决定,决定。 我四岁的女儿正俯身在一盘闪闪发光的戒指上,试图选择最漂亮的。 我们停在 威雷亚的大珠宝,位于我们的酒店,只是出于好奇。 这家商店出售一些名人和皇室佩戴的最独特和最著名的珠宝。 店主知道我们是在盯着游客看,而不是认真的买家,但她确保当爸爸妈妈对古董钻石大呼小叫时,孩子们必须自己挑选一块塑料首饰。

Grand_Wailea_Grand_Jewels

威雷亚大珠宝店前

这是我们在酒店住宿的最后一晚 大威雷亚,当我看到我女儿闪闪发光的眼睛时,我有点哽咽。 她对自己的小礼物感到很兴奋,自己也被视为皇室成员。 我们对商店的访问只是孩子们在令人难以置信的逗留期间受到的待遇的一个例子 大威雷亚华尔道夫度假村 在毛伊岛的威雷亚。

Grand_Wailea_bridge

Grand Wailea 是一个占地 40 英亩的豪华度假村,自从我看了这部电影以来,它就一直在我的酒店清单上 放手去做,由亚当·桑德勒和詹妮弗·安妮斯顿主演。 这部电影突出了酒店的所有最佳特色,包括令人印象深刻的水滑梯和游泳池。 我很想去那里亲身体验一下,部分原因是我自己也是个大孩子,从来没有超过我对好的滑水道的热爱。


新的 威雷亚峡谷活动池 是一个 25 平方英尺的游泳池,由六层的九个游泳池组成,由漂流河、激流和四个相互交织的滑梯相连。 另外两个大滑梯(适合 700 岁及以上儿童)、泰山绳索秋千、三个按摩浴缸、洞穴、六个瀑布、一个水上电梯、游泳酒吧和婴儿海滩,使空间的亮点更加完美。 没有机会对泳池区感到厌倦或无聊。

Grand_Wailea_tarzanrope

我的孩子们在泰山绳索上筋疲力尽

在乘坐他们独一无二的瀑布电梯时,一名工作人员讲述了电梯背后的传说。 酒店的原主人有一个截瘫的儿子,它的设计是为了让他的儿子不用走台阶就可以登上水边的顶端。

图片来源:Grand Wailea,华尔道夫度假村

图片来源:Grand Wailea,华尔道夫度假村

从瀑布电梯的顶部,您直接退出游泳池,并在连接层层游泳池的四个缓和的水边一路冲下山底。 如果您沿着水的路径走,您实际上不必离开游泳池就可以连续数小时享受水滑梯。

Grand_Wailea_water_slide

这个水上乐园天堂的设计考虑到了孩子的兴奋和冒险感,自 1991 年创建以来,这种能量一直在流动。在我们入住 Grand Wailea 的整个过程中,一件事立即显而易见,他们完善了艺术让孩子在度假村逗留时感到特别。 监督游泳池和滑梯的工作人员似乎真的很喜欢孩子们玩得开心的滑稽动作。

如果滑水道不是你的速度,那么可爱的芙蓉成人游泳池就在水疗中心内,那里有一个特色瀑布。 遗憾的是,我一直没有机会享受游泳池,因为我正忙着在水上乐园追逐我的猴子,虽然我走过的时候,它看起来很棒,里面的人似乎完全放松了。

餐饮

由于 5 星级的价格,在 Grand Wailea 餐厅用餐一开始可能会让人望而生畏,但有几餐绝对值得挥霍一下,包括池畔火山酒吧的午餐和 Humuhumunukunukuapua'a 的晚餐,特别是如果您和孩子一起用餐。

新的 火山酒吧和烧烤 提供休闲餐饮选择,让您在泳池和海滩之间享用快餐。 上的 Keiki 沙桶 菜单 包括精选的三明治、饼干、果冻杯、水果、薯片和果汁盒,所有这些都装在沙桶和铁锹纪念品中带到餐桌上,事实证明这对我们下午的海滩游戏很方便。

大威雷亚火山酒吧 Keiki 沙桶

Grand Wailea Volcano Bar & Grill Keiki 沙桶

新的 Humuhumunukunukuapua'a 餐厅位于酒店附近的私人泻湖中自己的浮岛上。 以海滩为背景,这里是捕捉夏威夷著名的壮观日落的绝佳地点。

Grand_Wailea_humumu

当我们第一次到达时,有工作人员将龙虾从水中拉出,让孩子们很好地瞥见某人的晚餐。 我的女儿一开始有点被爬行的龙虾吓坏了,但很快她就​​克服了恐惧,决定晚餐吃龙虾。 她必须先尝尝她爸爸的龙虾,然后才能得出结论,她的 keiki 菜单上的 Mahi Mahi 更适合她的口味。

Grand_Wailea_lobster
孩子们被给予鱼食来喂养在甲板下游泳的锦鲤,这让他们在课程之间保持忙碌和娱乐,而不是父母经常在静坐餐厅处理的蠕动不耐烦的表演。

菜单价格可能看起来很高,这是毛伊岛的典型,但食物质量非常好。 孩子的 (keiki) 菜单价格非常合理,每份 12.00 美元,包括一些健康的食物选择,如蔬菜、蒸米饭和苹果酱。 孩子们的餐点还配有冰淇淋作为甜点和他们自己的纪念品毛绒 Humuhumunukunukuapua'a 鱼,这是餐厅的同名鱼(Humuhumunukunukuapua'a 也是毛伊岛的官方鱼类)。

Grand_Wailea_stuffie

我们喜欢跳进 库拉咖啡馆 一天早上的快餐甚至早餐。 自助式自助餐厅风格的咖啡厅提供外带食品,如肉桂面包和新鲜水果杯。 他们还为我们这些依赖咖啡因的父母提供星巴克服务。 旅游小贴士:购买价值 18 美元的纪念品杯,入住期间可获赠 1 美元软饮料和冰咖啡补充装。

Grand_Wailea_Cafe_Kula

库拉咖啡馆的露台

水疗中心

每个月的最后一个星期五,Grand Wailea 都会举办一场 Spalicious:天后之夜 在 Grand Wailea 水疗中心举办的活动,包括 manis、pedis 和 hors d'oeuvres。 由于幸运的时机,我非常想在我们到达的那个晚上去,但是我的预算和我的“嘿,亲爱的,我要让你和两个孩子在水疗中心度过一个下午” 在我们逗留期间,线路只为我提供了一次水疗服务。 尽管 Spalicious 派对听起来像是一个了不起的活动(你好,在巧克力池中沐浴!!),但我希望我的体验是一种安静的平静和放松。

我选择了流行并强烈推荐 帕劳之旅,从毛伊岛采购的草药,从头到脚的治疗、按摩和包裹。 经过 90 分钟的精彩治疗后,我前往水疗中心,在那里我浸泡在宏伟的罗马浴缸中,在热桑拿中呼出一口气,通过加压瀑布按摩消除任何剩余的紧张和疼痛,在瑞士喷射淋浴中冲洗,改善我在传统的日本风吕中循环,最后是我个人最喜欢的,在五个夏威夷特色浴场中排毒,每个浴场都使用夏威夷群岛中的盐和草药。

Kid's Club

当我吸收夏威夷盐而忘记我什至有孩子时(我保证只有几个小时),我的家人在 20 000 平方英尺的儿童俱乐部 The Rock 闲逛。

Grand_Wailea_The_Rock

The Rock 为 5 岁及以上的儿童提供节目,包括青少年节目。 有半天和全天的营地以及每日池畔工作坊,供未在营地注册但想参与艺术和手工艺的孩子们使用。 向 The Rock 工作人员注册受监督的营地需要付费,但如果您只是需要在阳光下休息一会儿,酒店客人可以免费使用该设施,在创意环境中与孩子们共度时光。 我的孩子们喜欢乐高墙、视频游戏室和工艺桌。

Grand_Wailea_LEGO_wall

我儿子现在想在他的房间里放一堵乐高墙

追着孩子们在泳池边和海滩上奔跑会让人筋疲力尽。 我丈夫和我欢迎我们下午的休息时间,我们可以在 The Rock 的四堵墙内放松警惕,坐下来喝点咖啡,而我们的孩子们则独立玩耍。 13 岁及以上的青少年可以在 The Spot 闲逛,这是一个没有成人监督的青少年房间,设有台球桌、电子游戏、桌上足球、乒乓球桌。

Grand_Wailea_kids_club

The Rock 的工作人员确保我的孩子们感到宾至如归,并在他们访问期间为他们安排了一些活动来娱乐他们。

我们所有人都很难离开这样一个壮观的地方。 我丈夫答应我们有一天会回来,让我们都上了飞机。 现在我只需要说服他模棱两可的“一天”实际上意味着妈妈时间的六周。

大威雷亚华尔道夫度假村联系信息:

预订电话: 1-855-891-6252
联系电话: 1-808-875-1234
联系地址: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr. Wailea, HI
网站: www.GrandWailea.com

非常感谢大威雷亚酒店在他们华丽的度假村接待我们的家人。

如需更多关于毛伊岛家庭娱乐活动的精彩想法,请务必访问 www.gohawaii.com/maui.

毛伊岛标志

It’s a Kid’s Life at the Grand Wailea Resort in Maui

Decisions, decisions. My four-year old daughter was bent over a tray of sparkly rings, trying to choose the prettiest one. We stopped at the Grand Jewels of Wailea, located in our hotel, simply out of curiosity. The shop carries some of the most unique and famous pieces of jewellery worn by celebrities and royalty. The shop keeper knew we were gawking tourists and not serious buyers, but she made sure that while mom and dad oohed and aahed over vintage diamonds, the kids got to pick out a piece of plastic bling of their own.

Grand_Wailea_Grand_Jewels

The Grand Jewels of Wailea store front

It was our last night staying at the Grand Wailea, and I got a bit of a catch in my throat when I saw my daughter’s sparkling eyes. She was thrilled with her little gift and being treated like royalty herself. Our visit to the store was just one example of how well kids are treated during their stay at the incredible Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Astoria Resort in Wailea, Maui.

Grand_Wailea_bridge

The Pools

The Grand Wailea is a 40-acre luxury resort that has been on my hotel bucket list ever since I saw the movie Just Go With It, starring Adam Sandler and Jennifer Anniston. The movie highlighted all the best features of the hotel, including the impressive water slides and pools. I was dying to go there and experience it for myself, partly because I’m a big kid myself and have never outgrown my love of a good waterslide.

The Wailea Canyon Activity Pool is a 25 700 square foot pool that consists of nine pools on six levels connected by lazy rivers, whitewater rapids, and four intertwining slides. Two additional big slides (suited for ages 7 and up), the Tarzan Rope Swing, three jacuzzis, caves, six waterfalls, a water elevator, swim up bar and baby beach, round out the highlights of the space. There is no chance of growing tired or bored of the pool area.

Grand_Wailea_tarzanrope

My kids wore themselves out on the tarzan rope

While riding their one-of-a-kind waterfall elevator, a staff member recounted the legend behind the elevator. The original owner of the hotel had a son who was paraplegic and it was designed so his son could ascend to the top of the watersides without having to take the steps.

Photo Credit: Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Photo Credit: Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

From the top of the waterfall elevator, you exit directly into the pool and rush all the way down to the bottom of the mountain on four gentle watersides that connect layers of swimming pools. If you follow the path of the water, you never actually have to get out of the pool to enjoy the water slides for hours on end.

Grand_Wailea_water_slide

This water park paradise was designed with the excitement and sense of adventure of a child in mind and that energy has flowed since its creation in 1991. One thing that was evident immediately and throughout our stay at the Grand Wailea, is they have perfected the art of making a child feel special when staying at their resort. The staff overseeing the pools and slides seemed to genuinely delight in the antics of kids enjoying themselves.

If waterslides are not really your speed, there is the lovely Hibiscus adults-only pool with a feature waterfall located just inside the spa. I sadly never got a chance to enjoy the pool because I was too busy chasing after my monkeys in the water park, although the times I walked by, it looked marvelous and those inside seemed completely relaxed.

Dining

Eating at the Grand Wailea may seem intimidating initially because of the 5 star prices, however there are a few meals definitely worth the splurge, including lunch at the poolside Volcano Bar and dinner at the Humuhumunukunukuapua’a, especially if you are dining with kids.

The Volcano Bar & Grill offers casual dining options for a quick bite between the pool and beach. The Keiki Sand Bucket on the menu includes a selection of sandwiches, plus cookies, a jell-o cup, fruit, potato chips and a juice box all carried to the table in a sand pail and shovel keepsake, which proved to be handy for our afternoon beach play.

Grand Wailea Volcano Bar Keiki Sand Bucket

Grand Wailea Volcano Bar & Grill Keiki Sand Bucket

The Humuhumunukunukuapua’a restaurant is located on its own floating island in a private lagoon just off the hotel. With the beach in the background, it’s a fantastic spot to catch of the spectacular sunsets Hawaii is famous for.

Grand_Wailea_humumu

When we first arrived, there were staff pulling lobster out of the water to let children get a good glimpse of someone’s dinner. My daughter was initially a bit freaked out by the crawling lobster, but then promptly got over her fear and decided she wanted lobster for dinner. She got to have a taste of her dad’s lobster before concluding that the Mahi Mahi off her keiki menu was more suitable to her palate.

Grand_Wailea_lobster
The kids were given fish food to feed the koi swimming below deck and it kept them occupied and entertained between courses, rather than the squirmy impatient show parents often deal with at sit-down restaurants.

The menu prices may seem high, which is typical for Maui, but the food quality was exceptional. The kid’s (keiki) menu prices were really reasonable at $12.00 each including a number of healthy food options such as vegetables, steamed rice and apple sauce for sides. The kids’ meals also came with ice cream for dessert and their very own keepsake plush Humuhumunukunukuapua’a fish, the namesake of the restaurant (the Humuhumunukunukuapua’a is also the official state fish of Maui).

Grand_Wailea_stuffie

We loved popping into the Cafe Kula for quick snacks and even breakfast one morning. The self-serve cafeteria style café offers grab-and-go treats like cinnamon buns and fresh fruit cups. They also serve Starbucks for those of us caffeine-dependent parents. Travel tip: Purchase the $18 souvenir cup and get $1 soft drink and iced-coffee refills during your stay.

Grand_Wailea_Cafe_Kula

The terrace at the Cafe Kula

The Spa

The last Friday of every month, the Grand Wailea hosts a Spalicious: Divas Night Out event at the Grand Wailea Spa, complete with manis, pedis and hors d’oeuvres. I was thoroughly tempted to go the evening we arrived because of the fortunate timing, but my budget and my “Hey honey, I’m ditching you with two kids to spend the afternoon at the spa” line afforded me only one spa visit during our stay. Although the Spalicious party sounded like an amazing event (hello bathing in chocolate pools!!), I wanted my experience to be one of quiet calm and relaxation.

I opted for the popular and highly recommend Pala’au Journey, a head to toe treatment, massage and wrap with herbs sourced in Maui. After 90 glorious minutes of the treatment, I headed to the Hydrotherpy Circuit where I soaked in the grand Roman tub, exhaled in the hot saunas, had any remaining tension and aches massaged away by the pressurized waterfalls, rinsed in the Swiss jet showers, improved my circulation in a traditional Japanese Furo and finally, my personal favourite, detoxed in the five specialty Hawaiian baths each with salts and herbs found in each of the Hawaiian islands.

Kid’s Club

While I was soaking up Hawaiian salts and forgetting I even had kids (just for a couple of hours, I promise), my family hung out at The Rock, the 20 000 square foot kids club.

Grand_Wailea_The_Rock

The Rock offers programs for kids ages 5 and up, including teen programs. There are half-day and full-day camps plus daily workshops poolside for kids not registered in camp but wanting to participate in arts and crafts. There is a fee to register for the supervised camps with The Rock staff, but if you just need a break from the sun for awhile, the facility is free of charge for hotel guests to spend time with the kids in a creative environment. My kids loved the LEGO wall, video game room and craft tables.

Grand_Wailea_LEGO_wall

My son wants one of these LEGO walls in his room now

Running after the kids poolside and at the beach can get exhausting. My husband and I welcomed our afternoon breaks where we could let our guard down inside the four walls of The Rock, sit back and sip some coffee while our kids played independently. Teens ages 13 and up can hang out at The Spot, a teen room without adult supervision, featuring pool tables, video games, foosball table, ping pong.

Grand_Wailea_kids_club

The staff at The Rock made sure my kids felt welcome and pulled out activities for them to entertain them during their visit.

It was difficult for all of us to leave such a spectacular place. My husband got us all on the plane by promising we’d be back one day. Now I just have to convince him the ambiguous “one day” actually meant six weeks in mom-time.

The Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Astoria Resort Contact Info:

Reservations: 1-855-891-6252
Phone: 1-808-875-1234
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr. Wailea, HI
Website: www.GrandWailea.com

A big thank you to The Grand Wailea for hosting our family at their gorgeous resort.

For more great ideas of family fun things to see and do in Maui, be sure to visit www.gohawaii.com/maui.

maui-logo

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
218 Comments
  1. November 20, 2014
  2. November 16, 2014
  3. November 16, 2014
  4. November 16, 2014
  5. November 16, 2014
  6. November 16, 2014
  7. November 15, 2014
  8. November 15, 2014
  9. November 15, 2014
  10. November 15, 2014
  11. November 15, 2014
  12. November 15, 2014
  13. November 15, 2014
  14. November 15, 2014
  15. November 15, 2014
  16. November 15, 2014
  17. November 14, 2014
  18. November 14, 2014
  19. November 13, 2014
  20. November 13, 2014
  21. November 13, 2014
  22. November 13, 2014
  23. November 13, 2014
  24. November 13, 2014
  25. November 12, 2014
  26. November 12, 2014
  27. November 12, 2014
  28. November 12, 2014
  29. November 10, 2014
  30. November 10, 2014
  31. November 10, 2014
  32. November 10, 2014
  33. November 9, 2014
  34. November 9, 2014
  35. November 9, 2014
  36. November 9, 2014
  37. November 9, 2014
  38. November 9, 2014
  39. November 9, 2014
  40. November 8, 2014
  41. November 8, 2014
  42. November 8, 2014
  43. November 8, 2014
  44. November 8, 2014
  45. November 8, 2014
  46. November 8, 2014
  47. November 8, 2014
  48. November 8, 2014
  49. November 8, 2014
  50. November 8, 2014
  51. November 8, 2014
  52. November 8, 2014
  53. November 8, 2014
  54. November 8, 2014
  55. November 8, 2014
  56. November 8, 2014
  57. November 8, 2014
  58. November 8, 2014
  59. November 8, 2014
  60. November 8, 2014
  61. November 8, 2014
  62. November 8, 2014
  63. November 8, 2014
  64. November 8, 2014
  65. November 8, 2014
  66. November 8, 2014
  67. November 8, 2014
  68. November 7, 2014
  69. November 7, 2014
  70. November 7, 2014
  71. November 7, 2014
  72. November 7, 2014
  73. November 6, 2014
  74. November 6, 2014
  75. November 6, 2014
  76. November 6, 2014
  77. November 6, 2014
  78. November 5, 2014
  79. November 5, 2014
  80. November 5, 2014
  81. November 5, 2014
  82. November 4, 2014
  83. November 4, 2014
  84. November 4, 2014
  85. November 4, 2014
  86. November 4, 2014
  87. November 4, 2014
  88. November 4, 2014
  89. November 4, 2014
  90. November 4, 2014
  91. November 3, 2014
  92. November 3, 2014
  93. November 3, 2014
  94. November 2, 2014
  95. November 2, 2014
  96. November 2, 2014
  97. November 2, 2014
  98. November 2, 2014
  99. November 2, 2014
  100. November 2, 2014
  101. November 2, 2014
  102. November 2, 2014
  103. November 2, 2014
  104. November 2, 2014
  105. November 2, 2014
  106. November 2, 2014
  107. November 2, 2014
  108. November 2, 2014
  109. November 2, 2014
  110. November 2, 2014
  111. November 2, 2014
  112. November 2, 2014
  113. November 2, 2014
  114. November 2, 2014
  115. November 2, 2014
  116. November 2, 2014
  117. November 2, 2014
  118. November 2, 2014
  119. November 2, 2014
  120. November 2, 2014
  121. November 2, 2014
  122. November 2, 2014
  123. November 2, 2014
  124. November 2, 2014
  125. November 2, 2014
  126. November 2, 2014
  127. November 2, 2014
  128. November 2, 2014
  129. November 2, 2014
  130. November 2, 2014
  131. November 2, 2014
  132. November 2, 2014
  133. November 1, 2014
  134. November 1, 2014
  135. October 31, 2014
  136. October 30, 2014
  137. October 30, 2014
  138. October 29, 2014
  139. October 28, 2014
  140. October 27, 2014
  141. October 27, 2014
  142. October 27, 2014
  143. October 25, 2014
  144. October 25, 2014
  145. October 25, 2014
  146. October 24, 2014
  147. October 24, 2014
  148. October 22, 2014
  149. October 21, 2014
  150. October 21, 2014
  151. October 20, 2014
  152. October 20, 2014
  153. October 20, 2014
  154. October 20, 2014
  155. October 20, 2014
  156. October 20, 2014
  157. October 20, 2014
  158. October 20, 2014
  159. October 20, 2014
  160. October 20, 2014
  161. October 20, 2014
  162. October 20, 2014
  163. October 20, 2014
  164. October 20, 2014
  165. October 20, 2014
  166. October 20, 2014
  167. October 20, 2014
  168. October 20, 2014
  169. October 20, 2014
  170. October 20, 2014
  171. October 20, 2014
  172. October 20, 2014
  173. October 20, 2014
  174. October 19, 2014
  175. October 18, 2014
  176. October 18, 2014
  177. October 18, 2014
  178. October 17, 2014
  179. October 16, 2014
  180. October 16, 2014
  181. October 16, 2014
  182. October 16, 2014
  183. October 16, 2014
  184. October 16, 2014
  185. October 15, 2014
  186. October 15, 2014
  187. October 15, 2014
  188. October 15, 2014
  189. October 15, 2014
  190. October 15, 2014
  191. October 15, 2014
  192. October 15, 2014
  193. October 15, 2014
  194. October 15, 2014
  195. October 15, 2014
  196. October 15, 2014
  197. October 15, 2014
  198. October 15, 2014
  199. October 15, 2014
  200. October 15, 2014
  201. October 15, 2014
  202. October 15, 2014
  203. October 15, 2014
  204. October 15, 2014
  205. October 15, 2014
  206. October 15, 2014
  207. October 15, 2014
  208. October 15, 2014
  209. October 15, 2014
  210. October 15, 2014
  211. October 15, 2014
  212. October 15, 2014
  213. October 15, 2014
  214. October 15, 2014
  215. October 15, 2014
  216. October 15, 2014
  217. October 15, 2014
    • November 2, 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *