fbpx

寒意,玩耍,吃,重复:一个典型的碧玉冬季周末

乘坐缆车,Marmot Basin  - 信用马莫特盆地

乘坐缆车,Marmot Basin - 信用马莫特盆地

我们进入舒适的针叶树拥抱小屋的那一刻,我们的孩子就疯了。 他检查一个房间的每个裂缝,爬上每个椅子,触摸每个按钮。 当我们进入周末住所时,小家伙不敢相信自己的运气:厨房的桌子上有一扇窗户,可以看到一些光线充足的圣诞树(目前的迷恋),超级弹性大床和有线电视。 我们待在 熊山旅馆,在落基山脉山谷中的小型复式小屋和小屋的集合。 我们在我们新的最喜欢的家庭度假胜地和加拿大第二大访问的国家公园: Jasper.

当生活给你疯狂的工作时间表,平庸的城市雪和无旅行时,Jasper是避开城市生活的疯狂的理想场所,深吸一口气 下来。 尽管我们在碧玉周末聚集了许多家庭乐趣 - 雪上运动,美味佳肴和温馨的小屋时光,但我们仍然轻松愉快地回到家中。 这里是我们在贾斯珀的典型冬季周末的一些片段。

JasperBearHill

熊山旅馆有许多可爱,舒适的小屋,非常适合家庭。

下来

当我们从Eagle Ridge四把椅子上滑下时,我们的导游保罗用轻微的魁北克口音大声说:“看看这座山,这座山。 哈! 我喜欢它。 我得到的报酬就在这里。“对于我们滑雪指南保罗所担任的一个半小时的光荣 旱獭盆地 趱。 由于种种原因,我很紧张地去了Marmot:这是我们第一次与我们的孩子完全安排的山区日,我怀孕前第二次在滑雪板上(阅读:两个季节坐在外面)并且说实话,Marmot盆地看起来很大,非常大。

JasperSkiMarmot

总之,在我们今天在Marmot盆地的时候,桃子很好,因为这座山是为我们这样的家庭制造的(或者至少是这样的感觉)。 几乎所有的Marmot的座椅都有一条绿色的跑道,而且有很多像我们儿子这样的小型学习者的缓坡。 我们早上在绿草丛中跑过校舍椅,魔毯在兔子山上骑着。 下午只有成年人的经历。 我们把我们的巴比诺放在幼儿园,并和保罗一起参观了小山。 保罗对贾斯珀的感染性爱和他为滑雪而行的马莫特真的让我有一天。 这就像挂着你有趣的叔叔,一个轻松的谈话和俗气的笑话,大笑和对每个问题的有用答案。

详细说明:

小流氓托儿所 费用:每小时$ 10.50,如果您在线预订,则每半天收取$ 37.50;如果您在线预订,则收取$ 61.50。 幼儿园的时间是:8:30 - 4:00 pm包装,鼓励无花生午餐。

成人一天的通行证是$ 89,而五岁以下的小孩是免费的。 更多关于青年/学生/老年人的价格可以在这里找到。 该 贾斯珀旱獭家庭卡片 是要走的路。 对于$ 72.95,您的家庭卡每天都会为您的所有家庭成员提供20折扣门票。 在第六天全家滑雪免费。 所以,如果你是一个三口之家,每两周去滑雪一次,那实际上是六个滑雪日(三个人x 2天)。 下次你回到Marmot时,那天你都可以免费滑雪。 这样。 一个好的。 应对。 期。

越野汗水

贾斯珀拥有各种各样的越野滑雪和乡村小道。 你只需要放入 贾斯珀信息中心国家历史遗址 在追踪智能中心。 星期天,我们决定试试贾斯珀最新的越野滑雪道,即位于惠斯勒营地环路以南的Marmot Meadows。 游骑兵警告我们有一些起伏,然后再由当地的加那利群岛警告。 无论如何,我们决定滑行并尝试新的线索。

希尔太陡了? 走下。

希尔太陡了? 走下。

回想起来,虽然我现在可以笑我们的愚蠢,但我不会推荐这条路线:1)初学者越野滑雪者或2)带背包的小孩的父母。 幸运的是我的伴侣是一个邪恶的下坡滑雪者,他也是宝宝的背包客。 这条四公里的小径很有趣,但却充满了无法估量的起伏。 温度刚刚高于零,所以条件并不理想,因为山上冰冷,光滑上升,下降甚至更糟。 我的口头禅:'可以带着滑雪板走路“。 我做到了。 很高兴能够出去享受越野有氧运动的早晨,周围环绕着森林和山脉,还有一些我们丰富的Jasper餐点。 所以,耶。

详细说明:

所有Jasper的访客都必须购买 公园通行证。 全家通票是$ 19.60。

JasperFood

燃料最多

由于我们安排了这样一个充满活力的周末,我们决定放弃自炊式出去吃饭,即使我们的熊山小屋有一个设备齐全的小厨房。 这里是我们停下来加油的一些最好的地方。

Inn Grill旅馆,位于毗邻的Best Western Inn&Suites酒店庭院内的一家餐厅位于Bear Hill Lodge酒店。 自助早餐包括法式吐司,鸡蛋,培根,香肠,酸奶,百吉饼,麦片,水果等,每人每人$ 9.95。

最近,Marmot盆地与Dana Hospitality合作 食品和饮料服务。 在Cari​​bou小木屋(主楼)尝试亚洲融合鲑鱼汉堡。 服务速度快,所以你可以出去和粉碎更多的落基山粉。

贾斯珀酿造酒吧和小餐馆 是一个必须停止与他们当地酿造的工艺啤酒和访问,但创新的菜单。 我不能强调在一个蹒跚学步的孩子在Jasper Brewing餐厅吃饭是多么容易。 这是响亮,休闲和舒适的长桌,共享桌子或高度可擦拭的展位。 订购精酿啤酒取样器,羽衣甘蓝面条与完全湿润,烤鸡或野牛咖喱。 尽情享用南瓜奶油布丁吧,尽量不要把碗舔干净。

阿萨巴斯卡酒店 提供历史悠久的早餐。 数以百计的古董摆放在餐厅的高架上。 鸡蛋阿萨巴斯卡和鸡蛋贾斯珀,鸡蛋本笃当地扭曲将坚持你的肋骨,并带你通过雪(错误)的广告。

点一杯清淡的午餐和镇上最好的咖啡 邪恶的杯子。 一个时髦的咖啡厅遇见酒店resto符合礼品店(见:陶瓷,蜡烛和围巾),威克提供有机咖啡和填充小面包,以驱动器回家。

Jasperbottom

在过去的几个月里,山区的一个周末向我们招手。 我们渴望一个小小的舒适的地方,有着火,不间断的家庭时间和一个充满雪的活动的周末。 我们在贾斯珀的时间提供了42小时,让我们在繁忙的秋天后重新连接,在适当的滑雪山上玩耍,尽情享用丰富美味的食物。 额外奖励:在我们全天下坡冒险,满满美味的食物和新鲜的落基山脉空气之后,我们睡在我们的小屋周日晚上建造的原木上。

到达那里

贾斯珀从埃德蒙顿向西四小时车程,往东从卑诗省的坎卢普斯,从卑诗省乔治王子城到东南方向,距离卡尔加里约五小时的路程。 如果你想跳过驱动器,坐火车。 通过铁路 从温哥华,乔治王子城和埃德蒙顿穿过城镇。 专业提示:在每周的座位销售时,在周二晚上购买火车票。

阿尔伯塔旅游和旅游杰士伯慷慨地帮助我们的一些旅行物流和成本。 上面表达的所有意见都是我自己的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. 15年2016月XNUMX日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Chill, Play, Eat, Repeat: A Quintessential Jasper Winter Weekend 

Riding the chairlift, Marmot Basin - Credit Marmot Basin

Riding the chairlift, Marmot Basin – Credit Marmot Basin

The moment we enter the our cozy, conifer-hugged cottage our toddler goes crazy. He inspects every cranny of the one room cabin, climbs on every chair and touches every button. As we settle into our weekend abode, kiddo can’t believe his luck: there’s a window at the kitchen table with a view of some well-lit Christmas trees (current obsession), a super bouncy queen bed and cable TV. We’re staying at Bear Hill Lodge, a collection of petite duplex cabins and cottages in a Rocky Mountain valley. We’re in our new favourite family getaway spot and Canada’s second-most visited national park: Jasper.

When life gives you crazy work schedules, mediocre city snow and a wee spell of no travel, Jasper is the ideal place to escape the craziness of city living, inhale deep and calm the eff down. Though we packed a load of family fun into our Jasper weekend – snowy athletics, scrumptious eats and homey cabin times, we still returned home relaxed and happy. Here are some snippets of our quintessential winter weekend in Jasper.

JasperBearHill

Bear Hill Lodge has loads of cute, cozy cabins that are perfect for families.

Get Down

As we glided off the Eagle Ridge quad chair, our guide Paul, exclaimed in his slight Quebecois accent, “Look at this view, this mountain. Ha! I love it. I get paid to be here.” For a glorious hour and a half our ski guide Paul acted as Marmot Basin animateur. I was nervous going up to Marmot for a number of reasons: it was our first fully scheduled mountain day with our toddler, my second time on a snowboard since before I was pregnant (read: two seasons spent sitting it out) and to be honest, Marmot Basin looked big, really big.

JasperSkiMarmot

All in all our day at Marmot Basin was peachy because the mountain is made for families like us (or at least it felt like it). Nearly all of Marmot’s chairlifts have a green run running off them and there are plenty of gentle slopes for little learners like our son. We spent the morning doing green runs off the School House chair and magic carpet rides down the bunny hill. The afternoon was an adult-only experience. We dropped our bambino off at the nursery and joined Paul for a wee tour of the hill. Paul’s infectious love of Jasper and his stoke for skiing Marmot really made my day. It was like hanging with your fun uncle, the one with easy conversation and cheesy jokes, big laugh and helpful answers to every question.

The Details:

Little Rascals nursery costs: $10.50 hourly for drop in, $37.50 per half day if you pre-book online or $61.50 if you pre-book online. The nursery’s hours are: 8:30 – 4:00 p.m. Packed, peanut free lunches are encouraged.

Adult day passes are $89 while littles under five are free. More rates on youth/students/seniors can be found here. The Jasper-Marmot Family Card is the way to go. For $72.95 your family card gets you 20% off lift tickets all family members each day they go up. On the sixth day whole family skis for free. So if you’re a family of three who goes for a two day weekend of skiing that’s actually six ski days (three people x 2 days). The next time you return to Marmot, it’s free for all of you to ski that day. Such. A. Good. Deal. Period.

Cross Country Sweat

Jasper has a huge range of cross country skiing and back country trails. You just have to drop into the Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site in the centre for trail intelligence. On Sunday, we decided to try Jasper’s newest cross country trail, Marmot Meadows, which is just south of the Whistler’s campground loop. We were were warned by the ranger that there were some ups and downs and then again by a local gal. We decided to glide on and try the new trail anyway.

Hill is too steep? Walk down.

Hill is too steep? Walk down.

In retrospect, though I can laugh about our folly now, I wouldn’t recommend this trail to either: 1) a beginner cross country skier or 2) to a parent with a toddler in a back pack. Luckily my partner is a wicked downhill skier and he is also the baby backpacker. The four kilometre trail was fun, but filled with with an unruly amount of ups and downs. The temperature was just above zero so the conditions were not ideal as the hills were icy and slick going up and coming down was even worse. My mantra: ‘it’s okay to take skis off and walk’. And I did. It was nice to get out for a morning of cross-country cardio, be surrounded by forests and mountains and sweat off some of our rich Jasper meals. So, yay.

The Details:

All visitors to Jasper must buy a park pass. A family pass is $19.60.

JasperFood

Fuel Up

Since we scheduled such an activity-packed weekend, we decided to forgo self-catering and go out for our meals even though our Bear Hill Lodge cottage had a well-equipped kitchenette. Here are some of the best places we stopped to fuel up.

The Inn Grill, a restaurant nestled in the courtyard of the adjacent Best Western Inn & Suites is to the Bear Hill Lodge. The breakfast buffet includes french toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, bagels, cereal, fruit, etc for $9.95 per person.

Marmot Basin recently partnered with Dana Hospitality for their food & beverage service. Try the Asian fusion Salmon burger at the Caribou Chalet (main lodge). Service is fast so you can get out and crush more Rocky Mountain powder.

Jasper Brew Pub and Eatery is a must-stop with their locally brewed craft beers and accessible, yet innovative menu. I can’t stress how easy it is to eat at Jasper Brewing with a toddler. It’s loud, casual and comfortable with long, sharing tables or highly wipeable booths. Order a craft beer sampler, the kale spaghetti with perfectly moist, grilled chicken or the bison curry. Indulge in a pumpkin creme brûlée and try not to lick the bowl clean.

The Athabasca Hotel serves up breakfast with a side of history. Hundreds of antiques adorn high shelves in the dining room. The Eggs Athabasca and Eggs Jasper, local twists on eggs benedict will stick to your ribs and carry you through snow (mis)advenures.

Order a light lunch and the best coffee in town from the Wicked Cup. A funky cafe meets hotel resto meets gift shop (see: ceramics, candles and scarves), Wicked serves up organic coffee and filling flatbreads to last the drive home.

Jasperbottom

For the last few months a weekend in the mountains beckoned us. We craved a small cozy place with a fire, un-interrupted family time and a weekend full of snowy activities. Our time in Jasper provided 42 hours for us to reconnect after a busy fall, play on a proper ski hill and indulge in rich, delicious food. Bonus: we slept like the logs our cottage was built of on Saturday night after our full day of downhill adventures, bellies full of tasty food and fresh Rocky Mountain air.

Getting there 

Jasper is a four hour drive west from Edmonton, east from Kamloops, B.C., southeast from Prince George, B.C and about a five hour haul from Calgary. If you want to skip the drive, take the train. Via Rail goes through town from Vancouver, Prince George and Edmonton. Pro-tip: grab your train tickets on a Tuesday nights, when there’s a weekly seats sale.

Travel Alberta and Tourism Jasper graciously helped with some of our trip logistics and cost. All opinions expressed above are my own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. January 15, 2016