷史遺址, 距離溫哥華僅一小段車程,不列顛哥倫比亞省是一個古老的哈德遜灣公司貿易站。 建築物都是原始的,有些已經重建。 昆特蘭原住民將鮭魚帶到堡壘進行交易,然後將其醃製並運往夏威夷,以及蔓越莓。 新裝修的Fort'Café餐廳“lelem”供應歷史主題的美食選擇,讓遊客在交易站體驗生活。

一個小男孩在霧氣瀰漫的小路上走出Fortress Louisbourg。 在他的頭上,他戴著一頂法國式士兵的帽子,他手裡拿著一把木槍和一塊麵包從麵包店裡拿來的麵包。 他仍然可以聞到工程師廚房裡煮熟的熱巧克力,可以品嚐他午餐時吃過的湯和自製麵包。 那天他對加拿大的歷史了解得很多,甚至都不知道,但大多數情況下,他永遠不會忘記與家人共度這一特殊日子。

Jan Feduck

Jan Feduck是來自安大略省Elora的自由撰稿人,她在新斯科舍省度過了她的夏天。 無論是否有丈夫和三個孩子,她都帶著世界旅行。 現在,成年人,他們一直喜歡旅行。 她做過長期和短期旅行到44國家,徒步,騎自行車,乘坐火車,公共汽車,貨輪,飛機,皮划艇和獨木舟。 她的亮點之一是對山的無人徒步旅行。 1970的珠穆朗瑪峰,走在西班牙的Camino de Santiago,在泰國生活和志願服務九個月以及她與家人一起完成的所有旅行。 她對教我們食物歷史的地方特別感興趣,並寫了一篇名為“外出歷史”的博客。

Jan的信念是這樣的 去旅行是為了學習, 她喜歡創造參觀我們地球不尋常角落的旅行。 她在路上遇到的人是每次旅行中最有意義的部分。

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

由於COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

Tasty Time Travel: Food History at Canada’s Historic Sites

Children sat quietly around a harvest table eating with their family and talking about what farm chores needed to be done for the day. This French family was dining as if in the 1700s at New Brunswick’s Acadian Village.

A little boy, visiting with his family stood around the outside of the room watching them in fascination.  It was very different from the way the little boy’s family ate their meals, and he had lots of questions.

Children learn best through their senses, especially by tasting. Here are a few of the many historic sites across Canada where families can learn what it was like to live and dine back in Canada’s past.



Site Traditionnel Huron, Quebec

Centuries before our European ancestors landed on this continent, our First Nations peoples were living well from the land, and our food history travels should begin there. In Wendake, Quebec, a replica Huron village gives visitors a look at a traditional living of the past, and no imagination is required as you walk through the longhouses. Three symbolic fires are always burning in the centre of the longhouse, providing warmth and a cooking area. Families can learn about the food that was eaten and visit a smokehouse, and curing shed to learn about life before refrigeration. At the Nek8arre Restaurant, families can enjoy a meal cooked from traditional ingredients such as wild game, fish, corn, squash and beans.

This longhouse at the Site Traditionnel in Wendake, Quebec shows the three fires always lit in the longhouses to provide warmth and fires for cooking - Photo Jan Feduck

This longhouse at the Site Traditionnel in Wendake, Quebec shows the three fires always lit in the longhouses to provide warmth and fires for cooking – Photo Jan Feduck

The Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatchewan

This Cultural Centre demonstrates the strong historic relationship between the Plains indigenous peoples and their lands. Roaming the lands were bison that were hunted to provide many of their needs. Each June a Han Wi-Moon Dinner is served at the Heritage Park that includes bison, foraged spices, bannock, mushrooms and a berry compote with a dandelion root crisp. It also includes storytelling and learning of the rich culture of the people of the plains. A bison herd will soon be introduced at the cultural centre.

Eskasoni Cultural Journeys in Bras d’Or Lakes Cape Breton Island. The Mi’kmaq community presents a tour through the forest that includes stops at clearings showing the hunting, fishing, music, games and bark wigwams of the early peoples of the Eskasoni area. Families can learn to make Four Cents Bread and cook it over an open fire. At the end of the walk, visitors are treated to traditional luskinigan bread and tea.

St. Marie Among the Hurons was Catholic mission in 1639 which has been reconstructed and includes a replica Huron Village.  Gardens show the agriculture of the Huron peoples who planted their staples of corn, beans and squash together in a hill. In the restaurant, families can enjoy soup made of these ingredients and understand how our First Nations lived from the land so well.

Children love asking questions to this Viking interpreter. - Photo Jan Feduck

Children love asking questions to this Viking interpreter. – Photo Jan Feduck

At L’Anse Aux Meadows National Historic Site, in Newfoundland, a replica of a Viking village has been reconstructed on an archaeological site. Families can learn about how the Vikings arrived and survived life in this settlement. Over a fire in one of the longhouses, children watched as soup was cooked from vegetables grown or foraged, and the flatbread was baked. Fur clad “Vikings” bring the Village to life and children love talking to the characters to learn about their way of life and how they hunted and fished.

Life in the Viking longhouse at L’Anse Aux Meadows shows cooking and an instrument of the past. - Photo Jan Feduck

Life in the Viking longhouse at L’Anse Aux Meadows shows cooking and an instrument of the past. – Photo Jan Feduck

Fortress Louisbourg National Historic Site sits on a foggy spit of land on Cape Breton Island. This French colony was rebuilt using the original plans so as you walk through the mist, and see the buildings and people of the 1740s; it is truly a “time travel” experience. Families can watch the working kitchens of several homes as well as bread making and fish drying. Two period eateries provide a chance to eat as if in the past. Using only a pewter spoon, and eating on long tables, visitors can dine on the food of the common man. A more refined restaurant provides the fare of the wealthy.

A young apprentice baker sets out to sell Soldiers Bread at Fortress Louisbourg - Photo Jan Feduck

A young apprentice baker sets out to sell Soldiers Bread at Fortress Louisbourg – Photo Jan Feduck

At Louisbourg, children can participate in learning experiences for a day or weeklong camps. In period costume they help prepare food, dine and live the life of the children of Louisbourg. Older teens can join apprenticeship programs to learn to trades and the life of the teens of that time.

A group of children dressed as in the 1700’s in the summer program at Fortress Louisbourg - Photo Jan Feduck

A group of children dressed as in the 1700’s in the summer program at Fortress Louisbourg – Photo Jan Feduck

Upper Canada Village in Morrisburg, Ontario is a collection of historic homes representing life in the 1860s.  Families can experience all aspects of life, including farming, gardening, food preparation, bread baking, forging metal and the arts such as music and entertainment. Children love to roam the streets in period costume that can be rented.  Week-long summer programs are offered to provide children with an experience of living life in the 1860s.  From milking a cow to helping churn the butter and cooking, children can learn the true origins of the food we eat.

A proud gardener at Upper Canada Village demonstrates how the vegetables are grown - Photo Jan Feduck

A proud gardener at Upper Canada Village demonstrates how the vegetables are grown – Photo Jan Feduck

The Acadian Village in Caraquet, New Brunswick, represents the life of Canada’s first French immigrants from 1770 to 1949. This is a little known, but essential part of Canadian history that is well told at this site. There are forty historical buildings, and each costumed interpretive staff has a story to tell or a skill to demonstrate. Cooking workshops are available, and day camps are offered for children. Families can stay overnight in an authentic Inn from the 1920s, and the restaurant on site gives a taste of traditional Acadian food.

King’s Landing in New Brunswick portrays life in a rural village in the 1800s. The staff likes to “make history jump out of the history book,” and that it does.  Each visitor is encouraged to pitch in and help with the work. Visiting Cousins is a one- week camp offered for children from 9-14 years of age. They experience everything from how to milk a cow, to meal preparation and even attend school classes in a one-room schoolhouse. A program for teens enables them to specialise in their area of interest. Families can enjoy dining at the King’s Head Inn, an old stagecoach inn that once provided spartan accommodation and food for those on the road. The Inn is now a dining room that serves traditional foods such as turkey pot pie, salads, soups, loaves of bread and desserts such as Acadia Sugarpie.  Staff dressed in period costume ensures that the diner is experiencing this meal as if back in the 1800s.

Heritage Park Historical Village in Calgary is Canada’s largest living history site.  In one day, they say, you can “learn to churn butter, train with the NorthWest Mounted police and try dancing Blackfoot style”. This historic village covers life in Western Canada from the 1860s to the 1950s.  The homes, farms, shops and even a paddlewheel riverboat bring Alberta’s history to life. Themed day camps are offered in the summer for children eight years to teens. There are numerous dining venues and many cooking activities happening in historic homes.

In the blacksmith forge at Heritage Park. Photo Courtesy Heritage Park

Dundurn Castle National Historic Site Hamilton, Ontario

In the basement of Dundurn Castle are the kitchens used to cook for Sir Allen MacNab and his family back in 1855? This National Historic Site gives us a look at life for the well to do in a grand mansion, with extensive grounds and authentic gardens.  With most of the servants working in the lower level of the estate, we can get a taste of a Canadian version of “Downton Abbey”.  Beginning in gardens of the extensive property, families can see, learn and help work in heritage food gardens that put the hearty meals on the table for the MacNabs each day. Cooking and gardening programs such as Plant, Bake, Hunt and Eat; MacNab’s Kitchen; Strawberry Soiree; Weeding Wednesdays in Dundurn Kitchen and different Christmas cooking classes. Children can take home memories of baking and eating Christmas cookies while tasting a bit of life in the time of the MacNabs.

Fort Langley National Historic Site, just a short drive from Vancouver, British Columbia is an old Hudson’s Bay Company Trading Post.  Buildings are both original, and some have been reconstructed.  The Kwantlen First Nations brought salmon to the fort to trade that was then salted and shipped to Hawaii, as well as cranberries. The newly renovated restaurant “lelem’ at the Fort Café” serves historically themed food options to help give visitors a taste of life at the trading post.

 

A little boy walked away from Fortress Louisbourg on the fog-covered path. On his head, he wore a French style soldier’s hat, and he had a wooden gun and a loaf of soldiers bread from the bakery tucked under his arm. He could still smell the hot chocolate being cooked in the Engineer’s kitchen and could taste the soup and homemade bread he had eaten for lunch. He had learned a lot about Canada’s history that day, without even knowing it, but mostly he would never forget that special day with his family.

 

 

 

By Jan Feduck

Jan Feduck is a freelance writer from Elora, Ontario who spends her summers in Nova Scotia. She has travelled the world both with and without her husband and three children along. Now, adults, they have continued to love travel. She has done long and short term travel to over 44 countries, travelling by foot, bicycle, train, bus, freighter, plane, kayak and canoe. Among her highlights were an unguided trek to Mt. Everest in the 1970s, walking the Camino de Santiago in Spain, living and volunteering in Thailand for nine months and all the travel she has done with her family. She has a particular interest in places that teach us about food history and writes a blog called Dining Out with History. 

Jan’s conviction is that To Travel is to Learn, and she loves to create trips that visit the unusual corners of our earth.  The people she meets on the road are the most meaningful part of each journey. 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *