fbpx

苏斯博士在松散! 嘉年华自由的苏联航行

嘉年华游轮 - 嘉年华自由的丽都甲板

祝贺您!
今天是你的好日子。
你离开了伟大的地方!
你离我而去!

苏斯博士的开朗而充满希望的话说, 哦,你会去的地方! 当我们从加尔维斯顿码头步行到最近翻新的嘉年华自由大厅时,我们会产生共鸣。 一个快乐的招牌邀请我们注册绿色鸡蛋和火腿早餐(是的,鸡蛋真的是绿色的!)这是第一次来的乐趣,男孩,我们准备好了!

它在外面广阔的露天开放。

在2014上,700 000儿童乘坐嘉年华船。 对于我自己的Thing One和Thing Two会轻松攀过栏杆并进入深蓝色的大海(实际上不可能,事实证明),我确实有一些保留意见,但我们仍然把我们的两个孩子添加到了日益增长的记录中2015。

“自由”在2014早期进入干船坞,并重新成为嘉年华的“Funships 2.0”之一。“自由”的一些最重大变化发生在儿童地区,并且嘉年华的“海上苏伊士”计划是什么引诱我们登上。

Carnival Freedom嘉年华游轮独特的海洋营观点

一个人的一个人,无论多小

来自的劝告 荷顿奇遇记 显然已经被放在心上。 前阵营嘉年华已被改编为海洋营。 这个地区非常开阔,真正色彩斑斓,为最年轻的露营者提供了一个大型游戏室,年龄为2-5或“企鹅” - 完整的大型塑料圆顶冰屋,我的2半年时间花费了大量的时间攀爬和滑下。

对于“黄貂鱼”(年龄为6-8)和“鲨鱼”(年龄为9-11),有一个非常酷的视频游戏室以及一个适合游戏和活动的开放区域,以及一个容易清洁的工艺室东东!

虽然我们的帆船运行的平均数量为一个冬季,非假期的一周航行(平均在300-400之间),但由于鲨鱼在营地的入场率低,所以黄貂鱼和鲨鱼合并在一起 - 非常令人高兴我六岁的孩子。 你永远不可能猜到船上有那么多的孩子,因为每次我们在营地时,每班只有不到20个孩子。 对于学校假期附近的航班,孩子的数量可以增加到四倍,平均和额外的工作人员(所有人都具有教育学位,至少三年的经验和额外的安全培训),以适应所有的营员。

苏斯博士关于嘉年华自由的Bookville博士; 嘉年华游船上的一大乐趣!

由嘉年华游轮提供

毗邻营地的是Dr. Seuss'Bookville。 当最新的嘉年华船Vista在2016上发射时,它也会有一个Bookville,但是现在Freedom是唯一一艘拥有此功能的海上船。 我们在这个空间里度过了一些快乐的时光,感觉就像是在Seuss博士的一本书的页面上剥了皮,这些书藏在了明亮的货架上。 图书馆里还有游戏和谜题。 为我职业生涯中最真实的采访做出的滑稽设置。 我和自由青年导演Ana Klacinski坐在一起,穿着无形的形状和醒目的色彩; 我们每个人都沉浸在豆袋椅的鲜艳的乙烯基中; 她比我更优雅。我也穿着太阳裙......不明智。

玩得开心很有趣,但你必须知道如何。

如果我们不想花时间与他在一起,我的大儿子可能会愉快地与营地中的孩子们和老师一起度过每一个小时(10 am-10 pm,在港口时间较长时间)。 与我的小儿子一起,我们发现了父母传呼系统的功效,因为我们被定期召集来接待他。 正如Ana向我解释的那样,这是最后的手段。 如果老师不能阻止眼泪,他们会请我的大男孩进入游戏室去安慰他的小弟弟。 除非他们会给我们打电话给营地提供的手机。 对于我而言,我发现让他们感到欣慰的是,他们不会让小孩哭的时间超过20分钟而不叫父母。 当然,这让我的计划在我的小说和玛格丽塔的游泳池里消失,但是你能做什么呢?

嘉年华自由的Seussapolooza。 节目是每个嘉年华游轮的重要组成部分

从那里到这里,从这里到那里,有趣的事情无处不在!

苏斯主题在许多地方出现在自由之中。 我们参加了由Sam-I-Am,第一和第二个事件以及帽子本身的猫组成的游行队伍。 我们在船的甲板上用噪音和横幅吟诵着“苏斯博士在松动!”我的孩子的欢乐,当然,让他们大声欢呼,让声音令人愉快,但最令人难忘的部分是在船上行进赌场与野生包儿童和毛茸茸的吉祥物。

我们得到的一些外观表明,清晨有一阵骚动,除了一位年长的亚洲女士,她的高尔夫球护目镜和运动套装焕发出金碧辉煌。 当她简单地跟随游行队伍时,我们一定是一个令人惊讶和出格的好兆头,她一起拍手哭着说:“哦,是的! 幸运的,幸运的!“我真的希望我们对她很幸运,因为她让我的一天。

游行之后是Seussapooloza! - 在帽子里演出的猫。 我的大儿子在月球上兴奋地被选中去演奏Thing 2。 他的小弟弟不明白,只有他们中的一个人被邀请到舞台上并自愿爬上去。 幸运的是,我们的主持人把这个故事修改成包含了Thing Three!

绿色鸡蛋和火腿早餐上的狂欢节自由。 嘉年华游船的食物总是很棒!

你愿意,可以在船上吗?

巡航的最后一天是备受期待的绿色鸡蛋和火腿早餐。 有机会与桌面上的人物进行短暂的会面和问候,吃一些富有创意和美味的食物,每人的价值是$ 5。 男孩们毫不意外地选择了绿色的鸡蛋和火腿,我有“从这里到那里,从那里到这里”比利时华夫饼干,充满了五彩凝块奶油,我的丈夫随 狐狸在袜子里 牛排和鸡蛋。 我们用“你可以考虑酸奶parfait schlopp”完成了这道菜:酸奶和草莓在帽子图案中的独特猫咪中分层叠加。 那些穿着蓝色假发的服务器,以及一个音乐编号,让我想起了 一条鱼,两条鱼:“今天很好。 今天很有趣。 明天是另一个。“虽然可悲的是,”明天“是我们离开的日子。

如果你从未这样做过。 这些东西很有趣,很有趣!

我们开始我们的假期作为邮轮处女,虽然我不相信我注定会成为我们遇到过的曾经参加过10或20邮轮巡游的忠诚巡洋舰,但我可以看到这种吸引力。 营地和苏斯海上计划非常有趣,非常适合我们。 我可以轻松地在所有其他的船上活动中编写另一个1000字样! 对我们遇到的儿童和家庭的小心关注是不可能的。 萨姆我有很好的建议,适用于不同色调的食物以及游轮:“你可能喜欢它们,试试看!”

要了解更多有关 自由, 苏斯在海上 和其他嘉年华航班,请访问他们的 网站 或与您的旅行社交谈.

感谢嘉年华邮轮公司为我们的家人提供计划帮助和礼遇。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2 条评论
  1. 2020年3月3日
    • 2020年3月3日

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Dr. Seuss is on the Loose! A Seuss-tastical Voyage on the Carnival Freedom

A Carnival cruise - The Lido Deck on the Carnival Freedom

Congratulations!
Today is your day.
You’re off to Great Places!
You’re off and away!

The cheerful, hopeful words of Dr Seuss’ Oh the places you’ll go! resonate as we step from the port of Galveston, TX onto the deck of the recently refurbished Carnival Freedom. A happy sign invites us to sign up for the Green Eggs and Ham Breakfast (and yes, the eggs are really green!) It is the first taste of the fun to come, and boy, are we ready!

It’s opener, out there, in the wide, open air.

In 2014, over 700 000 children sailed on a Carnival ship. I did have a few reservations about the ease with which my own Thing One and Thing Two would climb over the railings and into the deep blue sea (practically impossible, as it turns out) but we nonetheless added our two kids to the growing tally for 2015.

The Freedom went into dry dock in early 2014 and re-emerged as one of Carnival’s “Funships 2.0” Some of the most major changes on the Freedom happened in the children’s areas and that, along with Carnival’s “Seuss at Sea” program is what has lured us aboard.

Views of Camp Ocean on the Carnival Freedom unique to this Carnival cruise

A person’s a person, no matter how small

The admonition from Horton Hears a Who! has obviously been taken to heart. The former Camp Carnival has been remade as Camp Ocean. The area is big and open and really colourful, with a large playroom for the youngest campers, ages 2-5 or “Penguins”–complete with big plastic igloo my 2 ½ year old spent lots of time climbing in and over and sliding down.

For the “Stingrays” (ages 6-8) and “Sharks” (ages 9-11) there is a really cool video game room as well as a nice open area for games and activities, and an easy clean craft room for the messier stuff!

Although our sailing carried an average number of kids for a mid-winter, non-holiday week sailing (average being between 300-400) the Stingrays and the Sharks were combined due to the low enrollment of Sharks at camp—much to the delight of my older-kid-adoring six year old. You could never have guessed there were that many kids aboard, as each time we were at camp there were fewer than twenty kids in each class. For sailings around school holidays the number of kids can swell to quadruple the average and extra staff (all of them with education degrees, at least three years experience and additional safety training) are brought on to accommodate all the campers.

Dr Seuss' Bookville on the Carnival Freedom; a great perk on a Carnival cruise!

courtesy of Carnival Cruise Lines

Adjacent to the camp is Dr. Seuss’ Bookville. When the newest Carnival ship, the Vista, launches in 2016 it will also have a Bookville, but for now the Freedom is the only ship on the sea with this feature. We spent some happy hours in the space that feels like it was peeled right off the pages of one of the Dr. Seuss books that stock the bright shelves. There are games and puzzles in the library as well. The zany setting made for the most surreal interview of my career.  I sat down with Ana Klacinski, the Youth Director of the Freedom, amongst amorphous shapes and striking colours; each of us  engulfed in the brightly coloured vinyl of a bean bag chair; she with far more grace than I. Also I was wearing a sundress…not wise.

It is fun to have fun but you have to know how.

Had we not wanted to actually spend time with him, my elder son may have happily spent every possible hour (10 am-10 pm, longer on port days) with the kids and teachers at camp. With my younger son we discovered the efficacy of the parent paging system, as we were called periodically to come and get him. As Ana explained to me, it is the last resort. If the teachers were unable to stem the tide of tears, they would ask my big boy to go into the playroom to comfort his little brother. Barring that they would give us a call on the cell phone provided by the camp. For my part, I found it comforting to know they wouldn’t let the little ones cry for longer than about 20 minutes without calling the parents. Of course that put a crimp in my plans to laze by the pool with my novel and my margarita, but what can you do?

Seussapolooza on the Carnival Freedom. Shows are a big part of each Carnival Cruise

From there to here, from here to there, funny things are everywhere!

The Seuss theme pops up on the Freedom in a number of places. We joined a parade, led by Sam-I-Am, Things One and Two, and the Cat in the Hat himself. We wound through the decks of the ship with noisemakers and banners chanting “Dr Seuss is on the Loose!” The joy of my children, given permission to shout and make noise was delightful, certainly, but the most memorable part was marching through the onboard casino with the wild pack of children and furry mascots.

Some of the looks we got suggested that it was a tad early in the morning for so much commotion, except for one elderly Asian lady, resplendent in her golf visor and track suit. We must have been a surprising and outrageous good omen as she followed the parade briefly, clapping her hands together and crying “Oh yes! Lucky, lucky!” I REALLY hope we were lucky for her because she made my day.

After the parade was Seussapooloza! – a staged reading of The Cat in the Hat. My older son was over the moon excited to be chosen to play Thing 2. His little brother didn’t understand that only one of them had been invited onstage and climbed up on his own accord. Luckily our emcee graciously amended the story to include Thing Three!

Green Eggs and Ham Breakfast on the Carnival Freedom. The food is always great on a Carnival Cruise!

Would you, could you, on a boat?

The last day of the cruise was the much anticipated Green Eggs and Ham Breakfast. The chance to have a brief meet and greet with the characters at table and eat some creative and delicious food was worth the $5 per person. The boys unsurprisingly opted for the green eggs and ham, I had the “From Here to there, from there to here” Belgian waffles, replete with multicoloured clotted cream, and my husband went with the Fox in Socks Steak and Eggs. We finished the meal with “You can think about yogurt parfait schlopp”: yogurt and strawberries layered in a distinctive Cat in the Hat hat pattern. The servers, dressed in red with wild blue wigs a la the Things, entertained with a musical number and it made me think of One Fish, Two Fish: “Today was good. Today was fun. Tomorrow is another one.” Although sadly, “tomorrow” was our day to leave.

If you never did you should. These things are fun and fun is good!

We started our holiday as cruise virgins, and while I’m not convinced I am destined to become the devoted cruisers we met who have been on 10 or 20 cruises, I can see the appeal. The camp and the Seuss at Sea program were so much fun, and perfectly suited for us. I could easily write another 1000 words on all the other on board activities! The careful attention to children and families we encountered is impossible to resist. Sam I Am has good advice, applicable to food of a different hue as well as cruises: “You may like them, try and see!”

To find out more about The Freedom, Seuss at Sea and other Carnival sailings, please visit their website or speak with your travel agent.

Thank you to Carnival Cruise Lines for providing planning help and a courtesy rate for our family.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. March 25, 2015
    • March 31, 2015