如何与青少年一起浏览百老汇的灯光

他们说百老汇的霓虹灯很亮......“对于星光灿烂的年轻音乐剧超级粉丝,百老汇是超级杯的麦加; 这是合法的。 以下是如何浏览纽约市百老汇音乐街与青少年。

如何与青少年一起浏览百老汇之光 - 参加百老汇演出的兴奋与其他活动无关。 信用度:Pixabay CC0 Creative Commons免费用于商业用途无需标注出处

参加百老汇演出的兴奋感就像没有别的。 信用:Pixabay

选择什么节目?

百老汇演出总是在变化。 长期喜爱的猫咪和歌剧魅影仍然吸引着各个年龄段的人群。 像狮子王,查理和巧克力工厂这样的适合家庭的G级表演,摇滚学校也做得很好。 青少年可能喜欢这些惊人的作品,或想冒险进入更严重的戏剧领域。 显示选择将取决于他们的兴趣 - 他们喜欢并希望看到什么?

百老汇直接 or Broadway.com 是对什么节目感兴趣的旅行前研究的好地方。 更重要的是,你的访问可能有哪些门票。 如果你对纽约市的访问是关于百老汇的,而且看到某些演出门票非常难以抵达 - 请考虑汉密尔顿和托尼奖获奖的亲爱的埃文汉森 - 计划你的假期可用票。 你的青少年会(也应该)谢谢你。

如何与青少年一起浏览百老汇之灯 - 为亲爱的埃文汉森的演出做好准备。 信贷:Claudia Laroye

为亲爱的Evan Hansen的演出做好准备。 信贷:Claudia Laroye

对于更年长的青少年(和父母), 亲爱的埃文·汉森 是不可错过的令人难以置信的现场音乐剧。 它令人难以置信的移动和打击青少年异化,社交媒体疯狂和父母的缺点的所有笔记。 我们带走了我们的17岁的儿子,和我们一样,他完全被吹走了。 包装纸巾。

获得门票

百老汇直接 连接到每个节目的在线票务页面。 有了足够的规划 - 冻结的 在春季2018打开! - 您可以直接为每个节目搜索和购买门票。

即使门票在您的参观日期内售罄,您仍然可以找到它们。 但他们会花费你。 您将购买粉丝到粉丝的转售门票。 Ticketmaster的验证票 程序是合法的。 我们使用转售程序,它的工作原理。 门票持有者可以将门票出售给新买家,Ticketmaster负责转账。 在某些情况下,除非您提前几年购买或赢得其每日门票抽奖,否则这可能是您唯一选择看汉密尔顿表演的选项。

如何与青少年一起浏览百老汇之光 - 参加百老汇演出可能会让你的年轻歌迷梦想成真。 信贷:Claudia Laroye

参加百老汇演出可能会让你的年轻歌迷梦想成真。 信贷:Claudia Laroye

你可以在这里等上几个小时 TKTS展台 在时代广场(在那里,做到了)。 这是支持非营利表演艺术社区的出色的同日票务服务。

或者您可以使用技术来获得优势并下载 TodayTix 在你的智能手机上的应 您可以提前购买30天的门票,甚至可以输入当天的彩票。 有很多音乐剧和戏剧可供选择,即使在同一天购买,包括流行表演,如岩石学校和邪恶。

这项服务最好的部分是,一名红色涂料的TodayTix代表将在幕布上升之前的所选节目30分钟之外与您会面,并提供您的门票。 我们两次使用这种无缝服务,并强烈建议不要浪费时间排队等候,因为当你进入剧院时,门票可以送到你身边。

在百老汇周期间去

百老汇每年冬天都会庆祝自己 百老汇周。 您可以注册参加2 for 1门票丰富的高级通知。 这是在短时间内观看许多作品的绝佳方式,全部用于50折扣。

逛一圈

纽约漫步 在百老汇之旅中有一个很棒的迪士尼。 2.5小时旅游包括剧院区的导游散步。 然后在新阿姆斯特丹剧院进行“魔术背后”,让迪士尼和影院粉丝们体会到狮子王的制作如何每晚都在一起。 提前预订,以确保可用的旅游。

查看万事达无价的体验

如何与青少年一起浏览百老汇之灯 - 学习专业演员的舞步是无价的经验。 信贷:Claudia Laroye

学习专业演员的舞蹈步骤是一次无价的体验。 信贷:Claudia Laroye

如果您是万事达信用卡持卡人,则可以注册一些非常令人惊叹的百老汇体验 万事达无价的体验 程序。 看到节目,并见到查理和巧克力工厂的演员。 或者像我的踢踏舞儿子一样,学习一些平滑的动作,与Get On Your Feet演员的成员一起跳舞。 如果你的青少年喜欢音乐剧,这些经历可能会改变人生。

吃百老汇

如果你喜欢吃百老汇歌曲的晚餐,不要错过51的爱伦星尘剧院st 和时代广场的百老汇。 1950s主题餐厅有唱歌的服务员,自从1987餐厅开业以来,已经招待了顾客。 您可能需要等待一段时间才能进入,因为线路通常很长,但对于您的青少年影院爱好者来说,体验可能是值得的。

购买Merch

每场演出都会有商品和纪念品出售。 其中一些可能只在该剧院可用(汉密尔顿限量版水瓶你好)。 这对青少年来说是一个平局,他们想要向朋友展示他们去过的地方以及他们见过的东西。 对于一般的秀场,请访问 剧院圈。 这家专卖店(有两个地点)备有各种最新的表演噱头,以及百老汇主题纪念品。

与你的青少年分享对百老汇和剧院的热爱是一个出色的家庭旅行记忆体制造商。 快乐的节目策划。


这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

How to Navigate the Lights of Broadway With Teenagers

They say the neon lights are bright on Broadway…” For starry-eyed young musical theatre superfans, Broadway is the Mecca, the Super Bowl; it’s Legit. Here’s how to navigate the musical streets of Broadway in New York City with teenagers.

How to Navigate the Lights of Broadway With Teenagers - The excitement of attending a Broadway show is like nothing else. Credit: Pixabay CC0 Creative Commons Free for commercial use  No attribution required

The excitement of attending a Broadway show is like nothing else. Credit: Pixabay

What Show to Choose?

Broadway shows are always changing. Long-running favourites like Cats and the Phantom of the Opera still pull in crowds of all ages. Family-friendly G-rated shows like The Lion King, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and School of Rock do solid business too. Teenagers may love those amazing productions or want to venture into more serious theatre territory. Show choices will depend on their interests – what do they like and wish to see?

Broadway Direct or Broadway.com are good places to do some pre-trip research on what shows are of interest. And more importantly, what tickets may be available for your visit. If your visit to NYC is all about Broadway, and seeing certain shows for which tickets are super hard to come by – think Hamilton and the Tony-award-winning Dear Evan Hansen – plan your holiday around ticket availability. Your teen will (and should) thank you.

How to Navigate the Lights of Broadway With Teenagers - Getting ready for the show at Dear Evan Hansen. Credit: Claudia Laroye

Getting ready for the show at Dear Evan Hansen. Credit: Claudia Laroye

For older teens (and parents), Dear Evan Hansen is an incredible, spot-on musical that should not be missed. It’s incredibly moving and hits all the notes of teen alienation, social media craziness, and parental shortcomings. We took our 17-year old son, and he was completely blown away, as were we. Pack tissues.

Getting Tickets

Broadway Direct connects to each show’s online ticket pages. With enough planning – Frozen opens in spring 2018! – you can search and purchase tickets directly for each show.

Even if tickets are sold out for your visit dates, you can still find them. But they will cost you. You’ll be purchasing fan-to-fan resale tickets. Ticketmaster’s Verified Tickets program is legit. We used the resale program and it works. Ticket holders can sell their tickets to new buyers, and Ticketmaster handles the ticket transfer. In some cases, this may be your only option to see shows like Hamilton, unless you purchase years in advance, or win its daily ticket lottery.

How to Navigate the Lights of Broadway With Teenagers - Attending a Broadway show may be a dream come true for your young theatre fan. Credit: Claudia Laroye

Attending a Broadway show may be a dream come true for your young theatre fan. Credit: Claudia Laroye

You could spend a few hours waiting at the TKTS booth in Times Square (been there, done that). It’s an excellent same-day ticket service that supports the non-profit performing arts community.

Or you can use technology to your advantage and download the TodayTix App on your smartphone. You can purchase tickets up to 30 days in advance, or even enter a same-day ticket lottery. There are a lot of musicals and plays to choose from, even on same day purchases, including popular shows like School of Rock and Wicked.

The best part of the service is that a red-coated TodayTix rep will meet you outside your chosen show 30 minutes before curtain rise, with your tickets in hand. We used this seamless service twice, and highly recommend not wasting time standing in line when tickets could be delivered right to you as you swan into the theatre.

Go During Broadway Week

Broadway celebrates itself every winter with Broadway Week. You can sign up for advanced notice to partake in the 2 for 1 ticket bonanza on select shows. It’s a great way to see many productions in a short period, all for a 50% discount.

Take a Tour

Walks of New York has a great Disney on Broadway Tour. The 2.5-hour tour includes a guided walk of the theatre district. Then it goes ‘behind the Magic’ at the New Amsterdam Theatre, giving Disney and theatre fans a taste of how The Lion King production comes together every night. Book ahead to ensure tour availability.

Check out Mastercard Priceless Experiences

How to Navigate the Lights of Broadway With Teenagers - Learning dance steps from a professional show cast member is a priceless experience. Credit: Claudia Laroye

Learning dance steps from a professional show cast member is a priceless experience. Credit: Claudia Laroye

If you’re a Mastercard credit card holder, you can register for some pretty amazing Broadway experiences as part of Mastercard’s Priceless Experiences program. See the show and meet the cast of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Or as my tap-dancing son did, learn some smooth moves dancing with a member of the Get On Your Feet cast. If your teen loves musical theatre, these experiences can potentially be life-changing encounters.

Eat Broadway

If you like your dinner with a side of Broadway tunes, don’t miss a meal at Ellen’s Stardust Theatre at 51st and Broadway in Times Square. The 1950s themed diner has singing waitstaff that has entertained patrons since the restaurant opened in 1987. You may have to wait a while to enter as lines are frequently quite long, but the experience may well be worth it for your teenaged theatre fan.

Shop for Merch

Every show will have merchandise and souvenirs for sale. Some of it may only be available at that theatre (Hello, Hamilton limited-edition water bottle). This will be a draw to teens who want to show their friends where they’ve been and what they’ve seen. For general show merch, visit Theatre Circle. This speciality store (with two locations) stocks a variety of the latest show swag, as well as general Broadway-themed souvenirs.

Sharing a love of Broadway and theatre with your teenager is a great family travel memory maker. Happy show planning.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *